Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cross Country Season 2010

• 17-10-2010 5:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭

With many county championships wrapped up the cross country season is most definitely in full swing.

Today the Gerry Farnan Cross Country went ahead in great conditions in the Phoenix Park. The numbers in both the mens and womens races were up on last year.

Fionnula Britton was a convincing winner of the womens 3 mile race as Brendan O'Neill likewise came home an impressive winner in the men's, holding off the ever green Seamas Power in 2nd.

Any other results from the day? It was difficult to place Juniors etc because all ran the same race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Litmanen86

Was travers running? Is David Mc Carthy in DCU this yr or back at providence..shud be a barn burner for the intercounties so esp if power is back!

But lets be honest its still early days. Alot fo running to be done before Europeans!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Litmanen86 wrote: »
    Was travers running? Is David Mc Carthy in DCU this yr or back at providence..shud be a barn burner for the intercounties so esp if power is back!

But lets be honest its still early days. Alot fo running to be done before Europeans!

From what i know Travers was definitely supposed to be running but wasnt there to confirm

Back at providence though i am not sure what the story is regarding him running the NCAA s heard alot of talk about him not being able to regarding regulations of leaving and coming back not 100% certain about this though i know he didnt run Pre Nats yesterday with team. IF not could leave him fresh for Euros

Great surprise to hear Power running great to see anyone who can increase the depth of the field and increase competiton is always a welcome site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭runjb

As far as I know John Travers was 4th.

Brendan O'Neill put his foot down with 2 miles to go and won it from Seamas Power, by about 50m, who was himself comfortable distance ahead of John Coughlan and John Travers, who both fought in a sprint finish, with John Coughlan just shading it by less than a metre.

Not many real challenging cross country races around so this one is always a good one for our alite athletes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Litmanen86

True actually. Its been disappointing seeing our athletes who've gone over on scholarship and are in peak fitness run NCAAs the week before the europeans and then underperform.. hopefully mc carthy can concentrate solely on the euros n make an impression.

Anyone kno of his u turn on why he decided not to run in dcu? Personally i think its the right decision for him to be back there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Getonwithit

John Travers gave JOhn Coughlan a real fright yesterday. Seamus Power rolled back the years with a classic performance. Presume he will now run the Home Countries Masters in Santry, an event we should all try get to and support.
    Presuming all goes right for Travers in this years selection race in Derry we could have a real live prospect in the Europeans. Fair play to himself and John Downes on all the progress so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 ezr

Anyone know if the full results have been posted anywhere?

Full Results on AAI website.

Top 3 results by category

Senior Women
    Fionnula Britton
    Lizzie Lee
    Siobháin O'Doherty

Junior Women
    Laura Behan
    Emma Mitchell
    Amy O'Donoghue

Senior Men
    Brendan O'Neill
    Seamas Power (Over 35)
    John Coughlan

Junior Men
    John Travers
    Liam Brady
    Ryan Creech

Interesting lot...:D

Good to see Liam Brady making progress again. He had stalled a little over the summer.

Right lads did a bit of house work and decided now that the XC season is in its way it deserves to replace the "Post Barcelona Results" as Barcelona is truly and definitively over at this stage:D

Good call Ecoli!:D

So with some more provencial championships taking place over the next couple of weeks! Would anyone want to call any athletes who they think will stand out over the season and make the Irish team etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

runjb wrote: »
    Good call Ecoli!:D

So with some more provencial championships taking place over the next couple of weeks! Would anyone want to call any athletes who they think will stand out over the season and make the Irish team etc?

Will there be Irish teams at the World CC this coming March?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Man with the ?

The under 23 european team looks the best in a long time. Ciaran o lionard and Dave rooney breaking 24 for 8k at pre nats and Murphy running 24 16 Flynn also running a 24 03 . Rumour is Mulhare is injured will there be 3 pre selected from the states is it even possible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

David McCarthy, Steve Scullion and John Coghlan are also U23.

Was just talking about the American based athletes there but yes O neill Scullion and Coghlan should be the top 3 at the trials then O lionard Rooney and between Murphy and Flynn for the last spot. Depends on Ncaas i guess.:pac:

McCarthy is US based he returned to Providence this year. Though i dunno what the story is with him running NCAAs heard rumours that he cant run XC for them this year (i think down to some NCAA rule about leaving a college and returning) and doesnt appear on the XC roster. Might have him fresh for Euros as long as he can get one or two unattached races to get him race sharp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭downwithfacses

watch out for mulhare...heard he's in savage nick

I hope Mulhare is back in form from his injury he is a vital part of the team. I think mcarthy will have to come home for the trials because he doesnt have Ncaas which is the only reason athletes over there get pre selected.

mccarthy will get picked no matter what he does...aai love to blow him any chance they get...i guarantee u he'll be preselected..which is a disgrace in my opinion...if he was running ncaas fair nuff, let that be the test of his fitness...but if hes not runnin a us season he shud come home for the trial...it's only fair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Not having to run the NCAA would actually probably be a major bonus to McCarthys chances of running well in the Europeans. There is a negative correlation between guys running well at NCAA's followed by running well at Europeans.

Look at 2008 in Brussels wher Ledwith was third and McCarthy was well placed in the NCAA but both struggled badly in Belgium. The nature of the peaking they have to do coupled with later return times give them very little chance.

Is McCarthy under 23 again this year? If so, he should be pre selected on the basis of showing form and returning in good time for the race.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 477 ✭✭brutes1

Some of the top seniors are running the Great South Run tomorrow in Portsmouth..10 miler

http://www.greatrun.org/Events/Information.aspx?ctid=193&id=12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 tball1

Mark Hanrahan Leevale AC won Mizuno 5km road race in Killarney today in about 14.45 ish with young Ian Hartnett Togher AC coming in around 15.55 ish.course by all accounts was bit hilly and was wet & windy.Mark won 8km xc in waterford 2 weeks ago too in 23.40.looks in good shape.

JOSEPH EBUYA 00:45:16
    SAIF SAEED SHAHEEN 00:46:37
    VINCENT YATOR 00:47:28
    SCOTT OVERALL 00:47:37
    ANDY LEMONCELLO 00:47:41
    GUENTHER WEIDLINGER 00:48:07
    MARK KENNEALLY 00:48:17
    GARY THORNTON 00:48:22
    VIKTOR ROTHLIN 00:48:43
    JOHN BEATTIE 00:48:59
    STUART STOKES 00:49:00
    BRIAN MAHER 00:49:02
    KAIRN STONE 00:49:21
    SEAN CONNOLLY 00:49:28

Some good runs in portsmouth

who the hell is aaron phipps?

Think that might be a glitch from the results site. Probably a chip time from the junior race
    Just checked another source and this must be the case as shaheen was confirmed as second

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Christ compels you

David McCarthy is back in Providence training with the team but is ineligible to compete this fall due to a lack of credits or something like that. I'm not sure if he will be allowed compete in track after christmas but he has another few years of eligibilty left anyway. He is racing the BAA Mayors Cross-Country Cup in Boston right now and as far as I know he will be back for the trial so will not need to be pre-selected. He is solely focused on the Europeans.

he didnt run mayors cup
    http://www.coolrunning.com/results/10/ma/Oct24_Mayors_set1.shtml

so you were wrong on that one
    and you'll be wrong again when he doesn't run intercounties...he's already said he's not running it and will be preselected if he proves fitness..

Only reason he will be pre selected is if he has a big race that conflicts with nationals which is only Ncaas. If he is pre selected its a disgrace favourtism at its best.

i agree

The pre selection has come under fire over the last few years and with good reason but as of yet there has been no indication that this is the case given the fact he is not running NCAAs most likely he will run trials barring college (academic) commitments. I think people are jumping the gun just a bit as there has been no indication from either AAI or Dave Mac regarding this as of yet regarding the trials

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 InsaneBolt

Only reason he will be pre selected is if he has a big race that conflicts with nationals which is only Ncaas. If he is pre selected its a disgrace favourtism at its best.

Can't understand your rationale! DMcC's pedigree speks for itself. As land as he's healthy, he'll be on the team. No ifs, ands or buts!

If he is pre selected its a disgrace favourtism at its best.

If they don't pick a 13.42 athlete who is showing form and wants to race, it will be a disgrace whether or not he runs the trial.

This Euro X will not be muddy, it will be made for track athletes.

Anyway, it's all hot air for the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Christ compels you

I don't think McCarthy is worrying about getting on the team or any trials more about the actual race, the Europeans.

Jr. Men
    Shane Quinn
    John Travers
    Liam Tremble
    Jake Byrne
    Liam Brady
    Ryan Creech

Sub: Sean Tobin/Ruairi Finnegan

u23 Men
    David McCarthy
    Ciaran O'Lionaird
    David Rooney
    Craig Murphy
    Breandan O'Neill
    Michael Mulhare

Sub: John Coghlan/David Flynn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭mo_bhicycle

I'm not sure if I should put this in a separate thread or not ... sorry if I've got it in the wrong place.

3 questions:
    i) what approx sort of pace does the novice cross country go at?
    ii) are spikes necessary?
    iii) can an ordinary pleb just turn up, pay and run?

I'm not an experienced runner and never did any XC before (as can prob be seen from my questions). I did the DCM (3:26) and really enjoyed it and wouldn't mind trying something else.

Has Shane Quinn ran a race in the last few months??
    18s and Juniors running together so wouldnt be suprised to see one or two 18s squeeze onto Junior team. Dont discount the Monaghan twins, esp Andrew. Not sure if Tobin would last out with the names already mentioned. He is some talent though, both himself and Finnegan are u17s...

Also haven heard of MUlhare in a while??? John Coughlan looked good up in Gerry Farnan.

Mo Bhicycle

You should try BHAA races esp if your based in or close to Dublin or Cork. Great numbers in it and if you ran 3.26 then you would have lots of guys and girls to mix it with.
    Get spikes, if you wanna be thrifty startfitness.co.uk

I don't think McCarthy is worrying about getting on the team or any trials more about the actual race, the Europeans.

u23 Men
    David McCarthy
    Ciaran O'Lionaird
    David Rooney
    Craig Murphy
    Breandan O'Neill
    Michael Mulhare

Sub: John Coghlan/David Flynn

he should have to run the trial...he's not running ncaas he has no reason not to run intercounties...if we followed youre ideology we should do away with all national champs/trials for future events...just pick a team out of thin air? you disrespect all the athletes who are willing to show up and put it on the line with that kinda thinking...ledwith flew home for intercounties last year...why shudnt mccarthy? it's not like his track season was all that impressive...he's not infallible

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 477 ✭✭brutes1

I'm not sure if I should put this in a separate thread or not ... sorry if I've got it in the wrong place.

3 questions:
    i) what approx sort of pace does the novice cross country go at? Very fast, eyeballs out, 6km so its a lungbuster
    ii) are spikes necessary? Usually yes, its on 19 dec so i would budget for a mudheap and spikes 12mm up
    iii) can an ordinary pleb just turn up, pay and run?
    Club members only AAI reg, the field is usually 150 plus strong, a mixture of up and coming fast young lads , oul club runners like myself who arent goin to win anything ever but want a good run out , and solid club runners

I'm not an experienced runner and never did any XC before (as can prob be seen from my questions). I did the DCM (3:26) and really enjoyed it and wouldn't mind trying something else.

Depends on your other times, if you are quick enough its worth a go, you may need to run the Dublin/Leinster other regionals on this weekend/November to gauge if its worth doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

I see that this race is on Sunday 21st of November in Dungarvan, Co. Waterford.

Couple of questions

1) Is this race on the same course as the Silvermints schools cross country used to be on years ago. That flat course around the local school?

2) What age is the Masters from? over 35s or over 40s?

Oh yeah, do you have to qualify for the AAI Inter County and AAI Novice Cross Coutry Championships?

NCAA conference results

MAAC

1 Leonard Korir SR 23:50.4 4:46 IONA Iona College
    2 Mitch Goose GR 24:03.9 4:48 IONA Iona College
    3 Christian Gonzalez SR 24:28.0 4:53 RIDE Rider University
    4 Craig Murphy SO 24:29.5 4:53 IONA Iona College

Joe Sweeney a comfortable 15 second winner of the Dublin CC yesterday from Brendan O'Neill. I've said it before but he is one to watch out for in the Euros this year.

Hazel Murphy a clear winner of the womens race in what looks like a very weak field apart from her.

http://www.dublinathletics.com/

EDIT: Times were mixed up on the site. Joe finished 40 second ahead of Brendan O'Neill!

How will Linda Byrne fare out this year. Apparently dropped out of marathon at halfway, does anyone know how has she recovered from the experience, what her plans are?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 xc1500

How will Linda Byrne fare out this year. Apparently dropped out of marathon at halfway, does anyone know how has she recovered from the experience, what her plans are?

She chose to drop out as a training exercise and it wasn't halfway it was 16 miles. Not sure if we will see her this cross country season as her main focus seems to be on the roads now! Strange decision with her strong cross-country background!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Anyone watch The Middle ? The father, Mike, was questioning if cross country was actually a sport, his daughter had just joined the school team. His reasoning was that it's just people running into a wood and coming out two hours later, even lost dogs can do that :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭sleapy235

I seen in today's paper that Mary Cullen is out of the Europeans with a broken collarbone. Such a pity, she's so unlucky with injuries it's ridiculous.

Looks like another barren year medal-wise for Ireland at the European Cross-Country championships so

sleapy235 wrote: »
    I seen in today's paper that Mary Cullen is out of the Europeans with a broken collarbone. Such a pity, she's so unlucky with injuries it's ridiculous.

Looks like another barren year medal-wise for Ireland at the European Cross-Country championships so

Not neccesarily sleapy, we still have some hopes in Juniors male and female, no names no pressures and theres Fagan and Cragg....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭sleapy235

Not neccesarily sleapy, we still have some hopes in Juniors male and female, no names no pressures and theres Fagan and Cragg....

Fingers crossed the juniors and u23 might pull something out of the bag. Can't see Fagan and Cragg doing anything. I'm refusing to be in any way hopeful about the Europeans this year as we all had great hopes for last years championships on home soil and we won nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭scout33

watch out for west waterford's David Mc Carthy at under 23 Europeans thats all i will say for now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 confirm password

west waterford's David Mc Carthy needs to get on the team first. If chamney can come back to run in trial races then macarthy and all the other irish athletes in america can come back also.

In my opinion the junior mens team will be

John Travers
    Liam Tremble
    Ryan Creech
    Liam Brady
    Shane Quinn (if he not injured)
    Emmet Jennings

Under 23 team
    Brendan Oneil
    John Coughlan
    Paddy brennan (not sure if hes under 23 or not)

Theres loads of ones in america, if they dont come back they shouldnt get on the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 confirm password

P.s is there any of the northern athletes that would make the junior or under 23 teams

any suggestions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭scout33

ye but if some of those athletes in the states are at a crucial exam time with their progressing into the next semester depending on it they can't be expected to be flying home.