Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Squeezing in a first nuke before Black Ops

• 01-11-2010 04:20PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭

Before anyone gives out about yet another nuke thread, I was going to post this as an add-on to previous Nuke thread. But I actually couldn't find any. The forum seems to end on the 3rd of September, and there wasn't any available in a quick scan. Anyway...

So are there many people on here who have not get gotten a nuke in MW2, and are thinking of giving it one last blast (sorry) before next week? If so then I can offer some hope.

I've played with a lot of the boards crew, so you know my standard. I'm decent but not amazing. I rarely go negative in a game, but don't get 30 kills in nearly every game I play. I'm running a 1.37 k:d ratio. So good without being up there with some of the beasts we have playing among us. I had never really focussed too much on getting a Nuke while playing MW2. I might have tried in 20-30 games, but was turning it on or off rather than leaving it on for long periods. Some prestiges I didn't try at all. It was always the last unlock on the killstreaks for me, but when I hit P6 a little while ago, I decided I'd give it a good rattle this time. The first killstreak unlocks were Harrier, AC130 and then Nuke. And I just left them turned on and didn't worry about them.

Anyway, I got my first Nuke (on my birthday - what are the chances!!!) last Monday. I was playing Domination on Rundown, and was using the UMP silenced (sorry to the haters), spas with Marathon, SPP and Ninja. I was doing okay in the game, getting a good few kills but also lots of deaths as I was jumping on flags etc. But then I went on a nice 7 kill spree in their C spawn. I went into the high grass, lay down and called in the Harrier. It did some nice damage and probably got me up to about 15-16 kills. Next up the AC130. I was getting constant 1 kills without any multi's and was getting worried that it'd finish before I got number 25. Then voiceover calls out that we're losing A, so I send a missile down on it, just before the laptop closes and I'm back with just my gun. A nervous 2 second wait, and boom. Cleared A flag, and the nuke is there for calling in. Thankfully I was playing with a couple of mates, one of whom was host (thanks for the 4 bar!!), so it was witnessed. :)

Then I went away on holidays and only got back on the weekend. First time back on-line was last night. I tried getting into a party with some mates, but they were constantly running with over 6 anyway, so I just went to play with some randoms. And I got my 2nd nuke. This one was way more satisfying, as the first one was mainly Air Support kills - although 14 kills with the AC130 isn't too shabby!!

The nuke game last night was again in Domination, this time in Carnival with Castle spawn with a 3 bar connection. I tried to take A but got noob-tubed right out of the gate. Got another quick death after actually taking A so nought for two to start with... But then I picked up a few kills and decided I would kind of stay around A and B to protect them where possible. I was using the same class as the first Nuke. When I got the Harrier, I went and hid by the Roller Coaster. It got me to 11 so I stayed hidden and called in the AC130. But I only got 5 kills with it. 16 down, 9 to go, all with just my guns!! :eek: I picked up another 3 kills but then ran out of ammo on the UMP. After one or two SPAs kills, a random team-mate had called in a care package and left it behind when it was an ammo pack, without knowing I needed it! :D So fully kitted out again, I kept going. Constantly moving in an arc from A flag, up and around Castle, under the RollerCoaster and up to the FunHouse and then back again. I certainly didn't feel under that much pressure as I'd already gotten one, but it was in the back of my mind that it would be sweet to pull off in the circumstances.

Anyway, I got the last kill when they were winning 186-172 or something like that. I decided I'd be a bit mean, and let them get to 196 points, with all three flags capped, before I called it in - luckily the host didn't quit. I was well chuffed with the nuke, as I felt it really was a good one to get in the circumstances. 16 gun kills in total without a death left me very happy and I finished 33-3.

So apart from a bit of bragging (well you've got to, haven't you!?! :o:D ), does this thread serve any other purpose?? Kind of.

First up, is anyone else going to try to squeeze in a first nuke before BOps? Post here about how you get on.

Secondly, there are a couple of points that might help. They're not tips, as ultimately it'll just come down to getting kills. But it might be worth bearing in mind.
    - I got both of mine playing mostly with and against randoms. Up to those games, most of my play over the past 3-4 months has been in a strong party of mates. But I think that while playing in Parties is great fun, it isn't necessarily good for getting that nuke. When you play in a party, you normally win games much more easily. When we play DOM etc as a full party, we normally win 200 to 100-130 or some similar score. Playing with randoms usually means the games go on longer, as there isn't the same team work going on. So you've a bit more time to build the kills.
    - Linked to this, we've got lots of really strong players in the boards group. This is good for getting wins, but if you think about it, it makes it harder for you to get to 25 unanswered kills. They are searching for as many kills as possible, which means you have to nearly compete for kills when in game. I've played some games where I might get less than 10 kills, even though I end up with a 2:1 or 3:1 ratio, purely because I couldn't find anyone to kill. So unless you're pushing right into enemy spawn, your team mates are getting the kills ahead of you. But pushing into spawn makes it harder to get the nuke.
    - Lastly, I used to only turn the Nuke killstreak on occasionally, or if I was in a weak lobby the game before and no one left. But then your focus is solely just playing for the nuke. Instead, just set-up your 7,11,25 killstreak and forget about it. You won't get it on your first game, but if you play smart and don't keep rushing around, you'll start building your 7 streaks. Then it's just a matter of getting a lobby that doesn't shoot down air support and maps that aren't too closed in. (Fair enough, not much point using 7-11-25 on Skidrow etc. but you get my meaning. :) )
    - I definitely haven't suddenly started getting Nukes at will since the first one, but I certainly think once you get over the hurdle of the 1st it takes the pressure off and makes it a bit easier. I enjoyed the challenge of getting the second, without really worrying too much if I got killed. So I was able to play a bit more "freely" if you will.

Edit:
    (Sorry if I rattled on too long. Just realised how long that post actually was!!! LoL)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

I was going to quote you but its too long :pac:

Work must be slack :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭shawpower

Shammy wrote: »
    I was going to quote you but its too long :pac:

Work must be slack :p

Ah, first day back after a week off. I just ran out of steam about 30 mins ago so thought I'd try this for a while. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

Belated happy birthday and fair play on getting the nuke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,126 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Firstly - excellent post mate! :cool:

Secondly, I've popped up two posts recently about my very recent endevours (as I never tried in ernest before) to get a nuke - both ending in a fail.

I agree with playing with the lads on here insofar as its hard to call in air support when your teammates have the skies covered with Pave-lows/harriers etcetera :D (I once had to leave a chopper-gunner early as one of the teammates wanted to try and get a nuke - even though I was trying for one too!).

On the other hand, playing with guys who go 3-24 and the like means that you're less likely to survive the necessary length of time.

I'll certainly see if I can get one before next week. Like I said, I'm not cut up about it as I've only tried in the last 2 weeks to get one and this is the first online game I have ever played, so fingers crossed.

Well done on the achievement! :)

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

I dont mind helping people get a nuke, i've helped a few mates get one. I'll just run the ole 3/4/5 killstreaks and keep the uav up as much as possible, let them build there 7 kills slowly, and come back to them and make sure he doesnt die. If they dont make the 25 kills with airsupport i'll sort of bait the enemy so he could get some easy kills :D

If anyone hasnt got one on the ps3 and isnt really bad, gimmi a shout and i can help you out a bit :) £10quid paypal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,427 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Nice. I was going to post a snarky comment about the length of the post but actually read it and quite enjoyed it. I 'm really bored in work too.:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

I've never gotten a nuke :(

I've only been playing the PS3 for a few weeks but still

I got a nuke on my second try the other night , switched over the pvr to the xbox , next attempt got killed on the 24 th kill , next attempt after that i got killed on my 19th kill with still my ac130 to use :mad: (using the intervention as well)
    It was the first time i tryed since the second prestige, having gotten a few they are no big deal , however i was delighted with my first :)

Tips : big map use cold-blooded , silencer and scavenger.
    Play ground war , easier to get one in that mode if you can avoid the tubes.
    Easiest map would have to be wasteland , it s also where i got my quickest, we started by domination a , i legged it up to c got a quick 3 kills with a semtex followed by 4 more kills , the killstreaks did the rest.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Well done mate. Agree with the lads, enjoyable read indeed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

Rob, I'd like to think I played a part in both your nukes rolleyes.gif. I was the host for your first one and our party was full last night, so you played with some randomers instead and managed to grab your second. Nice one!!

I'll be trying desperately to grab a nuke before next Tuesday, but as you mention, that's likely to be part of the problem. I reckon Nukes are like buses, you wait ages for one, then they all come along together.

EDIT - Rob being an IT man you could've formatted your post a little better!! Indents, bold, italics, bullets, spacing!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

Tl;dr, have a thanks though :)Happy Birthday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Great post mate.

I'd be well up for a few more boards nights to get them Nukes.

That night 3-4 of us got them was aswesome.

What about this weekend for sure?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Enigma IE wrote: »
    Rob, I'd like to think I played a part in both your nukes rolleyes.gif. I was the host for your first one, He's lucky you didn't DB !!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

AnneFrank wrote: »
    Rob, I'd like to think I played a part in both your nukes rolleyes.gif. I was the host for your first one,
    He's lucky you didn't DB !!!!!

Very lucky!!!!!! It was Clive who was playing that match If I recall. I just heard Rob screaming "Yessssssssssssssssssss" through the TV!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Very lucky!!!!!! It was Clive who was playing that match If I recall. I just heard Rob screaming "Yessssssssssssssssssss" through the TV!!

ha ha class,i could only dream of a nuke but I like Shammys tips to try it in groundwar on cold blooded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭claiva

Excellent post Rob and well done. ;)

I played against the lads last night and although my team lost most games I ended up top of our list after each game. Its definitely harder to rack up the kills within a Boards party as the standard of the players is soooo high.

I'll try for a Nuke in the next week aswell for the craic but I'm not that confident as I'm really crap with the AC130 and Chopper Gunner (probably because I've hardly ever had them !!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

My first and only ever attempt, I got to 23 and thenw as noobtubed. Haven't been too pushed about trying since then. Might give it a go sometime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

AnneFrank wrote: »
    ha ha class,i could only dream of a nuke but I like Shammys tips to try it in groundwar on cold blooded

we all bring different things to the game in our little team and you more than make up for your lack of nukes with your gameplay mate very strong objective/team player you and blacky are always on the ball with your stingers (nicked my pave lo ye swine!!!!!!!!)

Rob, I'd like to think I played a part in both your nukes rolleyes.gif. I was the host for your first one and our party was full last night, so you played with some randomers instead and managed to grab your second. Nice one!!

Happy to return the favour any time and leave you on the outside looking in! lol
    I'll be trying desperately to grab a nuke before next Tuesday, but as you mention, that's likely to be part of the problem. I reckon Nukes are like buses, you wait ages for one, then they all come along together.

Yeah, just turn it on, and leave it for every game. Don't be trying for it or don't look at it like trying to get 25 kills. Just sit back and enjoy the games regardless, and look at it as getting 7 kills. Then it's just a matter of whether you're lucky with them not using stingers. I got lucky on my second one to be in a pretty weak lobby and then somehow end up with 16 kills myself. Don't know whether that's every happened before (good sign for BOps though!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Thanks for the read Rob! Great post!

Killed some time for me in the office too :p

sierra117x wrote: »
    we all bring different things to the game in our little team and you more than make up for your lack of nukes with your gameplay mate very strong objective/team player you and blacky are always on the ball with your stingers (nicked my pave lo ye swine!!!!!!!!)

Speaking of, I should mention that while I was playing with Blacky for the first nuke, I was playing against Danger. And the git shot down my Harrier. LoL

Totally agree though about everyone adding to the team. :)

shawpower wrote: »
    Speaking of, I should mention that while I was playing with Blacky for the first nuke, I was playing against Danger. And the git shot down my Harrier. LoL

Totally agree though about everyone adding to the team. :)

That nuke doesnt count :D he is easily a good 15 kills .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

oh, another tip for any ps3 players.... dont bother putting it on if leeg is on the other team... hes a ****er and i hate him.

Incentive to inv. me to a party ;)

Magill wrote: »
    oh, another tip for any ps3 players.... dont bother putting it on if leeg is on the other team... hes a ****er and i hate him.

Should add Krudler and Tallon(going from that boards sesh, god you were annoying :P) as well :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Hahah, thanks :p

Krudler and I, racing to shoot down UAV's before the other, for the lulz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

I miss him :(

Kersmash wrote: »
    I miss him :(

He's back tomorrow. 3rd or maybe the 4th he said.

He better have bought us some gifts. Vanilla Coke for Lee. Vegas showgirl for moi, everyone wins :D

He's back tomorrow. 3rd or maybe the 4th he said.

He better have bought us some gifts. Vanilla Coke for Lee. Vegas showgirl for moi, everyone wins :D

I'm telling you, I'm getting the better deal :) Can't believe I'm getting vanilla coke... (is that restriction on liquids in hand luggage still in place?).

Look forward to his epic long post about everything, and pics!