Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Someone up your arse - what to do?

• 31-10-2010 5:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Hey all.

Was on the M50 Southbound today in the lane to come off at the Blanchardstown exit, was doing 100 km/h or very close to it, and some arsehole in a silver SUV was right up my arse. Did my usual tactic (not sure if it's smart or dumb but usually works) of gently applying the brakes so the brakelight comes on. Anyways, the guy drops back for a minute, then overtakes me, before slamming on his brakes which causes me to brake pretty sharpish.

Bugs the hell out of me that there's so many pricks on the road who'll do this, so what's the best course of action? I remember on here a while ago, someone had modded a second water tank for the back window washer so it'd spray out some stuff that messes up visibility - yes, yes it's illegal and dangerous, but I admire the chap if it means some knob of a dangerous driver writes off his own car and is off the road.

Anyways... opinions or suggestions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Use more lube

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 583 ✭✭✭xp90

Peronally i fire out one of these:

stinger.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Did my usual tactic (not sure if it's smart or dumb but usually works) of gently applying the brakes so the brakelight comes on. Anyways, the guy drops back for a minute, then overtakes me, before slamming on his brakes which causes me to brake pretty sharpish.

Very, VERY dangerous - don't do this.

Just slow down even further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Hey all.

someone had modded a second water tank for the back window washer so it'd spray out some stuff that messes up visibility - yes, yes it's illegal and dangerous, but I admire the chap if it means some knob of a dangerous driver writes off his own car and is off the road.

No need to use the back window washer. I used my fronts ones. If they are driving up my ass i can see the big splatter reach their window:D That's not illegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Flash of the hazards and/or rear fog, and although its off-putting, just concentrate on the road ahead. If you are staring into your rear view and have to stop suddenly, they'll end up in your back seat.

I saw a similar incident on the M50 a few weeks back, going south at bray I had someone almost touching my bumper in the overtaking lane. I finished overtaking, moved back in, he overtook me and did the same to the mondeo ahead of me, who was in the middle of overtaking a few cars. Mondeo moved back into the driving lane, and the tailgater overtook, pulled in front of him and stood on the brakes, almost coming to a halt from about 120k. Imagine my delight, and the delight of all the other cars who had to jam on, when a little blue strobe on the parcel shelf of the mondeo started flashing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

On my Rage-O-Meter, tailgating is up there at the top for me next to not using indicators or using them incorrectly at the roundabouts.

I really would like to understand what a person that is tailgating thinking, and what that person's mentality is.

If you can let them pass, move to the left lane, if not, always remember, DO NOT let them control you.

I know it's easier said than done, for example the other day, some prick got on my tail, it was raining, I sped up and when the traffic lights came on and I hardly managed to stop the car... was a good lesson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

I always find applying the brakes or reverse lights works a treat. I HATE tailgaters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭cedan

I usually reduce speed. If they are going to act like a prick and try to intimidate me I'll be a prick back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Max Power1 wrote: »
    I always find applying the brakes or reverse lights works a treat. I HATE tailgaters.

Shifting into reverse on the M50 isn't particularly sane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Put the rear foglight on sometimes, other times I maintain my speed at the legal limit until its safe for me to pull into the left lane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭2qk4u

Just ignore them, they are looking for a reaction so they can bully some more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

2qk4u wrote: »
    Just ignore them, they are looking for a reaction so they can bully some more.

Most people don't realize that they're tailgaiting, they move in closer instinctively. The washer jet idea is best imo.

I slow down. It's not safe to be up my backside in case anything happens, so I slow down for safety as well as telling them to back the f* off.
    Worked before, yer man kept his distance and I sped up again. We all got to where we were going in the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I just flick down the rear view mirror so I don't see them and ignore them.

If they stay being a pain I just lift off the loud peddle and let the car slow down about 10km/h and they generally overtake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭frank gallagher

change gyms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

Just drive faster!

RedorDead wrote: »
    Just drive faster!

Do NOT do this. They will just continue to tailgate, but now the situation is more dangerous because both cars are going faster. I have a theory that many who tailgate aren't doing it to try and intimidate the driver in front, but rather are completley unaware they are doing anything wrong.

In short: 'gaters gonna 'gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭jock101

Tap the brakes, and if they smash into the back of you! There are in deep dodo!:)

jock101 wrote: »
    Tap the brakes, and if they smash into the back of you! There are in deep dodo!:)

A great suggestion* :rolleyes:

For a small bit of back pain you'll have money to go to a physio for a few years.

OP why not just gently pull your handbrake up gently or disconnect your brake lights and you'll really catch them off guard. Its a great way to make free money. Don't worry the rest of us will pick the tab up come renewal time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

When someone's tailgating me, I just slow down.
    If he/she can't adjust safe distance according to speed we are travelling, so I have to adjust speed to make distance he keeps safe.
    So in case someone is right behind me a couple just a couple of meters, I slow down to 20km/h or even less.

On the other hand - I do it only when I fell endangered. F.E if I drive big vehicle (f.e. a coach) and there's a punto tailgating me, I don't really give a hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

Phone the gardai and report them for dangerous driving. (not to be done while driving)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

fog light

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Danbo! wrote: »
    Flash of the hazards and/or rear fog, and although its off-putting, just concentrate on the road ahead. If you are staring into your rear view and have to stop suddenly, they'll end up in your back seat.

I saw a similar incident on the M50 a few weeks back, going south at bray I had someone almost touching my bumper in the overtaking lane. I finished overtaking, moved back in, he overtook me and did the same to the mondeo ahead of me, who was in the middle of overtaking a few cars. Mondeo moved back into the driving lane, and the tailgater overtook, pulled in front of him and stood on the brakes, almost coming to a halt from about 120k. Imagine my delight, and the delight of all the other cars who had to jam on, when a little blue strobe on the parcel shelf of the mondeo started flashing.

Awesome!! Sometimes the boys in blue are there when you need them I guess!!

Hmmm what do I do with tail-gaters. Depends on the situation. If I'm on a busy road I'll generally just pull over and let them by. Its the safest. If I can't pullover cause there's cars in the other lane I'll generally just continue to progress at my current speed. If I think its a dangerous speed in the situation I might slow down, thou to be honest if someone is tailgating really badly I don't think slowing down is safe since they have left themselves no reaction time. If thats the case then I'll generally speed up enough to get myself forward of the left lane traffic so I can pull over and let the tool by. Very occasionally if its this situation and I have a clear road ahead and going forward seems the safest I'll put power down sharpish and leave them standing (I drive something of a sleeper:D). Then I'll generally pull in left when I can and let my speed come back down. Weirdly 'gaters won't 'gate you again once you've done this. I think they have an alpha male brain. Bit like a pack animal. They try to establish dominance but when whooped become meek :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

cold beer, come on here rant about it and get over it !! IM pretty sure the other person has !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭User Friendly

Thats the best advice........ flip the rear view mirror for the couple of minutes it takes for them to pass.its not worth risking lives or serious injury over something stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Murt10

Pull slightly over the right hand white line at the edge of the motorway and continue to drive on. You will end up spewing up a load of grit and small stones onto his windscreen and he won't be able to back off fast enough.

I did it once when I got a fright from being flashed by someone who was in a mad hurry to get somewhere illegally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭thenashlegend

Its by no means the right thing to do, but I have to admit I usually give the brakes a quick tap!
    Having to brake quickly is not a nice experience, (and before you jump to conclusions, no, I have not been tailgating!:p )
    Luckily I haven't encountered this problem that often, because I keep to upper side of the speed limits but the brakes usually do the trick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭jock101

johnos1984 wrote: »
    A great suggestion* :rolleyes:

For a small bit of back pain you'll have money to go to a physio for a few years.

OP why not just gently pull your handbrake up gently or disconnect your brake lights and you'll really catch them off guard. Its a great way to make free money. Don't worry the rest of us will pick the tab up come renewal time

Depends on what animal your driving!:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

Murt10 wrote: »
    Pull slightly over the right hand white line at the edge of the motorway and continue to drive on. You will end up spewing up a load of grit and small stones onto his windscreen and he won't be able to back off fast enough.

Depends on what animal your driving!:)

True I suppose

matt_rides_cow.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Danbo! wrote: »
    although its off-putting, just concentrate on the road ahead.

this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Did my usual tactic (not sure if it's smart or dumb but usually works) of gently applying the brakes so the brakelight comes on.
    Max Power1 wrote: »
    I always find applying the brakes or reverse lights works a treat.
    cedan wrote: »
    I usually reduce speed. If they are going to act like a prick and try to intimidate me I'll be a prick back.
    Mc Love wrote: »
    Put the rear foglight on sometimes

OP why not just gently pull your handbrake up gently or disconnect your brake lights and you'll really catch them off guard
    Murt10 wrote: »
    Pull slightly over the right hand white line at the edge of the motorway and continue to drive on. You will end up spewing up a load of grit and small stones onto his windscreen
    Its by no means the right thing to do, but I have to admit I usually give the brakes a quick tap!

Braking when another car is behind, Spraying their window with water, throwing grit at their window are all stupid dumb ass thing to do. No excuse.
    Your all making an assumption that someone is tailgating you.

From my experience anyone who puts the brakes on when you come up behind them does not know how to drive, you drive looking out the front window not your rear view mirror.
    It does not matter what the guy behind you is doing, if he's come up behind you the chances are your about to be overtaken.
    Don't freak out and drive as you were. That's the safe and sain thing to do.

Drunkmonkey my comment was very much tongue in cheek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

There's 3 lanes on the M50, why was he not able to overtake you?

Drunkmonkey my comment was very much tongue in cheek

I know some of the lads were being funny, scary thing is some of them were serious, sorry for lumping you in with them. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

and remember, being overtaken doesn't mean you have a small penis

Don't worry about it, where would the world be without mistakes :D

People are crazy about this. The best thing to do is flick you mirror down and watch the road ahead and maybe keep and eye on them when they go to overtake.

If it really is annoying you try to pull over and let them pass.

Then there's Angry ones, you overtake them, 5 minutes later they come whizzing past you and pull in in front of you, then after another 3 minutes there back down to 80km and you have to overtake them again.
    I'd love to be an undercover brother on the motorway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Window washers for 5 second blast.

A trick I have seen employed whilst driving in the US at night is dropping a handful of pennies out the window, but I wouldnt do that myself.

Some people take it to the extreme of having anit-freeze in the rear washer tank of their SUV's. Awful grimy stuff.

Best solution I know of, but not legal was a pal of mine with 2 rear floodlights mounted on the back - manual backup lights, bright ones at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

ninty9er wrote: »
    There's 3 lanes on the M50, why was he not able to overtake you?

There was a truck alongside me (and him) buy I still don't see why he couldn't wait at a reasonable distance until it was safe to overtake. If needs be I'm gonna try slowing down, window washer or else the gravel trick.

That leaves a lane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭crow_eat_crow

No one uses the inside lane, unless they're just about to leave the motorway. :confused:

Problem solved. None of the 3 drivers are aware of how to use a motorway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

This video should be shown to tailgaters,
    http://www.ebaumsworld.com/video/watch/81146539/

It's that easy to run into somebody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Bodhan

I have always thought the same thing, the closer you get the slower I go. I don't use the brake lights or make any sudden moves, I just keep exactly to the speed limit, it tends to drive them nuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭TentCrasher

If some people want to tailgate and drive with no care for other drivers, do the safest thing and as Luda would say ''Move Bitch''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

CyberGhost wrote: »
    This video should be shown to tailgaters,
    http://www.ebaumsworld.com/video/watch/81146539/

It's that easy to run into somebody.

Thats not tailgating. There was tonnes of time to stop there. His reaction time was soooo slow. The guy obviously was not watching the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭coolhandspan

very interesting comments here, i have an advanced driving course done, yet i would not like to preach/lecture.
    the following is just advice, take it or leave it, the room between you and the car in front is your space, it is the safe place you have created in case some lunatic does something ie: drunk driver/ bank robber. do not give up this space easily. if someone tailgates you, increse your safety area because the guy tailgating obviously enters the lunatic category. please always try to drive defensively, remember the lunatic may be on drugs/drink , just let him go and protect yourself and your passangers. thanks for reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,475 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

I usually ignore it... one it doesn't make me do is drive any faster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭dollybird2

I was a tail gater - ashamed to admit :o This is when I was a L driver and used to focus on the car in front of me to guide me on the road. All ended when i rammed my little Clio up the arse of the car in front :mad:
    Cost a fortune but best lesson I ever learned.