Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UK / Europe Defence Cuts "Unsafe" for Europe

• 19-10-2010 9:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭

British Prime Minster David Cameron has revealed the impact on the military of the Government's Strategic Defence and Security review

(Ark Royal aircraft carrier and Harrier jump jets scrapped immediately)
    (Defence Budget will Fall by 8% over the next Four Years)

(UK And Europe Might have no Working aircraft carrier for a decade)
    (Army to lose 7,000 troops, RAF 5,000 and Navy 5,000)
    (Trident renewal delayed for five years, saving £750m)

(Cameron insists: "well still be Front Rank military power")
    (Angry harrier Pilot challenges him about Job losses)

Europe will Be in A Dangerous situation Without full Security and 100% Working aircraft carriers with Fighter jets. The White House is also Concerned About the cuts.

'Who the hell has ever heard of an aircraft carrier with no jets?': Defence chiefs' reaction as the iconic Harrier is axed

People are Also wondering How Will The UK Defend the Falkland islands Without any Aircraft carriers Near there.

Cameron: "There are Typhoon fighter jets based there to Protect the island"

Europe is Now At a very High risk of a Treturous Attack on European and UK Cities.

He confirmed that two new aircraft carriers would be built, but that one would be placed on "extended readiness". The aim would be to bring the vessels and new aircraft into service at the same time.

Mr Cameron said the Government would extend the life of the Vanguard class of submarines which carry the UK's Trident nuclear deterrent so that the decision to start construction of new submarines need not be taken until "about 2016".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

CSB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

RobitTV wrote: »
    The White House is also Concerned About the cuts.

I'm not. In fact, I couldn't give a flying fuck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Whats with the massive blank space after your paragraph?? i was waiting something to load, even refreshed twice :(

EDIT - There we go :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Bla, bla, bla....all my posts are negative...

True dat.

'Who the hell has ever heard of an aircraft carrier with no jets?':

Michael O'Leary said the same thing about Hanger 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Oh I see what you did there!

You certainly can't give a flying fúck now that they have less aircraft carriers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

You will give a "Flying fuc* when the Koreans Take over europe And Launch nuclear weapons at us! and we wont be able to defend ourselves.

random Capital letters are So much Fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭celtic Liger

now's our chance. the 2016 rising.

Wait... why would they take over Europe just to nuke it?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

We can just send the French out to deal with any problems... oh wait...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

Jesus the reaction to this is completely dumb. They don't even need aircraft carriers at the minute. Conventional warfare for Britain with in the next 10 years seems unlikely and there is no real need for a fully functional aircraft carrier.

Britain is more than capable to deal with the real threats it faces on a day to day basis which is the treat in Afghanistan to its troops (well,kinda debatable), the threat of terrorism and the very unlikely threat of nuclear war.

I have a hat made from tin foil. It protects against everything. Even Koreans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭St._Andalou

Britain's military spending is currently third-highest in the world, behind only the U.S. and China. That is unsustainable for a country of its size.

After the cuts (an 8% drop in Britain, I believe) it will STILL be 53 billion U.S. dollars a year. I don't think they're in danger of being invaded anytime soon.

Here's an idea for Britain: use the military to defend yourself when/if you're being attacked. Stop "pre-emptively" striking other countries like Iraq for no reason whatsoever, and in the process wasting the lives of hundreds of your soldiers and billions of pounds.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Going from 23 tin cans down to 19?

No matter how capable a ship may be, it can only be in so many places at once. Anti-Pirate ops off Somalia, counter-drug in the Caribbean, training exercises with NATO, maybe occasionally fighting a war... those ship are going to get overstretched.

NTM

I have a hat made from tin foil. It protects against everything. Even Koreans.

Fupping Samsung watching grassholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Fully support these cuts, in fact they should have went further. A lot of the militaty budget seems to be about protecting delusions of grandeur rather than defence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

England's weakness is Ireland's opportunity:D

Yeah, now they will feel the force of our mighty fleet of aircraft carriers!

HUZZAH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Cause we are in great shape at the moment ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭St._Andalou

Aye. Our military expenditure is just ahead of Kazakhstan's and we have 8 vessels in our navy. Let's invade them quick, they'll be begging for mercy.

You all won't be laughing when the Japs take over England and And Launch nuclear weapons at Sweden! and we wont be able to defend the SMoked SaLmon.

Aye. Our military expenditure is just ahead of Kazakhstan's and we have 8 vessels in our navy. Let's invade them quick, they'll be begging for mercy.

Kazakhstan has number two military in Central Asia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Maybe now they've finally realised, they're not the empire they used to be. Took them a long time though didn't it.

Wonder when the US will get a bit of cop on too?

Come on lads We can take over the UK!
    Lets look at the facts:
    We have about 1 Half-working fighter jet and 1 Fully working fighter jet the other two are broken alltogether.

AND.. We also have 3 Cessna Two-seater planes. that dont fire any weapons and there whole purpose is to fly around and carry "Vip" Persons.

And the Soliders: about 500 or more Lads with Hurleys and Maybe MAYBE... A stanley knife.

And we have about 2 Paddling boats SO we can sail over to Wales and begin our Massive invasion.

And maybe the soilders have a Blow-up shield Who knows hey??

Come on lads We have the FORCE And the POWER To take over the UK! were so powerful we could begin in the next hour!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Maybe they've finally realised that an invasion of any potential enemy state will only take a few weeks and they should worry more about the resources needed for occupying such states.

Come on lads We can take over the UK!
    Lets look at the facts:
    We have about 1 Half-working fighter jet and 1 Fully working fighter jet the other two are broken alltogether.

AND.. We also have 3 Cessna Two-seater planes. that dont fire any weapons and there whole purpose is to fly around and carry "Vip" Persons.

And the Soliders: about 500 or more Lads with Hurleys and Maybe MAYBE... A stanley knife.

And we have about 2 Paddling boats SO we can sail over to Wales and begin our Massive invasion.

And maybe the soilders have a Blow-up shield Who knows hey??

Come on lads We have the FORCE And the POWER To take over the UK! were so powerful we could begin in the next hour!!!!
    Is this your way of admitting that your own thread is shít?

They still have Around 14-16 Overseas Territories Scatterd around the Planet To patrol and Guard. The falkland islands Is the most Looked after. Incase the argentines Come back to Play!

OisinT wrote: »
    Is this your way of admitting that your own thread is shít?

Errrr... No!

ireland have a new Aircraft coming the New..... RYANAIR FIGHTER JET!!! Now the British Are in big Trouble!!!
    ryanair-harrier1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

People are Also wondering How Will The UK Defend the Falkland islands Without any Aircraft carriers Near there.

People are also wondering what the fúck is so special about the Falklands. Actually, no they're not. There's nothing special about the Falklands. Nobody gives a fúck about them.
    Europe is Now At a very High risk of a Treturous Attack on European and UK Cities.

Call of Duty is just a game. It's not real. Put the controller down and step away from the television.

People are also wondering what the fúck is so special about the Falklands. Actually, no they're not. There's nothing special about the Falklands. Nobody gives a fúck about them.

Call of Duty is just a game. It's not real. Put the controller down and step away from the television.

... :confused:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Obviously someone does. There was a bit of a nasty scrap over them 28 years ago, it's still talked about in some circles.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭yermanoffthetv

"I took a deep breath, turned to my children and said.......THE WORLD IS FUCKED!!!" :pac:

So what? the UK wont have an aircraft carrier anymore, boo hoo. An aircraft carrier is sod all use against terrorists anyway :confused: Cold war is over lads!

"I took a deep breath, turned to my children and said.......THE WORLD IS FUCKED!!!" :pac:

So what? the UK wont have an aircraft carrier anymore, boo hoo. An aircraft carrier is sod all use against terrorists anyway :confused: Cold war is over lads!
    they took our jobs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

they took our jobs!

Its ok we are taking there jobs now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

They still have Around 14-16 Overseas Territories Scatterd around the Planet To patrol and Guard.
    I'm always surprised when I read about the different territories that various states have around the world (I said states, rather than european because I think the US has some too).

Does this mean Ireland can finally upgrade our military by getting some cheap ships and planes from the UK?

Unpossible wrote: »
    I'm always surprised when I read about the different territories that various states have around the world (I said states, rather than european because I think the US has some too).

Does this mean Ireland can finally upgrade our military by getting some cheap ships and planes from the UK?

Do we have any money :confused::confused:

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Do we have any money :confused::confused:
    No, but neither does the UK, so maybe they'll just give them to us in the hopes that we will pay them someday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭yermanoffthetv

No, but neither does the UK, so maybe they'll just give them to us in the hopes that we will pay them someday.

NAMA could come in handy, aircraft carrier for the Battersea site! Although we'd have to call it a "mobile humanitarian hospital" to stop the crusties brickin themselfs. Probably still get one or two trying to attack it with a hatchet for being a gas guzzler :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

all the aircraft carriers, f16s and harrier jets in the world won't save you from a couple of icbms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

What?
    Are UK cities not European cities anymore?

Who writes this?
    NAMA could come in handy, aircraft carrier for the Battersea site! Although we'd have to call it a "mobile humanitarian hospital" to stop the crusties brickin themselfs. Probably still get one or two trying to attack it with a hatchet for being a gas guzzler
    Yeah, NAMA had to absorb Seany Fitz dodgy loan to buy himself an aircraft carrier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

ziggy wrote: »

Hey, WTF? No-one told me the dinosaurs were back:eek:

Unpossible wrote: »

I Think its time that we Upgrade our Military Its the 21st century and anything can happen these days. And the UK Will probaly Give us some Fighter jets and Ships that we need.

We should get Around 120 Fighter jets or so.
    and some Small navy ships

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I Think its time that we Upgrade our Military Its the 21st century and anything can happen these days. And the UK Will probaly Give us some Fighter jets and Ships that we need.

We should get Around 120 Fighter jets or so.
    and some Small navy ships

How would we pay for those?:confused: We probably could'nt have afforded that before the recession.

As usual thats the problem we will need billions upon billions of euro which we just dont have :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

As usual thats the problem we will need billions upon billions of euro which we just dont have :(

We could get some of those jets that are so cheap, they call them Eurofighters.