Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

iPhone DST alarm bug

• 01-11-2010 8:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭

Don't know if this affected anyone this morning but a horrible stupid bug which apparantly Apple had been pre-warned about.

Any "REPEATING" alarms are screwed up - ringing an hour later because of the DST change this past weekend.

A "once off" alarm works fine - so unless they release a patch, or until IOS 4.2 comes out it looks like we'll be setting the alarms every night before shut-eye.

:mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

Got caught out with it this morning on both a 4 & a 3G. Much confusion & then scurrying about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭crazyderk

I wondered why my alarm didnt go off!
    ffs Apple!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

Got me too. Up at 5 instead of 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

So thats what was wrong this morning ffs! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

I was so confused this morning :( Woke up, looked at the phone, and had a heart attack at 8.15pm, the time I normally leave for work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭La Haine

Yup - same thing here. Had the alarm set for 7am - luckily I was awake anyway and was on the bus on the way into work when the alarm then went off at 8am. Thought the repeat alarm setting didn't go back the hour and when I had a look it was still actually set for 7am. So the only work-around for the time being is to set it for a one-off 7am instead of repeat? Phook anyway.

Just set it an hour early and on repeat

According to this article it can be fixed by just deleting and recreating the repeating alarm.

Think I'll set two alarms tomorrow just to be safe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Mr Velo

Gauge wrote: »
    According to this article it can be fixed by just deleting and recreating the repeating alarm.

Think I'll set two alarms tomorrow just to be safe!

Already tested that and it doesn't work.
    Any "repeating" alarm won't work - but a once off will (at the correct time of course - i.e. setting your alarm for one hour earlier on repeat will work).

Yeesh, so it's an ongoing bug til they actually release a fix for it? :mad: Dammit, Apple!

Edit: Though this comment on Gizmodo did make me laugh:
    As a thank you for buying the iPhone Steve has arranged (at no expense to himself) for you to have an extra hours sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

Interesting, hubby's repeating alarms worked grand on his 3GS running on 4.0.. I'm a one time only alarm kinda gal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭AlanD

Yep, same problem here. Thankfully my 4 year old has no need for any alarms and had me up on time.

Quackles wrote: »
    Interesting, hubby's repeating alarms worked grand on his 3GS running on 4.0.. I'm a one time only alarm kinda gal.

Yeah, problem is only with 4.1 apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭strife

feckin apple! 4.1's got more bugs than the local pet shop :( feels like 4.2 will never get here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭fergusb

Mr Velo wrote: »
    Already tested that and it doesn't work.
    Any "repeating" alarm won't work - but a once off will (at the correct time of course - i.e. setting your alarm for one hour earlier on repeat will work).

I haven't tried it yet, but have heard that if you disable "Set Automatically" on the time, then delete and re-create your recurring alarms it will work correctly.

I assume once re-created can enable the "set automatically" again.... will try it shortly and see if works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Fat_Fingers

strife wrote: »
    feckin apple! 4.1's got more bugs than the local pet shop :( feels like 4.2 will never get here!

Yeah, this "feature" got me this morning!!! Steve and his monkeys sure are right when they said "This changes everything . Again" but not on better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭sflemings

fergusb wrote: »
    I haven't tried it yet, but have heard that if you disable "Set Automatically" on the time, then delete and re-create your recurring alarms it will work correctly.

I assume once re-created can enable the "set automatically" again.... will try it shortly and see if works.
    Tried this. I disabled the "set automatically" and deleted the alarm and recreated it and it didn't work again.

That workaround didnt work for me anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

Caught me out, tried explaining to my boss why I was late. He taught I was taking the piss so I showed him the article on engadget.

Yeah couldn't get this working either, tried few different things but no joy.... GUess just have to set my alarm an hour earlier and hope remember to update it when Apple decide the fix this.

Its pretty shoddy from Apple IMO. They now about the issue, so why not just inform users about it? Didn't affect me too much but luckily I didn't need to get to airport or anything! I wonder if you could have a case against Apple if missed a flight considering they are aware of the issue but just decided not to tell people about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Fat_Fingers

I have to say I’m annoyed with Apple. They were aware of the issue but did not communicate to users or fix it. It just not good enough anymore for the most expensive phone out there and their “closed ecosystem” which they fully control to be soo full of bugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

They'll fix it now for sure because the US and Canada change back to winter time next Sunday night, Apple obviously choose to ignore the fact that the Aussies and NZers had the same problem a few weeks ago.

coylemj wrote: »
    They'll fix it now for sure because the US and Canada change back to winter time next Sunday night, Apple obviously choose to ignore the fact that the Aussies and NZers had the same problem a few weeks ago.

yeah true, probably be fixed very soon. I think the different between Europe and Oz/NZ is down there the clocks when forward, meaning alarms went off an hour early..... which might be annoying means you won't miss your flight/be late for work.

Alarms going off an hour late is much more serious than an hour early in my opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭sparktest

Totally caught me out this am...

What other bugs are there on the 4.1 software version?
    Still only getting used to the iphone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Caught me too! Was an hour late for work, thank you very much Mr. Job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭kcools

Just tested there on my 3G running 4.1 for a repeating alarm ("Set Automatically" set to Off, repeating alarm re-created)......doesn't work. So it seems we have no choice but to set the alarm for one hour early if we want a repeating alarm?

kcools wrote: »
    Just tested there on my 3G running 4.1 for a repeating alarm ("Set Automatically" set to Off, repeating alarm re-created)......doesn't work. So it seems we have no choice but to set the alarm for one hour early if we want a repeating alarm?

Either that or just remember to set a "once off" alarm every night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Simon201

Just tick every day under 'repeat' seems to fix it for now....

(just dont swear at me when your 6am alarm goes off on Sat morning :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Caught me out too but thankfully the missis refused to change from the old firmware because she likes it as it is. Her alarm went off but mine didnt.

Simon201 wrote: »

Just tested that and yeah it works. I suppose it's better than setting an individual alarm each night - and better than the confusion of setting for an hour later than you want to actually get up :confused:

Now - here's hoping i remember to shut the alarm off on Friday night :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭xper

Q. How can you tell if someone owns an iPhone?

A. No need, they'll show it to you soon enough.

A. They were late for work this morning.

And there I was congratulating myself last night for reactiviating Monday on my alarm after last week's bank holiday. Apple still caught me out! :mad: Silly feckers! This is worthy of Microsoft.

Simon201 wrote: »

Nice one, that will do till they patch it. Ridiculous error on apples part!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Nice one, that will do till they patch it. Ridiculous error on apples part!

Ridiculous is putting it mildly. For a so called 'smart phone' this is simply unacceptable. I sure hope someone got fired for this.

Worked fine this morning - repeating alarm set to go off EVERY morning (rather than the 5 weekdays).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭twinsen

Didn't work for me this morning again. Funny thing is , you spend like 500e on smartphone, that cant be even used as an alarm. 20e nokia can do it.

twinsen wrote: »
    Didn't work for me this morning again. Funny thing is , you spend like 500e on smartphone, that cant be even used as an alarm. 20e nokia can do it.

What had you set? 5 day repeating?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

Mr Velo wrote: »
    What had you set? 5 day repeating?

Only heard about this on the way into work this morning on Today FM...

I thought I was losing it for the past two mornings. Thought I hit an hour snooze or something?? :confused:

Luckily my dad was around to kick me out both mornings.

Now has 7 days all checked and done a quick test and it worked! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,408 ✭✭✭naasrd

I had mine switched off as kids were off school last, switched it on last night and it went off as per usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Absolute nightmare, not good enough TBH. An el cheapo phone would not have this **** happen, true what they say the more advanced the device the more problems. I do love the phone but they wanna fix this ASAP.

I tried all the resets hard and soft and nothing works....will try the "once off" and the 7 days now. This affects both the 3G and the Iphone 4 coz my old iphone I gave to the "Queen Bee" did not work either.

Bet it will be fixed before the YANKS clocks change....:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

I'm not setting mine for 7 days, an hour early until it's fixed will do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

L'prof wrote: »
    I'm not setting mine for 7 days, an hour early until it's fixed will do!

Ditto

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

Set mine an hour early (without deleting it) last night & it worked ok. As a workaround it's not the worst option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Dont trust the hour ahead fix...lol, I just set it everynight before I go bye bye's. :D

My alarm went off at the correct time this morning.... unfortunately waking me up an hour early cause had set my repeat alarm to go off an hour early!

I suspect that the DST change was always in the code but was programmed to change when US changed to DST and not take account of other countries changing at different dates.

My alarm went off at the correct time this morning.... unfortunately waking me up an hour early cause had set my repeat alarm to go off an hour early!

I suspect that the DST change was always in the code but was programmed to change when US changed to DST and not take account of other countries changing at different dates.

Thanks fella - i wasn't taking the chance so had left it at 7 days repeating, but just tested now and you are indeed correct.

Slack by Apple though.

Mine was set for 3am but still didn't go off till 4am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

American clocks went back an hour on Saturday night!

guil wrote: »
    Mine was set for 3am but still didn't go off till 4am

You may need to set it up from scratch....

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,175 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Moon

Mine is still for 7am and goes off at 8am every morning, it was no different this morning either!!

Mr Moon wrote: »
    Mine is still for 7am and goes off at 8am every morning, it was no different this morning either!!

Yeah - but i think you may need to delete that one - set up a new one for 8am (5 day repeat) and it should be fine.

I tested it earlier and it appeared fine.