If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Facebook gone!

• 12-10-2010 11:20AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭

So they've finally blocked Facebook (And I presume proxies, other social networking etc.) from campus network.

A good idea in the long run as free PC's become more scarce... never know, people might actually start using PC's for education now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

still works on IT faculty computers :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 SUMojoJojo

Facebook Restrictions

Students are advised that restrictions on access to Facebook within General Access PC Suites, including in the Library Building, will be implemented with effect from Tuesday October 12th 2010 as detailed below.
    These restrictions are being introduced following requests made to ISS by the Students’ Union following a vote on the issue by Full Class Reps Council. The class reps believe the restrictions are necessary to ensure that University PCs are more readily available for use by students undertaking core academic activities.
    The specific restrictions are as follows:
    Library PC Suites (blanket ban)
    The restriction on access to Facebook in all Library PC Suites will apply 24/7 commencing Tuesday October 12th 2010 and ending Friday May 20th 2011
    All other General Access PC Suites:
    The restriction on access to Facebook in all other General Access PC Suites will apply from 08:00 to 18:00, Monday to Friday commencing Tuesday October 12th 2010 and ending Friday May 20th 2011.
    A full 24/7 restriction will be applied in all General Access PC Suites during exam periods as follows: (1) November 22nd to December 17th 2010 and (2) April 4th to May 23rd 2011
    The restriction on access to Facebook in General Access PC Suites (excluding those in the Library) will be temporarily suspended over the Christmas period of December 17th 2010 to January 9th 2011.

No restriction on access to Facebook is being implemented on the NUIGWiFi network or in Departmental PC Suites.
    If you have any comments or concerns please email Emmet Connolly, VP/Education Officer in the Students’ Union, on su.education@nuigalway.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

It took me a whopping 15 seconds to get round it (Not using a proxy) but don't have chat facility - PM if you want to know how

I'll use my VPN if I ever need to use the chat facility that badly :) (In fairness it's handy for keeping in touch with people)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Pete29

It can only be a good thing in my opinion. People shouldn't have to wait for others to finish chatting on facebook so they can use the computers for their intended purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭ValJester

Still able to access it just fine on the Wifi, which kind of defeats the purpose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

ValJester wrote: »
    Still able to access it just fine on the Wifi, which kind of defeats the purpose.
    WiFi means its their own computers, i.e. their own business. Any public computers are free game, so naturally education should take priority. Why should someone have to wait to do some actual work because some idiot is blabbering on about rubbish with their friends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭PomBear

it's a load of ****e imo, people are going to screw around on computers no matter what and fb actually helps you get in contact with classmates. It's an easy solution to stupid problem in the first place and won't work in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

PomBear wrote: »
    it's a load of ****e imo, people are going to screw around on computers no matter what and fb actually helps you get in contact with classmates. It's an easy solution to stupid problem in the first place and won't work in the first place.

Well then why was it used last year as well? If there was no success it would have been scrapped.

The main point is to free up library pc's for printing/etc, instead of people sitting on facebook for an hour, or on farmville. Yes, there are a lack of computers, but with all the cuts, there's not a hope of more being put in, so this is really the only viable solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭rivalius13

Translation: MY ****ING CROPS ARE DYING!!!!

Well then why was it used last year as well? If there was no success it would have been scrapped.

The main point is to free up library pc's for printing/etc, instead of people sitting on facebook for an hour, or on farmville. Yes, there are a lack of computers, but with all the cuts, there's not a hope of more being put in, so this is really the only viable solution.

it wasn't a success last year there's nothing to suggest it was, PCs weren't freed up, people just arsed around on pcs in other ways and used proxies. There's far more larger issues pushing our education then fecking facebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭TheCosmicFrog

ValJester wrote: »

Huh? :confused:

No it doesn't. They're not trying to tell us what we can and can't do. It's just to stop faculty PCs being used for anything other than academic purposes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

it wasn't a success last year there's nothing to suggest it was, PCs weren't freed up, people just arsed around on pcs in other ways and used proxies. There's far more larger issues pushing our education then fecking facebook
    PC's were freed up, at least in the comp suites i use. the physics suite was plagued last year with half the people on facebook at peak time before the ban. even in september this year, it was bad. when the ban was introduced, i could get on a PC at peak time no problem. it is a success, and it does free up the computers.
    if people want to waste their time on facebook, let them bring in their own laptop and doss around on the WiFi, but i don't want to be queuing for up to half an hour just cos some eejit wants to update their status to "OMG, wasted.com" and play farmville or some other stupid game.

/rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭dapto1

It was ridiculous last year, any time I was in a computer suite the majority of the people in there were on it. People should be embarrassed to be seen arsing around on computers when there are people waiting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

I don't want to sound like a rich old man or anything (young and poor)...but isn't it pretty unusual these days for a third level student to not have a laptop? A basic laptop that can do all your normal internet stuff, word/excel/powerpoint etc is not exactly a huge expense. Dell Mini 10s are 350, and to boot they're so light and small you could carrying them around all the time.

I'm not saying 350 is throw-away sort of money, but for college surely having something to do your work on is a pretty high priority?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Zillah wrote: »
    I don't want to sound like a rich old man or anything (young and poor)...but isn't it pretty unusual these days for a third level student to not have a laptop? A basic laptop that can do all your normal internet stuff, word/excel/powerpoint etc is not exactly a huge expense. Dell Mini 10s are 350, and to boot they're so light and small you could carrying them around all the time.

I'm not saying 350 is throw-away sort of money, but for college surely having something to do your work on is a pretty high priority?

I don't bring my laptop into college with me, i've no real need to. When I was doing my technical degree, yes. But now I spend a lot of time in the Library where I may need to look up databases/journals. It'd be a waste of weight (and something i'd constantly having to be minding)

JohnCleary wrote: »
    I don't bring my laptop into college with me, i've no real need to. When I was doing my technical degree, yes. But now I spend a lot of time in the Library where I may need to look up databases/journals. It'd be a waste of weight (and something i'd constantly having to be minding)

Most laptops you'd barely notice the extra weight if you were already carrying things. And constantly minding?

1)Put laptop in bag
    2) ??????
    3) Profit.

whiteman19 wrote: »
    PC's were freed up, at least in the comp suites i use. the physics suite was plagued last year with half the people on facebook at peak time before the ban. even in september this year, it was bad. when the ban was introduced, i could get on a PC at peak time no problem. it is a success, and it does free up the computers.
    if people want to waste their time on facebook, let them bring in their own laptop and doss around on the WiFi, but i don't want to be queuing for up to half an hour just cos some eejit wants to update their status to "OMG, wasted.com" and play farmville or some other stupid game.

/rant

and it was plagued after the FB ban, it was. With people watching the South Park or whatever online and going on facebook via proxy. This was clear to see. The Facebook ban was a stupid campaign, but a crap SU trying to look like they're getting something done apart from boosting their CV.

Btw, I use the IT building most, the FB ban mostly doesn't effect me, just get annoyed by these stupid attempts at legitimacy by the SU when they're such bigger issue they could be worried about.

and it was plagued after the FB ban, it was. With people watching the South Park or whatever online and going on facebook via proxy. This was clear to see. The Facebook ban was a stupid campaign, but a crap SU trying to look like they're getting something done apart from boosting their CV.

Btw, I use the IT building most, the FB ban mostly doesn't effect me, just get annoyed by these stupid attempts at legitimacy by the SU when they're such bigger issue they could be worried about.

Like?

Like?

The fact that students feel as though they have no academic support from them

They don't see them as a representative force of the students

They are not seen as an option when a student does not know what to do with an academic issue.

I've been screwed around plenty of times by academic staff in this college and got nothing from the SU and got plenty from administrative staff.

The registration fee has grown 50% in 3 years and no accountability to where its going.
    Postgrads got huge cuts in their salary last year and the SU did nothing.
    There's talk of tuition fees being re-introduced and I bet, like the FEE protests, the SU will be last to take action.

They're a joke imo.

PomBear, while I disagree with your opinion, I'll defend to the death your right to say it.

My class had a serious issue with our timetable whereby we had a full day on Wednesday from 9am to 7pm with no breaks. Rather than contact the administrative staff I contacted the SU because I feel they are the people to go to if I have an issue as a student. The SU, within days, had it sorted and made sure to contact everyone they could, including the USI (for students' rights regarding a lunch break - which there apparently isn't, by the way), the administrative staff and other Students' Unions.

I've also had two other issues within the last year that the SU have sorted.

I think you are jumping to some rather inappropriate conclusions. Next time you have an issue, I suggest you contact the SU rather than assuming they'll do nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭El_Drago

I love this idea.The only downside is that they didn't bring it in sooner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Rob!

To say they're wasting valuable time implementing the ban is a tad bit of an exaggeration - it was decided over 2 meetings with class reps which took no more than an hour each. And as it's technically not the SU themselves that implement the ban, i doubt too much time was lost over the matter.

Admittedly the bans effectiveness is only minor, and acts as more of an inconvenience rather than anything else. None the less it sends out a clear message to students wasting time on college pc's that their actions aren't acceptable.

Lik so many others in this thread, the amount of times i've had to stand in line for ages watching idiots nurse over virtual crops is astonishing. I once approached a guy who kept me waiting for 20 minutes as he messed about on nothing but farmville. i politely told him how i had maths to submit before a blackboard deadline only to be told "F**K OFF YOU FA***T BEFORE I KICK YOUR FACE IN! Fine - I could have just brought my laptop in, but doesn't that defeat the principal of the whole thing.

As far as i'm concerned - do as you please on your personal computers - but it shouldn't be expected that all 17,000 or so students possess one. College pc's are there for students academic work and should be used for that only.

[/rant]

I was at that Class Reps meeting where we decided on the "specs" of the ban. One of the things Emmet mentioned was that ISS had blocked a lot of web proxies being exploited to get to Facebook last year.

Now I'm fully aware that all it takes is one unblocked proxy, but at least they're taking some sort of initiative to enforce it. It also makes Facebook a bit more taboo. If you're using "ABC 123 Proxy" to water your virtual crops you know you're obsessed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

Most laptops you'd barely notice the extra weight if you were already carrying things. And constantly minding?
    it's the sorta thing you don't want to get wet if when it's raining and if i'm only going on the computers for an hour, i don't want to have to carry it in all the way from across the bridge where i live.
    1)Put laptop in bag
    2) Offer laptop as alternate computer to students waiting ages in computer suites for money cos of some eejit on facebook
    3) Profit.
    got the 2nd step sorted for ya :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Why should the university be providing computers for Facebook / Bebo use?

My class had a serious issue with our timetable whereby we had a full day on Wednesday from 9am to 7pm with no breaks. Rather than contact the administrative staff I contacted the SU because I feel they are the people to go to if I have an issue as a student.
    Did you even approach the relevant admin / academic staff yourselves?

Students are adults, and should be able to speak for themselves as such, at least in the first instance. If they are getting nowhere, then involve the Union. Same in working life, too many people escalate issues to the trade union immediately.

I have students popping their nose in my door every day to alert me to problems (no, not 14 hour days, I'm a better planner than that, for them at least ... not so much for myself, unfortunately! >.< )

I wouldn't be at all impressed if I had the SU on to me about an issue which I had heard nothing about from the students themselves.
    The SU, within days, had it sorted and made sure to contact everyone they could, including the USI (for students' rights regarding a lunch break - which there apparently isn't, by the way), the administrative staff and other Students' Unions.
    Admittedly, I work in a different university, but damned if I see why it should have taken the involvement of USI or other student unions to solve this one.

Mind you, whoever let that timetable out in the first place needs a reality check. Due to scarcity of rooms / labs at certain times, timetable clashes for both staff and students, etc., etc., it is often impossible to give students (or indeed the lecturers!) the kind of timetable everyone would like, but if you genuinely had 14 hours straight through, that's just untenable.
    If you're using "ABC 123 Proxy" to water your virtual crops you know you're obsessed.

That's a new euphemism to me!

And students are now so high-tech they even pish in Virtual Reality?? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Most laptops you'd barely notice the extra weight if you were already carrying things.

What laptop have you got?

I was at that Class Reps meeting where we decided on the "specs" of the ban. One of the things Emmet mentioned was that ISS had blocked a lot of web proxies being exploited to get to Facebook last year.

Now I'm fully aware that all it takes is one unblocked proxy, but at least they're taking some sort of initiative to enforce it. It also makes Facebook a bit more taboo. If you're using "ABC 123 Proxy" to water your virtual crops you know you're obsessed.
    Yup, I was there too. If there are unblocked proxies or people bypassing the ban, it's not the SU that's at fault, but more ISS. I don't think it was a decision taken lightly tbh, especially as the debate on facebook took up nearly an hour of the CRC.
    whiteman19 wrote: »
    it's the sorta thing you don't want to get wet if when it's raining and if i'm only going on the computers for an hour, i don't want to have to carry it in all the way from across the bridge where i live.
    I bring my laptop in all the time. ALL of the time. I just throw it into my bag with the charger, and all the other things i possibly need for whatever day. It's not any extra burden tbh, or any noticable weight. Laptops range anywhere from 1-5kg, 5kg being around an 18" monster. For men, that's about 1/70th - 1/14th of your own bodyweight, and for women, 1/50th-1/10th. Seriously, you cant tell me that's problematic...

Also, regards getting laptops wet etc on rainy days, I call absolute BS. I've had mine in probably 4-5 different bags in all kinds of weather, never once has it suffered any water damage.

All the above is just an excuse.
    What laptop have you got?

13" Macbook unibody

feather.61102125.gif

Just lifted one, much to the confusion of a classmate :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

OT: Long overdue.

i find it ironic how many of ye giving out about people on facebook yet half the posts are from afternoons on weekdays ;)