Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tubro Petol vs Turbo Diesel

• 19-10-2010 4:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭

After recently getting a Mazda 3 MPS and getting it remapped im thinking maybe I should I have went turbo diesel route like I went with my fabia vrs.I ran it on the dyno on saturday in Dublin, it put out 296hp and 474nm torque.Its hella fast, 50-75mph in 3rd is frightening, its a little monster from a roll in fairness

After talking with a guy who was wathching my Mps going through its paces, he was of the opinion a tuned 330d with 1.5k thrown at it would steamroll most things on the road in the world ( rolling run ), with all that torque, after looking at the thread here ( Audi a5 3.0tdi or bmw 535 3.0d ) it has me thinking

Lets say you had a 3.0 litre turbo diesel (bmw 330d) and a 2.0-2.3 litre turbo petrol (my MPS for example)

Spend 1500 on both cars witch ends up the quickest in useable performance.

30-70mph
    50-75mph
    50-100mph
    50-120mph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

3.0d in the beemer can put out 290bhp 600nm or torque with little more than a good proper remap for what 400 euro?,very cheap bhp. 335d can be put up to 350 bhp and 740nm of torque with a remap.

can't think of much petrol yoks that would give ya 35 odd mpg with that performance.

a 335d remapped would blow an e46 of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Nip The Tip

lol

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    What type of e46? I am sure a 335d would flatten a 318 e46 but not a e46 M3

well considering this is a 535d which weighs a bit more that an m3 and 335d it still does this.

that was wierd post wasing showing up.

Wow thats some evidence a straight line drag race with cars driven by amateurs :D. Its also a rolling start and a not a proper race start. Throw in some decent drivers and a track and then see what happens.

After 15-20 laps when the brakes in your standard diesel 535 go to the floor I would know what car I would like to be in.

who said anything about a track and brakes(as if the 535d brakes are made of choclate) the op was talking about bhp etc on a rolling road. usuable performance he said eg 40 to 80 mph

and a 335d coupe would fair not to bad on a track with 1000 spent of suspension and the other 500 on a remap IMO

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

bmw535d wrote: »
    who said anything about a track and brakes(as if the 535d brakes are made of choclate) the op was talking about bhp etc on a rolling road. usuable performance he said eg 40 to 80 mph

and a 335d coupe would fair not to bad on a track with 1000 spent of suspension and the other 500 on a remap IMO

Why do they bother making an M3 in that case? :confused:

The OP said about useable performance which if I had a high powered car would mean a track. I have driven a BMW 130i and a 330d around a track and the Diesel was a good bit of the pace. You are constantly having to shift cogs to keep it in the powerband. Not to mention that diesel powerplants normally weight more their petrol equivalents so the tend to understeer more.
    Why do they bother making an M3 in that case? :confused:

usuable performance in my book is something that will do 35mpg normal driving and will pass 3 cars in a couple of seconds usually at speeds of 40mph to 80. if i wanted a brilliant track car id get a csl or something, not very practical in normal conditions tbh. I'd be alot more worried about oversteer to be honest in a BMW. BMW diesel engines are made from aluminum as far as i know so are very light in fairness.

They make the m3 for people who like petrol high revving NA sport coupes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭conneem-TT

Just some overtaking manouver comparisons, all figures taken from SportAuto for consistency.

The MPS has pretty short gearing so is paricularly good at in gear times :)

So the moral of the story is turbo petrols can play the muscular overtaking moves just as well as a turbo diesel :)

4th gear . . . . . 535d (272ps) . . . . 535d (286ps) . . Octavia RS (200ps) . . 3 MPS (260PS) . . 335i (300ps)

80-120km/h . . . . . 5,5s . . . . . . . . . . . 5,1s . . . . . . . . . 5,7s . . . . . . . . . . 4,3s . . . . . . . . . . 5,5s
    80-160km/h . . . . . 11,7s . . . . . . . . . . 10,9s . . . . . . . . 13,1s . . . . . . . . . 10,2s . . . . . . . . . . 11,4s

5th gear

80-120km/h . . . . . 7,2s . . . . . . . . . . . 6,9s . . . . . . . . . 7,3s . . . . . . . . . . . 5,5s . . . . . . . . . . 6,5s
    80-160km/h . . . . . 15,9s . . . . . . . . . . 14,6s . . . . . . . . 16,5s . . . . . . . . . . 11,1s . . . . . . . . . . 13,7s

6th gear

80-120km/h . . . . . . - . . . . . . . . . . . . 9,5s . . . . . . . . . 9,1s . . . . . . . . . . 8,4s . . . . . . . . . . 7,9s
    80-160km/h . . . . . . - . . . . . . . . . . . 19,8s . . . . . . . . 21,0s . . . . . . . . . . 16,2s . . . . . . . . . . 16,7s

OP you really have opened a can of worms here as some petrol fan-boys just won't accept that in this day and age turbo diesels advantages really out weigh their disadvantages (noise). the twin turbo plant in the BMW is kind of the first of its kind( high powered diesel) so i do hope eventfully petrol fan-boys will accept diesels are fast when the next generation of 100bhp per liter diesels come out and will stop trying to slate them will the million year old argument about noise and running out of puff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

OP you really have opened a can of worms here as some petrol fan-boys just won't accept that in this day and age turbo diesels advantages really out weigh their disadvantages (noise). the twin turbo plant in the BMW is kind of the first of its kind( high powered diesel) so i do hope eventfully petrol fan-boys will accept diesels are fast when the next generation of 100bhp per liter diesels come out and will stop trying to slate them will the million year old argument about noise and running out of puff.
    Fuel economy aside, in what way is a turbodiesel better than a turbo petrol of equal displacement?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

I remember this one on pistonheads...oh how I laughed...

• Subscribers Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭TCP/IP

My thoughts if you want a mix of good fuel economy and power a modern diesel is a super choice. If you are into your cars a petrol model is the only way to go simply for that wonderful sound. Now you can remap a 535D to bring out very nice power that will take on most things which is great but alas its just a bit dull. I had someone in a remapped 535D the other day try for a bit of traffic light grand prix but he failed to think that the car next to him was not exactly stock so we both had a bit of a laugh at that one. As for saying a performance car must go round a track that is rubbish. Not many people take there cars on a track.

If a performance car isnt able to go around a track then it isnt a performance car.

In whose eyes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭maddness

The latest diesel engines are so far ahead of what they used to be and are excellent for 90% of people for 90% of the time.....but when the mood takes you any good petrol engine is a far better place to sit behind and ring its neck.
    Its not just the noise either.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

TCP/IP wrote: »
    In whose eyes?

Id say in the manufacturers eyes. Why would they bother spending so much money tuning supension and tweaking handling characteristics if they only wanted their cars to be good in a straight line?

Testament1 wrote: »
    Id say in the manufacturers eyes. Why would they bother spending so much money tuning supension and tweaking handling characteristics if they only wanted their cars to be good in a straight line?

Totally agreed and like most people when I am going around a corner I want to be stuck to the road. My point is taking a car to a track is a different ball game altogether.

I dont want to sound like a smarta** but the very name performance says it should.

You don't sound like a smart-ass just simply somebody that works at a racing track and thinks that performance and tracking a car are the same thing. Does a car that does 0-60 in less than 4.5sec but could not go around a track to save its life not a performance car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

To be fair a performance car should be an all rounder.
    You can get drift cars, drag racers, off road 4x4's, rally cross and open wheel single seater track cars.
    A performance car (to me) should be an all round quick car. Fast in a straight line but more importantly it should be able to handle itself correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

TCP/IP wrote: »
    Does a car that does 0-60 in less than 4.5sec but could not go around a track to save its life not a performance car?

Sounds like you are describing an American muscle car,throw loads of power at a chassis neglect to give it any suspension or drivability (sp) and have the cheek to call it a performance car.

I love these threads there should be a section on boards just for them,true modern Diesels have come along leaps and bounds but give me a free reving petrol engine any day (my last car was a 6 cylinder petrol rocket,my current car is a 6 cylinder diesel rocking car :D )

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

If a performance car isnt able to go around a track then it isnt a performance car.
    I totally agree, which is why seeing the diesel-powered Audi R10s do so well consistently in the American Le Mans series and the Le Mans 24-hour race and other prestigeous events and series was so exciting. Add in the Peugeot HDi diesel race-cars and the Seat turbo-diesels that swept the boards at the BTCC for two years in succession and its clear to see where the real development opportunities lie both for esoteric track-focussed exotica and real-world stuff that travels the highways and byways.

Vive le gazole, vive les moteurs diesels!

I forgot the 250 bhp / multi-mega torque VW Caddy van that races in England

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

Petrol more fun though when using those high revs.
    Diesel fast, yes, but boring noise.

can't beat a petrol V6 or V8 for noise, even a flat four alfa or suburu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Stick with the petrol turbo Squall, its not all about figures gained on a rolling road.

A diesels power band is too small to make it any fun!

Dont be tricked into switching to the dark side! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

I have a diesel and two petrols and I wouldnt label "noise" as the issue with diesels (I like the sounds of my JTD). I have long argued against the wave of stupid diesel bashing here, but as a counter balance, you are truely sounding like a fanboy or PR drone.
    I had a much more powerful diesel than the 535d and I drive the 535d my mother owns on occasion. Its quite fast and smooth. Unlike some of the detractors here is not nose heavy and its got great brakes. But it is not a sporty car. Its slick custom autobox does its best to hide the "gaps" in the diesel power delivery, its dual turbos expands the power band, but these are all kludges to cover the "irregular" power delivery a diesel delivers.

My manual JTD is a better example of the issues as you can create them (being manual); you cannot roll to a stop in 4th gear, you cannot start smoothly in 3rd (in 2nd is not exactly rolling on glass either), it punches back in a dramatic way yet out revs itself within seconds. Getting caught between the "right" gears at a roundabout is hairy.
    These problems are all on the 535d too. The latest F10 BMW diesels have 7speed gear boxes to try solve (hide) these issues by keeping the gear in the optimum (and low) rev range to try to "flatten" the power delivery. But again, its a workaround.

Any torquey petrol engine (I do not rate high reving no torque petrols, sorry Honda fans!) is much much more flexible and much nicer to drive. If you were to say petrol and diesel cost 5c a litre tomorrow, would people buy diesels for the 20% better economy? Some might, but the majority of people who care about the "drive"? Not for a second. So considering diesels are driven for the sheer cheapness of them, do you really, really think they should be as revered as you are making out?

Bring the 535d to the next meet up and Ill bring the 850CSi, ignore who is faster than who, who gets more MPG (dull), just compare which one is pure awesome to drive. It isnt the boosted DERV.

PS: The 535d isnt the "first of its kind" at all!?, the older V10TDI Phaeton has 6gears, twin turbos, 10 cylinders and 5.0 friggen litres CC and a lot more torque and higher BHP. It has so much torque you cannot remap much to boost the BHP, Im talking out 880nm of transmission melting torque when remapped here, it could pull a 535d apart if both hitched in opposite directions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

A diesel 1.3 Punto will do all the above and still get 55+mpg.

I wouldnt go around saying a 535d is a M3 killer it makes you sound like a complete fanboy.

I'd rather be overtaking 2-3 cars with the wife and 3 kids in a 535d than a 1.3 punto to be honest!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

On the other end of the scale from the 2.3 petrol vs diesel, I'm pretty happy with the performance of my little 1.4 turbo petrol. Compared to the diesel equivalent, the only figure that is better is the official l/100k which is 6 vs 5.
    The torque is same if not better and same with usable power band which is much larger in the petrol.
    Ok, so the diesel qualifies for band a as opposed to b, but I'll forsake €45 and 1l fuel costs for the ability to overtake without having to change gears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

I would not expect a normal 535d, not to mention a remapped one to be reliable. Modern diesels, apart from some of the run of the mill low powered French, Italian and German units are pretty fragile and I shudder to think what could go wrong in a twin turbo derv burning fiver. In short, a big power 535d will break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Squall19

3.0d in the beemer can put out 290bhp 600nm or torque with little more than a good proper remap for what 400 euro?,very cheap bhp. 335d can be put up to 350 bhp and 740nm of torque with a remap.

can't think of much petrol yoks that would give ya 35 odd mpg with that performance.

Road tax is over 1500e so mpg doesnt come into it much, when 2.0-2.3 turbo petrols are half that to tax, 750euro buys alot of fuel.

Yeah thats alot of power from the 535d, crazy power.

So what will be faster with 1.5k thrown at it?

30-70mph
    50-75mph
    50-100mph
    50-120mph

conneem-TT wrote: »
    Just some overtaking manouver comparisons, all figures taken from SportAuto for consistency.

The MPS has pretty short gearing so is paricularly good at in gear times :)

So the moral of the story is turbo petrols can play the muscular overtaking moves just as well as a turbo diesel :)

4th gear . . . . . 535d (272ps) . . . . 535d (286ps) . . Octavia RS (200ps) . . 3 MPS (260PS) . . 335i (300ps)

80-120km/h . . . . . 5,5s . . . . . . . . . . . 5,1s . . . . . . . . . 5,7s . . . . . . . . . . 4,3s . . . . . . . . . . 5,5s
    80-160km/h . . . . . 11,7s . . . . . . . . . . 10,9s . . . . . . . . 13,1s . . . . . . . . . 10,2s . . . . . . . . . . 11,4s

5th gear

80-120km/h . . . . . 7,2s . . . . . . . . . . . 6,9s . . . . . . . . . 7,3s . . . . . . . . . . . 5,5s . . . . . . . . . . 6,5s
    80-160km/h . . . . . 15,9s . . . . . . . . . . 14,6s . . . . . . . . 16,5s . . . . . . . . . . 11,1s . . . . . . . . . . 13,7s

6th gear

80-120km/h . . . . . . - . . . . . . . . . . . . 9,5s . . . . . . . . . 9,1s . . . . . . . . . . 8,4s . . . . . . . . . . 7,9s
    80-160km/h . . . . . . - . . . . . . . . . . . 19,8s . . . . . . . . 21,0s . . . . . . . . . . 16,2s . . . . . . . . . . 16,7s

Looks like my Mps is the quickest out of the lot in gear.

But what about all cars are equal, all in the optimum gear/rev range.eg an Integra Dc5 is pretty quick when its firing at 7000rpm.

Those tests are not fair imo, because the 3.0 petrol bmw should be faster than my mps with all that power and high rpm

Surely the 535d puts up a better fight against the two powerful petrols ( Mazda, Bmw 330i )

Squall19 wrote: »
    R
    the 3.0 petrol bmw should be faster than my mps with all that power and high rpm

Why should it be?

Its not all about top figures of BHP, torque or rpm.

Many other factors need to be taken into account such as power bands, power to weight ratio, the power curve, torque curve etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

I'd still be of the opinion that the main advantage of diesel is that it's cheaper to run, I don't think I could live with the thought of having gone with the cheaper rather then the better option. In my experience turbo petrol engines in terms of drivability are just miles better to drive, most diesel turbo engines are just trying to emulate the performance you would get from the equivilent normally asperated petrol engine with the same cc.

Squall19 wrote: »
    Looks like my Mps is the quickest out of the lot in gear.

But what about all cars are equal, all in the optimum gear/rev range.eg an Integra Dc5 is pretty quick when its firing at 7000rpm.

Those tests are not fair imo, because the 3.0 petrol bmw should be faster than my mps with all that power and high rpm

Surely the 535d puts up a better fight against the two powerful petrols ( Mazda, Bmw 330i )

We know that petrols perfom very well when wrung out like in your Integra example but my post was responding to the "useable performance" post above mine. I was just showing that turbo petrols offer the same benefits but also with the option to wring it out if you are in the mood. That is why I chose the 4th and 6th gear acceleration numbers over two different ranges to see the flexibility of performance :)

Your MPS has very short gearing so you get ~170km/h out of 4th for example and the 335i will get 164km/h out of 3rd, shorter gearing is good for acceleration but means you have to shift more often and have a high crusing rpm.

Good torque can make a car fast yes, but a peaky torque can make a car feel very fast whilst it is only nippy i.e. Golf TDI's. (the twin turbo x35d overcomes this peakyness and is genuinely quick for a big saloon) You get the woah take up in acceleration you pick up a bit of speed and feel the extra speed wheras for example the first time I got a ride in a Z3M coupe the guy nailed it in 2nd/3rd and it just kept pulling stronger and stronger to the redline (due to the torque not falling off and taking advantage of the revs), I thought about the way it felt and feel the correct way to describe the difference in the feeling of acceleration of the two, the TDI would be like the feeling you get when a plane drops a bit and you get butterfly's but the Z3M would be like an uncontrolable bowl movement, it just kept pulling stronger and followed through :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Matt Simis wrote: »
    The latest F10 BMW diesels have 7speed gear boxes to try solve (hide) these issues by keeping the gear in the optimum (and low) rev range to try to "flatten" the power delivery. But again, its a workaround.

Surely a case for a CVT gearbox instead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭samsemtex

I cant think of a diesel that would give you 35mpg with that kind of performance either. Dont believe the nonsense. High powered diesels are nowhere close to 35mpg. Every thread you enter turns into you rambling on about how amazing BMWs are.

And for proof that the 535d gets nowhere near 35mpg just type in 535d mpg into google and look at the owners pages on any BMW forum. The average owner says 30 mpg is about the best and that is driving smoothly. Driving anyway quick will reduce that to 25mpg easily. And for reference a 3.2 Alfa 156 GTA with an old fashioned V6 will do 24mpg in normal driving and if you really push it you might get 30mpg. So for a real world difference of 3-5 mpg I know which one i would choose.

I hear Tubro Diesels are the best alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

I hear Tubro Diesels are the best alright.

Turf-bo diesels are mighty yokes altogether! real world performance that doubles as a farm vehicle,im surprised Bee em double u and valkswagon dont feckin fit PTO shafts to their cars,sure they'd clean up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,057 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

so i do hope eventfully petrol fan-boys will accept diesels are fast when the next generation of 100bhp per liter diesels come out and will stop trying to slate them will the million year old argument about noise and running out of puff.

My boss has a flash diesel BMW, cost him a fortune and he loves it, he hasn't a clue about performance though. I had to tell him his car was rear wheel drive.

These high powered diesels are incredibly fast, no doubt about that, but they are more suitable for people who want straight line speed, big heavy saloon motorway munchers. Sales reps and big mileage business men and women love them, they are comfortable quick in a straight line and don't use that much fuel. They will never outperform petrol cars though. Lightnings right. Serious car enthusiasts won't go for them. Performance is different, it's pace, breaking, cornering etc...

I saw an ad saying the new jaguar XF 3.0 twin tubro diesel does 0-60 in 5.9.
    17 years ago the 3.0 twin tubro supra (petrol) does 0-60 in 5 flat.

So by that standard, diesels are getting closer to petrol in terms of performance, maybe around 2013 a diesel will match the 5.0 but 20 years later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭CosmicJay

I saw an ad saying the new jaguar XF 3.0 twin tubro diesel does 0-60 in 5.9.
    17 years ago the 3.0 twin tubro supra (petrol) does 0-60 in 5 flat.

So by that standard, diesels are getting closer to petrol in terms of performance, maybe around 2013 a diesel will match the 5.0 but 20 years later.

Show me a diesel which can make 800bhp with a big single turbo, still sound awesome and not create a mushroom cloud every time you plant the boot and then we'll talk. :pac:

Modern diesels are lovely cars but they can be a bit boring, 4200 rpm redline, pff.

Diesels have their places in buses, trucks, 4x4's, pick up trucks, saloons and hatch backs. . not performance cars.

CosmicJay wrote: »
    Show me a diesel which can make 800bhp with a big single turbo, still sound awesome and not create a mushroom cloud every time you plant the boot and then we'll talk. :pac:

Modern diesels are lovely cars but they can be a bit boring, 4200 rpm redline, pff.

Diesels have their places in buses, trucks, 4x4's, pick up trucks, saloons and hatch backs. . not performance cars.

5200rpm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭tu2j2

5200rpm

:eek: Wow. My old car only made its max torque at 5200rpm.

God I love the petrol vs. diesel debate. If fuel was free nobody would drive a diesel, after that its just a matter of economics :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Diesel is a necessary evil with CO2 based VRT and taxation not to mention the cost of fuel.

If fuel did not cost so much, then it would be very hard to make a case for diesel, especially as they are so complex and prone to failure.

Modern petrol engines are catching up with torque and mpg thanks to turbocharging and direct injection.

Petrols won't have DPFs or DMFs(bar a few very high performance models) either to go expensively wrong, although the direct injection could well give trouble.

Don't get me wrong for a lot of cars you'd be mad to buy the petrol engine; the likes of a Skoda Superb or a big saloon with an automatic gearbox are ideal for a decently powered diesel but not every car needs to be diesel, a Scirocco or a Peugeot RCZ should only be available with revvy petrol engines, diesels should not exist for these kind of cars!

While diesel has come a hell of a long way in terms of power, torque, even fuel economy, that progress has come at a big cost and that cost is reliability.

With the new EU6 regulations coming in 2014 diesel will be so expensive that it will only make sense to buy diesels in the Mondeo size and bigger, and even then there will be a case to be made for buying the petrol if you do low enough mileage.

These new rules will make petrol hybrids less expensive relatively speaking and that will mean they will finally start to take off in Europe.

The big drawback of petrol hybrids at the moment is the cost but the gap between a petrol hybrid and a diesel will close dramatically over the next few years as diesels will need even more expensive gadgets to get them through Euro 6.

Diesel is a necessary evil with CO2 based VRT and taxation not to mention the cost of fuel.

If fuel did not cost so much, then it would be very hard to make a case for diesel, especially as they are so complex and prone to failure.

Modern petrol engines are catching up with torque and mpg thanks to turbocharging and direct injection.

Petrols won't have DPFs or DMFs(bar a few very high performance models) either to go expensively wrong.

While diesel has come a hell of a long way in terms of power, torque, even fuel economy, that progress has come at a big cost and that cost is reliability.

With the new EU6 regulations coming in 2014 diesel will be so expensive that it will only make sense to buy diesels in the Mondeo size and bigger, and even then there will be a case to be made for buying the petrol if you do low enough mileage.

These new rules will make petrol hybrids less expensive relatively speaking and that will mean they will finally start to take off in Europe.

The big drawback of petrol hybrids at the moment is the cost but the gap between a petrol hybrid and a diesel will close dramatically over the next few years as diesels will need even more expensive gadgets to get them through Euro 6.

It does make sense if you do mega mileage but diesel is priced artificially low here vs petrol due to it having a lower amount of duty. However if there was ever a CO2 tax put on road fuels diesel should have more due to the fact that per litre burned it releases more CO2 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Diesel in Europe is often 10-15 cent a litre cheaper than petrol too, exaggerating the difference in cost to run between the two fuels, however they are saying that even in the continent when the new rules come in it will be more expensive to run diesel for people who buy smaller cars.

Petrol is a dead duck here for the time being because of the CO2 based VRT system which makes diesels hardly any dearer to buy(and in some cases cheaper), however that will change as petrol engines get more efficient and get closer to diesels on CO2 (much and all as I despise the Toyota Corolla, it is interesting to note that both the petrol and diesel models are in band B) but the new rules will push up the price of diesel cars by as much as €1,000, with larger cars that kind of a premium is not significant, but on the likes of Focuses and Fiestas that represents a large per centage jump in price making diesel far less attractive for smaller cars.

Of course if fewer and fewer diesels are being made, this increases the unit cost of making a diesel engine, meaning that the premium for buying a diesel will increase even further and thereby eroding the market share of diesel even further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,057 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

mfceiling wrote: »
    I'd rather be overtaking 2-3 cars with the wife and 3 kids in a 535d than a 1.3 punto to be honest!!

Rather or rather be seen? Do you think the Punto is a fun car to drive?

tu2j2 wrote: »
    :eek: Wow. My old car only made its max torque at 5200rpm.

God I love the petrol vs. diesel debate. If fuel was free nobody would drive a diesel, after that its just a matter of economics :D

Mines makes 560nm at 1600rpm:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭CosmicJay

Mines makes 560nm at 1600rpm:pac:

Pity it doesn't last past 3500. :pac::pac:

CosmicJay wrote: »
    Pity it doesn't last past 3500. :pac::pac:

3500!? You'd be lucky if there was any torque after 2000 rpm :D

As someone once said (I cant remember who) with a petrol turbo you can ride the wave of torque but with a diesel turbo you might as well be in a paddling pool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

I dont want to sound like a smarta** but the very name performance says it should.
    says who? Not Audi. Not Peugeot. Not BMW. Or are they all wrong ?
    cadaliac wrote: »
    To be fair a performance car should be an all rounder.
    You can get drift cars, drag racers, off road 4x4's, rally cross and open wheel single seater track cars.
    A performance car (to me) should be an all round quick car. Fast in a straight line but more importantly it should be able to handle itself correctly.
    Exactly: 'performance' doesn't tell us anything, other than it's not 'standard'. Maybe it's a bit quicker. Maybe it has a better engine. Or gearbox. Or shocks. Or wheels. But as a catch-all, it's useless. 'Performance' means performance to you, as you'd use it. Otherwise, we'd all buy..........racing cars. Which do belong on the track.
    coolbeans wrote: »
    I would not expect a normal 535d, not to mention a remapped one to be reliable. ...In short, a big power 535d will break.
    Viper_JB wrote: »
    I'd still be of the opinion that the main advantage of diesel is that it's cheaper to run, I don't think I could live with the thought of having gone with the cheaper rather then the better option. In my experience turbo petrol engines in terms of drivability are just miles better to drive, most diesel turbo engines are just trying to emulate the performance you would get from the equivilent normally asperated petrol engine with the same cc.

tu2j2 wrote: »

Petrols won't have DPFs or DMFs(bar a few very high performance models) either to go expensively wrong, although the direct injection could well give trouble.

Don't get me wrong for a lot of cars you'd be mad to buy the petrol engine; the likes of a Skoda Superb or a big saloon with an automatic gearbox are ideal for a decently powered diesel but not every car needs to be diesel, a Scirocco or a Peugeot RCZ should only be available with revvy petrol engines, diesels should not exist for these kind of cars!

conneem-TT wrote: »
    It does make sense if you do mega mileage but diesel is priced artificially low here vs petrol due to it having a lower amount of duty. However if there was ever a CO2 tax put on road fuels diesel should have more due to the fact that per litre burned it releases more CO2 :)

As ye are pointing out: you get nothing for nothing. People are buying diesel's with 1983 mentality: i.e., that they all do 50mpg, do 250,000miles and you get all your money back when you sell it.

Meanwhile, back on earth, they've had the bollocks tuned off them to match petrols' power output - so use MORE diesel - they are wired and DPF'd up the wazoo to meet emissions standards - which means it'll end in tears, eventually, when the dashboard winky-winky lights come on - and they eat turbo's for breakfast. And need morev expensive servicing and repairs.

Meanwhile, petrol has soldiered on getting that little bit better all the time, to the extent that almost no-one has noticed. A 530i is, in fact, a hidden gem - most of the kudos, none of the trauma.

And of course, we have the 'X' factor: Irish arse-about face motor tax.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭samsemtex

5200rpm

And all the power ends how long before that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Divorce Referendum

galwaytt wrote: »

As ye are pointing out: you get nothing for nothing. People are buying diesel's with 1983 mentality: i.e., that they all do 50mpg, do 250,000miles and you get all your money back when you sell it.

Meanwhile, back on earth, they've had the bollocks tuned off them to match petrols' power output - so use MORE diesel - they are wired and DPF'd up the wazoo to meet emissions standards - which means it'll end in tears, eventually, when the dashboard winky-winky lights come on - and they eat turbo's for breakfast. And need morev expensive servicing and repairs.

Meanwhile, petrol has soldiered on getting that little bit better all the time, to the extent that almost no-one has noticed. A 530i is, in fact, a hidden gem - most of the kudos, none of the trauma.

And of course, we have the 'X' factor: Irish arse-about face motor tax.

Diesels dont have the bollocks tuned off them what fiction are you reading? I have a 1.6tdci focus. It has no dpf, it has 160,000 miles and the turbo is still good. There is a good selection of new diesel cars with no dpf in ireland by the way.

The service cost is 120 euro for a full service compared to 110 for my last petrol. I havent had any trouble with the focus apart from a wheel bearing going yet my previous 1.4 petrol burnt a hole in my pocket with the engine dying after only 130,000 miles. If the turbo is the only thing that can go wrong I can live with that. Im guessing if a turbo was fitted to a petrol its a stronger one is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

He is a power band of xud 306 mechanical engine with nowt more than and intercooler and some fuelling mods running 30psi ish, it will rev to 7k and is nowhere near finished its just a rough dyno to see progress :D

that is indeed 110 bhp more than stock and alot more to come, just to show diesels can be revvy if you want them to be
    This graph drops off due to the operator refusing to rev it as he was a 4200k rpm limit believer!

graph.jpg
    Heres the run, there is loads of smoke as its a work in progress and this dyno was meant as a guide

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GcCa_HAMuWs