Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland GUARANTEED another European champion in November

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

They will probably make Kiko Martinez the mandatory challenger for the winner. Still a good match. Will Hyland be able to avoid the big bangs and outbox Limerick's Finest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭Boooourns

Rib injury, hmmmmm. In other words he just has to fight one and not both of them in Ireland.

Great news for us though as we'll get a Euro belt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

Would have prefferd the orginal set up to be honest but this is still great news in itself. Should still be a good fight and a very telling one for the two lads.
    McGuigan will have an eye on this id say ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

really looking forward to this!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭duagre

It should be a great night. I was intrigued to see how either one of them would match up with Martinez though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Vintagekits

its now official guys!

(remember where you read it first though!) :D

http://boxing-ireland.com/20102025_willie_casey_paulie_hyland_official_69.html

they've obviously had to change the poster as well!

34412_457852883727_226000308727_5278605_6119808_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

its now official guys!

(remember where you read it first though!) :D

http://boxing-ireland.com/20102025_willie_casey_paulie_hyland_official_69.html
    Young Hyland will be on his bike for twelve rounds. Hopefully Willie can close enough to KO him.

Good to see Rogies on the new poster. When i seen him down for mayo i thought they would pull him off the limerick bill as it was quite strong. Since kiko isnt fighting i take it his cruiserweight buddy wont be fighting fogg?
    Notice how Prunty jumped on the Limerick bill after word got out that Chris O Brien was looking to fight in front of his Dublin fans in December.
    Interesting to see who Alexei will be matched with as well, he's a serious prospect, took faccio apart way better than dunnes effort (i know dunne didnt have his power and was outboxing faccio but still) The guy needs someone who will at least take him 8. Cordoba if he loses against Rigondeaux?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭megadodge

joepenguin wrote: »
    Interesting to see who Alexei will be matched with as well, he's a serious prospect, took faccio apart way better than dunnes effort (i know dunne didnt have his power and was outboxing faccio but still) The guy needs someone who will at least take him 8. Cordoba if he loses against Rigondeaux?

Agree about Acosta. Excellent prospect, however, even if Rigondeaux does beat Cordoba, I'm not sure yet whether Alexei would be ready for a 10 rounder. All his wins have been inside, so maybe he needs to be taken 10 by someone less likely to beat him, to prove he has the stamina first.

megadodge wrote: »
    Agree about Acosta. Excellent prospect, however, even if Rigondeaux does beat Cordoba, I'm not sure yet whether Alexei would be ready for a 10 rounder. All his wins have been inside, so maybe he needs to be taken 10 by someone less likely to beat him, to prove he has the stamina first.

Yeah. Its just that i see massive massive potential in him. Think about the coverage and hype he would be getting if he was irish. Someone like Martirosyan as an opponent? He should prob go for an 8 rounder first before jumpin to 10 as he hasnt been more than 5 yet.
    Kiko would be a good shout imo a little further down the line when he isnt defending / challenging for the euro.

Cracking wee (actually its not so wee) press release on Willie.

http://boxing-ireland.com/20102028_willie_casey_inspires_limerick_68.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭BoxingIrel.com

Did anyone catch Willie and Paulie on the box last night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭foams

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oW047IR9vZ0
    The two lads came across great,Willie's some gas man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Did anyone catch Willie and Paulie on the box last night?

Yeah Willie came across well, Hyland tried to get some trash talk going a few times and it just kept failing with Casey ben so relaxed about it all!!

Hyland came across well too in fairness!!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,534 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I really enjoyed their interview. Casey has a great sense of humour and seems like a decent skin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 fingalabu

It would be some craic to be at the fight and listening to the followers of both fighters with their scanger accents. Priceless banter. Hard fight to call tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭real stig

Its definitley a difficult one to call. If it goes the distance its hard to see casey outboxing hyland, mainly because of his lack of experience in the pro ranks. However I dont think this fight will go the distance so Im gona stick my neck out and go for the Limerick man in front of his home fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

real stig wrote: »
    Its definitley a difficult one to call. If it goes the distance its hard to see casey outboxing hyland, mainly because of his lack of experience in the pro ranks. However I dont think this fight will go the distance so Im gona stick my neck out and go for the Limerick man in front of his home fans

Outboxing is learned in the amateurs and this is where Hylands vaster experience will come into play, If anything Caseys style is more pro orientated..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭real stig

cowzerp wrote: »
    Outboxing is learned in the amateurs and this is where Hylands vaster experience will come into play, If anything Caseys style is more pro orientated..

I do think Casey is suited to being a pro I'm just not sure how he'll cope with going the distance if he has to since Hyland has more rounds boxed in the pros. Also I think Hyland is more of a mover in the ring where as Casey wants to square up more and that if it did go to points I think Hylands movement could be an influence?

It is going to be a nail biter! Rooting for hyland so very wary of how dangerous casey is!
    There will come moments when hyland will be on the receiving end of a bomb or two so I wonder will he cope with it?
    We know it unlikely hyland will ko casey but he knows how to put them together so accumalation will hopefully slow caseys early onslaught.

There is a public weigh-in out at the UL Arena today and everyone is welcome.

I generally love weigh-ins, you really get a sense of the personalities of the fighters, which ones have struggled to make weight, which are on good form etc.

They are usually up for a chat as well once they have made weight, you just have to fit your conversation around them gulping down litres of shakes and scoffing Mars bars as the rehydrate and replenish.

Ireland's boxing trade pick who they think will win

http://boxing-ireland.com/20101104_casey_hyland_predictions_13.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭shano_88

Anyone know what time the fight is scheduled to start?

Good turnout today. Hyland was looking a little gaunt but apparently thats standard for him. I wonder though,... he wasnt preparing for a title fight so prob wasnt thinking of his weight too much up until kiko pulled out. Maybe he found it that little bit harder? Something to consider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Rob113

I'm really looking forward to this now. I haven't seen much of hyland and the only time I seen casey was in the prizefighter but it will be good to have a new European champ. Hopefully whoever wins it can old on to it for a while and become as big a draw as Bernard dunne was.
    Anyone think either of these two have what it takes to go further than European level?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

joepenguin wrote: »
    Good turnout today. Hyland was looking a little gaunt but apparently thats standard for him. I wonder though,... he wasnt preparing for a title fight so prob wasnt thinking of his weight too much up until kiko pulled out. Maybe he found it that little bit harder? Something to consider

very good point joe

personally I think Kiko has the beating of either paulie or willie at this moment, however this should be great entertainment tonight - willies nickname indicates a hard hitting ko specialist but Bernard Dunne had more Ko's in his first ten fights so I would reserve judgement until later. I have seen most of paulies fights and I'm a fan of his all action style but he wont have it his own way tonight and expects to go 12 rounds to win so any extra effort in making weight may tell

Where would be the best place in town to watch the fight lads? Goin out with the mrs but dieing to watch it so if I twist her arm a few pints and the boxing would be sweet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

This is a close fight and could go either way. The feeling I have for this fight is that Willie will win the first few rounds, Hyland will get more and more into the fight in the mid rounds and then dominate in the later rounds. Hyland by SD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭makl

seen casey v salvini, thought if casey had followed through on combinations more he would have finished the fight early - that salvini has only been ko'd by kaya & maludrottu (who lost to rendall m on points), it did seem he could go 15 rounds of a beating.

why casey didn't - maybe tactical, maybe didn't want to use up stamina he didn't feel he had enough of, who knows. but he would land 2 or 3 and draw back even if he had opened up salvini. maybe lack of confidence. then again, that might suit this fight more if hyland's is more nimble in ring. i don't think hyland's record is as strong but i don't think casey will press him more than he needs to. so casey ud - winning 8 or 9 rounds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭pbffan

Backed Hyland via decision at 9/4:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

Willie casey is a funny ****er isn't he

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭el diablo

ragg wrote: »
    Willie casey is a funny ****er isn't he

I'm not sure. I can't understand a word the gypsy says.

Orange pilled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Gowan Pauly!:D
    I think they're both class in the ring and outside it, but I met Hyland and he's sound so I want him to win.:pac:
    Hope they both go far, though.

el diablo wrote: »
    I'm not sure. I can't understand a word the gypsy says.

Neither can I, but he says it with a smile.. He has 21 brothers and sisters - ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭el diablo

ragg wrote: »
    He has 21 brothers and sisters - ha ha

He seems to be a bit hot-headed. Doesn't seem to have any ring smarts.

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

great 1st round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

Willie has a wild look in his eyes!He's going for the big bang.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Sharkey 10

casey may have snatched that round up until the last 45 secs was heading for a 10 10.
    These fights are the ones that irish boxing needs, i know its sometimes wise to try and keep domestic fighters apart.

i think paulies just standing infront of willie he needs to move. He cant trade blows with casey imo

hyland needs to get on his bike

Some serious digs going in so far....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

There going at it!!! Who is winning this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭djhaxman

Great fight so far. Hard to call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Did Hyland get an elbow in the face there?

Great fight so far.

thegen wrote: »
    There going at it!!! Who is winning this?
    i give both rds to casey but not by much.

hyland reminds me of dunne, trying to mix it against a bigger puncher - will end badly for him if he keeps at it

savage stuff

hyland reminds me of dunne, trying to mix it against a bigger puncher - will end badly for him if he keeps at it
    I think hyland has a better chin and a bigger punch but needs to be out of the way because casey is getting the better of those exchanges. its 30-27 imo