Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dungarvan 10 Mile Road Race at 1pm Sunday 30th January 2011

• 14-10-2010 8:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭

Probably one of the best 10 milers in the country.
    Very favourable course and refreshments afterwards.

One not to miss

QUANTUM LIFE DUNGARVAN 10

trans.gifpdf_button.pngprintButton.pngemailButton.png
    QUANTUM LIFE
    Dungarvan 10 Date Announced – Same great race, now better value!

West Waterford Athletic Club has announced the date for the 20th Annual Quantum Life Dungarvan 10 Mile Road Race at 1pm Sunday 30th January 2011.
    This is race number 2 in the Munster 10 Mile Classic Series.
    Come run with a legend at this quality event. This is your opportunity to meet and run with County Waterford native, former World Cross Country Champion and Olympic Marathon Silver medallist John Treacy.
    Register early and take advantage of the reduced Recession Buster Fee of €15 until December 17th 2010 after which date the entry fee is at last year’s rate of €20. Closing date for all entries is Monday January 17th 2011 and once again this year there will be strictly no entry on the day.
    Online entry opens on November 1st at www.dungarvan10mile.org

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Atmosphere, Value, Organisation 23 votes

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    91%
    neilcshowryDigiJembuck65macinalliSUNGODRubyKgreenplainGit101BeepBeep67tisnotovertratscphowlinaero2kpsychozebtyler71theboyblundertomas_fjimcricketdev123 21 votes
    3 stars (average)
    8%
    hawkwingBally8 2 votes
    2 stars (poor)
    0%
    1 star (terrible)
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

Good man Sosa.

In a world "gone mad" with new races, a top notch favourite making a welcome return is always good news.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Thinking of doing this one. Well timed for Barcelona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭trats

4 stars (good)
    And with the new roads it's a very easy drive from Dublin :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

a def for me. Hope the wheels stay intact this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭macinalli

4 stars (good)
    Did this for the first time this year, thought it was a super race, will definitely be back again in January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭greenplain

4 stars (good)
    one of my best races around. Hands down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

Did it in 07 and 08, planning on making my comeback this year. Only 3 weeks after Mallow unfortunately which doesn't leave much recovery time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

I did it in 09, super race and I'll be back aswell.

Actually this is the race where my car broke down and I thought I was 3 rows from the top and then everyone turned around leaving me at the back. I had a terrible first mile as a result. I had 69'47 on my watch but crossed the line in 70'02 by theirs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

As a good Waterford man, i feel i should finally do a race in Waterford at some stage. Might be the one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Did it in 07 and 08, planning on making my comeback this year. Only 3 weeks after Mallow unfortunately which doesn't leave much recovery time.

The rule of thumb is not to race again for one day per mile raced. For Mallow and Dungarvan you have twice that. No problem whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭blind_hurler

Looking forward to this again... Ran it the last two years and really enjoyed it... probably went home heavier than I started with all the food afterwards....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

Probably be the same day as theRaheny 5 Mile which I like to do but 15EUR for a 10 Miler is excellent value. Might give it a go

Van.Bosch wrote: »
    Probably be the same day as theRaheny 5 Mile which I like to do but 15EUR for a 10 Miler is excellent value. Might give it a go

last year was 20euro.. including tech top.. goodie bag.. great course.. well organised with chip timing and lots of food and tea after.... great value ....

When I ran it in 09, they claimed chip time but it was the ugly sister of chip timing (no mat at the start)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

Woddle wrote: »
    When I ran it in 09, they claimed chip time but it was the ugly sister of chip timing (no mat at the start)

I reckon it will be better this year,Colbert timing were just getting started then,have done loads of races since,all well timed.

Yeah think it was the same last year but sure start near the front and it's only out for a few seconds only..

Just don't stand right down the back for the start :D:D:D

I thought I was 3 rows from the top and then everyone turned around leaving me at the back. I had a terrible first mile as a result. I had 69'47 on my watch but crossed the line in 70'02 by theirs.

:D:D:D

It caught a geansai-load last year as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

The rule of thumb is not to race again for one day per mile raced. For Mallow and Dungarvan you have twice that. No problem whatsoever.

Oh yeah i know that its just that 10 mls racing leaves me soft for 2 weeks and i won't be able to get quality stuff done in between with a view to Barcelona in March.

I see the date has been announced 30th of January, gives 5 weeks to Barcelona, so I'm definitely in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

4 stars (good)
    Sosa wrote: »

One not to miss

QUANTUM LIFE

West Waterford Athletic Club has announced the date for the 20th Annual Quantum Life Dungarvan 10 Mile Road Race at 1pm Sunday 30th January 2011.
    Come run with a legend at this quality event. This is your opportunity to meet and run with County Waterford native, former World Cross Country Champion and Olympic Marathon Silver medallist John Treacy.
    Register early and take advantage of the reduced Recession Buster Fee of €15 until December 17th 2010 after which date the entry fee is at last year’s rate of €20. Closing date for all entries is Monday January 17th 2011 and once again this year there will be strictly no entry on the day.

cheers sosa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭fitness fan

I treid to register today but cannot get the webpage to open anyone else have this problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭greenplain

4 stars (good)
    Yes having the same problem too. I am sure they will have it up and running in no time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭fitness fan

not just me then, we will have to wait a while to spend our money...

website now seems to be up and running....

Enter at will :D

http://www.dungarvan10mile.org/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭scout33

hi did you see the new web site for this race,brilliant job and a great event the lads in west waterford put on some show a race worth supporting no question and they have reduced the entry fee to 15 euro the best value 10 miler in the country and a nike dry fit shirt as well as a full goody bag for all finiahers.dont delay firat 1.500 entries and its full.

I reckon it will be better this year,Colbert timing were just getting started then,have done loads of races since,all well timed.
    last year the timing was different not a problem with the the number system they used

There is a 1.500 limit on this race for 2011 and i would say this will fill before christmas no problem lads and lassies so don't be disapointed

scout33 wrote: »
    hi did you see the new web site for this race,brilliant job and a great event the lads in west waterford put on some show a race worth supporting no question and they have reduced the entry fee to 15 euro the best value 10 miler in the country and a nike dry fit shirt as well as a full goody bag for all finiahers.dont delay firat 1.500 entries and its full.

Yeah a great new website and a great race although I don't see nike mentioned for the tech top...

"included in which will be a dry fit running shirt for all the 10 Mile participants"

Yeah a great new website and a great race although I don't see nike mentioned for the tech top...

"included in which will be a dry fit running shirt for all the 10 Mile participants"

It was nike last year....that was why scout probably presumed

ye its a nike shirt same as last years i hear and that was worth the entry fee alone.

ah very good.... looking forward to it alright...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭RubyK

4 stars (good)
    Signed up for it this afternoon. I really enjoyed it last year. A well organised race.

Hoping for a black/navy tech top this time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Signed up this morning.....will give me a focus over the winter and sounds like an excellent event from everything i've heard.

i hear entries for the quantum life dungarvan 10 mile are pouring in talking to some runners who were at this race last year its not to be missed and they have reduced the entry fee to 15 euro.they gave a nike dry fit t shirt and a huge goodie bag last year i'm going anyway anyone else up for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭heffsarmy

Signed up for this, done it last year, its a great race, excellent value at 15euro, my 10mile pb needs a proper updating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭colblimp

I'm in! Did this race earlier this year and it was my first time under 70 minutes so I'm doing it again next year to see if I can improve on my PB. :D

I'd recommend this race to anyone!

Have just spent the last 15 minutes or so trying to register but am having alot of problems with active.com :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭colblimp

Have just spent the last 15 minutes or so trying to register but am having alot of problems with active.com :mad:

I know it's going back to the dark ages and all that, but why not enter via snail mail?! :eek: Post your entry tomorrow and it'll arrive by Thursday. :D There's no way the race will sell out so you'll be in, and you'll save on the booking fee. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

4 stars (good)
    Just signed up - want to revise a soft PB

Finally got signed up. First I knew about it was an email confirming payment but last night I never got that far before I could confirm payment the page kept going :confused: but I'm in so who cares and I'll be going for sub 70.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mrak

how the hell are they managing to do so much for that price - it's unbelievable. Dungarvan must have either a great accountant or sponsor...!

Its some value for 15 euro alright those nike dry fit running tops are 30 euro in the shop for starters and the goodie bag last year was unreal not to mention the afters in the sports centre.i suppose with the great sponsorship the club gets for the race they can put on such a class show in any case the lads in west waterford ac deserve to be supported there a real genuine running club who do what they say -look after all runners from first to last.

I'm in so who cares and I'll be going for sub 70.

Good, you can pace me to 69:50

thats decent time there eliwallach.well you wont get a better 10 mile course to have a crack at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭trats

4 stars (good)

One not to miss

QUANTUM LIFE

Reminder that the reduced entry price ends Friday. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭seanynova

registered for this today, looking forward to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 gardatrafficop

Can you tell me how you can put a mat at a start of that race. The start line is approx 20 meters wide.

i hear that they have well over half of the 1,500 entries cut off number in as of today.thiswill defently be filled before the jan 17th closing date.its the best value 10 miler in the country for sure.ran it last year sur the start is so wide that every runner gets on the start line if he or she wants to,i'd rather have that than a 6 foot wide start where you have to run over those mat things.

Without trying to upset some of our Cork friends on here,thats why...in my opinion, its a better race than Ballycotton.
    Ease of parking,walk to the front of the line 2 mins before the start,flat(ish) route,loads of food afterwards with hot shower...to me that beats and history a race may have...oh and you will have 1000+ entries,so no fear of running the whole thing on your own.

yes i agree with all your comments sosa-the early bird 15 euro entry is now closed so its 20 from here untill jan 17th when the race entries close,hi but its still well worth the 20 anyway