Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help me help my husband!!

• 19-10-2010 10:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭

I have been reading this forum for a while now and have made changes to my own diet and am feeling the benefit, have lots of energy and my skin is glowing!
    So far, so good, I am also loosing weight and getting my fitness back.
    I had a baby 10 weeks ago and really it hit me then that I can't carry on living the way I was as I really want to be around to see my son grow up and I want to be able to run around after him, a cliche I know, but oh so true.

So anyways, my husband, well to look at him you would think he must eat quite well, as he has no weight on him (6ft 5" and about 14 stone, maybe less, never weighs himself)..he is a very regular gym goer, has been for ages and his fitness levels are very high.

BUT! His diet is terrible,
    full of sugar and he would go all day and not eat, then eat loads in the evening, chocolate, ice-cream, sweets and also drinks litres of cola and other fizz during the day

So he has started today on his detox:)

My question is, can someone give me ideas on what I can get him to eat throughout the day, I am going shopping today and want to get stuff in.

A big problem is he doesn't like eggs or porridge, so for breakfast I was thinking maybe yogurt, nuts and berries and toast
    then snack on nuts and cheese
    then lunch: sandwich/wrap with chicken/tuna/turkey and salad with maybe small bag of popcorn or soup

snack again nuts and cheese

then dinner whatever i make which is normally good, chicken with pasta or rice and sauce(homemade) or a chilli or fish

Sorry for the essay, I have a fair idea what to feed him I suppose just want some feedback
    I have added in a fair bit of carbs simply because he would spend 2-3 hours doing cardio on say 4-5 days each week (he wont do weights)

Thanks in advance, hope this makes sense, love reading this forum and I have certainly learned a lot from you guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭rocky

Does he need helping? :)

Don't get me wrong, a 'healthy' diet is grand and all (if we can all agree on what healthy is), but since:

- he seems to be fairly active
    - he's not overweight
    - eating only in the evening is not necessarily a bad thing - see Intermittent Fasting and The Warrior Diet,

Why try and get him eating foods he maybe won't enjoy?

Only thing I would recommend is get some tests done and if they come out ok, why push it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

its pretty obvious that he does need help with his diet... the intermittant fasting theory is a hell of a lot different to eating nothing all day and filling up on sugar and crap at night (which IMO would not be as likely to happen if someone had a proper breakfast and lunch containing plenty protein, good fats and fiberous carbs) - op, your husband needs to want this himself though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Betsysquared

Thanks for the replies,

Yes he does want to improve but its a long road I guess, he did bring something for breakfast today and has said he will get a sandwich for lunch so its a start!
    Will see how it pans out

B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

I was the same. Good shape, weight normal, regular workouts for years.

Then I had a blood test as part of a medical.

And my good cholesterol was way too low and my bad was through the roof. It turned I was "At Risk". Scared the living crap out of me.

Maybe if your better half had a medical and saw the numbers in black and white it would be a good motivator? (of course his numbers may be fine in which case fair play to him, stay on the pizza for a few more years).