Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Panel - 07/10/2010

• 07-10-2010 9:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭

anybody watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

anybody watching.

Yup watching it now. Was at the taping last night. Over 3 hours of recording for it. Gruelling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

For a sec, just to confirm its still ****e, off to bed now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

giving it 20 mins.

loving craig's pink t-shirt & shiny jacket combo, tosser.

Andrew Maxwell was the warm up for the show last night and he came out and quipped;

"It's gonna be greaaaaaaaaaaat this year, every week, wondering when we'll be cancelled."

I see Maxwell still has the pipe, still makes him look like a tosser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

This is shite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

All the jokes are a week old, comedy for slow learners or those without the interent...Still where does pipeboy get his jumpers made?

omahaid wrote: »
    I see Maxwell still has the pipe, still makes him look like a tosser

It's not the pipe that makes him look like a tosser.

True about the goujons and paninis though. I didn't know what a panini was until 2004.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

So far:

Colin Murphy 9
    Neil Delamere 7.5
    Andrew Maxwell 3
    Eleanor Tiernan 1

Colin Murphy really is the core of this program.. Only watch the show for him, and some of Delamere's contributions... token female is usually crap and Maxwell is just there for the Southsiders..

Eleanor Tiernan is a deeply unfunny individual. She'll look bad on TV tonight. But I'm not lying when I say, for the entire 3 hour recording, she made one comment that got a laugh and the rest were just dreadful. It was like someone won a competition to be on the Panel.
    So far:
    Colin Murphy really is the core of this program.. Only watch the show for him, and some of Delamere's contributions... token female is usually crap and Maxwell is just there for the Southsiders..

Couldn't agree more. Colin Murphy believe it or not said the least last night BY FAR. I mean, he spoke about a 1/4 as much as Maxwell did, yet everything Murhpy has said has been broadcast. I think Delamere is still improving and is a good comedian.

Maxwell though has completely lost whatever he might have had.

It's not the pipe that makes him look like a tosser.

Hmm, the pipe helps though. Just noticed the jumper, its a bit umm odd. God that pink t-shirt is shocking on Doyle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,547 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Is it just me or does Neil Delamere and Craig Doyle have their hair dyed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

this is not funny

Good to see Fritzl jokes are in, classy.

Craig Doyle and Neil delamere are still young men. Why have they the head dyed off them with hair colour?? Must be the studio lights eh. Craig looks pale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

I misss the panel of my youth :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭RVD420

Awful, awful, awful.

Maxwell is still a plonker, with his cool "pipe and christmas jumper" combo.

Lame jokes all around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭take everything

Eleanor Tiernan is a deeply unfunny individual. She'll look bad on TV tonight. But I'm not lying when I say, for the entire 3 hour recording, she made one comment that got a laugh and the rest were just dreadful. It was like someone won a competition to be on the Panel.

Hate to slate the woman but was wondering what she's doing there myself.
    Is she meant to be a comedian.

RVD420 wrote: »
    Awful, awful, awful.

Maxwell is still a plonker, with his cool "pipe and christmas jumper" combo.

Lame jokes all around.

Consider yourself blessed that you're getting the TV version. He went on about seven or eight monologues last night that were massively unfunny and almost surreal and went on for about 5 minutes each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭buckfasterer

Is this doll ment to be famous or somethin or why is she on the show? The size of the jaw is serious!

I think Delamere is still improving and is a good comedian.

Not a fan myself but i kinda agree.
    I don't think he's as completely terrible as people say- yeah he's a bit annoying/forceful and his jokes are hit and miss, but he can come out with some funny stuff.
    The adlib about not getting into Craig Doyle's house was OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

This show hasn't been funny since that other chap fúcked off to England.

Consider yourself blessed that you're getting the TV version. He went on about seven or eight monologues last night that were massively unfunny and almost surreal and went on for about 5 minutes each.

Hell on Earth!

Is she meant to be a comedian.
    Like I said above, she's the token female. There's one every week and they are usually not very funny... Could be funny the next time Aoibheann is on though..
    He went on about seven or eight monologues last night that were massively unfunny and almost surreal and went on for about 5 minutes each.

He reminds of Brush Shiels the way he goes on rants with big words, and thinks he's funny/clever... The pipe was a "joke" in one episode last year, and is still not funny... When I see that promo for it with him (donning tash and pipe) I want to put my fist through the TV..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

not overly impressed yet, cant turn on the telly without seeing that craig doyle, is he sersiously the perminate presenter.

andrew maxwell, is just not funny

nell delemare, i like him, him and colin murphy hold the show together, although thought the fritzel/miners joke was not in the best taste

whose your one sitting in maraids seat?

I misss the panel of my youth :(

Daire's doing The UK Apprentice You're Fired thing now (is Mock The Week still going btw?).
    Long way from The Panel.

I never thought I'd say this....bring back McWilliams.

irish-stew wrote: »
    whose your one sitting in maraids seat?

That would be Eleanor Tiernan, cousin of Tommy Tiernan.

SHUT UP MAXWELL!!!:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

irish-stew wrote: »
    not overly impressed yet, cant turn on the telly without seeing that craig doyle, is he sersiously the perminate presenter.

Well he lost out on The Saturday Night Show to Brendan O'Connor... So you wont be seeing him on that...

Eleanor Tiernan has the worst delivery of any comedian/comedienne I've ever heard.. If they brought in the tea woman, she would be better (and they would still have their token female)... I dont think she will be featuring in Michael McIntrye next road show, unless he hits her with the car.

She has to go plug herself on the panel now there's no more Podge and Rodge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Is that loyd grossmans daughter or something, crazy accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,627 ✭✭✭baldbear

She's a desperate looking call girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

This is SO SO SO horrifically and indescribably bad...

The "token woman" thing needs to fúck off, all we want is 5 lads shíteing on about whatever the fúck they want, and hey if they bring cocks into the equation all the better.

Start getting comedian guests and not just any old boring ******, I actually turned the channel last year everytime some douche came on and everyone had to act interested.

Lastly, throw a fúckload of money at Dara and get him to come back to Ireland to present ANYTHING, the panel, the Late Late, anything.

baldbear wrote: »
    She's a desperate looking call girl.

She's got rough skin for someone of 34 years.

I'd say shes been glassed or through a windscreen at some stage poor girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Sharkey 10

Does anyone agree with me when i say this show has gradually been going downhill?

Sharkey 10 wrote: »
    Does anyone agree with me when i say this show has gradually been going downhill?

I disagree.

"Gradually" is far too nice a term. It dived when Dara left. It showed minor signs of recover when Delamere and Murphy tried to host and steady the ship, but ultimately they couldn't despite doing an ok job. When they gott anyone after that, be it McWilliams, guest hosts or Doyle, its bombed.

Also, being on RTE 1 brings more responsibilities and the censors are a lot more careful of what goes out on RTE 1 than what goes out on RTE 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭buckfasterer

Scary bitch........stick lookin in there and its all true...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Sharkey 10 wrote: »

If I could do graphs, the x axis would be time and the y axis would be quality of the show.

It climbed VERY STEEPLY and stayed at the top for a while, then when Dara left it plummeted at an angle of 88 degrees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭nommm

Amazing. Laughed my ass off.

nommm wrote: »
    Amazing. Laughed my ass off.

As I did at your comment.. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Namabillion

Murphy and delemare brilliant as always but the rest of them ^shït^.
    They should get rid of the guest every week as it is even worse than the first half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭nommm

As I did at your comment.. ;)

Glad I amuse you.

They should get rid of the guest every week as it is even worse than the first half

Agree.. The current format doesnt work... When the guest comes on the four members of the panel effectively become redundant and the shows turns in to the Late Late Show... Get rid of the guests and focus on a humourous discussion of the weeks happenings..

The show seems to be too adlib as well.. Only Murphy and Delamere show any signs of having prepared some scripted (and thus funny) jokes in advance..
    Was at the taping last night. Over 3 hours of recording for it. Gruelling.

The energy levels of the panelists really seemed to wane after the first few topics.. Filming for such long periods is counterproductive imo.

Colin Murphy nearly had all his material shown on TV, with some of the more edgy bits not shown. Didn't speak a lot in terms of how much material was shot, but its clear that he knows whats funny.

Neil Delamere was mostly the same, maybe 75% of his stuff made TV. A lot of his stuff that didn't make TV was very 'offensive' so no surprise.

Andrew Maxwell got about ten minutes of material on the TV, which was about 20% of how much he ranted for at the recording. Maxwell suffers not only from unfunnyness but also from beating dead horses til they're mulch. Anything that the crowd found remotely funny, he'd literally repeat it to death or just extend it until the crowd were silent from overkill.

Tiernan should just never be invited back. Whatever your opinion of Tommy Tiernan, she will never be the comedian that he is. The amount of bombs she made during the taping was laughable. I don't know any of you on this thread, but I'd be more assured that any of you would do better than her.

You are right, they need to abolish this guest business or at least reform it. Personally, I think that there are enough funny comedians out there to have a guest comedian each week whether domestic or abroad. Having these unfunny unrelated "stories" just detract from what the Panel is meant to be, a comedy show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,874 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

omahaid wrote: »
    True about the goujons and paninis though. I didn't know what a panini was until 2004.
    about the the same time i heard that gag!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Niamh_1989

Anything that the crowd found remotely funny, he'd literally repeat it to death or just extend it until the crowd were silent from overkill.

Hey Fireball...

I also was at the recording last night..:rolleyes: The fact we where standing for a good hour and a half in a crowd of people before we even got into the seating area.. a absolute joke.

3hours it was tough.. a little 5 minute break and the amount of people that didnt return goes to show how draining it was.

Then to watch a 50minute segment tonight people don't know how lucky they are than sitting for 3 hours listening so sloppy topics and jokes! :confused:
    I agree though how little colin spoke and to get so much air time.. to be honest I thought the funniest bit of the whole 3 hours was the warm up.

And by god Tiernan was dire.. any time i laughed was pure pitty laughs, at first i though maybe it was nerves but she was just ****E!

Wouldnt recommend people for the live shows at all.

Niamh_1989 wrote: »
    Hey Fireball...

I also was at the recording last night..:rolleyes: The fact we where standing for a good hour and a half in a crowd of people before we even got into the seating area.. a absolute joke.

3hours it was tough.. a little 5 minute break and the amount of people that didnt return goes to show how draining it was.

Then to watch a 50minute segment tonight people don't know how lucky they are than sitting for 3 hours listening so sloppy topics and jokes! :confused:
    I agree though how little colin spoke and to get so much air time.. to be honest I thought the funniest bit of the whole 3 hours was the warm up.

And by god Tiernan was dire.. any time i laughed was pure pitty laughs, at first i though maybe it was nerves but she was just ****E!

Wouldnt recommend people for the live shows at all.

Yeah the organisation of getting people in the door was shocking. An hour and a half of pure heat was a killer.

Took five hours from when the doors opened until we were let go.

I've had easier exams!

Glad someone knows the pain I went through :)