Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangers - The After Hours we hate fireworks at Halloween thread.

• 17-10-2010 7:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭

Not 'E's or old cars but the firework things! What is the fooking point of them eh? Let them off and they make a big noise, brilliant :rolleyes:

Things will be going off every night now for the nextt few weeks, how much do they cost cos if it's anymore than 10c I don't see any kind of value for money. Feel sorry for people with dogs or small kids in their house, they must be scared ****less.

And just on a sidenote, since when has it become fashion to put your hands down your tracksuit bottoms? Is it now cool to walk down the road simulating having a pedal n crank???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭gaz wac

you might say they are holding their bangers !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

kfallon wrote: »
    And just on a sidenote, since when has it become fashion to put your hands down your tracksuit bottoms? Is it now cool to walk down the road simulating having a pedal n crank???

Wtf? Please don't explain unless its the sisters :)

Yeh, this time of year with countless fireworks, we all did it once, didn't we?

Its an Irish tradition sort of :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

Not 'E's or old cars but the firework things! What is the fooking point of them eh? Let them off and they make a big noise, brilliant :rolleyes:

Things will be going off every night now for the nextt few weeks, how much do they cost cos if it's anymore than 10c I don't see any kind of value for money. Feel sorry for people with dogs or small kids in their house, they must be scared ****less.

What's the fúcking point of them indeed....
    Little sh1ts letting them off around here all evening, the dog is gone crazy and its only a matter of time until the baby wakes

Halloween night is fair game but they've been letting them off here for the past few weeks and its getting really annoying

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

This thing called 'fun' I guess. Used to enjoy making them myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

throw the baby at um

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

gurramok wrote: »
    Wtf? Please don't explain unless its the sisters :)

It was pointed out to me in town a couple of weeks ago, two young lads walking thru Jervis Centre with their hand down their jocks, thought they were rasherin' the bollix off themselves. Seen loads of lads doing it now, not a bit of shame on them

This thing called 'fun' I guess. Used to enjoy making them myself

"We made a loud noise, horray!"
    Just do a big fart instead, not as noisy but twice as funny :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Since the 80's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Im linking the word banger in the original post with the the same word thats often used to describe sausages. I will use this observation as the platfrom for an amusing play on words & construct a madcap hypothetical scenario.

Actually i won't, its not funny...

It was pointed out to me in town a couple of weeks ago, two young lads walking thru Jervis Centre with their hand down their jocks, thought they were rasherin' the bollix off themselves. Seen loads of lads doing it now, not a bit of shame on them

Lock 'em up!

Someone should throw a banger down their jocks, its what they deserve!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Its a mimic of the US thing where guys carry guns. Its a pathetic attempt to make them look like hard men.

Jumpy wrote: »
    Its a mimic of the US thing where guys carry guns. Its a pathetic attempt to make them look like hard men.

If I had me hand down me jocks that long something would defo be hard

You get turned on by your brothers jocks handed down to you?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Cutting social welfare will cut out bangers as it is a past-time of the scum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

You get turned on by your brothers jocks handed down to you?:eek:

Nice try

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭skipz

Oranage2 wrote: »

Yeah because were all scum on the social, gobs**te.

skipz wrote: »

I'm in Ringsend. Dublin. I can hear rockets flying over from Ballsbridge, loike who da feck they think they are firing rockets with big bangs over at us?!!

I had something on me rings end there about 15 minutes ago and when I gave it a little push it came out like a rocket, nothing like a good Sunday night dump.....and that was nothing like a good Sunday night dump, it was like pebbledash, left the bowl looking like downtown Beirut :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,748 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Back in my day a box of 10 Black Cats cost £2.50, not sure what they would cost now, probably €10 or more.

What a fooking rip off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

The sad thing is that some of the scumbags will use a banger on a defenceless animal. I hope it doesn't happen this year, but thats a vain hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

hang on, didn't you make this EXACT thread last year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I had something on me rings end there about 15 minutes ago and when I gave it a little push it came out like a rocket, nothing like a good Sunday night dump.....and that was nothing like a good Sunday night dump, it was like pebbledash, left the bowl looking like downtown Beirut :p

Flutt is not gonna be happy with you!!
    Trying to take his crown, so to speak :D

hang on, didn't you make this EXACT thread last year?

Yeah I joined in May 2010 and I made this exact thread last year :rolleyes:

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Flutt is not gonna be happy with you!!
    Trying to take his crown, so to speak :D

Well I deserve a crown seen as I'm on the 'throne' so often! Got a little bit of ringsting too, currently sitting on one cheek so not to aggravate it any further!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Yeah I joined in May 2010 and I made this exact thread last year :rolleyes:
    oh right, heheheh:o
    But somebody used your exact words, which was a bit strange

oh right, heheheh:o
    But somebody used your exact words, which was a bit strange

Ah cnutybox on it anyway, now I just look like a copycat!!!

The sad thing is that some of the scumbags will use a banger on a defenceless animal. I hope it doesn't happen this year, but thats a vain hope.

Hasn't a dog got his mouth blown off by a banger in finglas already?

skipz wrote: »

Didn't say you were all scum, what i mean is that good honest working folk like myself would rather spend our hard earned money on other things like crab salads and lattes while some people on welfare like to spend their easy given money on fire bangers and by cutting welfare will decrease fire works and the unemployed having a few pints 3 days a week.

I dunno but some people high on said D4 lattes are right now firing horrific rockets over at us in Ringsend, who do they think they are Alison O'Riordan?! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭Tragamin2k2

10 blackcats 4 or 5 euro down here

Where?

Might need some to hit back at this campaign of terror by the D4 elite!;)

I dunno but some people high on said D4 lattes are right now firing horrific rockets over at us in Ringsend, who do they think they are Alison O'Riordan?! :)

Well if your not getting "paid" till thursday why don't you try douse a rock in petrol and fire them at said D4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Do exploding cats not make a bit of a mess?

Well if your not getting "paid" till thursday why don't you try douse a rock in petrol and fire them at said D4

What will I use as a launching pad?

Need help here, we're under a shock and awe bombardment by the Ross 'O'Carroll types :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

I love fireworks (when they're used by the right people that is) the shows that do be on can be so pretty and beautiful. I hate it when these young lads with nothing better to do start setting them off everywhere and anywhere scaring kids while they're trying to trick or treat and torturing poor defenseless animals it's horrible and disgusting and they should be all locked up :mad:

Pocketfizz wrote: »
    I love fireworks (when they're used by the right people that is) the shows that do be on can be so pretty and beautiful. I hate it when these young lads with nothing better to do start setting them off everywhere and anywhere scaring kids while they're trying to trick or treat and torturing poor defenseless animals it's horrible and disgusting and they should be all locked up :mad:

You love criminal behaviour? :P (fireworks are banned now if it makes any difference!)

Yeh, we all at one point in our lives set off illegal fireworks, its a pity scum use it for bad reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Hasn't a dog got his mouth blown off by a banger in finglas already?

Yes I'm afraid that happened. Thing is, the same sort of filth will probably do it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

I have pop pills into me poor dog, the bangers/fireworks scare the christ out of her. Came home 2weeks ago to find a very nervous dog under the bed. Grand have em on the 31st but really, start of Oct is a bit much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,579 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

FIRE
    :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Chorcai wrote: »
    I have pop pills into me poor dog, the bangers/fireworks scare the christ out of her. Came home 2weeks ago to find a very nervous dog under the bed. Grand have em on the 31st but really, start of Oct is a bit much.

You should of got a Dalmation! (they are deaf within 7 yrs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Never stick a banger up your arse at halloween.

No harm fondling ones stones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Seems the majority of AH hates potentially dangerous fun.

Nothing more exciting than running around a large open space firing repeaters at eachother, screamers, rockets, airbombs, the whole lot. Was great fun back in the day :pac:

And people have been walking around with their hands down their jocks for years, pretty warm down there, and also comfortable with the right trousers + boxers combo.

skanger me banger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

I bought a 30 euro box of fountains and roman candles and a couple of 20 euro packs of rockets last year in Enniskillen. Had a great night letting them off for the kids around the neighborhood. Starburst rockets are the way to go, the other crap ones that just explode are no fun.

I think I'll need quite a bit more this year to scare off the angry ghosts of our ancestors who've been rolling in their graves over the shíte that's been happening this year.

And seriously, if fireworks were legal in this country and people were taught how to use them safely there wouldn't be so many problems. The argument that some kids use them to torture animals is pointless, I've seen kids beating stray cats with sticks before. These kinds of kids will hurt animals regardless.

"Nothing is more destructive of respect for the government and the law of the land than passing laws which cannot be enforced." -Albert Einstein

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Tom Slick

Viva Villa!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

I remember back in school someone sneaking up behind a lad, lighting a Banger, and slipping it into his pocket! It's all a bit of banter at the end of the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Already happened in Finglas. Scum gave a dog a banger and its jaw was blown off. Had to be put down.

No justice served yet. They are probably terrorising the streets atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

ha ha..
    No its not. Covers all demographics.
    Kids will be kids.

Grrrr its wrecking my head a bit now

Does anyone remember the 5/10 minute fireworks safety programs that used to run on the bbc in the early 90's featuring people dressed as various fireworks,usually hanging around in a dark alley way.

One guy was a banger,another a sparkler..thought the main characters name was barry banger,but it would seem as though I'm incorrect

Any help in remembering this would be greatly appreciated :)