Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your gaming set up?

• 22-10-2010 1:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭

I remember seeing one of the lads post a pic of the set up he had recently and thought it'd be interesting to see others?

Might sound weird but little things for me can ruin a nights gaming, the difference it makes actually sitting in a chair as opposed to just on a bed or sofa playing is crazy. Your relaxed more and def have your head in the right place. Small things like moving from standard def to HD was amazing, my range in the game alone doubled, can still remember being picked off by people I couldnt even see on wasteland.

Here's my own set up......Whats yours? Kinda tv you play on? Surround sound? PC display? Etc.

Have my 32 philips HD, surround sound, S elite model xbox, comfy exec chair, laptop mount on the armrest (for boards when I'm board during that long 60 second turn around!) all linked in through a N series hub and soon to be adding Kinect for the gadget goodness of it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

Sweet setup. Ill take a picture of mine tomorrow, ye can all get a good laugh at how shíte it is :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

I have a fair decent set up when the missus is not around.

Only problem is I just got the Turtle Beach headsets so it makes the room look a right mess.

Totally agree about the gaming throne by the way, it makes a huge difference.

I tried playing from the couch (less than 4 feet away from my 50" HD :p) and ended up shooting at fresh air!

P.S: Will post pics tomoro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

hightower1 wrote: »
    I remember seeing one of the lads post a pic of the set up he had recently and thought it'd be interesting to see others?

That was me :)

Bit crap at the moment, but it does the job, and I agree with you on the whole sitting comfortably thing

61112_432690661435_553321435_5653445_6343930_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

Tallon wrote: »
    That was me :)

Bit crap at the moment, but it does the job, and I agree with you on the whole sitting comfortably thing

ha i remember seeing yours during a vid( cant see the pic in work :( ) more of a lair than a bedroom . half expect you to enter a secret door behind a book case and slide down a steel pole to get into the place

well my set up is a 37" hd tv , turtle beachs and a relaxing leather chair that leans back(or falls over depending on how drunk the user is)...(so mostly falls over :D). its strategicly placed out of direct sunlight (*hisss* it burrrnnnnnnssss)and im about 6 to 7 inchs from the whole thing meaning i can hammer annefrank from a mile away :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

Might sound weird but little things for me can ruin a nights gaming, the difference it makes actually sitting in a chair as opposed to just on a bed or sofa playing is crazy. Your relaxed more and def have your head in the right place. Small things like moving from standard def to HD was amazing, my range in the game alone doubled, can still remember being picked off by people I couldnt even see on wasteland.

Here's my own set up......Whats yours? Kinda tv you play on? Surround sound? PC display? Etc.

Have my 32 philips HD, surround sound, S elite model xbox, comfy exec chair, laptop mount on the armrest (for boards when I'm board during that long 60 second turn around!) all linked in through a N series hub and soon to be adding Kinect for the gadget goodness of it! :D

sweet setup :eek:

I'd take a pic of mine but my room is a ****ing mess haha, maybe later :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

When the forth sprog was due i knew that i would be kicked out of my gaming box room so i built a little extension, (or kids playroom as i called it to get the missus to agree)

027-1.jpg

My comfortable 2 seater

380.jpg

32" samsung , xbox , ps3, pvr, 2 headsets and loads of controllers

379.jpg

Shammy wrote: »
    379.jpg

I always knew there was something strange about you shammy... the pink controllers explains everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

When the forth sprog was due i knew that i would be kicked out of my gaming box room so i built a little extension, (or kids playroom as i called it to get the missus to agree)

027-1.jpg

My comfortable 2 seater

380.jpg

32" samsung , xbox , ps3, pvr, 2 headsets and loads of controllers

379.jpg

Nice Shammy. Will upload a few pics of my setup later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Magill wrote: »
    I always knew there was something strange about you shammy... the pink controllers explains everything.

Coming from a guy called magfag i thought you'd appreciate it :D

When you have 3 boys that play the xbox , you tend to buy a pink one for yourself , they wont touch it ;)

Coming from a guy called magfag i thought you'd appreciate it :D

When you have 3 boys that play the xbox , you tend to buy a pink one for yourself , they wont touch it ;)

ha, good idea in fairness :)

CoD beers in Shammy's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,554 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Tallon wrote: »
    CoD beers in Shammy's?

Sweet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

I have a 40inch LG LCD, sennheiser 555, Ps3, xbox 360 and a leather reclining massage chair :D. I will post a pic later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭ronkmonster

Where did you get the laptop mount for the chair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭hightower1

Jet Black wrote: »
    leather reclining massage chair :D.

Oh ....... my...... god...... legendary idea!

Where did you get the laptop mount for the chair?

Picked it up on ebay, its actually a car mount for ipads but its perfect for my notebook. Its good and sturdy too, 4 point adjustable. So handy when your just in between matches or streaming to the xbox.

It was only 50 or so euro, only thing is you'd have to find a way to mount it but if your diy handy your grand. Just search ebay for laptop mount. I cant find the exact link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭rolexeagle1

laptop mount is sweeet alright...

I just got a new Samsung 32" HD flat during a Harvey Norman 30% off day bout 2 weeks ago, couldnt be happier! A sweet reclining exec chair from Ikea (with lumbar support), unfortunatly i dont have a laptop mount so my laptop just sits beside the TV on the stand, Xbox 360, PS3, Snes. Surrond sound to come soon:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

I have a gaming PC too, so I have both that and my PS3 hooked up together.

Screen is a 24" Samsung flat screen, full 1080p HD. Source button on monitor to switch between PC and PS3.

Headset is a Sony wireless jobby, amazing for music but no 5.1 so not the best for directional audio in games. Might upgrade when Black Ops comes out.

Remote on my iPhone to control my iTunes so I can change music without switching back to my PC, pure laziness :D

Oh and a reclining leather office chair for my ass.

Picked it up on ebay, its actually a car mount for ipads but its perfect for my notebook. Its good and sturdy too, 4 point adjustable. So handy when your just in between matches or streaming to the xbox.

It was only 50 or so euro, only thing is you'd have to find a way to mount it but if your diy handy your grand. Just search ebay for laptop mount. I cant find the exact link.
    How heavy is your laptop? Does it not unbalance the chair?

Nice setup dude. Is that a UPS you have on the right hand side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Quick

It looks like an ammo crate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Quick

46 inch Samsung LCD
    PS3 Slim
    Onkyo Amp with 5.1 with Sub
    Sky Box
    Big Ass Couch (seats 10)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

Between the "where'd your name come from" and "your gaming set up", there'll be a "know your noobtubers" thread soon* (c) :D

*will make one after dinner

Anyone here use a Full HD tv for their gaming PC?

Used to, but 1080i is fine now :)

How heavy is your laptop? Does it not unbalance the chair?

Its a note book so its fairly light, no disk drive cause well.... who uses physical media these days?! Doesnt unbalance it at all tbh. I think you'd have to have a fairly heavy rig to unbalance it from the feel of the chair.

Enigma IE wrote: »
    Nice setup dude. Is that a UPS you have on the right hand side?

A "UPS"?? You mean a USP right? :)

Ether way its a sig p229, meu 1911 on the left, kac pdw on top and hanging vertical is the m4a1. All gas blowback airsoft and all serious fun. Dont rage quit.... crack open the window and unload a full mag into the air screamin like a loon! Instant de-stress. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Sprrratt

a leather reclining massage chair.

Id go 2-30 every game in that. I have one of those gaming chairs that lean back and forth but I sit up otherwise if im relaxed ill do bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭claiva

Ether way its a sig p229, meu 1911 on the left, kac pdw on top and hanging vertical is the m4a1. All gas blowback airsoft and all serious fun. Dont rage quit.... crack open the window and unload a full mag into the air screamin like a loon! Instant de-stress. :D

He does mean UPS yeah....as in Uninteruptable Power Supply......we use them for keeping servers alive for a bit when the power goes down. They are basically a big battery allowing you to shut down your kit gently.

Mega set up btw.

Nope, Uninterrupted Power Supply biggrin.gif

I was thinking UPS was overkill for your setup!! Class setup there mate. Don't be taking those airsoft guns out on the street !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Heres mine anyway. Sorry if the image is to big:o
    DSCF6541.jpg

I only tilt the recliner back a little when playing. Nice setup hightower1!

Quick wrote: »
    46 inch Samsung LCD
    PS3 Slim
    Onkyo Amp with 5.1 with Sub
    Sky Box
    Big Ass Couch (seats 10)
    holy jesus man ! i can imagine the pillow fights at your place . epic!!!!!!! also the forts think of the forts you can build.....do you live in dublin. and more importantly when can i come over

Heres mine anyway. Sorry if the image is to big:o
    DSCF6541.jpg

I only tilt the recliner back a little when playing. Nice setup hightower1!

we share a common interest in both television models and runners
    not in posters though . ive got a halo one and a force unleashed 2 poster but not any anime

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Hah.

Don't laugh. :p

attachment.php?attachmentid=132058&stc=1&d=1287835528
    attachment.php?attachmentid=132059&stc=1&d=1287835543
    attachment.php?attachmentid=132060&stc=1&d=1287835557
    attachment.php?attachmentid=132061&stc=1&d=1287835567

That's my setup. I don't actually have a desk (the small one with the big LCD on it belongs to my housemate).

I can often be found playing L4D2 on the projector from bed. Life is sweet. :D (Well, when my MX510 gets repaired.. right now the rollerball + German dictionary mousepad is pissing me off too much to game.)

liah wrote: »
    Hah.

Don't laugh. :p

That's my setup. I don't actually have a desk (the small one with the big LCD on it belongs to my housemate).

I can often be found playing L4D2 on the projector from bed. Life is sweet. :D (Well, when my MX510 gets repaired.. right now the rollerball + German dictionary mousepad is pissing me off too much to game.)

HA, love the cooling system you got there :D I used to do that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Sprrratt wrote: »
    Id go 2-30 every game in that. I have one of those gaming chairs that lean back and forth but I sit up otherwise if im relaxed ill do bad.

I'm the same if i'm slouched back i play sh1te!

Picking up a new 32" Samsung Full HD TV this weekend, then i'll probably get a home cinema set up. Turtle beach headphones for Cod.

Also has anyone got one of these? Was thinking about getting one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Oh yeah, forgot to mention.. the Wii and the 360 both hook up to the projector.

Projector = most awesome thing ever for lazy gaming!

I do miss my old stuff, though.. the computer and monitor etc are handmedowns as I couldn't bring my good one over :(

liah wrote: »
    <Liah-land>

I'm in love with you :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

Hang on a minute here now lads, while I show ye all up.... (bear in mind, the mess is partially due to the gaff being worked on..)

DSC03041_1.jpg

Pathetic, I know xD I usually have another chair next to me with the laptop on it.

Kersmash wrote: »
    Hang on a minute here now lads, while I show ye all up.... (bear in mind, the mess is partially due to the gaff being worked on..)

DSC03041_1.jpg

Pathetic, I know xD I usually have another chair next to me with the laptop on it.

i love the way your spittin out dosh on a couple of consoles and some sweet gaming headphones and yet you have what is in fact the worlds smallest tele:o

• 50" Samsung HD
    • JVC Surround Sound
    • Turtle Beach Headset
    • 1050 W Heater
    • Dog
    231020101255.jpg
    231020101256.jpg
    231020101257.jpg
    231020101258.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

HA, love the cooling system you got there :D I used to do that too.

well spotted only noticed that!lol

• 50" Samsung HD
    • JVC Surround Sound
    • Turtle Beach Headset
    • 1050 W Heater
    • Dog
    231020101256.jpg
    231020101258.jpg

That looks like one comfy ass chair mate ! Not gonna lie... i want it... and class dog :D
    well spotted only noticed that!lol

:D its funny... in the summer i'd be sweating my balls off.. while my PC was cool as **** ! :D Priorities eh ? :D

That looks like one comfy ass chair mate ! Not gonna lie... i want it... and class dog :D

It sickens me that I'm only in a rented apartment and the chair ain't mine :(

The dog is whopper ...When he isn't licking the heater and burning himself :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

I lol'd big time when I saw
    • Dog
    I'll post pics later, need to get mom's camera. It's not a pretty sight at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,540 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

IMG_0408.jpg?t=1287843761

32 inch philips , playstation 3, wii , and use tritton ax720 headset in sitting room

IMG_0409.jpg?t=1287843794

cousin plays on other tele, panasonic 50 inch

IMG_0410.jpg?t=1287843816

92 inch projector screen in kitchen

IMG_0411.jpg?t=1287843841

optoma hd65 projector

IMG_0412.jpg?t=1287843865

have surround sound, but its a bit loud so use head set with this too, but kitchen a bit cold normally and not a nice as the sitting room so projector gathering dust at the moment

• Samsung 42" HDTV
    • Samsung Home Cinema, Digital Surround Sound
    • Fibre Optic connecting Samsung to Xbox 360
    • Turtle Beach X31's
    • COD4, WAW, MW2, Play & Charge Kit, 2 new controllers
    • UPC 25mb Broadband, Scientific Atlantic BB modem, Netgear Wireless Router
    • Taylor Guitar (always have guitar handy for quick strum)

Enigma IE wrote: »
    • Taylor Guitar (always have guitar handy for quick strum)

Yes :)

How do people play from the couch?! I don't get it...

Every time I try and play from the couch I end up scooching closer towards the edge until I fall off and am reduced making my way to the telly mid game, on my knees, for a better view of the already crystal clear image.

Ya gotta be in the game, hence the arm chair 4 feet away from the 50" :)

How do people play from the couch?! I don't get it...

Every time I try and play from the couch I end up scooching closer towards the edge until I fall off and am reduced making my way to the telly mid game, on my knees, for a better view of the already crystal clear image.

Ya gotta be in the game, hence the arm chair 4 feet away from the 50" :)

I play from the couch (the edge usually biggrin.gif), it's only about 6 feet away in reality.