Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poles send nearly €1billion out of Ireland last year!!!

• 26-10-2010 7:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭

Muck Fe!

Were in the midst of one of the biggest recessions this country has ever seen, yet the Polish community still managed to get a billion out of the country last year!

Fair play to them mind, lets not kid ourselves (nor begrudge them) they are hard workers!

I spent a few years in Australia and sent back feck all!!! (actually borrowed fifty from my mam for the pub on the night I arrived back!:eek::eek::eek:)

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/1026/1224282006224.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Sort of confused as to how they can afford to live over here and still send home that much money

Edit: I'm not saying it's bad, they're supporting their families or whatever they're doing is grand bit it just seems a lot considering the cost of living in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

thats a lot of happy meals aint it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

phasers wrote: »
    Sort of confused as to how they can afford to live over here and still send home that much money

It probably wasn't €1 billion each.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Keptic

Gucky wrote: »
    still managed to get a billion out of the country last year
    As far as I'm concerned if they earned the money - they own it and whatever they do with it is not mine nor should be anyone else's business... For me they can even stick that money up their bums if they enjoy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

they are hard workers!

No better or worse then any other nationality

Sanjuro wrote: »
    It probably wasn't €1 billion each.
    About €841 million in wages earned by Polish long-term and temporary employees in Ireland was sent back in savings or payments to support relatives. This amounts to €4,205 each for the estimated 200,000 Poles who live in the Republic.

4 grand per person is a lot of money.

Also thanks whoring is so last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

We'll be sending sterling, Aussie, US and Canadian dollars back to feed the starving in Ireland soon enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

The Irish abroad never sent any money home. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

And how many swans?

Fair play to them, taking the big risk and going abroad to better their and their family's position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

i bet the irish themselves spent nearly €1billion in poland last year on booze, hookers during stag and hen weekends to places like krakow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

No better or worse then any other nationality

Agreed, but no other nationality is mentioned in the article, hence why I mentioned the Poles!***

***(as in Polish people, not the things strippers slide up and down!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Not something worth getting in a fuss over.
    How much did Irish tourists spend abroad last year?
    How much did Irish people spend up North last year?
    How much did foreign tourists bring into the country?

These aren't rhetorical questions, does anybody know?
    It'll help put the point of this thread into context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

And how many swans?

Fair play to them, taking the big risk and going abroad to better their and their family's position.

What risk exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Also thanks whoring is so last year.

Fair play to be honest.

I doubt the average irish person under the age of 30 saves 4,000E a year, avoiding going into debt is considered fair play to us irish.

I guess they dont come from a culture of buying more stuff than Mary next door for happiness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Don't see what's wrong with it. What's more important - contributing to the Irish economy or their families at home? Better to send it to their families than piss it away on booze here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

It's not really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Kind of a misleading article.

€4,205 sent back to Poland per person in the year. They should have also said how much these Polish people spent and paid in taxes to Ireland in that year.

Imagine the average Pole makes €1,461.85 per month (National minimum wages in Euro per month before deduction of income tax and social security contributions. Not adjusted for inflation. Source: Eurosat)
    That's €17,542.20 per year minus 20% tax (not including any credits and assuming the person is single), minus the €4,205 sent to Poland and we're left with approx €9,828.76

That's €3,508.44 paid in taxes (approx) and €9,828.76 that's spent in country on rent and living. We're still making out a lot better than it sounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I know some fellas from EE and they never go out, they watch what they eat and generally live according to "work now, play later" ethics.
    They only party in each others houses on Aldi vodka and never go down the pub.
    One of them has two jobs, works his ass off but could afford to buy a house and a car back home.

If you live like crap, eat Lidl veggies every day and hardly ever drink - you can save that kinda cash too.

galwayrush wrote: »
    We'll be sending sterling, Aussie, US and Canadian dollars back to feed the starving in Ireland soon enough.
    Why bother, they're all worthless compared to our currency (bar GBP, which isn't doing so well atm).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Keptic wrote: »
    As far as I'm concerned if they earned the money - they own it and whatever they do with it is not mine nor should be anyone else's business... .

......... unless you're Bono of course! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

biko wrote: »
    I know some fellas from EE and they never go out, they watch what they eat and generally live according to "work now, play later" ethics.
    They only party in each others houses on Aldi vodka and never go down the pub.
    One of them has two jobs, works his ass off but could afford to buy a house and a car back home.

If you live like crap, eat Lidl veggies every day and hardly ever drink - you can save that kinda cash too.

I wouldn't call not going out and eating cheap food living like crap. If a lot of people lived like "crap" for a while in the past there mightn't be as much debt around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Im sick of these poles getting a thousand euros a week from our dole and sending it back to Poland! Thats our tax paying their way while to play their playstations all day.

Im so angry right now i could cry!

Dudess wrote: »
    Don't see what's wrong with it. What's more important - contributing to the Irish economy or their families at home? Better to send it to their families than piss it away on booze here.
    True, plus it's not like the money is leaving the EU, which is a definite positive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Obaraten wrote: »
    Not much good will come of this thread to be honest...

Thats because its a cleverly disguised them damn foreigners!:mad: type thread.

It's not really.
    Maybe not to some people :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭man.about.town

my only problem with this is that how much of the money they sent back was social welfare, child welfare etc... theres 40,000 poles on social welfare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

OisinT wrote: »
    Kind of a misleading article.

€4,205 sent back to Poland per person in the year. They should have also said how much these Polish people spent and paid in taxes to Ireland in that year.

Imagine the average Pole makes €1,461.85 per month (National minimum wages in Euro per month before deduction of income tax and social security contributions. Not adjusted for inflation. Source: Eurosat)
    That's €17,542.20 per year minus 20% tax (not including any credits and assuming the person is single), minus the €4,205 sent to Poland and we're left with approx €9,828.76

That's €3,508.44 paid in taxes (approx) and €9,828.76 that's spent in country on rent and living. We're still making out a lot better than it sounds.

they would not pay tax on those earnings, although that will likely change in the budget.

I save around that much every month.

Im sick of these poles getting a thousand euros a week from our dole and sending it back to Poland! Thats our tax paying their way while to play their playstations all day.

:facepalm: It said nothing about the Dole. Who get's a thousand Euro a week btw? The Dole really pays €52,000 a year?! Jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭scorpioishere

So happy for them , at least they are doing something for their country, their lives and their future. Not like some here who likes to party every week end, buy all sort of stuff to show off and who doesn't even bother to work their ass hard.

I'll work their ass hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

:facepalm: It said nothing about the Dole. Who get's a thousand Euro a week btw? The Dole really pays €52,000 a year?! Jesus.

Haha, where do i sign up for a 1K a year dole? I suppose working 2-3 hours a week as a Government quango is the only way of getting money like that for nothing.:rolleyes::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Where theres a will theres a way. My mates girlfriend know a girl in Santry who lives beside a massive house with a polish couple living in it and they both drive 09 ferraris and they are both on the dole but do you think that stopped them getting their bones surgically replaced with diamond encrusted platinum bones? No it did not.

Open your eyes and read between the lines!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Muck Fe!

Were in the midst of one of the biggest recessions this country has ever seen, yet the Polish community still managed to get a billion out of the country last year!

With the gloom of the upcoming budget, tens of thousands of Irish will take to the the boat and send it all back again. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I save around that much every month.

give me a lend :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Where theres a will theres a way. My mates girlfriend know a girl in Santry who lives beside a massive house with a polish couple living in it and they both drive 09 ferraris and they are both on the dole but do you think that stopped them getting their bones surgically replaced with diamond encrusted platinum bones? No it did not.

Open your eyes and read between the lines!!

Robocop was Polish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

fedor.2. wrote: »
    What risk exactly?

There's always a risk in upping sticks and moving to a country where you don't speak the language and don't know if you'll get a job, find a place to live, make friends. There's the financial outlay at the start (flights, shipping belongings, paying deposits for rent/ESB etc). If you don't find a job quickly you're at risk of being destitute, if you bring your family with you, you risk them feeling isolated or finding it hard to adjust in school etc.

The pay-off to taking such risks is saving enough money to be able to buy your own property when you return home, or having enough dough to invest in a business either here or at home etc.

If there wasn't the prospect of gains to be made from such a move, there'd be 25 million fewer Oirish living in the USA today.

My mates girlfriend know a girl in Santry who lives beside
    That was just enough to make me giggle... But then I saw this:
    a massive house with a polish couple living in it and they both drive 09 ferraris
    ... and I can't stop laughing :D

give me a lend :p

No worries.

The interest rate is 10% compound a day.

How much do you want?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Sounds pretty healthy to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

So they save €1 billion between them. They then have two choices.

1. Stick it in an Irish bank.

2. Send it back to Poland and stick it in a Polish bank.

I'd go with option 2 myself. :cool:

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Robocop was Polish?

Yes - he was originally called Robocopakie.

http://www.polishposter.com/images/0847.jpg

SUPERGLINA

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Let not forget too that it went back home to family's where as if it stayed here, some of it at least would be spend on more drink and hard drugs.

Family or drugs? I know what I feel is the more decent thing for it to be spent on. Family, no hesitation.

Look at it another way, if they didn't send it back home, maybe more of their family would be heading this direction at times! Food for thought anyway...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Not for a single person, no. I read that post as satirical, btw. However one consequence of the downturn is that many of the more honest guys and gals (the same ones that were scorned and covered in muck for a couple of years in the middle of the decade) have moved onto greener pastures. Those who remain either still work, or shock horror are on the welfare. Not only that, but many have brought over female relatives to live with them, in order that they may claim as well.

There are whole estates in East Cork alone (some are ghost estates, others built at the tail end of the boom and sold to misguided or greedy investors), that are occupied by Polish nationals. Some work, but in these areas, many are on rent allowance (another fop that props up said property investors.)

One estate on the Mill road in Midleton alone is chocabloc with Polish families, many members of which haven't a word of English, they never leave the house, or interact with people outside their own communities. The place is turning into a ghetto.

I don't blame them. Show me an Irish person, young and with no ties, who wouldn't move elsewhere and pick up the equivalent of a middle class wage, and a few bob on the side, had they the chance?

Sending money home is fine, if contributions are made here. And they were in the main when times were good, even if the demographic in question could give Ebenezer Scrooge lessons in frugality. Now? Not so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

No worries.

The interest rate is 10% compound a day.

How much do you want?

about three fiddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Paco Rodriguez

Fair play to them

Biggins wrote: »
    Let not forget too that it went back home to family's where as if it stayed here, some of it at least would be spend on more drink and hard drugs.

Family or drugs? I know what I feel is the more decent thing for it to be spent on. Family, no hesitation.

Look at it another way, if they didn't send it back home, maybe more of their family would be heading this direction at times! Food for thought anyway...

According to the Herald, 90% of the money that was sent back was used to fuel the drug habits of Polish OAPs.

There's a major granny heroin problem over there... they're out on park benches every day, shooting up & then eating raw swans straight from the lakes.