Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People who have a problem being overtaken

• 18-10-2010 12:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭

On my way back from Cork to Wicklow, one in front of me (blue banged up Yaris on the M7) doing about 110kph - I overtake at the constant 120kph I was doing (damn maturity/speed vans! :p) and all is well... until she overtakes me again and proceeds to slow down. Causing me to overtake again without changing my speed.

This happened 3 times - all the while with me thinking wtf???

Eventually a long line of traffic came up and I was able to put some cars in between us and didn't see her for the rest of it. Not the 1st time this has happened. I think she thought I might have been trying to lord it over her with my car?

I need one of those LED boards for the back window "Maintain speed FFS!"

Nearly as bad as the corsa on the sliproad of the N20 dual carriageway who STOPPED to check for traffic and then gave me a "why are you beeping" expression when I gunned it past her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

Common enough in fact too common. I hate people who increase speed when you are passing them on the motorway I'm not sure if this is just cause they are watching you in their side mirror and it's something they do without thinking. Just like the people who look in their mirrors and drift to that side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Velocitee

Common enough in fact too common. I hate people who increase speed when you are passing them

Yes like before the M8 was complete and I'd overtaken a slow van only to have him floor it and nearly force me into an oncoming truck.

I wish people like him only the best in life...

edit: and at that stage it was 50:50 me getting back behind him or finishing the overtake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Common enough in fact too common. I hate people who increase speed when you are passing them on the motorway I'm not sure if this is just cause they are watching you in their side mirror and it's something they do without thinking. Just like the people who look in their mirrors and drift to that side.
    I generally get the impression it's somewhere between subconscious and conscious with these types.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Princess Zelda

On the M1 today I saw in the rear mirror a car being overtaken, when it then pulled into the overtaking lane and sat up the car that was overtaking it's arse with the full beams on. Other car slowed down then, forcing the car to go back into the left lane to try and undertake. Overtaking on motorways tend to bring out the crazy in some people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

That happened me on the M2 one night. This came up behind me, passed me then slowed down after passing me so i overtook him to maintain speed. Then he did it again and again. Never looked at me or gestured or anything. What is with these people??
    A number of years ago i was passing this awfully slow dude on a backroad. The road ahead opened up a little, enough for two cars. I was alongside him when he speeded up AND veered towards me. I had to brake or there would have been metal meeting. My fist would have met his head repeatedly if there was. Tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

It's very noticeable if you have cruise control: sail along the motoray at a set speed, the same cars will pass and then slow down until you pass, then they'll catch up and do it again, and again.

The most extreme examples are usually answering their hand-held phones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

To add to this why do people flash you after you've overtaken them?

About 3 weeks ago I was driving home on the N2 when I overtook two cars in a perfectly safe manner, after pulling in the car behind me flashed me.

I then proceeded to overtake another car and as I went to do this the car behind flashed at me again.

Again I was overtaking a car going slow (85 in 100 zone) on a perfectly safe straight bit of road.

draffodx wrote: »

What type of car do you have?

Could be the acceleration with which you're doing it? (personally not aware of any law that says how fast you can accelerate up to the limit??)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I think part of it that you tend to keep up or go slightly faster than traffic in front of you unless consciously watching the speedo. once you overtake you settle back to 120 or 130 or whatever and appear to slow down.

Cruise control is great as it eliminates all of that, just set it and go :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭itarumaa

It's very noticeable if you have cruise control: sail along the motoray at a set speed, the same cars will pass and then slow down until you pass, then they'll catch up and do it again, and again.

Happened to me as well in M3.

I set the speed to 135km/h, Red Laguna overtakes, then later on I have to overtake it back,

really annoying and I cannot understand people like that. The best thing was that there were only two cars going in the same direction, so you would assume that it would not be that difficult to drive normally.

Velocitee wrote: »
    What type of car do you have?

Could be the acceleration with which you're doing it? (personally not aware of any law that says how fast you can accelerate up to the limit??)

A Ford Focus ST.

It was as if they felt no one should be allowed overtake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

About 3 weeks ago I was driving home on the N2 when I overtook two cars in a perfectly safe manner, after pulling in the car behind me flashed me.

I then proceeded to overtake another car and as I went to do this the car behind flashed at me again.

Again I was overtaking a car going slow (85 in 100 zone) on a perfectly safe straight bit of road.

Were the cars you overtook Corollas? John-Joe and Biddy on their way from or to mass?
    "Jesus Mary and Joseph, the speed, John-Joe, the SPEED, they'll kill us all"
    "don't worry Biddy, I'll drive with two wheels over the white line to stop the next townie in a rush"

They are the same people who flash you from 3 miles away when you are overtaking coming towards them.

A Ford Focus ST.

Ah - there's your problem it's car-ism (like racism, but with cars)

They think you're a boy racer would be my guess and erego 'actin the boyo' :rolleyes:

Nice motor btw :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,164 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

I had a guy in a Golf go off on one (at least from what I could see in the rear view mirror) when I got out in front of him on the outside lane of a roundabout. He was on the inside lane.

langdang wrote: »
    Were the cars you overtook Corollas? John-Joe and Biddy on their way from or to mass?
    "don't worry Biddy, I'll drive with two wheels over the white line to stop the next townie in a rush"

They are the same people who flash you from 3 miles away when you are overtaking coming towards them.

and red-faced with rage when you look at them....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Similar to the massive queue of cars in the overtaking lane while the queue in the right hand lane is empty (left in Ireland)

Not having someone in front of you makes you 'feel' safer.

A Ford Focus ST.

Check your rear lights are working they may have been passing you a message. Like the other morning after a night duty I was overtaken on the N4 at Lucan by a taxi with one headlight pointing up blinding me and NO rear lights it was pitch dark.

More than likely they just thought you were a boy racer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

did the cars move in slightly to allow you to overtake .... if so it could have been a kinda ... (Sarcastically) "well...thank you very much for not acknowledging that I pulled aside"

I usually thank people by using my hazards for a brief sec or two after I've overtaken - generally people "flash" to say "your welcome".

It was an Auris.
    Check your rear lights are working they may have been passing you a message. Like the other morning after a night duty I was overtaken on the N4 at Lucan by a taxi with one headlight pointing up blinding me and NO rear lights it was pitch dark.

More than likely they just thought you were a boy racer.

I always check them, they were/are fine, all lights working and my rear fog light was off.

Would the general public actually label an ST with the boy racer stereotype? Its not loud, its totally standard looking, its not japanese and I wasn't speeding.
    PCPhoto wrote: »
    did the cars move in slightly to allow you to overtake .... if so it could have been a kinda ... (Sarcastically) "well...thank you very much for not acknowledging that I pulled aside"

I usually thank people by using my hazards for a brief sec or two after I've overtaken - generally people "flash" to say "your welcome".

Nope they didn't, I'd always acknowledge that also.

Would the general public actually label an ST with the boy racer stereotype?

I'd imagine so to be honest, they aren't really standard looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

I notice the same now with the "new" car (MiTo 135). Because it is a "small" car "big" cars tend to have a problem with me passing / expressing a desire to pass them.

Power to weight is a great advantage. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I do my fair share of over taking when I have the chance on Dual Carriageways or Motorways when I can, Ive no problem with people over taking me and i'll move over and try allow them to pass safely, I dont make it my mission to go about over taking them back in turn.

The only thing that annoys me is when your doing in or around the speed limit on a 2 lane road, indicating a 80 or 100 kmh limit and you could be doing in and around that and you get some eejit coming up behind ya on your bumper or flashing for ya to move in, im usually very obliging but its really annoying.

gavredking wrote: »
    The only thing that annoys me is when your doing in or around the speed limit on a 2 lane road, indicating a 80 or 100 kmh limit and you could be doing in and around that and you get some eejit coming up behind ya on your bumper or flashing for ya to move in, im usually very obliging but its really annoying.

By two lane road do you mean a dual carriage way/motorway?
    RoverJames wrote: »
    I'd imagine so to be honest, they aren't really standard looking.

Sorry I meant my ST is completely standard for the ST, not standard as in boring looking like a Corolla. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CamperMan

I dislike the drivers that start to pull out as your trying to overtake them either forcing you to brake and pull back or into a ditch

CamperMan wrote: »
    I dislike the drivers that start to pull out as your trying to overtake them either forcing you to brake and pull back or into a ditch

Or on smaller roads the ones that drive in the middle of the road!!

When I had my Prelude I noticed folks used to move over when I approached fast, was pretty cool :cool:

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

CamperMan wrote: »

Happens each and every time I am on the motorway, I mean when the check their mirror, IF they check them, they can see that I am coming along and time after time there won't be anyone behind me, so if they let me pass, wait 5 seconds then they can pull out, not causing me to slow down. Bit selfish but it just lacks.

About 3 months back, I was behind an Alfa 156, a car pulled out across off a side road in front of us, probably 2 or 3 hundred metres up the road, it was a straight so both of us went and passed him.
    About 2 miles down the road I spotted lights going mad behind me and this yoke steaming up behind me, flashing and gesturing for me to pull over, he was within 2 ft of my bumper. It was the guy who I had passed.

I, as you can imagine didn't as your mano, prob in his 60's or 70's, was losing the plot.
    Anyway I could see him on the phone, while doing all of the above, some nut job, he followed me for about 5 or 6 miles. I went to 120kmph on a 100kmph to get away from him, in the end I said I wasn't going to kill myself for this fool.
    Eventually he pulled back.

Coming into the next large town, about 3 miles out, I thought to myself that maybe he was on the phone reporting me, sure enough I met a patrol car coming towards me. They swung in behind me and followed me all the way in, I was at this stage clear in front and wasnt' going over 60mph, I was still a little rattled from this nutter.
    The guards followed me and I went and pulled in, voluntarily, in the town.

Your mano had reported me, for nearly killing him. Said I passed him at 100mph.
    I gave my side of the story and explained , they said that in fairness that they had observed my driving and that an un marked cop car 10 miles out had followed me and didn't see anything wrong with my driving.
    Also they said the car, a Mondeo ST, could be problem, also it was on UK plates and that was probably your mans issues.

I never heard from him again. I pass his house and can see the car parked outside, would love to pay a visit but I will leave him to it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

RoverJames wrote: »
    When I had my Prelude I noticed folks used to move over when I approached fast, was pretty cool :cool:

When I changed from a black Alfa 155 (fairly menacing in your mirrors) to a pre-facelift Multipla (eh, not so much), I noticed a huge change in other drivers behaviour.

Where people used to keep in and let me by, they suddenly started to speed up, pull out and generally act awkward to stop me from passing them.

When I changed from a black Alfa 155

they looked great, savage presence on the road.

Have to say with the xenons on I find a fair few people pull out of my way on Motorways/Dualers or hit the brakes when passing me on same. It must be the blue end of the spectrum on the edge of the beam that they see and makes them think I'm a cop car. Thats two car's in a row that I have owned that have them that this has happened to me.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

I was coming out of Innishannon one day heading for Cork, and there is a nice climbing lane there (and the hill is a proper test of torque). Anyway, it was a fine Sunday, and I had the vintage Escort out for a spin.

Coming from Bandon to Innishannon, I was behind this car (nice shiney Focus), obviously out for a Sunday drive, judging by the speed. I wasn't too worried about overtaking as I knew the climbing lane would be there at the far side of Innishannon. Anyway, leaving Innishannon, as soon as the climbing lane started, I moved to overtake the Focus. (we were both on the hill at this time). The problem there was that the 60kph zone finishes just before the climbing lane starts, and the Focus was trying to go up the hill in fifth gear (it was just about holding 60kph).

I decided that the Escort needed a little clearing and dropped it into third and used the torque to accellerate past him. There was a look of anger on his face (how dare that old piece of junk overtake me?/Old cars should go slow!/take your pick). You could see him looking at the floor/looking at the dials/looking at me/looking at the dials when I was overtaking him.

Anyway, I completed my overtake and resumed travelling at 55mph. About two minutes later, the Focus shot past me on a solid white line, lights a-blazing, look of "take that, you!" on his face.

It was a pity he never checked what I was behind. I was travelling behind an unmarked squad car that he overtook at the same time. Needless to say, there was a very slight smirk on my face when I passed him on the side of the road, when he was having a chat with AGS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

they are everywhere, the a***holes...

my last time was a Hyundai coupe who obviously ddint like an old Cortina passing him and repeatedly (on the M8) passed me and slowed up again. Eventually I got bored with this moron and increased my speed to a level he couldnt live with and lost him forever. I was quite happy to be cruising at the speed limit before...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

This I hate. You're back on your own side of the road for 4-5 seconds and some on-coming maniac is flashing like a mad thing.

I often find smaller cars moving into the hard shoulder to let me buy when i'm nowhere near them, happened only yesterday. Usually aul biddys afraid of 60kph+.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

When I changed from a black Alfa 155 (fairly menacing in your mirrors) to a pre-facelift Multipla (eh, not so much), I noticed a huge change in other drivers behaviour.

Where people used to keep in and let me by, they suddenly started to speed up, pull out and generally act awkward to stop me from passing them.
    Ha, I once had a Skoda Rapide ( stop sniggering) - if you overtook anything, including a reliant robin, they charged after you and almost killed themselves overtaking you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Because of the height of my pickup people tend to move out of the way to avoid my headlights blinding them in the rear view , but VAG TDi golf/passat drivers see you and turn it into a diesel fired race, constantly coming alongside you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Did you signal?

I hate people floating around lanes without signaling, can't tell if they are wandering out of lane cos they are drunk/asleep/on the phone or they are intentionally moving out.

I sometimes flash them (motorway) because if they were to signal the maneuver then I wouldn't have to keep as close an eye on them as I know what they are doing.

Did you signal?

I hate people floating around lanes without signaling, can't tell if they are wandering out of lane cos they are drunk/asleep/on the phone or they are intentionally moving out.

I sometimes flash them (motorway) because if they were to signal the maneuver then I wouldn't have to keep as close an eye on them as I know what they are doing.

Yes!

I wasn't on a motorway. It was the N2 between Ashbourne and Slane (Not the motorway part)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭ABEasy

Had a case of 'John Joe' on the way home tonight, not great conditions on a national road 100kmph zone, caught up with car doing 70kmph, who proceeded to break to 55-60 with each oncoming car. the road opened up so I decided to overtake, indicated and went, as soon as I was about to pass he veered over the white line to prevent me. I blew him out of it, overtook (road widened for the strech we were on), he then started flashing me for the next mile till I had finally lost him in the rear mirror. f eckers like that cause accidents...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Anto687

This happened to me on the northbound stretch of the M11, after the Beehive pub. I was cruising up there on the way home at around 11 at night, just me on the road, crest the hill, on the speed limit, and see a Laguna ahead, doing about 100 Km/H. So I indicate out, cruise past, clear a safe distance, and indicate back in. Next thing, the Laguna picks up speed (Bear in mind, I was still at 120), overtakes, and back down to 100.

As he was overtaking, I was slowing, both to let him pass, and incase, as happened, he decided to pull in in front of me.

I left him in front until the top of the next hill (I drive a 1.4 MG ZR, not bags of torque, and didn't really want to spur him on by dropping two gears and roaring past), then indicated out, and overtook again.

Same story. Overtakes me and back down to 100. So I backed off, let him go on, and passed him(stopped!!) at a speed checkpoint in Kilmacanogue.

Guess he stuck to 100 in the 80 zone too!

I've also had people flash me for joining a motorway, at the appropriate speed, about 15 car lengths in front of them.

Also, it seems that the newer Luxobarges only seem to include indicators at what must be an enormously expensive option..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

ianobrien wrote: »
    I was coming out of Innishannon one day heading for Cork, and there is a nice climbing lane there (and the hill is a proper test of torque). Anyway, it was a fine Sunday, and I had the vintage Escort out for a spin.

Coming from Bandon to Innishannon, I was behind this car (nice shiney Focus), obviously out for a Sunday drive, judging by the speed. I wasn't too worried about overtaking as I knew the climbing lane would be there at the far side of Innishannon. Anyway, leaving Innishannon, as soon as the climbing lane started, I moved to overtake the Focus. (we were both on the hill at this time). The problem there was that the 60kph zone finishes just before the climbing lane starts, and the Focus was trying to go up the hill in fifth gear (it was just about holding 60kph).

I decided that the Escort needed a little clearing and dropped it into third and used the torque to accellerate past him. There was a look of anger on his face (how dare that old piece of junk overtake me?/Old cars should go slow!/take your pick). You could see him looking at the floor/looking at the dials/looking at me/looking at the dials when I was overtaking him.

Anyway, I completed my overtake and resumed travelling at 55mph. About two minutes later, the Focus shot past me on a solid white line, lights a-blazing, look of "take that, you!" on his face.

It was a pity he never checked what I was behind. I was travelling behind an unmarked squad car that he overtook at the same time. Needless to say, there was a very slight smirk on my face when I passed him on the side of the road, when he was having a chat with AGS!

I love when stories end the way you hope they will :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Bleedin Delish

Guys just dont like people overtaking them ... still I HATE people flashing their lights behind me if I am on the motorway and I am overtaking someone myself and some tool usually in some old piece of sh*t BMW or Mondeo comes flying up behind you and starts flashing it boils the blood :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

still I HATE people flashing their lights behind me if I am on the motorway and I am overtaking someone myself and some tool usually in some old piece of sh*t BMW or Mondeo comes flying up behind you and starts flashing it boils the blood :mad:

Not saying it applies to you, but I hate when people go to overtake on a motorway/dualer but take 10min to slowly get past the car in the left lane backing up any traffic travelling faster than them...

(Just to note, I drive an old bmw.......;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Guys just dont like people overtaking them ... still I HATE people flashing their lights behind me if I am on the motorway and I am overtaking someone myself and some tool usually in some old piece of sh*t BMW or Mondeo comes flying up behind you and starts flashing it boils the blood :mad:

Feck them - keep to the speed limit! Why get points for someone else's lack of patience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭thats not gone well

Feck them - keep to the speed limit! Why get points for someone else's lack of patience

why bother policing other peoples speed? its not your problem/business if they decide to boot it down the road.

this forum is full of people giving out bout the "right lane speed patrol"
    if it bothers you MOVE OVER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Brabus

I have to say there is a huge difference when it comes to what you are driving at any time.
    From time to time, I get to drive the auld fella's '07 Landcruiser and in the main, most other drivers will leave proper distance between them and me on the road.
    However, its a totally different story when I'm in my own which happens to be a '95 car. They will pass you even going into blind bends, on the R roads and well over 80kph.
    The prevailing attitude is "Well, I'll be damned if I'm going to stay behind you, you piece of '95 crap!!":(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Happened to me this evening on the M1 southbound (that'd be the M1 southbound towards Sheffield, from Leeds, not Belfast to Dublin). There's a big long straight (with a couple of on/off ramps) just before the final stretch before my turn off at Sheffield (jct.34) and the road was quite busy for around 7.40pm, so I was overtaking a bunch of cars over taking a couple of trucks. No cars behind me, and I moved into the inner lane from middle to do so.

Whilst I'm making progress passing out cars a tool in a V reg (roughly 1999/2000) saloon with his fogs on (and no, there was no fog) comes screaming up behind me and flashes whilst simultaneously proceeding to absolutely /ride/ the bumper. There was no sit back for a second and then flash politely if it looked like I was sitting there. This driver was simply being a cvnt. I had a solid line of cars to my left so where in the name of f*ck was I meant to go? And there's a well known favourite police parking spot for catching speeders about 800m up ahead (on a corner of an S-bend going downhill onto the final straight before jnct.34), so I wasn't risking a speeding ticket for the likes of this cvnt. So I just kept overtaking the traffic to the left in good time whilst staying as close to the limit as I could given the very likely potential for a radar gun ahead.

An opening did eventually appear as traffic started to slow down with the upcoming police spot and I moved in left, but not before smiling in the satisfaction that the cvnt behind me lost a few minutes of his life from stress for all of ten, maybe twenty seconds that he felt I wasn't going fast enough to suit him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭sparkthatbled

The most dangerous thing, always see it on the m1, is when people in the left lane slowly catching up on a truck see you coming fast up the right lane and swerve out in front of you, forcing you to jam on the brakes because they didn't want the inconvenience of dropping from 85kph to 80kph for 5 seconds.

I found when i was driving a Corsa that drivers of BMWs, Mercs and other high performance cars really hated to be overtaken and would often make it their business to overtake me back. Yes, i know you can do 200+kph and i can only probably do about 150 but the point is i WANT to go a faster speed than you, deal with it! Now they move aside more willingly when they see my Honda badge in their mirror but quickly get pissed after i pass them and they see it's a Jazz! Ego thing, i guess...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

The most dangerous thing, always see it on the m1, is when people in the left lane slowly catching up on a truck see you coming fast up the right lane and swerve out in front of you, forcing you to jam on the brakes because they didn't want the inconvenience of dropping from 85kph to 80kph for 5 seconds.

Actually see that quite a bit on UK motorways in general; be it the truck in front of them, or just substantial volume of traffic and they just pull right in front of you leaving just about kissing their rear bumper. Almost always without indicating (or indicating as they move, making the act of indicating irrelevant).

The truck thing doesn't get me as much as the sudden jumping of lane because your current lane isn't moving fast enough for you. At least with a truck in front of someone, you're alerted to the possibility that they might decide now is as good a time as any to change lane regardless of what's around them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

I reckon those people see the road as a queue, and since they are "in front" of you in the queue, you should allow them to move between lanes :rolleyes:

Similar to the manic merging into the center/overtaking lane by crossing the hatching, or the slow dodderers that insist on just merging on top of you when a simple bit of acceleration or lack thereof would slot them comfortably in front or behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

Could not agree more, cruise control really demonstrates how other drivers vary there speed so much and when you see a sudden drop in speed you just know the phone just rang, why can't people answer a call without slowing to a crawl ??