Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Barcelona marathon 6/3/11

• 14-10-2010 9:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

Question for Barca vets....(and apologies if my search wasn't far reaching enough)....Is it possible for overseas runners to get their numbers (bibs as i think they call them) by post as opposed to collecting them at the Expo? Would suit me much better to fly in with Ryanair on the Saturday evening but would be worried about the arrival time (17.20) relative to the close time of the Expo (19.30).....If not I guess my only option would be to arrive on the Friday....

Thanks,

digger

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Athmosphere, Value, Organisation 12 votes

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    91%
    rainbow kirbychristebhf4z6sqo7vjngimenoscemoOisin11178cunavalossarsfieldsrockracheljevBrianderunnerliamo123PaddyOisin 11 votes
    3 stars (average)
    8%
    Jimh 1 vote
    2 stars (poor)
    0%
    1 star (terrible)
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

digger2d2 wrote: »
    Hi All,

Question for Barca vets....(and apologies if my search wasn't far reaching enough)....Is it possible for overseas runners to get their numbers (bibs as i think they call them) by post as opposed to collecting them at the Expo? Would suit me much better to fly in with Ryanair on the Saturday evening but would be worried about the arrival time (17.20) relative to the close time of the Expo (19.30).....If not I guess my only option would be to arrive on the Friday....

Thanks,

digger

Has to be collected at the expo, you could get someone to collect it for you though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

4 stars (good)
    Hi All,

Thanks,

digger

Getting the same flight probably, 2hrs 10 should be enough time. Beeen in barca just 2 months ago so don't want too long a weekend there. My only worry was that if the flight was delayed and i was a nervous wreck getting there on time the day before the race it could effect my performance. Plenty of boardsies on call anyway. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

Has to be collected at the expo, you could get someone to collect it for you though?
    Getting the same flight probably, 2hrs 10 should be enough time. Beeen in barca just 2 months ago so don't want too long a weekend there. My only worry was that if the flight was delayed and i was a nervous wreck getting there on time the day before the race it could effect my performance. Plenty of boardsies on call anyway. ;)

Yeh, it could be a disaster if the flight was delayed....Re; other boardsies picking it up, according to their website, you must present your passport for number colection!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Have done it twice and was not asked for a passport.
    You should have an email confirmation of entry/payment that can be used though.

Have done it twice and was not asked for a passport.
    You should have an email confirmation of entry/payment that can be used though.

Ok, thanks for that!

4 stars (good)
    Ok, thanks for that!

We can share a taxi from the airport to the expo, also we can forward our confirmation emails to other boardsies and have them on standby just in case. Wouldnt worry about it. We can always bandit the race anyway :p

We can share a taxi from the airport to the expo, also we can forward our confirmation emails to other boardsies and have them on standby just in case.

Certainly...I haven't booked yet, plan to do so on the 26th...Just need to make sure I'm still alive after the DCM ;)

4 stars (good)
    Certainly...I haven't booked yet, plan to do so on the 26th...Just need to make sure I'm still alive after the DCM ;)

Gonna book it on the 25th so, i'll get the last cheap seat ahead of you that way ;)

:D Does Michael O'leary have 'standing room' on that flight? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭cunavalos

4 stars (good)
    Hi lads,
    Running this as well, will be heading over on the friday so if ye are stuck give me a shout and i may be able to pick up the numbers for ye (if organisers allow) to save ye a mad dash across the city on the saturday evening. Best of luck with the training

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Right there's a tonne of us heading to Barcelona now. There has been talk of apartment sharing so it's probably time to get moving on that if we want to get that sorted. Just to try and gauge numbers for how many aptartments we might need etc so we can try and book something.

Anyone who's interested stick your name down below:
    RacoonQueen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

4 stars (good)
    Right there's a tonne of us heading to Barcelona now. There has been talk of apartment sharing so it's probably time to get moving on that if we want to get that sorted. Just to try and gauge numbers for how many aptartments we might need etc so we can try and book something.

RacoonQueen
    Rainbow Kirby

RacoonQueen

I'm just awaiting the ability to walk again before I make my final decision....:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

4 stars (good)
    Appartment sharing interested list:
    RacoonQueen
    Rainbow Kirby
    menoscemo

RQ are you 'heading' or are you running? :p

As it stands, heading. We'll see. I'm feeling guilty reading that Spring marathons thread and seeing people put down Conn Ultra. I might save myself for Kildare and give myself some extra time.

Or do both. Whatever.

menoscemo wrote: »

RQ are you 'heading' or are you running? :p

She's just heading over to collect the 'sign-up' commission from what I've heard....;)

I'm just awaiting the ability to walk again before I make my final decision....:eek:

Look forward to seeing you there.

4 stars (good)

I take it you haven't booked that Saturday flight yet?

You take it right....Would love to do it but I'm in bits at the moment and my new job that was starting on the 18th of Oct and then the 1st of November has now disappeared as my intended U.S. employer realised how expensive it was to have an employee in Ireland and has scrapped plans for a presence in Europe....:mad:....Do I sound bitter or what?

4 stars (good)
    You take it right....Would love to do it but I'm in bits at the moment and my new job that was starting on the 18th of Oct and then the 1st of November has now disappeared as my intended U.S. employer realised how expensive it was to have an employee in Ireland and has scrapped plans for a presence in Europe....:mad:....Do I sound bitter or what?

Doesn't sound bitter no, that sucks.

I saw you briefly in the pub on Monday and you looked out of it i have to say. You'll be ok by Friday/Saturday and be better placed to decide then, but surely you want revenge on the marathon?

"Apartment sharing interested list:
    RacoonQueen
    Rainbow Kirby
    menoscemo"

Not sure i can commit to this apartment share thing right now, especially if i go on the saturday. I want to see what happens with this London job yet. A part of me still wants to do the LA marathon 2 weeks after Barca, been there a few times and it's been an ambition of mine for a while. I could always do both of course!

Doesn't sound bitter no, that sucks.

I saw you briefly in the pub on Monday and you looked out of it i have to say. You'll be ok by Friday/Saturday and be better placed to decide then, but surely you want revenge on the marathon?

!

That's what's on my mind.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

4 stars (good)
    "Apartment sharing interested list:
    RacoonQueen
    Rainbow Kirby
    menoscemo"
    christeb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Apartment sharing interested list:
    RacoonQueen
    Rainbow Kirby
    menoscemo"
    christeb
    ULstudent - i suppose this would work out cheaper which means im all in for this idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

As it stands, heading. We'll see. I'm feeling guilty reading that Spring marathons thread and seeing people put down Conn Ultra. I might save myself for Kildare and give myself some extra time.

Or do both. Whatever.

:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭milosh

Apartment sharing interested list:
    RacoonQueen
    Rainbow Kirby
    menoscemo"
    christeb
    ULstudent - i suppose this would work out cheaper which means im all in for this idea
    Milosh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,849 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Contemplating doing this one for my spring marathon - my 'love' of marathons has been rekindled after DCM on Monday.

I'll probably be humming and haahhing until Christmas but will keep an eye on this thread anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭dare2be

Ok, so i was planning on doing the Seville marathon in febuary but the dates/travel arrangements & times don't suit. Will do Barca instead. Sign up tomorrow (Pay day!!)

Are most people flying Ryanair on the Sat?

dare2be wrote: »
    Ok, so i was planning on doing the Seville marathon in febuary but the dates/travel arrangements & times don't suit. Will do Barca instead. Sign up tomorrow (Pay day!!)

A few of us are flying on Friday evening, some are flying in with ryanair on Friday morning.

Ok RQ. Only have 1 day annual leave left until 31.03.11 so that rules Friday out for me. Any more info on the apartment share, may take this option up should the mrs not want to/can't go with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 576 ✭✭✭sarsfieldsrock

4 stars (good)
    dare2be wrote: »

Flying in Friday morning and back out Monday morning.
    I have booked a hotel close to the course so will stick with that. I'm too auld for this apartment sharing anymore. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

4 stars (good)
    I'm doing Sat - Tues with Ryanair, getting theboyblunder to pick up my stuff at the expo to be sure. Thanks tbb!

Right, Mrs d2b is on board. There was never a doubt when i mentioned i was changing to Barcelona.

So, any recommendations for hotels? Which area should i be looking in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭tyler71

I'd recommend the Gran Torre Catalunya, especially if you're bringing your wife, she'll love it. It's possible to get really good deals there if you take your time to shop around the different sites. It's right across from the main train station so just take the shuttle train from the airport and you're there, and it's just up the road from the race start - a two minute jog down to the start (and a ten minute walk back at the finish!). They do an early breakfast (6.30 I think) the morning of the marathon (the place will be full of runners), but no porridge unfortunately - they look kinda funny at you in Spain if you try to explain porridge to them.

Signed up for this.

It looks as though i'm going to have to go out on the Sat Ryanair flight. Anybody care to volunteer for number pick up at the expo in case i dont make it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

Hey,Im going to be travelling down on my own and was wondering would it be madness to fly home on the Aer Lingus flight on the Sunday night?

Van.Bosch wrote: »
    Hey,Im going to be travelling down on my own and was wondering would it be madness to fly home on the Aer Lingus flight on the Sunday night?

I remember when i done london a few years ago i flew back the next morning and could hardly walk up the steps of the plane. Short flight though so wasn't too bad but flying back from Spain may be a different kettle of fish. Would be interested to see what other peoples views are or maybe somebody has done this previous?

I did that last year. Was nice actually getting home to my own bed and snoozing on the plane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

i would prob have to pay for a second nights hotel anyway as i would want a nice shower etc before flying so maybe a few pints on the sunday and the flight home on Monday morning might be best.Will there be a big night out for all the Irish doing the marathon on the Sunday evening?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

.Will there be a big night out for all the Irish doing the marathon on the Sunday evening?

Hope so :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Jimh

3 stars (average)
    I have just booked flights for me and the wife ( She is Marathon Shopping:)). I seem to have recovered well from Dublin. I am another on the Ryan Air Sat Flight so may need to send my bib collection document to someone in case of delay. I am in the Male 50+ category so would need someone who could pass for me if required, Plenty of time yet - have not booked hotel yet:)

Just curious to why people are leaving it till the Saturday to fly out, surely you want to be going out on the Friday and relaxing on the Saturday in order to give yourself the best possible start.

Looking like Friday until Sunday for me. At least you will have your own memory foam to suffer on Sunday night. Think i may have read Krusty Clown saying that showers are available at or near the finish line should you need to make a quick exit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Jimh

3 stars (average)
    Apart from not having to take an extra day off work there is one night less in the hotel and the flight is €36 cheaper. That's why I am travelling Saturday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

4 stars (good)
    i would prob have to pay for a second nights hotel anyway as i would want a nice shower etc before flying so maybe a few pints on the sunday and the flight home on Monday morning might be best.Will there be a big night out for all the Irish doing the marathon on the Sunday evening?

Last year we met up in " The George Payne "...It was packed ...Fine pub in good location

U may book ur return flight 4 Monday :D

liamo123 wrote: »
    Last year we met up in " The George Payne "...It was packed ...Fine pub in good location

U may book ur return flight 4 Monday :D

My wife is coming also so plan to make a long weekend of it, so we booked our flights home on the Monday (very early Monday)

Woddle wrote: »
    My wife is coming also so plan to make a long weekend of it, so we booked our flights home on the Monday (very early Monday)

My Wife told me to Fup Off.....She said she's had enough running and Marathon talk to last a lifetime and she could not think of a worse couple of days away for her :D

3 kids all under 7 is enough reason for her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭pdiddyw

Just completed first marathon the DCM..so might sign up for this in March seeing as i have got the bug now.!!
    I was on the main website and the course route is on it , I presume it hasn't changed and is still a nice course..i.e reasonably flat apart form what Krusty said about a few small hills towards the end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭bewleys berry

Hey guys, here's a question for those who have run Barcelona before - what are the best hotels to stay in, in terms of being near the start line (a couple of us considering this marathon and we don't feel like draggin ourselves halfway across the city after running it:D)?? 3-star hotels etc?? (just somewhere to put our heads down - doesn't have to be fancy:)
    thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

4 stars (good)
    Hey guys, here's a question for those who have run Barcelona before - what are the best hotels to stay in, in terms of being near the start line (a couple of us considering this marathon and we don't feel like draggin ourselves halfway across the city after running it:D)?? 3-star hotels etc?? (just somewhere to put our heads down - doesn't have to be fancy:)
    thanks in advance

I travelled alone for 2010 marathon and stayed in Hotel Hogar... its cheap and cheerful ish but walls are paper thin ( U can read my review on TripAdvisor )..

Bringing OH for 2011 marathon so upgraded ( a little bit ) to Hotel Paral.lel.. Again not expensive..

Both these hotels along with plenty more are on Avinguda del Paral.lel....15 minutes walk from Expo/Start/Finish and from stop for Airport Bus........ same from Ramblas....