Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Breaking News, Multiple Suspicious Packages Found

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Breaking News, Multiple Suspicious Packages Found

Down your pants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

they're all ****ing "suspicious" until they open the ****ing things. stupid ****ing hype. i have a suspicious letter here from aib if they'd like to do a controlled explosion on it too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

If they're buzzing it's probably a vibrator.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Meh, all that'll do is bring down a plane with two people on board. Big whoop.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Feck, I hope its not my temporary dismembered suitcase nuke.
    Its amazing what you can get on Ebay these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Durka durka. Keep the masses in a state of panic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

It was unattended baggage, and so it now may be destroyed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

No active devices have been found.

Ruu wrote: »
    No active devices have been found.
    Shock horror. The news networks will milk this for all it's worth.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

There's speculation this could be a dry run, you now how terrorists live important dates, maybe they have something planed for halloween:eek:

There's speculation this could be a dry run, you now how terrorists live important dates, maybe they have something planed for Halloween:eek:

Yes, a no dancing, no music, no women, no fun, party.
    Should be a blast!

:o

There's speculation this could be a dry run, you now how terrorists live important dates, maybe they have something planed for halloween:eek:

Why would they have something planned for Hallowe'en? Massively insignificant day to most people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Superbus wrote: »
    Why would they have something planned for Hallowe'en? Massively insignificant day to most people.
    So was September 11th until 2001

sorry guys there is something up here, BREAKING NEWS: Bomb Squad Checking Suspicious Package Outside Federal Courthouse in Portland, Maine, this from Fox News http://www.foxnews.com/

Mister men wrote: »
    Durka durka. Keep the masses in a state of panic.
    Why? Is Simon Cowell attempting to sing now himself as well? :eek:
    Christ - where's the keys to me bunker!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

must be those saudi arabians again,stand by for an invasion of pakistan

My god what kind of sh1te are Sky News talking about. Complete BS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

I've drawn the blinds tbh:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Up the Pagan Liberation Organisation.

Daemos wrote: »
    So was September 11th until 2001

Yes, but why would they chose Hallowe'en in particular?

If only the Taliban would crash a plane into the knackers building a bonfire on the green area in front of our house i'd be forever grateful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Shock horror. The news networks will milk this for all it's worth.

Unlike the conspiracy theorists of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

Now they are saying that the packages were addressed to various synagogues in Chicago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

At least someone's found a use for old ink cartridges.

Reduce, reuse, recycle.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/world/us-cargo-flights-investigated-amid-terror-scare-479698.html

jujibee wrote: »
    Now they are saying that the packages were addressed to various synagogues in Chicago.

i hate juice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,566 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

The Windy city, must be an airbourne virus

Why would they choose September 11th in particular? Because it reads as 911 in America? The only people who know why (or if) these dates matter are the perpetrators.

Assuming this is actually an attack and not a prank, of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,566 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Daemos wrote: »
    Why would they choose September 11th in particular? Because it reads as 911 in America? The only people who know why (or if) these dates matter are the perpetrators.

Assuming this is actually an attack and not a prank, of course

911, yep just a prank :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I think this is a stark reminder of the threat these nutjobs pose to the free world. We need to unite as people to destroy islamic extremists and save normal muslims from these nutjobs as well.

Pauleta wrote: »
    I think this is a stark reminder of the threat these nutjobs pose to the free world. We need to unite as people to destroy islamic extremists and save normal muslims from these nutjobs as well.
    What stark reminder? It's an empty box with a few wires and some powder. Hardly end of day's stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭neaideabh

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-11638825

How much of a coincidence is it that these alerts happened 2 days after???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Are we not bombarded daily with potential threats, what exactly is so stark about this one? (which I'm sure will come to nowt).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

If only the Taliban would crash a plane into the knackers building a bonfire on the green area in front of our house i'd be forever grateful.

If that happened, you'd be forever dead, rather than grateful.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    If that happened, you'd be forever dead, rather than grateful.

and all the family would be forever alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Shulgin

Don't believe the hype.

R.T.E News just said Obama was told last night of a attack about to be hatched, they think this is a dummy run:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Great .....I work next door to a synagogue in Chicago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Damn you UPS!

Wouldn't a dummy run put everyone on alert and make it harder to pull off the real thing?

Unless they're planning it for months in the future when people will have forgotten

Again assuming it's real

c_man wrote: »
    Damn you UPS!
    Well the where ever the bombs were going, they would have gotten there on time!
    I wonder did Osama get tracking numbers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

R.T.E News just said Obama was told last night of a attack about to be hatched, they think this is a dummy run:(:(

An attack on Iran maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Random wrote: »
    they're all ****ing "suspicious" until they open the ****ing things. stupid ****ing hype. i have a suspicious letter here from aib if they'd like to do a controlled explosion on it too!
    I'd be more worried about suspicious text messages from AIB.
    We're going to have to do a controlled explosion of the forum you moderate. :)

sorry guys there is something up here, BREAKING NEWS: Bomb Squad Checking Suspicious Package Outside Federal Courthouse in Portland, Maine, this from Fox News http://www.foxnews.com/
    Dude. Fox News.
    The "We're all dooooooooooomed" channel.

These feckers are to blame.
    They're the last of those holding out from the holy books.

The attack is actually being planned for Ireland because we invented Hallowe'en.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    If they're buzzing it's probably a vibrator.

Or an electric toothbrush! As one taxi driver was disappointed to find when handling my suitcase one time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Ghost Estate

I knew i shouldn't have posted that broken toner cartridge...

2 fighter jets escorting plane into JFK flight 201 UAE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

The RAF Are useing Fighter jets to Escort flights into Heathrow. and The US Army are Also useing fighter jets to escort Flights. Things are Getting worse as More flights are Reported to have Explosive materials. A Dubai flight landing at JFK is reported to have a explosive device.

Something big is going on folks, Military Jets Escorting Passenger Jet From Dubai to JFK Airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Source?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

If he links to Sky News, im leaving :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Daisy!

Turn on Sky News