Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you still use Boards if you became famous?

• 18-10-2010 8:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭

If you hit the limelight, whether for the 15mins of fame or a more extended period of time, would you continue to use boards and other online sites?

I ask because a) there is good ol' begrudgery (all around the world but to be fair, we often do enjoy giving out about our own) and b) threads that we see on reality shows (or featuring Irish people because they are of more interest to us) often spiral into insulting / criticising every element of people on the show.

Boards has had people registering after the presence of these threads (My Super Sweet 16 and Take Me Out)...Don't think I know of ones where current members were picked apart.

So, would you? I would but that is because the only fame I'm likely to garner is from online journalism (tiny fame) so it is a matter of necessity. Plus it would help to develop that thicker skin I so badly need :D

Don't start me on YouTube though!

🤪

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Well it would be interesting to see what people think of you I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Only to lord it over the peasants that are here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Since boards has an amazing track record at praising celebrities :D, i think id leave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Of course!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Elenxor

What cha mean 'if' I was famous?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

TV Forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Nobody knows i'm one half of Jedward here on boards and I want to keep it that way, It's such a great feeling guys when everybody doesn't know your name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

No.. cos you're all a bunch of peons.. and by peons, I mean penises!

Regards,

Gary Busey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

chin_grin wrote: »
    TV Forum.

Not really - just the incidents used as examples happen to be TV. After Hours is the hub of activity of often where threads form / go...

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I am famous, 6 times Champion Jockey ffs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Sabre0001 wrote: »
    Not really - just the incidents used as examples happen to be TV. After Hours is the hub of activity of often where threads form / go...

Well then to contribute through my haze of decreasing caffeine levels; Yes. I suppose I would. Just to be curious. Or I'd pay people to do it for me. "Run a search on my name and cross reference threads by popularity". Maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

I dont know how to tell you this, but, im kind of a big deal... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I was on The Works when I was 10, and I still post here! We lost 8 Iota's to 12 :(.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Carlos_Ray

No, I'd avoid the internet as much as possible which is apparently what a lot of famous people (Irish or not) do. I think the whole "irish begrudery" thing is very real, and to be honest if I ever did become famous I could even see a lot of friends ( not close friends) turning very bitter towards me. I think that is true in many social circles. There is always one or two people in your circle who'll find your fame hard to take and they'll be the ones to sell you for the old silver pieces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

My P.A would on my behalf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

God no! :eek: im abused enough on here and im a nobody! can you imagine if i was famous how much abuse you'd get on here :confused::eek:

I'd imagine there already are quite a few relatively famous people on here. Small time actors, LOI footballers etc. who don't reveal their identity for fear of a public flogging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Nope, but I'd use my new found money to bribe one of the boards techie admins into deleting all my posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Sea Sharp wrote: »
    Nope, but I'd use my new found money to bribe one of the boards techie admins into deleting all my posts.
    A 6 pack of Bud Lite will do it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I would still post once I had the time.

It wouldnt bother me what people were saying about me, you could choose to ignore it.

Fame and fortune cant buy friends but sure beats been poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Anybody hear of Cigar guy... thats me. And yes I will sign your cigars for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I'd imagine there already are quite a few relatively famous people on here. Small time actors, LOI footballers etc. who don't reveal their identity for fear of a public flogging.
    There could be. If I remember right, Steve Martin is a member of the Something Awful forums. But I know plenty of people who don't have boards accounts so it's not a dead cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

I remember a rumour going around about 4 years ago that Pighead is Ryan Tubridy. Oh how we laughed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Guess we just have to keep an eye on those who thank you :)

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

What else would I do with my time? I'd get bored of shopping after the second day. My reality TV programmes would probably be done in front of the computer while I post on the forums!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Don't worry I won't forget ye all when I'm (in)famous!

I'll still come on to say hello but only if Biggins promises to be first in with a reply, that's the prerequisite for any half decent AH thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

Of course :D I can't live without my daily rants on the forum... my life just wouldn't be complete without Boards :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Begging letters to be replaced by begging PM's :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

What difference would it make ? :rolleyes:

If you mean the jedward type of fame were your famous for doing fook all for being famous then you can shove it

Fame is well overated sense of existence ( anybody can have it now for the wrong as well as right reasons )

Besides , I'm to old now for that fame mlarky :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

I'll be too busy riding young ones and doing coke tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Depends on how famous i became and how much spare time i had.
    If i got really famous, i might actually have a life..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

alwaysadub wrote: »

Let's not be too optimistic..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Depends on how famous i became and how much spare time i had.

this

but i'd probably use it a bit

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Yeah sure, but I wouldn't want to be famous anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Yeah sure, but I wouldn't want to be famous anyway
    You could post in PI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭mikerowsopht

I would purchase boards.ie

Then I would fire all the mods for their trigger happy editing of either banning me, blocking me or most importanly moving my threads into the "correct forum " ffs

Then I would block all the mods from ever even looking at boards
    in fact I would block them from typing boards into google - yes I can do this

Then I would post loads of crap about companies and use bad language and all that ye ye

yyyyyyyyyyeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

rite

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Earthhorse wrote: »
    You could post in PI.

One millllllion euro to best reply, I can see it now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

fame fame fame fame fame fame fame fame fame .....whatcha name ...whatcha nameeeee ... whatcha nameeeee

to all my fans on Boards.ie

David :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

*notes who thanked this post in order to out small time actors and LOI footballers*

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Probably wouldnt use boards too much, would be too busy doing whatever I became famous for. Unless its that 10 seconds of fame you get from shite like xfactor etc. Thats the lowest form and the one I would avoid.

SV wrote: »
    Let's not be too optimistic..

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

If I were famous, I would employ someone to post here for me.

I'll apply for that.
    Getting desperate for a job at this stage.
    Hurry up and get famous!!!

There is a really good chance, 100% chance you might say, that some famous persons do post here, sure they could like being anonymous for once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

There would be no point in having a Boards acc. if I was famous.
    All my views on life and leisure would be broadcast as breaking news ahead of serious matters.

"Really? Smallpox has risen again, and is decimating the European population?!?!?! Lets find out what Jedward think!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Paul fúcking Gogarty posts here doesn't he? I'm only getting on now and again but I caught a glimpse of a poster called Paul Gogarty TD.

Also, Tar was one of half of 90s Russian lesbian pop sensation Tatu.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

Nobody knows i'm one half of Jedward here on boards and I want to keep it that way, It's such a great feeling guys when everybody doesn't know your name.

Dear Sir,

I do believe you might be telling an untruth!

IF you were one half of Jedward I believe that your post would be more like this:

LIKE... OMG OMG

I AM ONE HALF OF J E D W A R D :):D:rolleyes::p;):cool:

OMG LIKE I AM ON BOARDS LIKE OMG :):D;):):D
    WOW ... BLAH BLAH BLAH etc..

I hope you do not take offence to my post, but I call shenanigans :D

Kind Regards,

fox

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

you'd suddenly be hated for no apparent reason on here