Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why men have bad luck on online dating sites

• 07-10-2010 11:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

So, if you be browsing through online dating sites what turns you off someone by their profile?

My ugghhh ones are:
    • Pics taken by web camera. Always makes someone look a bit in yer face and weirdly intense
    • Pics of someone boozing. Why oh why does anybody want to advertise themselves as a bit of a drinker?
    • Profiles that start with...'Not much good at this..don't know why I'm here......don't know what to say... Yeah. ok so first date is bound to so exciting on the conversation front.
    • Profiles that conclude with...'anything else just ask'..... em. unneccessary. If there was anything interesting to begin with, the asking would be the obvious next step.
    So, am tired of people moaning they haven't had more success on dating sites, but from a female point of view, have you checked out the seriously lame profiles and pictures from men there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Omegle is bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

Darlughda wrote: »
    So, if you be browsing through online dating sites what turns you off someone by their profile?

The fact that they are on a dating site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

My guess is they are fussy bitches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 BotFly

The Irelands Own classifieds are the way to go tbh.

Widow, 41, GSOH, enjoys cooking and long autumnal walks in the fields seeks farmer with 90+ acres for inheritance companionship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Internet dating sites are just another type of knockin' shop aren't they. People actually use them to find real relationships?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Never even browsed a dating site, are you saying that women's profiles are far better, more detailed with better photos?

If so, why in your opinion, is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

What you need to remember is that men begin creating their profile when they're feeling a bit fine and dandy. Get bored entering all the info. Think 'feck this'. Visit Xhamster for relief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I used to use dating sites all the time before I got married. Though back then, they were called pubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Asking to be sucked off on the first date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

I used to use dating sites all the time before I got married. Though back then, they were called pubs.

you're married?? that explains why you're on boards late nearly every night!

I have to go now. My wife says it's time for bed.

:D:D

although, shouldn't you be calling her 'herself indoors' by now?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,403 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

"Big dick please apply" seems to work for me.

Is that a description of your personality?

My ugghhh ones are:
    • Pics taken by web camera. Always makes someone look a bit in yer face and weirdly intense
    • Pics of someone boozing. Why oh why does anybody want to advertise themselves as a bit of a drinker?
    • Profiles that start with...'Not much good at this..don't know why I'm here......don't know what to say... Yeah. ok so first date is bound to so exciting on the conversation front.
    • Profiles that conclude with...'anything else just ask'..... em. unneccessary. If there was anything interesting to begin with, the asking would be the obvious next step.
    So, am tired of people moaning they haven't had more success on dating sites, but from a female point of view, have you checked out the seriously lame profiles and pictures from men there?

can we check out yours OP? please? we won't go setting up fake profiles or anything!!

:D:D

although, shouldn't you be calling her 'herself indoors' by now?!!

I usually call her "The Thing". :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

BotFly wrote: »
    The Irelands Own classifieds are the way to go tbh.

Widow, 41, GSOH, enjoys cooking and long autumnal walks in the fields seeks farmer with 90+ acres for inheritance companionship.

La de da. Back of the Buy and Sell! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Never even browsed a dating site, are you saying that women's profiles are far better, more detailed with better photos?

If so, why in your opinion, is that?

Ah jayzus, OLPete, relax the cacs, this is not a male vs.female type of thread. Well, I bloody well hope not!

Anyways, there has been loadsa posts recently from our lovely gents in various forums wondering why online dating sites are no use to them. Maybe, just maybe my highlighting frequent turn offs may enlighten those?

By all means, start your own thread, in order to enlighten us females regarding what turns you off a dating site profile. But the again, you can't as you have 'never even browsed a dating site'.

So, be a little bit more reticent with your opinions, please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,403 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Is that a description of your personality?

Awesome works either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

KungPao wrote: »
    Visit Xhamster

OKAY!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

You may have seen me around the daiting sites.
    My username is "Incurable Romantic"
    I have aids.

By all means, start your own thread, in order to enlighten us females regarding what turns you off a dating site profile. But the again, you can't as you have 'never even browsed a dating site'.

So, be a little bit more reticent with your opinions, please?

What?

You posted:
    ...have you checked out the seriously lame profiles and pictures from men there?

I just asked you why you in your opinion, women put more effort into their profiles than the men do, what's wrong with that? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

I find it really funny when you get someone, whose profile says that they are a great conversationalist and would prefer a first date to be dinner, rather than the cinema, so we can talk; and the fishing PM says, "Hi". And why, oh why, would you think that a woman wants to see a photo of you with your arm around another woman - Mammy, sister, ex-wife, present wife, grown-up daughter! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

What?

I just asked you why you in your opinion, women put more effort into their profiles than the men do, what's wrong with that? :confused:

You asked a serious question in a typical AH thread?

One thing I do have a little knowledge of though, is sex lines and no, not for that reason

Well, to tell the truth, I did ring phone them one night, that Babestation one and had TV sex with Angel Long, but that's another thread :D

Back in the early 90's, four of my brother's mates (two were pilots) set up one of the first Party Chat Lines (the 1550 ones).

They had a personals section in them and as no woman / girl, is gonna pay to phone them, the girls got to ring for free.

Naturally then, there were hundreds of women leaving free personals and the guys, being horny fools, were paying £1 a minute to listen to them.

Apparently they made a killing on those lines and I would wonder of the same craic goes on on the dating sites, do women have to pay also, if so - do they have to pay the same price?

I would imagine it's in their interest to make it look like there are loads of gorgeous models on there who are not really interest in looks or guys with jobs and so then men will be queuing up to join.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

What?

Don't think he said that either because we all know women put up sad profiles too. Really don't think this is a thread to play the male discrimination card! :D

I've used dating sites in the past, handy for a single Dad with no weekend time! Keep it simple and honest and you should be fine.

Had some great craic on there (inserts pun!), and all the ones I met, had a good night.

One tip, don't assume curvy means Christina Hendricks.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    Really don't think this is a thread to play the male discrimination card! :D

So by asking why she thinks it is that women put more effort into their profiles on dating sites, I'm playing the male discrimination card?

What is everyone smoking tonight?

Curvy = fat
    Slim = fat
    Average = fat

if 'my friend' is to be believed.

So by asking why she thinks it is that women put more effort into their profiles on dating sites, I'm playing the male discrimination card?

What is everyone smoking tonight?

Maybe they do, why do you think they don't?

It's AH after all, not always serious threads,

What happened a sense of humour.
    BotFly wrote: »
    Curvy = fat
    Slim = fat
    Average = fat

if 'my friend' is to be believed.

All of them on all sites?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

gsoh=bad breath
    funlovin=smelly box
    non smoker=gobbler

All of them on all sites?
    No, the ones that aren't real are well fit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Don't think he said that either because we all know women put up sad profiles too. Really don't think this is a thread to play the male discrimination card! :D

One needs to watch for the myspace angle, although that reference is hopelessly out of date.

Basically, if she took the pic herself, she has no mates, or is hopelessly self absorbed.

If she took the pic herself, with the camera/phone over her head, as well as the above, she's a bloater.

example (of the latter, not the former-do I really need to link to self taken shots of trout pouts in pub toilets?): http://bitsontheside.files.wordpress.com/2007/10/mysp.jpg

Maybe they do, why do you think they don't?

Darlughda said they don't, not me!
    .. have you checked out the seriously lame profiles and pictures from men there?

Darlughda said they don't, not me!

Looses the will to live!

Basically, if she took the pic herself, she has no mates, or is hopelessly self absorbed.

If she took the pic herself, with the camera/phone over her head, as well as the above, she's a bloater.

example (of the latter, not the former-do I really need to link to self taken shots of trout pouts in pub toilets?): http://bitsontheside.files.wordpress.com/2007/10/mysp.jpg

Good social observation skills, I must say.

Good typing skills for a dead man.

Good last word.

You always have to get the last word. (Goes of in a smug strop).*

*Then ponders, Am I not having the last word by pointing out Outlawpete has the last word.

Realises I'm sh*t at this last word crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Thread starts at 00.04 last post prior to mine at 2.44. Did ye pair off.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Things I have learned from this thread:

1) Darlughda is not a dude (so now I have to change the voice that I read their post with)
    2) OutlawPete apparently had sex with a tv at one point
    3) I shouldn't look up Xhamster in work.

A fullfulling morning.

I actually did some programming work for a dating website and it was kind of funny to see it in action. We did a lot of surveys of the users to see how they felt and what they wanted change. The main thing that guys complained about and that girls loved was that there were usually a hell of a lot more guys on the site and so the girls had free reign to turn down as many as they wanted.

And the content of the profile doesn't really mean much to a lot of girls, who said that they mainly go by looks. And over 70% of guys don't post pictures, as oppossed to only 30% of girls.

And if you want to try internet dating, do it in or around Valentines Day. It's like picking low lying fruit. Our server crashed one year because of the desperation.

Its all about the photo if you are a good looking female or you are a good looking male who also happens to be over 6 foot...it really dose not matter what you say about your self ( so long as its not crude or stupid )....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

My ugghhh ones are:

Or women who post photos from 5 years ago, and think that they haven't aged or put on weight since then. They just think "that's a good one of me".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭mecanoman

When i worked on in building game. I knew two lads who loved

nothing better that looking thru the Buy and Sell.

"Profiling" i called it. Their theroy went that they went especially

for single mothers or recently seperated.

Bit of a competition. They even ventured into "tag- teams".

They felt it they were helping theses women :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

mecanoman wrote: »

How did you get so drunk at 9.30 in the morning:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,871 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

My ugghhh ones are:
    Was actually laughing with a mate about online dating last night, all a man has to do is get photographed, or photoshopped:
    • in hiking waterproofs standing by a river
    • standing beside an international wonder of the world
    • Volunteering
    • in the company of lots of similarly aged men
    ha and don't say "i like staying in and going out"

mecanoman wrote: »

ha like the guys checking ceefax for cancled flights and then hit the residents bar of the airport hotels!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

1) If your message is in txt speak, there's no way I'm replying.
    2) If it contains things like "hey, ur hot, wana go out?", there's no way I'm replying.
    3) If it contains requests for more pictures, there's no way I'm replying.
    4) If they ask me something that's already explained clearly on my profile, there's no way I'm replying.
    5) If the profile pictures are any of the following: boozing, passed out, photoshopped, webcam of their chest, shadowy, etc, there's no way I'm replying. I've a clear photo, it's not fair if you don't too.
    6) If your profile starts with "I hate filling these things out," "I hate writing about myself," "I don't know why I'm here," "I'm on here for a bit of a laugh," etc., there's very little chance I'll be bothered. Just shows you're a negative whiner who just can't be arsed and probably aren't actively looking for anything anyway.
    7) If you look angry, depressed, or otherwise emo (and if you have a ponytail), I'm not going to reply.. tends to just mean you're pretty self-involved and/or hard to get to know and/or have self-esteem problems and/or just like long hair (which I hate) and therefore wouldn't suit.

If you want a reply, have a nice, clear photo that doesn't make you look like a frat boy or a cheeseball, and use actual English for communication. I can't even begin to count the amount of guys I just never bothered replying to because they couldn't be bothered to write "you" instead of "u."

And read the frickin' profile before you reply, damnit. :mad:

• mecanoman wrote: »

in a word yuk :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Is that a request, or a description?

Lads, if you're getting nowhere with the ladies on the internet, then you should follow "Liah's Guide to Why Men Have Bad Luck on Dating Sites";
    liah wrote: »
    1) If your message is in txt speak, there's no way I'm replying.
    2) If it contains things like "hey, ur hot, wana go out?", there's no way I'm replying.
    3) If it contains requests for more pictures, there's no way I'm replying.
    4) If they ask me something that's already explained clearly on my profile, there's no way I'm replying.
    5) If the profile pictures are any of the following: boozing, passed out, photoshopped, webcam of their chest, shadowy, etc, there's no way I'm replying. I've a clear photo, it's not fair if you don't too.
    6) If your profile starts with "I hate filling these things out," "I hate writing about myself," "I don't know why I'm here," "I'm on here for a bit of a laugh," etc., there's very little chance I'll be bothered. Just shows you're a negative whiner who just can't be arsed and probably aren't actively looking for anything anyway.

If you want a reply, have a nice, clear photo that doesn't make you look like a frat boy or a cheeseball, and use actual English for communication. I can't even begin to count the amount of guys I just never bothered replying to because they couldn't be bothered to write "you" instead of "u."

And read the frickin' profile before you reply, damnit. :mad:

Lads, if you're getting nowhere with the ladies on the internet, then you should follow "Liah's Guide to Why Men Have Bad Luck on Dating Sites";

txt speak is a cancer upong this land, but it's mainly women that use it as far i can see?