Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where does your name come from?

• 21-10-2010 9:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭

I'm interested to know how everyone thought of they're usernames and PSN/XBL names as I sometimes they differ and I havnt a clue who people are when they come online :p

So how did you get yours and what does it mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,540 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Where on earth did you get yours from?:rolleyes:

:P

I got mine from the frontman from the "House of Pain" :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

Ith_mo_Spas = Eat my shotgun in Irish. That's how the game's meant to go anyways :rolleyes:

(oh, and leeg17 was taken :mad:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

magfag = Magill + Fagg0t... cos im gay !

Not really, just something my cs clan mates used to call me alot, its also funny when some English lad starts wanging on about it "LOL MAGFAG... IS A FAG LOL LOL" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Shammy / sham short for Shamrock , been using it since way back in 1998 on the pc :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Magill wrote: »
    Not really, just something my cs clan mates used to call me alot, its also funny when some English lad starts wanging on about it "LOL MAGFAG... IS A FAG LOL LOL" :D

Ah you were in a few games with us last night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

My psn id is SgtMartyMcFly
    It was in secondary a guy started calling me mcfly. Nicknames just stuck. My first name is Martin so thats why I choose that. Sgt is just instead of numbers or xxx's at the start of my name.
    Oh and its in reference to back to the future. The band was not around when I was in secondary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

KamiKazi wrote: »
    Ah you were in a few games with us last night?

yeah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Jet Black wrote: »
    My psn id is SgtMartyMcFly

Is your brother JustPaddy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Tallon wrote: »
    Is your brother JustPaddy?

Unfortunatly yes :D

Jet Black wrote: »
    Unfortunatly yes :D

haha, we had so much fun winding him up... He's not bad at the game at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

I just used the same one I use online. I use this name for most sites I'm on. Had to add an x at the front and the end for mah PSN because I'm bent because kersmash was taken and I didn't want numbers. They're for n00bz :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

I play bass and I look like a scarecrow

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

The Last Samurai, Ken Watanabe plays a character called Katsumoto.

I fell in love with this movie when it came out...

Unfortunately, Katsumoto was taken so I wanted to be called "the" Katsumoto but thought that sounded a bit silly so went for the Spanish of "the" which is "el". Henceforth "ELKATSUMOTO" was born.

When I moved house my brother held onto the Xbox so I had to buy a new one and with that came my new and final GamerTag = xxELKATSUMOTOxx

And you really like coco pops?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

The Last Samurai, Ken Watanabe plays a character called Katsumoto.

I fell in love with this movie when it came out...

Unfortunately, Katsumoto was taken so I wanted to be called "the" Katsumoto but thought that sounded a bit silly so went for the Spanish of "the" which is "el". Henceforth "ELKATSUMOTO" was born.

When I moved house my brother held onto the Xbox so I had to buy a new one and with that came my new and final GamerTag = xxELKATSUMOTOxx

Nice but i'd rather know how you came up with the name Cereal rapist......:D

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

• Ade
    <
    nickname that people seem incapable of pronouncing, especially the Yanks.
    Actually pronounced Addy for those who don't know. Not A D or AID(:facepalm:)

• LFC
    I support Manchester United, clearly.
    • Alves
    I was in love(don't worry I grew out of it :pac:) with the footballer Daniel Alves pre-Barcelona and was yapping on about him just after he moved to Sevilla in school, yet no one took any notice until he really established himself :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Quick

B_r_a_1_n

Working in IT for the past 10 years. Half of the emails I get are addressed "Brain", spellcheck sees it being correct in emails.

Friends have started calling me Brain now aswell and its stuck.

• Ade
    <

**** dude, I've been calling you Aid in my head all the time xD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

I was thinking of starting a thread like this. Great Idea Tallon!

Well Keane is my Surname, I'm from the west so pronounce it Kane

Lads in college come from a school in Tuam (St. Jarlaths), they knew alot of that sham talk.

According to them lakes is slang for crazy/mad/unreal

They started calling me LakesKeane, had a ring to it.

Sín é

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Sprrratt

My last name with an r stutter :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭treatyman

treatymanrules - cos i'm from Limerick and i'm a man... and treatyman was taken.. so I just added the rules bit.. but i don't really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

nickname has always been "maxi" in real life, so my XBL is now mawksee as in the phonetic pronounciation of maxi by a Norn Iron scumbag :)

LakesKeane wrote: »
    I was thinking of starting a thread like this. Great Idea Tallon!

Well Keane is my Surname, I'm from the west so pronounce it Kane

Lads in college come from a school in Tuam (St. Jarlaths), they knew alot of that sham talk.

According to them lakes is slang for crazy/mad/unreal

They started calling me LakesKeane, had a ring to it.

Sín é

Ooooh tsk tsk! :p
    Lakes does mean mental/crazy/lunatic etc, suits you down to the ground by the sounds of it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭andrewire

Andrew + Ireland = Andrewire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

Leeg17 wrote: »
    Ooooh tsk tsk! :p
    Lakes does mean mental/crazy/lunatic etc, suits you down to the ground by the sounds of it :D

Haha sham. I ain't that mental tbh :pac:

Seriously though, I amn't. Nice ring to it though!

Kersmash wrote: »
    **** dude, I've been calling you Aid in my head all the time xD

You must be American surely :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

CORaven is an abbreviation of my first email address.

<fullname>withtheravens[at]hotmail.com
    I met a few people in France a good few years back. To stay in contact, they introduced me to MSN messenger and my email address was the result of an in-joke. Got sick of seeing the full name in every convo so I shortened it down to just CORaven.

COR (initials) + Raven
    I know there is two Rs but it blends well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

my second name

You must be American surely :pac:

I think I just assumed your first name was Aidan and I pronounced it like that :S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

NosplashNogash- got it from the lads that do the toilets in nightclubs basically means if ye dont wash your hands you wont get no f***y:pac:

Kersmash wrote: »
    I think I just assumed your first name was Aidan and I pronounced it like that :S

Lol. Quite a few of my teachers in the school I attended called me all sorts - Aidan, Adriaaaaaaaaaaaan, Adman, that guy in the bush and so on. No worries there. If you saw me, I sure as hell don't look the sort to have an Irish name :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Tommy_NDX

Due to my complete lack of an imagination, my names came from whatever i happened to see in my room at the time.

Tommy_NDX comes from Tommy+a box of Nike NDX golf balls.
    Remi223 from a box of Remington .223 calibre bullets.

Any box with something written on it would have done me.:D

Tommy_NDX wrote: »
    Due to my complete lack of an imagination, my names came from whatever i happened to see in my room at the time.

Brilliant :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

being a big fan of halo and lacking in imagination i went with sierra 117 .
    its the main character from the halo series callsign for those not in the know

Tommy_NDX wrote: »

Is anyone worried that this trigger happy chap has a box of bullets in his room. Remi, I'm sorry if I ever called out out in-game, spare me please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Tommy_NDX

Leeg17 wrote: »
    Is anyone worried that this trigger happy chap has a box of bullets in his room. Remi, I'm sorry if I ever called out out in-game, spare me please!

Ha my old room was like an armoury before I moved out. Rifles, shotgun, swords, knives, ammo everywhere. Think I was expectin a zombie outbreak or sumthin. :P

Don't joke about zombies man, that sht's real! :eek:
    Would be cool if you had a pic or two of your arsenal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

Risteard. Pretty simple, Irish for my name.

Once I was playing MW2 and someone joined the game with the name 'Risteardinho' and an Eire Clan tag. Made me smirk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭Flecktarn

• Ade
    <

I also presumed it was Aid! Probably due to Abe being A-I-B :P

Well I have a very uninteresting one, my surname Canning and some random numbers that were easy to remember at the time :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 6,337 Mod ✭✭✭✭PerrinV2

Boards name=PerrinV2
    XBL tag=PerrinV2

My creative juices were flowing that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

I'm a man who likes his buckfast and i'm 28

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭hightower1

I'm Hightower10000, love police academy and being 6foot 5 it seemed natural.... that and I have the disproving disgruntled stare down to a T.

hightower.PNG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

Well I got my name from thi.... Ah I can't be arsed, I'll tell ye another time.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

Mine is ciaran BAC. My name is Ciaran and I’m from Baile Atha Cliath. I used to be ciaran from dublin but I lost that account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭NeVeR

PSN is NeVeR_Eire cos NeVeR was taken.

I've been using the name NeVeR for over 10 years now.. Back want Rainbow 6 was played on MSN Zone,,, older gamers will remember it !! I worked as a Sysops on MSN and had a lovely + (plus) infront of my name :)

This is embarrassing lol... BUT this is how i came to the name

10 years and 1 month ago i starting gaming and used the name ||__ALWAYS__|| Cos i always kill you lol.. lame i know.

Then my mate said thats the name of a sanitary towel... So i changed it right away to NeVeR !! :) and i've stuck with it for many a year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

Ok, here we go.......

XBL = x43r0djor1

x43r0 = xaero when spelled using letters (pronounced Zero)

xaero is the final boss in Quake III which was the first FPS I ever played
    http://www.giantbomb.com/xaero/94-6834/

djor1 is my initials with 1 appended - djor1 is my username when logging in to computers in college

Hence x43r0djor1

For communication sake on XBL i'm open to be called zero, X or just Damien

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

PSN name is deezer08
    Been called deezer as a nickname since i was a kid. Deezer was taken already so i just jammed an 08 on the end. Not for the year '08, well kind of, my son was born on 08-08-08.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 6,337 Mod ✭✭✭✭PerrinV2

x43r0 wrote: »
    Ok, here we go.......

XBL = x43r0djor1

x43r0 = xaero when spelled using letters (pronounced Zero)

xaero is the final boss in Quake III which was the first FPS I ever played
    http://www.giantbomb.com/xaero/94-6834/

djor1 is my initials with 1 appended - djor1 is my username when logging in to computers in college

Hence x43r0djor1

For communication sake on XBL i'm open to be called zero, X or just Damien

Its funny who many times people have asked about your username or the amount of times you've had to explain it

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Shammy wrote: »
    Nice but i'd rather know how you came up with the name Cereal rapist......:D

Fairly sick story to be honest...

.......I fúcked a bowl of coco pops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,540 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Fairly sick story to be honest...

.......I fúcked a bowl of coco pops

"American Pie" for the irish..