Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Foam rollers

• 25-10-2010 3:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭

Where do you get yours and what type, have a foam one but seems to be bowing in the middle....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

get the grid - will not let you down -

http://thetransformationcatalyst.wordpress.com/2010/10/20/the-3-most-important-rehabprehab-tools-you-must-own/

There are a few other rehab tools mentioned also but you can see in the video that the foam rollers get quite soft over time.

Hope that helps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Can't bate a bit of wavin

i would agree with that but the average person to start with is going to cry like a girl on wavin pipe!!

One more point - i would encourage everyone to see foam rolling as a two part process and nOT exclusive - you need both

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

Transform wrote: »
    One more point - i would encourage everyone to see foam rolling as a two part process and nOT exclusive - you need both
    both what? i dont understand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭agentgreen

get the grid - will not let you down -

http://thetransformationcatalyst.wordpress.com/2010/10/20/the-3-most-important-rehabprehab-tools-you-must-own/

There are a few other rehab tools mentioned also but you can see in the video that the foam rollers get quite soft over time.

Hope that helps

Do you have the links to the items in the vid?

agentgreen wrote: »

Do you have the links to the items in the vid?

all the grid stuff www.irish-fit.ie it think

the ball in www.crossfit.ie

the bands - just google iron woody bands in usa is where i ship them in from but i buy in bulk for all items

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Banks

Cheers transform...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭deadlybuzzman

just get some 10/15 cm diameter pipe-I never used an actual foam roller till last week after a yr with pvc pipe and I couldnt feel a thing. I think that says alot about the difference in effectiveness

that might be fine for someone with muscles that are a little bit tight but give a wavin pipe to one of the post marathon runners today or a 40yr old woman/man with really tight IT band and they are going to walk away very fast.

A physical therapist does not go straight into working on someone and lay as much pressure into tight areas as possible. Neither should you unless you have really built up a better quality of muscle tissue.

Do both - i.e. foam rolling and stretching not just one as both togehter will produce best results

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Anzer123

Nice article on foam rolling:

http://www.strengthcoach.com/public/1303.cfm

Its not in that particular article, but Mike Boyle recommended to use the roller as part of a 3 part series in the following sequence:

1. Roll to break down adhesions
    2. Stretch to lengthen the muscles
    3. Core to activate the key muscles needed

I make my own rollers from wavin, strong glue and carved stretching mats. The mat gives grip and spftens the feel of the roller a bit. I have a thick version and a thin version. Would definitely agree with those above who advocate starting out on a softer version though.

From my experience, Rebok rollers are v soft, then the white ones are next in line (http://www.mcsport.ie/foam-roller/p-fmadfroller6wpd.aspx) , followed by the black version, follwed by the pipe version.

A

Anzer123 wrote: »
    Nice article on foam rolling:

http://www.strengthcoach.com/public/1303.cfm

Its not in that particular article, but Mike Boyle recommended to use the roller as part of a 3 part series in the following sequence:

1. Roll to break down adhesions
    2. Stretch to lengthen the muscles
    3. Core to activate the key muscles needed

I make my own rollers from wavin, strong glue and carved stretching mats. The mat gives grip and spftens the feel of the roller a bit. I have a thick version and a thin version. Would definitely agree with those above who advocate starting out on a softer version though.

From my experience, Rebok rollers are v soft, then the white ones are next in line (http://www.mcsport.ie/foam-roller/p-fmadfroller6wpd.aspx) , followed by the black version, follwed by the pipe version.

A
    i would put the quadballer in there also

Plus a foam roll is NOT going to help getting into the shoudlers and glutes in any significant way as mentioned in the article.

Fair play on making one though - i really have zero patience for DIY stuff

Plus a foam roll is NOT going to help getting into the shoudlers and glutes in any significant way as mentioned in the article.

Ha cheers. Yeah agree on the shoulders/ glutes.....a nice hard sliotar can help that situation as well! :pac:

that might be fine for someone with muscles that are a little bit tight but give a wavin pipe to one of the post marathon runners today or a 40yr old woman/man with really tight IT band and they are going to walk away very fast.

agreed but the OP said he has a foam roller already so hes not new to it so he should be well able for it-obviously starting gradually and building up from there

agreed but I just still cant get over why some people want to go and invent or create their own when the time and energy can be better spent training rather than -

1) get online and buy ball and grid/quadballer - 5mins done
    2) go to hardwear shop and get all stuff you need - 2-3hrs.

The whole point of rolling is not some form of sadomasicism, its just using a few good tools to help you prevent injuries. So i want my clients that are paying a substantial amount per hour to roll on a grid roller not a wavin pipe and a lasrosse ball NOT a sliotar because

A) it looks better
    B) they can buy the products
    C) they will use it and both dont look like left overs from a GAA/builders meeting

Use what ever tools that work for you but just because they are harder does not mean they are better to a degree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭agentgreen

Is the quadballer essential or would the foam roller on its own be substantial?

agentgreen wrote: »
    Is the quadballer essential or would the foam roller on its own be substantial?
    for most the grid roller is going to work fine

agreed but I just still cant get over why some people want to go and invent or create their own when the time and energy can be better spent training rather than -

The whole point of rolling is not some form of sadomasicism, its just using a few good tools to help you prevent injuries. So i want my clients that are paying a substantial amount per hour to roll on a grid roller not a wavin pipe and a lasrosse ball NOT a sliotar because

A) it looks better
    C) they will use it and both dont look like left overs from a GAA/builders meeting

Use what ever tools that work for you but just because they are harder does not mean they are better to a degree

Everyone to their own man, I was only giving my own personal opinion of what I do myself.

Sawin a piece of pipe takes literally a few mins- 2-3 hrs in a hardware shop? exageration maybe? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

I'm just gonna throw this out there.

Why is it preferable to look like leftovers from a nonsense sport played by posh Americans than looking like leftovers from Hurling?

A) it looks better

do they buy them off you? I just find it strange that out of your 3 reasons for using a grid roller, it being better for the job wasnt one of them. so what that it doesnt look pretty?
    furthermore if its cheap more people can use it and hopefully avoid injury/pain.
    PVC pipe got great mentions on US lifting sites so I tried it because I had bouts of back cramp that used to stop me even walking comfortably, now between that and improved posture its completely gone.

do they buy them off you? I just find it strange that out of your 3 reasons for using a grid roller, it being better for the job wasnt one of them. so what that it doesnt look pretty?
    furthermore if its cheap more people can use it and hopefully avoid injury/pain.
    PVC pipe got great mentions on US lifting sites so I tried it because I had bouts of back cramp that used to stop me even walking comfortably, now between that and improved posture its completely gone.

Who wrote the articles on the US Lifting sites?

Seriously here for a second.
    You can buy whatever the hell you want.
    If you ask a question from a professional he is going to give you his opinion based on his professional experience.
    Which is what is happening here.

He doesn't have to stand up to your scrutiny, his results and his clients results already stand up plenty.

d'Oracle wrote: »

Why is it preferable to look like leftovers from a nonsense sport played by posh Americans than looking like leftovers from Hurling?
    because a lacrosse ball is made out of rubber and has a bit of give and will roll easily.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

I have to say I really didn't like the grid...

Fair enoguh I went from a foam roller to a pipe so maybe I shouldn't have expect anything ground breaking, but I found it way to soft. The transition from foam roller to pipe was rough enough, but you can vary the amount of pressure on the pipe without too much trouble so I don't see why you'd worry.

Yes the grid works better than a normal white/blue foam roll that goes soft over time but is a piece of wavin pipe going to be better again? For what i do with my clients I really wouldnt go there.

e.g. a 45yr professional man who is quite stiff and wants to do 1-2 sessions a week with me, am I going to tell this guy "hey hop on a piece of wavin that i got".
    For me it just looks unprofessional and will do no better a job than a grid roller and maybe me doing some stick work on them or themselves doing it.

If you use a pipe and you like using it then great but from what i see on a daily basis in terms of tightness i am more likely to get people to keep foam rolling when using a grid roller as they can manage that rather than a rock solid pipe. Again i am going on what i see daily and dealing with hundreds of clients NOT individual cases.

I apprecaite that a pipe might be fine for some so keep at it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Will Heffernan

That's where the industry is at now...it's about looks and perception rather than knowledge and results.

That is how it is. All you need to be a trainer these days is a cert (does anyone know anyone that's ever failed one of these course that paid big bucks for...because I don't know of ANYONE who's failed), some pharmaceutical enhancement and slick sales pitch and you are good to go.

I was contacted by a colleague in the US the other day and was asked about an Irish trainer who was described to them as 'an elite trainer of champions'...I did in this instance know who he was asking about...he's a tradesman (a good one) who does some PT work on the side and spends more time on the internet blogging, tweeting, facebooking about training than doing it.

That's where we're at now....it's about the website, the videos, the blogging, the network, the 6 pack and the slick sales pitch.

I am certainly going to try to start doing a better job of it myself...be expecting more vids of me sweaty and topless in the future...I'm going to get with the program :)

I'll be keeping the pipe and the sliotar though...I'll work the old school angle ;)

Yeah.

I'm sticking with my hockey ball.

That's where the industry is at now...it's about looks and perception rather than knowledge and results.

That is how it is. All you need to be a trainer these days is a cert (does anyone know anyone that's ever failed one of these course that paid big bucks for...because I don't know of ANYONE who's failed), some pharmaceutical enhancement and slick sales pitch and you are good to go.

I was contacted by a colleague in the US the other day and was asked about an Irish trainer who was described to them as 'an elite trainer of champions'...I did in this instance know who he was asking about...he's a tradesman (a good one) who does some PT work on the side and spends more time on the internet blogging, tweeting, facebooking about training than doing it.

That's where we're at now....it's about the website, the videos, the blogging, the network, the 6 pack and the slick sales pitch.

I am certainly going to try to start doing a better job of it myself...be expecting more vids of me sweaty and topless in the future...I'm going to get with the program :)

I'll be keeping the pipe and the sliotar though...I'll work the old school angle ;)
    the industry is PRIMARILY about results and thats what i always come back to i.e. is a wavin pipe going to do a better job?

Yes for some but a certain NO for others in my experience from actually working with clients and not talking about working with clients.

Yeah.

I'm sticking with my hockey ball.
    Pussy...I roll on a kettlebell...I find the 32kg gets me right between my shoulder blades perfectly.

the industry is ONLY about results.
    That's the most hysterical thing I've heard this year and I don't think you believe that for a fraction of a second and merely writing that is completely disingenuous.

If you really believe that...then I would say you are the ONLY person on this board that thinks that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Pffft, a lightbulb is the only way to go. Gets right in there.

Dead Ed wrote: »
    Pffft, a lightbulb is the only way to go. Gets right in there.
    That's pretty good...forget the foam roller...roll on a fluorescent light bulb...hits all the right places and also adds excitement and an element of danger :)

Who wrote the articles on the US Lifting sites?

jim wendler
    http://articles.elitefts.com/articles/training-articles/five-531-questions/

http://www.t-nation.com/testosterone-magazine-633#blood-chalk-vol-6

brian carroll-elitefts sponsored powerlifter-squats 900lbs and is a massage therapist
    http://asp.elitefts.com/qa/training-logs.asp?qid=130563&tid=189

joe defranco also advocates its use, e.g. the agile 8

Im not slaggin off anything as being crap or people being wrong as such but what works works and i would have a problem with straightforward things that work being written off because it doesnt look fancy or isnt packaged properly.
    like I said earlier too-pvc is something you generally build up to-I didnt but thats cos I didnt care how much it hurt initially

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭SanoVitae

Transform wrote:
    the industry is ONLY about results.

That's like saying success in the music industry relies only on musical talent.

As with most industries, it usually the people who market themselves best who make the most money, not the person who is the best personal trainer. Unfortunately, this is rarely the person who is the absolute best at what they do.

I'd imagine that the 'elite trainer of champions' who Will referred to is doing very well for himself and that his success has little to do with the actual results he's getting with his clients.

jim wendler
    http://articles.elitefts.com/articles/training-articles/five-531-questions/

http://www.t-nation.com/testosterone-magazine-633#blood-chalk-vol-6

brian carroll-elitefts sponsored powerlifter-squats 900lbs and is a massage therapist
    http://asp.elitefts.com/qa/training-logs.asp?qid=130563&tid=189

joe defranco also advocates its use, e.g. the agile 8

Im not slaggin off anything as being crap or people being wrong as such but what works works and i would have a problem with straightforward things that work being written off because it doesnt look fancy or isnt packaged properly.
    like I said earlier too-pvc is something you generally build up to-I didnt but thats cos I didnt care how much it hurt initially

I thought it was Brian Carroll's missus who was the MT.

well goin by this he doesnt correct yer man thats asking him his opinion

That's pretty good...forget the foam roller...roll on a fluorescent light bulb...hits all the right places and also adds excitement and an element of danger :)

actually last week mid deadlift session I used the smith machine to roll out a bit of tightness!! :D

well goin by this he doesnt correct yer man thats asking him his opinion

Going by what?

actually last week mid deadlift session I used the smith machine to roll out a bit of tightness!! :D
    Probably the best use of a smith machine...that and an adjustable inverted row rack.

SanoVitae wrote: »
    There's a lot of trainers doing the equivalent of lip syncing that's for sure...well that and doing cover versions :)
    As with most industries, it usually the people who market themselves best who make the most money, not the person who is the best personal trainer. Unfortunately, this is rarely the person who is the absolute best at what they do.
    Agreed. I'm not complaining about that either...I'm actually just jealous. I wish I could do the marketing and promotion better. I've wasted too much time actually getting results and don't spend enough time talking about it.
    I'd imagine that the 'elite trainer of champions' who Will referred to is doing very well for himself and that his success has little to do with the actual results he's getting with his clients.
    He does a bootcamp twice a week and has about 5-10 personal training clients. I like him and think he'll do well. It's all about the spiel though.

That's the most hysterical thing I've heard this year and I don't think you believe that for a fraction of a second and merely writing that is completely disingenuous.

If you really believe that...then I would say you are the ONLY person on this board that thinks that.
    If i was not getting results I would not continue to get more work and referrals so yes i do firmly belive that

I would not have attended any of the seminars with guest presenters (e.g. Lyle and Dan John) you have held if i did not think there was usable info that would help me deliver better results with my clients.

Plus if clients ask me to recommend a trainer as they are based on the North side of Dublin and are not willing to travel to me am I going to recommend you? Yes absolutely as I know you like me are a results focused person.

SanoVitae wrote: »

Sorry to disagee but the trainers i read up on, attend, chat to etc are all both successful and the top of what they do.

The people that complain about being fantastic at what they do but are not 'gettin' paid' need to wise up and realise that you are always selling yourself - when face to face with a client, trying to convince a friend/family member to e.g.foam roll, take some exercise or even on a public forum.

And back on topic -

I was just thinking when I have my next 3 clients in a row starting at 5pm will i use the wavin pipe we have here in the gym because it might be better? For me thats a no and will stick to the grid and lacrosse ball, especially for my 58yr old guy who does not exercise much and is frequently tight and getting him to do foam rolling more than 3 days a week is a big ask as it is.

Use what ever massage tool you can/want so long as you do it regularly and it delivers results for you i.e. it improves tissue quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭cmyk

There's also another point here with regard to the foam rollers, anyone who's a working professional, in today's compo culture, is hardly going to want to stand up in court when one of his clients slices his leg open on the side of a wavin pipe. If it's for home use fine, use anything that'll do the job, but in the care of a professional you've a right to the use of safe equipment.
    [insert nerdy smiley here]

ok theres lots points getting beaten to death n others are being ignored here.
    1. if youre a noob then aint nothin wrong with a soft foam roller
    2. if you have used a roller and need more its pvc time!
    3. big big difference between 1 & 2
    4. take your queues from the people you aspire to be like not someone that drags the average expectation down. eg. 45 yr old recreational lifters pain threshold is very different tosomeone that is willing to work through the pain

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

4. take your queues from the people you aspire to be like not someone that drags the average expectation down. eg. 45 yr old recreational lifters pain threshold is very different tosomeone that is willing to work through the pain

Good post

yup i would agree with all of that pretty much

cool-big group hug and we can move on:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭SanoVitae

Sorry to disagee but the trainers i read up on, attend, chat to etc are all both successful and the top of what they do.

I was talking about the people in the industry who make the most money. I would consider you to be successful and I've no doubt everyone you read up on is too. When it comes to those who make huge money in the fitness industry, celebrity sells. It's not just a matter of the results a PT gets - if it was, then the most famous and wealthy PT would be the best one out of everyone out there.

Richard Simmons is worth $15 million and I seriously doubt he's attending the same courses or reading the same books as you! However, through great marketing and catering to a niche market (mainly overweight housewives), he has dominated that market for the last 30 years. Name me a world-class personal trainer who makes anywhere near the money he makes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭The Guvnor

Matt Roberts