Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the age to get married at these days?

• 01-11-2010 12:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭mikerowsopht

what's the age to get married at these days?

Back in the day my parents were married when they were 20 / 21

Nowadays it seems to be the norm at 30 ish +

and where's the best place to get an engagement ring??

Silver Ring / ( trilogy ( 3 studs )) / white gold / small & dainty

with the recession n all that now I suppose it's 3 days salary ?

she also keeps moaning about having kids which I defo don't want.
    Was thinking of getting me balls snipped on the sly so we could never have them ( not sure what to do about this )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

she also keeps moaning about having kids

She'll be moanin' a lot more when she's havin' them.

Don't do it OP !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Who says you have to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

I suppose it's 3 days salary ?
    Wait for the Argos bargain basement sale if you're planning on spending thaaat much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭flyton5

Was thinking of getting me balls snipped on the sly so we could never have them ( not sure what to do about this )

Hahahahaha. Yeah. This relationship is gonna last. *oozing sarcasm*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

I don't think I want you to have kids either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭mikerowsopht

flyton5 wrote: »
    Hahahahaha. Yeah. This relationship is gonna last. *oozing sarcasm*

lasted 7 yrs so far
    only thing we don't agree on is kids

lasted 7 yrs so far

Do you think it'll last much longer if you get yourself a vasectomy on the sly. She'll cop on and when she does you'll get the boot cause she won't trust you no more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭MIRMIR82

I hope she goes off the pill-on the sly- and gets pregnant with twins!!:D

It'd be pretty funny if you got the snip and then a few months later she got pregnant. You'd go crazy trying to figure out if your operation didnt work or someone else was throwing her a length. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭shrewd

the age to get married these days is 30+ish.

best place to get rings? jewellry shop i'll say but in your case you seem to be lookin for the cheap place.

it looks like you are not ready, financially,mentally etc. no offense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭th3 s1aught3r

What's the age to get married at these days?

You should get married when you want to. Age doesnt come into it, be you 25 or 65
    Our society makes people think that they 'should' be married by a certain age. This pressure is not good and can lead to unhappiness
    Particulary women I know who get all panicked if they arent married by a certain age then end up in an unhappy marriage, defo not worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

It depends on whether or not you're a traveller. If so, anytime after you hit puberty, if not, then anytime after 25.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭celtic Liger

who invented marriage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

who invented marriage?

A woman, definitely a woman.

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Just get married when you want to ffs. Lol at "The age to get married these days is" kinda stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭celtic Liger

yeah must've been a woman. or a closet gay man

28 and three quarters, if there's a full moon and the planets are in favourable alignment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Oh my god you're so wrong - it's 29 and two thirds! Like, duh! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

there is no perfect age to 'get married' in my opinion,

but personally i am getting married at 26. it is not down to age, its down to my OH (still cannot call him my fiance,:o i just don't like it) we both want to get married to each other, so we are, it has nothing to do with our age!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Its too costly to get married and the system is against marriage. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

gurramok wrote: »
    Its too costly to get married and the system is against marriage. :mad:

It can be done for less than a day/night out on the beer.

prinz wrote: »
    It can be done for less than a day/night out on the beer.

Tell that to a woman and then duck ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

lasted 7 yrs so far

LOL. You say that like it's the most minor thing in the world to disagree on. This is not same as both of you not wanting to have steak for dinner! If she wants to have children and you don't and neither are willing to compromise, that is a deal breaker. As for having a vasectomy without telling her... seriously?

Novella wrote: »
    LOL. You say that like it's the most minor thing in the world to disagree on. This is not same as both of you not wanting to have steak for dinner! If she wants to have children and you don't and neither are willing to compromise, that is a deal breaker. As for having a vasectomy without telling her... seriously?

Ah she has her heart set on kids and I don't want them
    It is a minor - ish thing. it is just her maternal extincts wanting the kids ,hopefully she'll change her mind in a couple of years

vasectomy without telling her ? - sure why not.
    It means (A) i don't ever need to have them and
    (B) she won't know so it doesn't hurt anyone.

Win Win I would think ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Goldenegg

It is a minor - ish thing. it is just her maternal extincts wanting the kids

Lol - I would hate to see what a major-ish senario is in your life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

I hope I'm married/in very serious relationship by the time I'm 28 or 29.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I don't think there's any set age to get married. I'm not really a marriage fanatic. I'll probably get married when i decide to have a baby, but not really for any other reason. Maybe tax incentives. But I'd be happy to just live with a man without a ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

vasectomy without telling her ?

What age are you, OP? It's surprisingly difficult to get a vacestomy in this country unless you're over a certain age (40-ish) and/or already have children. Lots of doctors will refuse to carry out the procedure on a young, childless man. Most clinics also require a man in a relationship to bring his partner for pre-procedure counselling.

Of those who want to get married and have a church wedding with the usual feeding of the clan after, have ye budgeted a five figure sum for it? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

It is a minor - ish thing. it is just her maternal extincts wanting the kids ,hopefully she'll change her mind in a couple of years

vasectomy without telling her ? - sure why not.

Win Win I would think ??

You do know you end up with a scar on your balls after the snip? My ex got it done. You also can't have sex for about a week after. And you're advised to wear two pair of jocks for a couple of days. Do you not think she might notice these things?

And it ain't a "minor-ish" thing if she wants kids! Do you really think she's gonna wake up one morning and just change her mind?!

00112984 wrote: »
    What age are you, OP? It's surprisingly difficult to get a vacestomy in this country unless you're over a certain age (40-ish) and/or already have children. Lots of doctors will refuse to carry out the procedure on a young, childless man. Most clinics also require a man in a relationship to bring his partner for pre-procedure counselling.

I'm 26, why does she have to come along? they're my balls?

alwaysadub wrote: »
    You do know you end up with a scar on your balls after the snip? My ex got it done. You also can't have sex for about a week after. And you're advised to wear two pair of jocks for a couple of days. Do you not think she might notice these things?

And it ain't a "minor-ish" thing if she wants kids! Do you really think she's gonna wake up one morning and just change her mind?!

I could make up some excuse saying I hurt my willy so can't have sex for a week

Didn't realise it left a scar, thought it was key-hole surgery through a tiny hole they make

I could wear 2 pairs of jocks for the week, no probs

I don't think she'd notice if it's done right. She could wake up one morning and not want them, isn't wanting kids maternal?

1 weeks pain to save on 18 years worth of misery, no probs

she deffo wants kids but I deffo don't
    don't wanna break up with her though although many times I have told her I don't want kids and I also told her where the door is so.......she knows.

At least this way I can say I tried, she won't get pregnant and I can keep my life in tact so everybody wins ?/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

I'm 26, why does she have to come along? they're my balls?

If she's that keen on kids and you "try" for a few years (you knowing you've had the snip) then what? You both go for testing? She's likely gonna find out some time or other. Or maybe you can fake having the test. Get a doc to say you're fertile. So, how do you get around IVF if that's what it comes to in the end? Do you think she'll just accept kids are not for her and be happy with just you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

OP, I'm with you on this, get the snip. It's a good idea for so many reasons!

You don't want kids.
    She might try to get you trapped
    You get to blame not being able to have kids on her and act like you really want them
    If she gets boxed you know she was cheating! :D

Do it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I could make up some excuse saying I hurt my willy so can't have sex for a week

Didn't realise it left a scar, thought it was key-hole surgery through a tiny hole they make

I could wear 2 pairs of jocks for the week, no probs

I don't think she'd notice if it's done right. She could wake up one morning and not want them, isn't wanting kids maternal?

1 weeks pain to save on 18 years worth of misery, no probs

she deffo wants kids but I deffo don't
    don't wanna break up with her though although many times I have told her I don't want kids and I also told her where the door is so.......she knows.

At least this way I can say I tried, she won't get pregnant and I can keep my life in tact so everybody wins ?/

Wow. If only life were really that simple..

What if she thinks there's something wrong with her when she can't get pregnant? You just gonna go on letting her think that?

What if she wants to foster or adopt?

If she defo wants kids, and has wanted them for years, she probably isn't gonna change her mind.
    However if you have been straight with her and told her you don't want kids, i wouldn't like her to be staying with you in the hope you might also change your mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Dudess wrote: »
    Oh my god you're so wrong - it's 29 and two thirds! Like, duh! :mad:

Doesn't that make you just about Past due? Can you officially be called a spinster now? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

Can't see myself going near marriage till my late 30's early 40's

I hope I'm married/in very serious relationship by the time I'm 28 or 29.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Reading this, I have to agree... get the snip, soon as you can.
    And tell her about it when you get home.

And then please post the consquent events on here. :D

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Wow. If only life were really that simple..

What if she thinks there's something wrong with her when she can't get pregnant? You just gonna go on letting her think that?

What if she wants to foster or adopt?

If she defo wants kids, and has wanted them for years, she probably isn't gonna change her mind.
    However if you have been straight with her and told her you don't want kids, i wouldn't like her to be staying with you in the hope you might also change your mind.

*Sigh* - never thought of adoption or fostering, that would backfire on me.
    I don't have a problem letting her think she has something wrong,
    Hell I'd slip the doc a 50 euro note to tell her my balls are broken
    I have been straight with her, very striaght on numerous occassions but she just brushed it off, then breaks a marraige joke or similiar.

So you see the boat she has put me in. I could get some frozen in case I change my mind in future which I never will.

Can you just imagine a little bollix running around all day for the next 18 years sucking my wallet like a hoover and ageing me like meth does to someone.

I've told her before....... just don't know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

You sound like quite the catch. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

It is a minor - ish thing. it is just her maternal extincts wanting the kids
    I have been straight with her, very striaght on numerous occassions but she just brushed it off, then breaks a marraige joke or similiar.

So you see the boat she has put me in. I could get some frozen in case I change my mind in future which I never will.

Can you just imagine a little bollix running around all day for the next 18 years sucking my wallet like a hoover and ageing me like meth does to someone.

Sounds like you're lazy and unbelievably selfish tbh, but that's just my young twerp view of it. Do you live off our taxpaying money too by any chance, not arsed getting up off your behind?

If you marry someone and get a visectomy without telling them...well there arent words to describe how wrong that would be.

Two halves of a relationship wanting kids v not wanting them defo shouldnt be leading to marriage ffs.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Never is a good age. And get the snip, sure why not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

Win Win I would think ??

LOL :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

I'm a lad and I dont know why anyone wouldn't want kids. Think about it, after about 10-15 years you'd probably get bored or even sick of her company. A child would provide a distraction at the least, and would only really be a nuisance for 2-3 years. I know if I was in a serious relationship and my OH defo didnt want kids I'd leave, but I suppose everyone is different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

From reading your posts, OP, you are far too immature to be getting married.

Do yourself & the girl a big favour and call it a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Wait till your old and grey and cant even get a semi.. then you will realise that you should have had at least on kid:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭yungwan

WOW, OP are you for real?

I actually thought this post was a joke at first!

There is no ideal age to get married, but imo you are definately, 100% not ready to get married. Wait another 5 years.

Secondly, do you really think that your OH is going to wake up one day and "have gotten over" wanting kids?! Seriously? It may not be a major problem at the moment, but I can assure you it will become on later on. Particularly when all her firends start having kids and the "When are you going to start having kids" questions start flying in after ye get married.

This problem will never go away and I would advise you to have a serious discussion about it. If she still wants kids you will have to call it a day I am afraid. This problem is a make or break issue whether you want to admit it or not.

Do not get sterilised without telling her for god sake. This will only end in tears. And you are only 26, you do not know how you will feel in 10-15 years. You might very well want kids then. OR you might meet someone else and decide you do want kids with them.

So hold off on futher plans until you are actually ready (and can afford a nice ring for your OH. Surely if you care about her that much you realsie she deserves that at least!?)

Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

Seeing as this is AH I'm taking it in the spirit I think it was intended by the OP however...

OP, I was the same as you and so was Mr. 00112984. After a long relationship, we got married happy in the knowledge that neither of us wanted sprogs. Happy out. Blah blah blah. Even looked into a vasectomy for him. Two years in and one of us is beginning to change our mind a little. The other however is sticking to the initial agreement. Luckily, we're at an age where we don't have to make a decision one way or the other for quite a while so there's plenty of breathing space.

The sad fact is that age is definitely a factor and both men and women have biological clocks, thought it's usually the woman's who ticks louder.

A vasectomy at 26 isn't feasible. It's not a case of going into a clinic and coming out and hour later sans swimmers- you have to give regular samples for a number of months until the doctor is happy that it has been a success. Some men think "sure, I can have a vasectomy reversed" but the truth is so many doctors in the US have been sued when a vasectomy didn't work, most doctors make sure everything is very thoroughly snipped with little to no chance of anything reconnecting either naturally or through surgery.

If your girlfriend is at the stage now where she wants to get married and have kids and you're completely adverse to both of those things, you're wrong for eachother and it's not an issue that can be easily resolved.

If your girlfriend is happy for now but would like kids at some stage down the line, you're right to tell her that you don't want them, look into some pretty solid contraception that'll give you both peace of mind but let the issue be raised to debate/discussion as needed. There's a chance you'll change your mind in another few years. There's also a slight chance she'll change hers but that's a lot less likely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

OP, why should YOU have to suffer? Why must your genitals be broken? Listen up! Follow these steps:

1. Offer to cook her a fancy meal, lace it with sedatives!
    2. When she falls asleep clear the kitchen table and lay her on it.
    3. Grab a knife and preform a hysterectomy!
    4. Then, when she awakes put her into a medically induced coma before she comes to her senses by bashing her in the head with a cinder block.(if a coma doesn't result repeat this step)
    5. When she heals and wakes up tell her she collapsed and had to have her appendix removed, and the drugs have given her amnesia!
    6. Then, before she questions you further, distract her by saying you decided you want kids!! Fool proof!