Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Riots At Halloween..

• 01-11-2010 5:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭

As reported in tonights evening herald, riots took place all over the city, with the worst affected areas being, Dolphins Barn, Tallaght, Finglas and Sheriff Street, also a "suspicious package" was found in Rialto, what else happened around that wasnt reported?

did anyone from the AH have any trouble around their own areas? me personally had a quiet night in, and didnt think anything was happening anywhere, seen one fire truck all night, which is nothing compared to other years.

so how did your halloween night go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Had a great night in town without incident.

Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

All quiet, which i surprising for Dundalk :D - although the house a few doors down got destroyed with eggs and bogroll and tinfoil - deservedly so, the owners a cunt :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Balfie wrote: »
    As reported in tonights evening herald, riots took place all over the city, with the worst affected areas being, Dolphins Barn, Tallaght, Finglas and Sheriff Street,

so no different to most nights then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

All quiet on the western front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Why am I not surprised when I read it was those areas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Ye read the Herald? :eek:

How do they define a riot, a single firework gone off? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

well I just heard also that there was a riot on my mothers road, which is quieter than a morgue, so I wasn't expecting that, I just read the end of the article in the herald and Dublin Fire Brigade, reported no attacks on personnel which was "suprising to them" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭ollie1

Most quietest Halloween ever not many firework or riots where I live :D

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

No trouble really in my area from what I saw

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭bluefinger

Tomorrow's evening herald headline.

RECESSION SET TO WIPE OUT EVERYONE EXCEPT EVIL PAEDOPHILES

gurramok wrote: »
    Ye read the Herald? :eek:

How do they define a riot, a single firework gone off? ;)

Nope, they said a few kids had party poppers aimed at Garda patrol cars, and the Army Bomb Disposal had to go to the scene to declare them safe with a controlled explosion, :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,605 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Was in a taxi going to a party down the Point direction and saw a huge bonfire in the street. Looked like a war zone. The Taxi driver did a U turn as he didn't want to go anywhere near it.

On the way back it was surrounded by flashing lights. I think it was Sheriff street?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

also a "suspicious package" was found in Rialto,

An escapee from the Asian ladyboy thread.....

o1s1n wrote: »
    Was in a taxi going to a party down the Point direction and saw a huge bonfire in the street. Looked like a war zone. The Taxi driver did a U turn as he didn't want to go anywhere near it.

On the way back it was surrounded by flashing lights. I think it was Sheriff street?

yeh thats the Sheriff Street area down there, suprised it didnt look more like Iraq :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I was in the Rialto area last night and aside from some bangers and fireworks being set off there was very little going on. All of the noise stopped by 11pm too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 onedaylikethis

I was in the pub in Finglas were the trouble was. It was pure bedlam.
    I dont envy the job of the Garda. There must have been at least 50 of them there.
    They had to close the pub early but gave a few of us a stay back.
    Paying for it today though.:(

Nope, they said a few kids had party poppers aimed at Garda patrol cars, and the Army Bomb Disposal had to go to the scene to declare them safe with a controlled explosion, :eek:

Party poppers! They are indeed lethal :D

They say these 'riots' happened in Dolphins Barn, Tallaght, Finglas and Sheriff Street....did they really mean Herberton, Templeogue, Glasnevin and IFSC?;)

The Herald have a tendency to never bad mouth where their journo's live.

Party poppers! They are indeed lethal :D

They say these 'riots' happened in Dolphins Barn, Tallaght, Finglas and Sheriff Street....did they really mean Herberton, Templeogue, Glasnevin and IFSC?;)

The Herald have a tendency to never bad mouth where their journo's live.

Yes they are lethal :eek: ha, well Dolphins Barn more than likely means Dolphin House, to which no suprise, Finglas was outside a pub that I know in Finglas, and from the pictures in the paper, and what someone ^^^^ up there said, it was bedlam outside the pub, and Tallaght and Sheriff St, Meh ha.

Also, 100th post for me, yussssss, :rolleyes:

Which pub was that?(if its legally allowed)

You sure it wasn't just a few drinkers gone mad as the pub went dry? ;)

Which pub was that?(if its legally allowed)

You sure it wasn't just a few drinkers gone mad as the pub went dry? ;)

If a MOD lets me put in the name of the pub, I will, until then, I dont want to be annoying the MODs by naming the pub if its not allowed, :eek:

haha nah sure if they closed the pub and had a lock in for the people that had been in the pub, I dont think it was a few drinkers gone mad, although ya never know, :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Dead quiet here, no trouble and very few firweworks this year compared to a few years go...been getting quieter as the kids in the estate grow up a bit. Went with family to a decent fireworks display organised up in Kilbarrack though, which was very well done for a local event.
    If a MOD lets me put in the name of the pub, I will, until then, I dont want to be annoying the MODs by naming the pub if its not allowed,

haha nah sure if they closed the pub and had a lock in for the people that had been in the pub, I dont think it was a few drinkers gone mad, although ya never know,

Of course you're allowed to name the pub, you're not libelling or slandering the owners, just the knobheads who caused trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Sheriff street was supposed to be the worst affected with the biggest bonfire in the city, then there was around 100 teenagers throwing glass bottles at the gardai later on in the night, the riot squad came and that was the end of it.
    I live down the road from the pub in Finglas and was talking to a mate last night who lives right beside it, he said gardai were everywhere all over his road.
    I was walking around during the night and when i walked past the pub it was absolutely packed so it was kinda obvious there was going to be fights but not to that extent. Wouldnt dream of fighting in there the bloody size of the bouncers :pac:

sdonn wrote: »
    Of course you're allowed to name the pub, you're not libelling or slandering the owners, just the knobheads who caused trouble.

ah I didnt know that, im such a noob on this site ya see, it was The Cappagh House on Barry Road, :)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I live on the main street of a small town in Kildare.. Had a few as5holes pulling bins out of the ground and throwing them infront of cars last night at about 10PM.. The Gardai drove down the road a few minutes later and they scarpered..

A lad was bottled in the face on Friday night for apparently trying to break up a fight between 2 other guys.. I don't know if that can really be linked to Halloween though.. just knackers being knackers really :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

how often do you visit these areas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

I used to love Halloween in Tallaght as a child, such a great atmosphere. There'd be a fireworks display on practically every corner of the estate and a huge community-organised bonfire in a field beside the church. Never had a bad incident, but of course they did happen.

Craziest Halloween scene was a couple of years ago when I lived on Railway St just off Gardiner St, a proper pitched battle between a load of scumbag kids and Gardaí, I think I read the next day that one of them had been injured.

This year I didn't really go out. Though I did see a load of knackers fighting in Temple Bar, which was great, a couple of them took off their tops for the fight and then got absolutely lashed on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

was in Tallaght last night
    it was pretty quiet the eveing herald have all these areas
    brainwashed into their staff 'Oh quick every halloween, Paddys night etc write about these areas'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

o1s1n wrote: »

It was Sheriff Street, I was caught in the middle of the thing for awhile.

Nasty sh*t.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

I am from Tallaght! What does that make me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

ah I didnt know that, im such a noob on this site ya see, it was The Cappagh House on Barry Road, :)

Uh oh you're in trouble now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

maxxie wrote: »

Brilliant.

I am also from Tallaght:D

maxxie wrote: »

Look, the truthful and honest Herald know your type so scarper off you ffein scrote..just kidding :)

Thought it was the other one on Cardiffsbridge Rd(see what I did there :)).

That pub was always dodgy. If you walk that way, it really is a kip.
    It was Sheriff Street, I was caught in the middle of the thing for awhile.

Nasty sh*t.

Which part, was it near Seville Ave? I'll be travelling that way in the morning :eek:

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Uh oh you're in trouble now.

oooops, :(

Stands in line waiting on Firing Squad :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Brilliant.

I am also from Tallaght:D

I also used to live in Galway :D

Thought it was the other one on Cardiffsbridge Rd(see what I did there :)).

That pub was always dodgy. If you walk that way, it really is a kip.

I have a mate that lives just beside that pub and I have been in it a few times and never had any hastle, its always quiet, well obviously not always but when I was there it was quiet enough :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i saw two fire engines and a water truck tear down harolds cross road towards terenure at around 9, i never saw something move so fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

xzanti wrote: »
    I live on the main street of a small town in Kildare.. Had a few as5holes pulling bins out of the ground and throwing them infront of cars last night at about 10PM.. The Gardai drove down the road a few minutes later and they scarpered..

A lad was bottled in the face on Friday night for apparently trying to break up a fight between 2 other guys.. I don't know if that can really be linked to Halloween though.. just knackers being knackers really :rolleyes:
    That's a normal weekend on the main street in Leixlip.
    Must be a Kildare thing.

Mind you, the town elders blame people coming from other towns to the local nightclub.

As for here, well, I live in a small and quiet estate. Gone are the days of our bonfires that would burn for a week on the hill in front of my house.

A few small fireworks displays from the families with younger kids. That's about it really.

Mind you, some ****ers smashed up the bus shelter last weekend, but like Xzanti said, just scumbags being scumbags.

i saw two fire engines and a water truck tear down harolds cross road towards terenure at around 9, i never saw something move so fast.

The plot thickens! The riots were in Terenure!!

Must of been middle class students gearing up for their protest on Wednesday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭dave 27

didnt head out but the north side of Limerick city was awash with bangers and groups of about 20-30 people..nothing out of the ordinary from last year i suppose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Mate of mine was on duty in Tara Street last nite and said it was quieter then last year,most likely cos of the rain earlier in the day.

Was quiet enough round here in Clondalkin aswell,not even as many trick or treaters as last year and no bonfire in the estate for the first time in at least 10 years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

There's a little bollix dropping bangers out of his apartment, three floors above the entrance gates to where I live. Scared the crap out of me - I jumped about four feet into the air and then had to pretend that I just happened to want to spontaneously jump and was totally cool.

I know they're not little balls of acid or anything, but if one was thrown hard enough and landed on your head and burst, I bet it would hurt.

Totally not impressed and mildly afraid of leaving my apartment. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Navan and surroundings were very quiet, hardly even a bonfire nevermind a riot.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Its a sad day for the country when even the gougers are dispirited....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

yeh thats the Sheriff Street area down there, suprised it didnt look more like Iraq :rolleyes:

sure they keep shooting each other - there can't be too many still alive down there:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

Wait, this isn't a thread about Northern Ireland?? Surely this kind of thing doesn't happen in R.O.I?? The ironing is delicious. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

z_topaz wrote: »
    There's a little bollix dropping bangers out of his apartment, three floors above the entrance gates to where I live. Scared the crap out of me - I jumped about four feet into the air and then had to pretend that I just happened to want to spontaneously jump and was totally cool.

I know they're not little balls of acid or anything, but if one was thrown hard enough and landed on your head and burst, I bet it would hurt.

Totally not impressed and mildly afraid of leaving my apartment. :(
    You must live in Dolphin House then.

Bangers can do a lot of damage.
    I remember a friend dropping one off a bridge and it landed right beside a twin cassette player (yep, it was that long ago). It lifted the cassette player about a foot off the ground and both of the tapes were blown out of it.

My friends said this day would come.
    Fúck them for being right about me becoming a grumpy old man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Which part, was it near Seville Ave? I'll be travelling that way in the morning :eek:

Right on the junction at the Bridge, opposite where St.Bridgets Gardens used to be.

well at the moment aload of garda cars and vans and the chopper is up over dolphin house/barn area, time to get set for round two of last nights festivities I thinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

Terry wrote: »
    You must live in Dolphin House then.

Bangers can do a lot of damage.
    I remember a friend dropping one off a bridge and it landed right beside a twin cassette player (yep, it was that long ago). It lifted the cassette player about a foot off the ground and both of the tapes were blown out of it.

My friends said this day would come.
    Fúck them for being right about me becoming a grumpy old man.

Not too far away - Christchurch.
    I don't tend to be an alarmist, but I was creeped out trying to get my keys out and worrying about a firework (although, admittedly teeny) landing on my head. Fortunately, my super soft skull would probably save me. :D I hate that Halloween has become the angry holiday of scumbags that it has, when it used to be so much fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Loads of trouble out in Dalkey last night.

Think it was skangers from Killiney who came up and caused it though.