Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday Night Show 30/10/10

• 30-10-2010 6:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 647 ✭✭✭

On This week's show ,TV stalwarts Richard & Judy, the boys from Jackass,, GAA legend Dan Shanahan & music from Maria and the Diamonds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

Jackass lads are always good craic, Dan Shanahan is a genuine legend, Good line-up apart from Dick and Judy. Why does RTE think we want to see British b-listers?

I'm sure the LLS had first dibs on guests and turned down Johnny Knoxville and the boys. Just imagine Tubs trying to talk to Jackass? they would make a sh1te of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Poly wrote: »
    I'm sure the LLS had first dibs on guests and turned down Johnny Knoxville and the boys. Just imagine Tubs trying to talk to Jackass? they would make a sh1te of him
    I'd imagine something along the line of:

DLB: "Sooo....Johnny...that sounds like a very Oirish name, do you have any relatives from around this Island?"...

Johnny: "Ahhh...no"

(Tumble weed)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Dan Shanahan is a genuine legend,

He was in the Newstalk studios for Off The Ball during the week and Murph was saying "I dont know HOW many women came up and asked me 'who is he, he's gorgeous' "..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Namabillion

Or:
    'So johnny did you know JFK? Wat a guy. Did I mention JFK. '

Fuk sake lads, all us same sados at home again on a saturday night... We should have just rented one hotel room (for all of us) and go on the lash... I could organise the Dutch Gold truck to make a special delivery..

Did she say write or eat?
    Richard could have done better tbh..

Fuk sake lads, all us same sados at home again on a saturday night... We should have just rented one hotel room (for all of us) and go on the lash... I could organise the Dutch Gold truck to make a special delivery..

I went out last night, sorry, I felt guilty missing the DLB thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Good Evening

any good tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,440 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Judy had a manky eye last xmas....

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Judy had a manky eye last xmas....

complications led to her whole face becoming manky

The Village People have fairly evolved over the years...

thevillagepeople.jpg

poor aul dickie, what does he think of when he's ridin her?

thevillagepeople.jpg

That sheep costume has winner written all over it

thevillagepeople.jpg

Thats a munchkin George lee? Give me glasses Jon

Edit: sorry, umpa loopma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,440 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

complications led to her whole face becoming manky

Hey, I quite like Judy and I admire her for not going down the botox root. She looks her age, what's wrong with that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭rodberg007

poor aul dickie, what does he think of when he's ridin her?

I'd say he's dreaming of a brunette with big boobs and wrap around lips

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Hey, I quite like Judy and I admire her for not going down the botox root. She looks her age, what's wrong with that?
    Her looks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭AOwannabe

*wakes up from DLB induced coma*

Isn't one of the Jackass guys married to an Irish girl?

That sheep costume has winner written all over it

:eek::eek::eek: What a call.... *bows to your sixth sense*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

AOwannabe wrote: »
    *wakes up from DLB induced coma*

Isn't one of the Jackass guys married to an Irish girl?

i know he hung around UCD for a few months after the first movie premiere in dublin but don't think they got married yet.

have marina and the diamonds been on yet? marina is filthy gorgeous!

Honest looking gentlemen

These guys are nervous. O'conner trys puts these guys at ease knowing he will get more out of the interview,sign of a pro.

and it's working

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

they should give willie hes own show,what a character!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

lol.... these guys...........

I'm not saying anything...... :D :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

comes from a family of 21 kids :eek: wow

Honest looking gentlemen

I think you left out word 'very'

Could you imagine Tubridy handling the Traveller issues... jaysus he would have been mumbling, and dropped the cards all over the place.. and ended up resorting to "do you have relations in Ireland?"..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

that camera shot of the whole studio fooled me for ages. i always thought there was a massive screen on the side of the studio, before i remembered the tricks that perspective plays on me. screw you renaissance!!

He's a character alright, d'you know what I mean?

Seems like a nice guy though, d'you know what I mean?

Could you imagine Tubridy handling the Traveller issues... jaysus he would have been mumbling, and dropped the cards all over the place.. and ended up resorting to "do you have relations in Ireland?"..

Ha-ha-ha brilliant

they should give willie hes own show,what a character!

You'd want to nail everything to the floor though..

that was a savage fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

Impressive to make people with so little charisma seem interesting, Tubs take note.

that camera shot of the whole studio fooled me for ages. i always thought there was a massive screen on the side of the studio, before i remembered the tricks that perspective plays on me. screw you renaissance!!

I thought the very same too but it's actually a crane camera trained on a large screen hanging from the studio over the audience at the side of the seating area

"so guys caravans yeah (taps cards on table) we used to travel to Brittas Bay with mom and pops for a week in the summer i guess for you it was like one long holiday"

that was great craic altogether.. brendan handled an eclectic bunch of guests very well, and made it fun.. Tubridy wouldnt have taken out the Trivial Pursuit board at this stage..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Great show tonight:D

okay, I've been looking through the audience and here's the outfits I've spotted so far...

costumes1.jpg

Also spotted some related to the financial sector..

costumes2.jpg

Is something wrong with boards.ie tonight??

Aaaarrghh... boards keeps crashing on me. And I had a funny joke prepared about Willie Casey and a Jackass walking in to a pub.

that was great craic altogether.. brendan handled an eclectic bunch of guests very well, and made it fun.. Tubridy wouldnt have taken out the Trivial Pursuit board at this stage..

Well that's a diplomatic way of putting it. Let's just hope they don't go away thinking all Irish people are like that. :rolleyes:

Yeah one ye are after breaking it for the rest of us.. worse than the bankers breaking the country... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

Yeah fierce slow. Good show tonight. A little bit better than The late Late:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

baldbear wrote: »
    Good show tonight. A little bit better than The late Late:)

A lot better than the Late Late Show

yeah meltdown here too, I think DLB got his FF mates in Eircom to block people discussing RTE.

Once Dickie and Judith were out of the way,(I'm sure they are wishing they had dropped them) the show was great. He really brought the best out of the boxers and they merged nicely with jackass.

Notice how BOC openly admits he knows SFA about GAA, but still conducts a great interveiw with Dan the man, unlike DLB trying to bluff his way through with cue cards.

Personally, I don't care to always focus on the performance of the host. They're a host, their job isn't the hardest in the world. BOC came off the same way as he always does: great, a couple of odd moments. I don't know what the focus is always on the host here for, there was focus on him at first because he was new and we didn't know him... that's over. We know what he's like. How boring is it if every week we're meticulously going over the host's "performance", it's always the same.

Personally, I don't care to always focus on the performance of the host..

But the host makes or breaks the show.

Last night Tubs had on potentially great guests like Tom Jones and Michael Flatley and yet he managed to put me to sleep.

BOC gets the best out of his guests every week no matter how mediocre the line-up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

who thinks willie and jeff got there jumpers off one of willies cousins!!

AOwannabe wrote: »

BOC gets the best out of his guests every week no matter how mediocre the line-up.

just like Moncreiff on radio, he can pull a bit craic out of any interviewee when appropriate , but more importantly, knows when to thread lightly especially when the guests are nervous.
    It's called tact, something which poor auld DLB is severely lacking.