Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best tractor on the market. 90 - 115 hp bracket

• 12-10-2010 6:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭

My father has a 390 and wants to replace it with a new one preferably with more power, min 95hp max 115hp.

Like everything else there is a limited budget and would prefer a new one if possible.

What is the best tractor on the market

We seem to hear the New holland is pretty good .

We looked at the Landini Powermondial today and looks well but im a little bothered by the fact they have a poor resale value. The Massey are we're told poor compared to what they used to be abd they give bother.

Is there any saving cross border new?

Any opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭ronaldo84

valtra look good know a few that have them and they swear by them. dont know much about there resale. new holland would b a good tractor as wud be john deere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

If you see what the contractors are using the last 5 - 10 years its primarily new holland and john deer.

if you arent trading for brand new, i'd say sell the 390 private, theres plenty demand for them. A mate of mine sold his 1994 390 2wd in the last 6 months and got €11k for it, which is only about 6 or 7k less than he paid for it 10yrs ago - had it sold in a week on donedeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭pure breed

snyper wrote: »
    My father has a 390 and wants to replace it with a new one preferably with more power, min 95hp max 115hp.

Like everything else there is a limited budget and would prefer a new one if possible.

We looked at the Landini Powermondial today and looks well but im a little bothered by the fact they have a poor resale value. The Massey are we're told poor compared to what they used to be abd they give bother.

Any opinions?

Hi Snyper
    We are also on the look out for a tractor CHEAP
    And are thinking of getting 390
    we are MF all aor lives 165 etc
    were thinking of getting JD or Fiat
    but were priced outta them
    are you selling private the 390

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

pure breed wrote: »
    Hi Snyper
    We are also on the look out for a tractor CHEAP
    And are thinking of getting 390
    we are MF all aor lives 165 etc
    were thinking of getting JD or Fiat
    but were priced outta them
    are you selling private the 390

We were or are likely to buy the New Holland T5050

NV187558_0.jpg

We would sell the 390private but for 2 issues.

Firstly, its got low hours, so its not too cheap
    Secondly, He is getting prices on a trade in for the 390 against the New holland. One dealer was giving him 17 and a half and the other 20 for the 390 with the loader against a new tractor with a similar loader, so in essance when you cut out the Bull and fat from the dealer price minus the loader, 11k - 13k seems the range..

So essentially i dont know if he will sell private or not, but i can say in honesty its a clean machine, 5k hours.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

We were or are likely to buy the New Holland T5050

We would sell the 390private but for 2 issues.

Firstly, its got low hours, so its not too cheap
    Secondly, He is getting prices on a trade in for the 390 against the New holland. One dealer was giving him 17 and a half and the other 20 for the 390 with the loader against a new tractor with a similar loader, so in essance when you cut out the Bull and fat from the dealer price minus the loader, 11k - 13k seems the range..

So essentially i dont know if he will sell private or not, but i can say in honesty its a clean machine, 5k hours.

Firstly,the 390 is an easy tractor to sell privately,while the dealer may claim to be giving you a good price,they put the price of the new tractor up by a grand or two to make it seem like a better deal,if you know what i mean?
    Second,not trying to put you off the nh,have you looked at the Case JX1090u? It's practically the same tractor,built in the same factory and may be a bit cheaper.

pajero12 wrote: »
    Firstly,the 390 is an easy tractor to sell privately,while the dealer may claim to be giving you a good price,they put the price of the new tractor up by a grand or two to make it seem like a better deal,if you know what i mean?
    Second,not trying to put you off the nh,have you looked at the Case JX1090u? It's practically the same tractor,built in the same factory and may be a bit cheaper.

Thanks, yes and no is the answer to your question.
    We called into the case dealer in tullamore, but apparently he's getting out of tractor sales, so he did give us a price but did say that he wasnt going to be doing it after christmas.

I do like the case too, and yea, i was aware that they are essentially the same tractor, the price if cheaper would swing it.

I know there is a dealer outside ballinasloe. so i might go there for a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

That case is a nice looking tractor too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭dunsandin

What about a Fendt? Even a lightly used one would be a better wagon than pretty much all those new ones. They are a cracking tractor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

The fendts are huge money though aren't they? Fine tractor no doubt. What is the fuel consumption like in the new tractors ranging from 80-100hp compared to a 165 MF or the likes? Much heavier I presume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

dunsandin wrote: »
    What about a Fendt? Even a lightly used one would be a better wagon than pretty much all those new ones. They are a cracking tractor.

Heard loads of lovely stories about fendts and the money spent on the powerpacks in them,they have the technology but are not built for any sort of abuse at all.I had to laugh ,I was reading the classifieds in the IFJ this week and seen a man breaking an 08 936 for spares,if there is demand for bits off them it doesnt say much.

Nah, they are toughies, well able for work and abuse, that 08 was most probably fire damaged.

Them fendts are hateful bastar*s! First hand experience here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

A T5050 isn't going to be much of an upgrade over an MF 390. They are pretty spartan, and little more than a reworked Fiat 90/90, it may even be less powerful in the field. The 390 has nothing done. Keep it if that is the way ye are heading.

The local NH dealer tried selling us a T5060 IIRC, to replace our TS115. It wasn't half the tractor and would have been a real downgrade.

If you want more power that is noticible get something the next step up and heading for 130hp, i.e. a T6050 or something similar in green.

Fendts are nice, but not worth the premium IMO unless you really need the toys.

maidhc wrote: »
    A T5050 isn't going to be much of an upgrade over an MF 390. They are pretty spartan, and little more than a reworked Fiat 90/90, it may even be less powerful in the field. The 390 has nothing done. Keep it if that is the way ye are heading.

The local NH dealer tried selling us a T5060 IIRC, to replace our TS115. It wasn't half the tractor and would have been a real downgrade.

If you want more power that is noticible get something the next step up and heading for 130hp, i.e. a T6050 or something similar in green.

Fendts are nice, but not worth the premium IMO unless you really need the toys.

Well,they are a really nice tractor to drive,power shuttle,aircon,air seat..A nice farmers tractor!

In all fairness the T5060 isn't meant to be an alternative to the 115,it's 105 hp. The T6030 is 115hp(And for what its worth,not a good tractor to pull)

Well,they are a really nice tractor to drive,power shuttle,aircon,air seat..A nice farmers tractor!

I don't doubt they are a grand tractor, but Im not sure if the money required to upgrade from a 390 would be well spent especially if more HP is the aim.

Btw we went from a 80HP zetor to the TS115 and my father was quite disappointed and felt the zetor wasnt much slower on a 1600 gal tanker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

maidhc wrote: »
    I don't doubt they are a grand tractor, but Im not sure if the money required to upgrade from a 390 would be well spent especially if more HP is the aim.

Btw we went from a 80HP zetor to the TS115 and my father was quite disappointed and felt the zetor wasnt much slower on a 1600 gal tanker.

New Holland's in general are way over rated. Zetors have their weak points (brakes for one), but pound for pound they pack far more punch.
    People refer to the JXU series Case tractors, as red New Hollands. I'm beginning to think the New Holland's are a blue Case:cool:

Fendt are trouble!!! Never heard such a load of bull in my life. They are the toughest of the tough, and are the premium tractor worldwide. The older Favorits are the Hiace's of the tractor world, imo.

Oh so you have experience with them? Or is just because they're the most expensive,you think they're the premium tractor worldwide? is that why the local contractor has one constantly ripped in the workshop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

:)As you say yourself its your opinion,and mine is that they are not cut out for hardship on the basis of stories heard.Eg A lad beside us here had 3 of them,2x716's and a 718. On baling,slurry and small tillage duties.One of the 716's got a new power pack costing 7k,the other 716 got a small computer chip costing 5.5k and the 718 became an illumination in the night sky while mowing grass.He has since changed to Lamborghini of all things.Another contractor had an 818 and was plagued with gearbox problems where it wouldnt shift between modes,end result he traded it for a T170 valtra after spending a fortune on it and swore never again Fendt.A premium price paid for a machine does not guarantee premium machine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

Any opinions?

A few things i would as myself if buying a tractor.

Where is your nearest dealer?
    What are they like to deal with?
    Do they provide a good back up service?

As for which tractor,
    Who will give longest warranty?
    Which tractor has the longest service intervals?
    Whats parts av ability like and price of parts?

A friend of mine bought a a valtra about 90hp with a quicke loader in 08 and it was a great buy, i worked it a few times and its as solid as a rock and very comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Ford4000

Premium my arse they are the most costly pile a ****e ever to hit farmers, i know contractors that nearly went out of business over the head of them, very very overated, cost tens of thousands when they go wrong, young lads love them drawin in silage cos they have more buttons than a NASA spacecraft !!

On the subject of a new tractor i would take a serious look at a new Zetor they are simple effective, comfortable, suprisingly well built and spec'd and are that bit cheaper too!

We were looking at the zetors too.

Dad was looking at the proxima, i preferred the forterra

zetor_proxima_power_plus.gif

foto_forterra_2010_02.jpg

The forterra, is a bigger tractor.

The one thing that bothered me about the NH is that the 5050 is a small looking tractor for the size of engine..

Liked the look of this powermundial, but worried about its longeviety, good engine in perkins, but the cab and gears didnt feel as solid or smooth as the NH

Landini_PowerMondial115_thumb.jpg

I would be slow to buy a zetor partially based on past experience, and partially on the fact they seem to be an orphan in the world of multinational tractor manufacturers.

Shame, because that 4cyl Zetor engine is probably the best ever made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭fiatagri8090

I would consider looking at john deere. Bought a new 6330 std with loader in May. They are very well put together and are a oy to operate. Stay well away from landinis. Had one before the deere which caused all sorts of problems and was useless to pull. Gear box is horrible in them.

I say deere all the way!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

I would consider looking at john deere. Bought a new 6330 std with loader in May. They are very well put together and are a oy to operate. Stay well away from landinis. Had one before the deere which caused all sorts of problems and was useless to pull. Gear box is horrible in them.

I say deere all the way!

Should you not be saying something like a 110-90DT?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭bigboy123

My advice is to hold onto your money and keep your 390, it's a very good all rounder, I have a 2wd myself, c.3000 hours, never gave a moments trouble. It is also far more versatile in small areas than the larger modern 4wd tractors.

Also the resale value of the nh and jd is not as good as mf, so if your adamant about a new tractor, a 4cyl turbo mf would be my recommendation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭cedan

tbh i'd tend to agree with the above poster as you will find it hard to beat a tractor like the 390. Relative simplicity is its strongest point imo.

As regards new tractors, massey ferguson has been having a bit of a blip for the last while but ive been told that their newer tractors are good machines. Unfortunately for them, that blip lost alot of their customer base hence it'll be a while before anyone praises a Massey again unfortunately!

A couple of years ago their were a few Fendts around my local area. They are literally all gone now. Contractors couldn't justify forking out huge money for spares etc.

John Deere seems to be the big buzz word these days, I dont really understand why though. Afaik they had major problems with the 20 series tractors, again contractors around here have ditched their jd's. Having never worked on them though I can't speculate as to whether they are a good workhorse though.

I hear alot of good stories about Valtra, may be worth a look!

At the end of the day though, if I was buying a new tractor in the morning, the top thing on my mind would be dealer service. I cant stand the local New Holland dealership and I wont set foot in the place if at all possible, even though I wouldn't mind buying a NH.

Theres alot to be said for a handy and helpful local dealer because no matter what you buy you will have problems somewhere along the line.

Did you pick something yet snyper?

It looks like he will be going with the New Holland T5050

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

did you look at the john deere 5r series??? worth a look tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

I have a T5050 and it will be huge upgrade on your 390. Its a 09 and I priced trading it for January 2011 with 1200 hours on it and I would only have to give €4500 for it. The best thing about the T5050 is the cab space. In comparison to the Valtra or MF series of the same HP, the T5050 gives you a lot of room and is a comfort to operate for the whole day.

It has an oil clutch and is a great tractor for a loader with good visability provided by the roomy cab.

Service is every 600 hours and the last service cost only €310

To be honest, the way that I chose the new Holland was by pricing second hand tractors - the new holland seemed to have the lowest depreciation in comparison to any other tractor.

If you have a good local New Holland Dealer, its a no brainer.

reilig wrote: »
    I have a T5050 and it will be huge upgrade on your 390. Its a 09 and I priced trading it for January 2011 with 1200 hours on it and I would only have to give €4500 for it. The best thing about the T5050 is the cab space. In comparison to the Valtra or MF series of the same HP, the T5050 gives you a lot of room and is a comfort to operate for the whole day.

It has an oil clutch and is a great tractor for a loader with good visability provided by the roomy cab.

Service is every 600 hours and the last service cost only €310

To be honest, the way that I chose the new Holland was by pricing second hand tractors - the new holland seemed to have the lowest depreciation in comparison to any other tractor.

If you have a good local New Holland Dealer, its a no brainer.
    Not trying to be a smart arse,but is that not quite a long service interval?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Ford4000

Regardless of what the manual says or what the dealer may say 600hrs is too long, oil is the cheapest thing for its value you can buy i would like to see at least the engine oil and filter changed every 300hrs. My neighbours 290 which has lead a very busy life had its oil changed every 250 hrs, it now has 14000 hours done on 2 tacho clocks and never ever a spanner on the engine, oil and engine life go hand in hand !

Not trying to be a smart arse,but is that not quite a long service interval?

I honestly don't know. Its every 600 hours or every year, whatever comes first. New Massey Fergusons have the same service interval according to the Farmers Journal a few weeks ago. If I was doing heavy work with it 24/7, I'd be inclined to service it more often but to be honest, the oil on the dipstick is only brown rather than dark black after 600 hours of use. I'm sticking to dealer recommendations anyway because its the dealer who will be servicing it and please god, it will be back to that dealer that I will trade it in a few years time if I can afford it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭THE LINK WALSH

I honestly don't know. Its every 600 hours or every year, whatever comes first. New Massey Fergusons have the same service interval according to the Farmers Journal a few weeks ago. If I was doing heavy work with it 24/7, I'd be inclined to service it more often but to be honest, the oil on the dipstick is only brown rather than dark black after 600 hours of use. I'm sticking to dealer recommendations anyway because its the dealer who will be servicing it and please god, it will be back to that dealer that I will trade it in a few years time if I can afford it.

Yer going to be fine servicing it at 600hrs once yer using the right oil which you are because the dealer is servicing it,most new tractors now are quoting 5-600hr service intervals,once a Year is the obvious minimum if a fella isnt running up many hours on a tractor,if the tractor couldnt do the 600hrs between services it would be burning oil,if the oil is showing ok on the dipstick then yer fine.

An engine oil filter and the 13 litres of oil required will cost around €80 but its hassle to be getting it done/doing it yourself after ever 300 hours when this definitely isnt necessary if your changing the Tractor inside every Ten Years or so.If your going to change filters between services make it the fuel filter(€20) which can block up easily with the poor quality diesel being sold these days or change the Air filters in yer working in dusty conditions,you will see actual benefits to the power in your tractor and the amount of diesel yer using by doing this.
    The Nh T5050 is a top class,trouble free tractor with a great lock and great power for its size,you couldnt go wrong with one once you buy a powershuttle.

It still looks like the t5050, but i think he does have a little concern about the power of it - Hands down its the best of the tractors we looked at - but we'd prefer if it were in the 110hp mark if possible but if we buy that in NH its big money - i suppose you pay for what you get.

The John Deere is a great machine, but out of our price bracket i think

It still looks like the t5050, but i think he does have a little concern about the power of it - Hands down its the best of the tractors we looked at - but we'd prefer if it were in the 110hp mark if possible but if we buy that in NH its big money - i suppose you pay for what you get.

T5060 is only about 4k more and its 106hp. I have a neighbour with one. Its identical to our T5050 in size, just a bit more power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭THE LINK WALSH

T5060 is only about 4k more and its 106hp. I have a neighbour with one. Its identical to our T5050 in size, just a bit more power.

The T5050 is a fairly gutsy unit at 97hp,yor local NH dealer will be able to turn it up 6 or 7 hp on the dyno without doing any harm to anything,save yourself the 4k and dont bother with the T5060 id reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Ever seen a Kubota, lot of tractor for little money. Reliable machine too.

seen the lawnmowers that are kubota, never seen anthing in 105hp bracket!

Just googled it - the M108S is as you might guess 108hp

Cant see a price though

prod_photo1_3458_1265142079.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Only said it because theres a dealer up the road from me and one of the mechanics said they've said a fair few in the past few years and nothing major have been reported back to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

snyper did you buy yet???

rs8 wrote: »
    snyper did you buy yet???

No, not yet - soon enough though.

Things have been pretty crazy with the weather - burst pipes - lack of water, so the purchase will be made after we get sorted with more pressing issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

neighbour bought a Kubota a few months back, had a Zetor (9540 i think)
    Finds the cab much smaller even though the Kubota was a bit dearer than the equivelant Zetor.

It's common rail too, which could be a good or bad thing. think it's about 115hp. (3.9 litre or so)

He got it as they're supposed to be bombproof if basic. Had problems with hydraulics and seals leaking on the Zetor (06)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

colm_mcm wrote: »
    neighbour bought a Kubota a few months back, had a Zetor (9540 i think)
    Finds the cab much smaller even though the Kubota was a bit dearer than the equivelant Zetor.

It's common rail too, which could be a good or bad thing. think it's about 115hp. (3.9 litre or so)

He got it as they're supposed to be bombproof if basic. Had problems with hydraulics and seals leaking on the Zetor (06)

Didn't every zetor ever made have that problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

were it not for the fact that i cant stand the ( closest ) dealer , i would buy a valtra in the morning , that is , if i was making the descision to buy a new tractor in the 1st place :mad:

thier is a contractor not far from me who changed from all massey to valtra around eight years ago , he now has not a single massey and has six valtras , he is someone who,s opinion i value when it comes to machinery and many other things for that matter , i once asked him about valtra and his reply was , were it not for the fact that they are very bouncy on the road , they are a flawless tractor

they are however expensive , more expensive than john deere even

it appears the OP is leaning towards a new holland , one thing ive always wondered is whether a new holland has more ford or fiat in it , personally speaking , id be happy if it was more fiat than ford

the kubota sounds like an interesting option ,thier japaneese which is a major plus , i drove one once , if comfort and modern cons is your priority , thier not for you , found them as basic as a zetor , i guess their aimed at stockmen who want a no frills machine

as for massey , i agree with whoever said thier reputation has been suffering this past decade but that thier latest machines are pretty good , massey has the 2nd best resale value after a john deere ( and the best in some parts of the country ) so i suppose they always have to be considered

finally , id suggest the claas , i know a few people with them and they seem very happy , they have a john deere engine and a renault back end afaik , thier around the same price as a same but superior in every way i would imagine

irishh_bob wrote: »
    were it not for the fact that i cant stand the ( closest ) dealer , i would buy a valtra in the morning , that is , if i was making the descision to buy a new tractor in the 1st place :mad:

thier is a contractor not far from me who changed from all massey to valtra around eight years ago , he now has not a single massey and has six valtras , he is someone who,s opinion i value when it comes to machinery and many other things for that matter , i once asked him about valtra and his reply was , were it not for the fact that they are very bouncy on the road , they are a flawless tractor

they are however expensive , more expensive than john deere even

it appears the OP is leaning towards a new holland , one thing ive always wondered is whether a new holland has more ford or fiat in it , personally speaking , id be happy if it was more fiat than ford

the kubota sounds like an interesting option ,thier japaneese which is a major plus , i drove one once , if comfort and modern cons is your priority , thier not for you , found them as basic as a zetor , i guess their aimed at stockmen who want a no frills machine

as for massey , i agree with whoever said thier reputation has been suffering this past decade but that thier latest machines are pretty good , massey has the 2nd best resale value after a john deere ( and the best in some parts of the country ) so i suppose they always have to be considered

finally , id suggest the claas , i know a few people with them and they seem very happy , they have a john deere engine and a renault back end afaik , thier around the same price as a same but superior in every way i would imagine

The NH T5050 is made in the old fiat factory in Italy so the build quality is quite good.

Aren't Valtra made by Agco - the same people that make Massey Ferguson and aren't they assembled in the same factory using the same parts (some valtra's are just MF's with a different colour and different badge)??

You can buy a 97hp Valtra (A95) cheaper than the NH T5050 and cheaper than the equivalent Massey Ferguson. However, you are faced with a dry clutch (which will last about 1500 hours with loader work), the cab is tiny and uncomfortable (you will bump your elbows off the controls).

The larger Valtra's (120 hp+) are a great tractor, there's no doubt about it, but in my own personaly opinion, for the size of tractor that the op is seeking, Valtra would be a poor option with a low resale. There are several tractors that would be rated much better than the Valtra at the 100+/- hp range, including the NH, Massey Ferguson, John Deere (one of the most expensive at this HP range).

Hey,

We are looking at this machine, the dealer is over on monday to look at our MF and give us a price. Dad seems to love the JD, but was just wondering if there is any info out there in them re any problems etc.. i reckon parts are expensive?

This one is 100hp -

731.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭fiatagri8090

Whats the list price of the 5100m?

About €45,000 - less if you're buying straight