Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chartbusters closes down

• 29-10-2010 12:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1029/chartbusters-business.html

Sad to see but it's been coming for a while. They were always more expensive than Xtra-Vision, had a more limited choice and never diversified into DVD and videogame sales like Xtra-Vision. Add to that the fact that more and more people are downloading films and using postal rental places and it was pretty inevitable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I thought Chartbuster was Xtra-vision but under a different corporate name outside Irish borders?
    There is definitely a legal connection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 johnnysexsmith

I have a couple of chartbusters DVD's to return. What do I do now?

Return them they have requested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

I worked for Chartbusters. Probably the worst-run company, populated by the most idiotic shower of cunts I've ever come across. Upper management, that is. Feel sorry for the plebs who work in the shops like I once did. But the head of Chartbusters, whome I shall not name, is an absolute prick. Cant say I'm sorry to see his company tank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

But they have so much more then xtravison, sunbeds, vibrators, facials, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Never nice to see something like that happen. Though it was inevitable really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭stereo_steve

Sad to see but it's been coming for a while. They were always more expensive than Xtra-Vision, had a more limited choice and never diversified into DVD and videogame sales like Xtra-Vision. .

Its weird you say that because my experience with them was the exact opposite! I felt they really diversified, tanning + internet cafe etc.

The real problem here I think is online streaming/downloading whether it be illegal or legal. I find the idea of leaving my house in whatever weather, finding parking, paying relatively expensive prices for movies, watching ads I can't skip and then having to return them very annoying. I'd even go so far as to say in this day and age its backward.

Video shops should be trying to go the way of Netflix. Although even then they would be competing with Xbox ,PS3 and amazon (whenever it gets here).

Sorry for the folks that lost jobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Internet killed the dvd store....

...Or to be more accurate, high-speed internet becoming more available, killed the dvd store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

Biggins wrote: »
    ...Or to be more accurate, high-speed internet becoming more available, killed the dvd store.

So UPC killed the dvd store.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I thought Chartbuster was Xtra-vision but under a different corporate name outside Irish borders?
    There is definitely a legal connection.

yer man who originally setup Xtravision sold it off and then after a while setup Chartbusters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭cookies221

Who's going to pay €7+ for a one night rental of a DVD when you can buy the bloody thing for a tenner or less in some places. The cost of DVDs has fallen drastically in recent years due to the arrival of blu-ray, yet Chartbusters and its ilk still insisted on charging crazy prices.

Glad to see the company go bust but sorry for those who lost their jobs. Let's hope Xtravision follow suit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

But they have so much more then xtravison, sunbeds, vibrators, facials, etc

:eek::eek::eek:

Your getting a video, and a knocking shop confused here!

:P

I doubt they or similar, did it directly or intentionally.

The internet has been around for a long time now. Its only in the last few years when speeds have really increased that film downloading, legal or otherwise has made it worth the effort of getting films via this route more so.

Previously only the most dedicated, the original geeks of the IT world remained steadfast in the use of the internet for obtaining video clips at 56k speeds. Gluttons for punishments! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Justin10

All there old dvds are charged at 2 euro and new releases i think 3.50 cheaper then xtra vision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

It's amazing these kinds of stores have lasted so long to be honest. The only time I have set foot in one of them for the last 5 years or so has been to kill time while I am waiting for someone and add to a list of movies that I intend to download.

The internet has been around for a long time now. Its only in the last few years when speeds have really increased that film downloading, legal or otherwise has made it worth the effort of getting films via this route more so.

Previously only the most dedicated, the original geeks of the IT world remained steadfast in the use of the internet for obtaining video clips at 56k speeds. Gluttons for punishments! :pac:

Yeah but the fact is high speed downloading is eating into these places profits. Big time. Also the fact that sky movies show films almost as quickly as chartbusters release them doesn't help.

I haven't rented a film in years because
    - a. its too expensive
    - b. i couldn't be bothered taking it back
    - c. i just buy films, its only a few euros more
    - d. internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

No loss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Content on demand is killing these places. Why rent a DVD for €6 for 1 night when you can rent the same movie from the likes if iTunes for €4 and have it for 48 hours from initial time of viewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

mikom wrote: »
    No loss.

Except for the folks that have lost jobs of course.

Content on demand is killing these places. Why rent a DVD for €6 for 1 night when you can rent the same movie from the likes if iTunes for €4 and have it for 48 hours from initial time of viewing.

Or wait a month & buy the same movie for a few euros more than the rent fee?

I honestly thought this had happened years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Lidlmovies ftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

I feel for the employees. The company i work for is closing down today. Luckily I had an interview today and i start a new job on monday. Its only a short contract but hopefully it leads to something a bit more permanant!

I won't be able to browse boards where i'm going, which was one of the perks at this place.

So you'll be seeing less and less of my smart arse comments

Cnuts :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

Or wait a month & buy the same movie for a few euros more than the rent fee?

or download it for free and have it as long as you want...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Biggins I think they're just making a joke!

el rabitos wrote: »
    or download it for free and have it as long as you want...

oops careful there^. ssshuusshhh!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

http://www.chartbusters.ie/ ah well,i wonder if they'll sell off all their stock cheaply? could do with a nice tanning bed and a few dvds to use as mirrors while im bronzing myself

triple-M wrote: »
    http://www.chartbusters.ie/ ah well,i wonder if they'll sell off all their stock cheaply? could do with a nice tanning bed and a few dvds to use as mirrors while im bronzing myself

Bloody vultures circling the victim eh? Disgusting! People are going to lose they're jobs you know?

Do they sell mp3 players? I could do with a cheap one. Fcuk em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Unless you've got Vodash1t Home Broadband, in which case you have to buy the book of the film.:(

Just on the pirate end of things, I see Limewire has just been ordered shut down.
    The music has finally stopped for file-sharing website LimeWire after the plug was pulled by a New York City judge.

The ruling has left 50 million users in silence after United States District Judge Kimba Wood decided that the site had knowingly engaged in a "massive scale of infringement" of copyright laws and had to be stopped.

Users who try to log on to the now-defunct website are greeted with confirmation that LimeWire has gone, stating that "This is an official notice that LimeWire is under a court-ordered injunction to stop distributing and supporting its file-sharing software," and that "Downloading or sharing copyrighted content without authorisation is illegal."

Following a similar path to the kingpin of "peer-to-peer" music sites, Napster, which was launched a year earlier and became a global sensation, LimeWire will cease to function as a freebie site, if at all. Napster was taken down in 2001 after a costly legal battle brought by the US recording industry, but has since regained composure and now operates as a legal site.

The case is far from over as the Recording Industry Association of America and LimeWire will have to face the judge again in January as they begin to assess how much the website may owe to the record labels in damages. LimeWire may live to regret its regular bragging that its 50 million users had shared and downloaded over three billion songs a month.

LimeWire Chief Executive George Searle said that the company was still open for business, but with Judge Wood's ruling that the website was to disable "searching, downloading, uploading, file trading, and/or file distribution functionality" this may be problematic.

It seems the world of file-sharing is doomed, with websites such as Kazaa (2001), Torrent Spy (2005) and The Pirate Bay (2006) all having faced major lawsuits.

http://uk.news.launch.yahoo.com/dyna/article.html?a=/101028/340/iz76z.html&e=l_news_dm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

Another company tanked because of poor management.

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Biggins I think they're just making a joke!

I know but they did hit/raise a good point if intentional or not.
    ...And yes, I did get the "Bubbles" joke. :D

Another company tanked because of poor management.

Some people should never be allowed to run any kind of business, because they haven't a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Nice one.. I owed then 4 euro on my card.. havent been in there in about 5 years though.. Wonder is there interest on that..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Just on the pirate end of things, I see Limewire has just been ordered shut down.

http://uk.news.launch.yahoo.com/dyna/article.html?a=/101028/340/iz76z.html&e=l_news_dm

Ah crap, anyone else know are really good source of viruses and malware?

Stinicker wrote: »
    Ah crap, anyone else know are really good source of viruses and malware?

Give me your email address and I'll let you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

Nice one.. I owed then 4 euro on my card.. havent been in there in about 5 years though.. Wonder is there interest on that..

you bankrupted them! :eek: :P

This is probably the start of the removal of these big p2p sites. Modern law is catching up with them. For years they were untouchable. Those days are gone.

Demonoid I expect to be the next big one targeted.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Isohunt too. It will suck when they go.

I cant see xtravision lasting too long more. Could be wrong..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

They must be staying open down the country, in that case.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Just because they couldn't get a membership invite :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    Isohunt too. It will suck when they go.
    Pretty sure ISOhunt has already been targeted by someone a year or two back: I remember them having to add in some filters to make the record labels a bit happier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

haha, piracy, private trackers for the win. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Mick_D

Except for the folks that have lost jobs of course.

Yea, my Son was told his job was gone last night - by phone. They don't know if they will even get paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Gonzo_Reporter

Yea, my Son was told his job was gone last night - by phone. They don't know if they will even get paid.

I work or did work in one of the stores till last night. I was told we'd be paid to the end of the week and any payments for outstanding pay or redundency would be handled by the liquidator... but with anything to do with that company i have my doubts.

While the lack of interest in renting DVDs and tanning may have eventually closed my store, larger stores were still (i believe) making a profit on everything.
    Its my opinion that poor management by senior staff lead to yesterdays decision. But the writing has been on the tanning room wall for over a year now, it was sudden but not a surprise to me.
    Further more the shop staff and store managers, certainly the ones ive worked with, were fantastic and i wish them the best. I wont miss one particular area manager though.

Consider the DVDs you have out now a parting gift... but theyre probably scratched to bits.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

serves them right,didn't move with the times and over priced on everything.Not to mention the supply of a lot of orange girls on the streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Aw feck, I need to work on my wintertime tan :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Gonzo_Reporter

pmcmahon wrote: »
    serves them right,didn't move with the times and over priced on everything.Not to mention the supply of a lot of orange girls on the streets.

cant believe im standing up for them, they were cheaper than Xtravision for movies. XV are the rip off merchants 4-5 euro a night for a DVD please! and now they have the whole market... but yes they are to blame for the tanning, i had to sell it.
    I also sold Skinny Water!!! Same great taste of water but without all that crap in it