Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liam Sheedy resigns as Tipp boss

• 07-10-2010 9:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭

RT&#201 wrote:
    Liam Sheedy steps down from Tipp post

Liam Sheedy has stepped down as manager of the Tipperary senior hurling team.

Sheedy brought Tipperary to All Ireland glory in September beating Kilkenny in the final.

He is citing work commitments as the reason for his departure.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2010/1007/sheedyl_tipperary.html

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭cremeegg

interesting.

very interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭MIRMIR82

Just heard myself- i'm shocked:eek:

Who's going to want that job????
    -you win next year its cos sheedy got the team the way they are!
    -you lose next year - your pure useless, cant work with top team etc.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭hawkwing

big Ken back possibly :(

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I wonder will Hogan and Dunne be promoted from the U21 setup?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Patsy fyre

Bad news for tipp hurling! Was hoping he would sign the new contract! Ohwel.

Its absolutly crucial that we get the right replacement. Hope the county board dont go back to old habbits and employ wannabe celebrities! The manager can never think he is bigger than the team!

I wonder will Hogan and Dunne be promoted from the U21 setup?

I think that would be the best thing to do considering the amount of u21s playing senior for the sake of continuity.
    Hopefully the few 'expert' journalists will stick to the their writing about Tipp and wont enter the fray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,506 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Maybe it's time for Babs again to take over!! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭ibFoxer

Decy Ryan FTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Ryan was my first thought alright, although promoting from the U-21s could make sense. Would they want Hogan back again though?

Colm Bonnar could maybe be in with a shout also? His time with Wexford's been poor enough but he showed with WIT that he can get results from good hurlers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Nicky English and Tommy Dunne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Actually scrap that, its going to be Babs with Justin Mac, Gerald Mac and Eddie Keher as selectors...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

You know now that i think of it i saw at least 2 articles recently where the players were saying how important it was not to change the managment & backroom team.

I would guess this has been in the wind for a little while by the looks of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Bugger me :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

F**k. Damn. Really gutted. As long as Babs or Leahy don't even dare submit there names then that would be a start.

I feel really sick to the bottom of stomach.

Well done to Liam Sheedy, Eamon O'Shea and Michael Ryan. You've done a fantastic job and transformed us around since 2007.

We need a big manager now and that certainly can't be Babs.

I can't think of anyone who will replace him.

Le King wrote: »
    F**k. Damn. Really gutted. As long as Babs or Leahy don't even dare submit there names then that would be a start.

Well done to Liam Sheedy, Eamon O'Shea and Michael Ryan. You've done a fantastic job and transformed us around since 2007.

in terms of coaches in this county there is very few to pick from. i think 2 or 3 of the 4 over the u21 would be the right choice and hopefully they will keep Cian O'Neill there too

lastly id like to thank the management for bringing us into the 20th century and for the great memories they have given us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

as a non tipp person i think it could be a shrewd move on his behalf.i know its a young coming team but he cant better what hes done this year so why wait another year or two and end up walking away on a disappointing note.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Live4Ever

He said he could no longer continue working 16 hour days....

Justin Mc is a class manager but I doubt a big team like Tipp would want him especially after what happened in the Wateford and Limerick camps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I'm shocked by his decision to go. Big boots to fill. There's only one man capable of equaling Sheedy's feat and that's Nicky English. However i dont think he would be willing to take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Sir Graball

Live4Ever wrote: »
    He said he could no longer continue working 16 hour days....

Kinda puts Cody's acheivements with 4 in a row into context doesn't it??
    grenache wrote: »
    I'm shocked by his decision to go. Big boots to fill. There's only one man capable of equaling Sheedy's feat and that's Nicky English. However i dont think he would be willing to take it.

How about Franc from Celebrity Banisteoir!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

I recommend a crack team of Babs and Ger McCarthy lads. Couldn't really go wrong!

Kinda puts Cody's acheivements with 4 in a row into context doesn't it??

No one ever questioned Brian Cody's achievement but Cody's profession is probably more suited to the role of a GAA manager then Sheedy, Michael Ryan or Eamon O'Shea.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

I'd say Babs Keating has contributed a little bit more to tipp hurling during his life than his county men that are slagging him off here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭buzsywuzsy

shocked to say the least :eek:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Not really shocked. He has had two very long years - all the way to september and he wants to go out on a high. Work commitments were obvioulsy an issue aswell and I hope Tip get the right manager as it would be a shame if that team do not win another McCarthy cup in the very near future - interesting times ahead.

J K wrote: »
    I'd say Babs Keating has contributed a little bit more to tipp hurling during his life than his county men that are slagging him off here.

Yes he has. But he has criticised a lot of players for his own personal agenda who didn't deserve the tripe he was writing about them. He's a bitter man and should be kept away from Semple until he stops writing rubbish.

No one will argue with Babs record as a player or manager, but some of his (and John Leahy's) comments were quite simply uncalled for and very very sad to see two legends reduced to that. John Leahy put hurling in Mullinahone, on the map and he wasnt even at the recent homecoming with the cup in the village where the first time ever a Mullinahone captain brought Liam McCarthy back to the village. a very very sad outcome and they have left a sour taste in the mouths of the Tipperary faithful

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

Yes he has. But he has criticised a lot of players for his own personal agenda who didn't deserve the tripe he was writing about them. He's a bitter man and should be kept away from Semple until he stops writing rubbish.

You're just discriminating against people that play with no boots :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

Babs has a habit of criticising players for all the wrong reasons. Tipp were always a fine side over the last few years and eventhough they hammered Kilkenny this year they were good enough to beat them in 2009 also. Babs never has anything constructive to say..he criticises the Cork players just as much. Babs cant have much to criticize now, Tipp just destroyed the greatest team in history by 8 points in an All Ireland final. He can put that in his pipe and smoke it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Sir Graball

No one ever questioned Brian Cody's achievement but Cody's profession is probably more suited to the role of a GAA manager then Sheedy, Michael Ryan or Eamon O'Shea.

Never said you did question it! And yes you have a point to some extent regarding the professions but that's all relative ! But all going for exactly the same reasons ?? I'm not into conspiracy theories but hey!! It's no secret sparks flew after the Cork defeat and there were rumblings in the County Board! Players were appealing ( Corbett for one) after the All-Ireland to keep things as they were so I wouldn't be that shocked by what's occured!! Ye've a great panel real prob for any manager will be keepin younger players in check! Bound to be a few big egos after the double win! Happens in all counties!! Those guys will need to be grounded for next Summer. That's the challange for any newbie and keep off the pressure from CB and supporters for sucessive AI's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭zinx

lastly id like to thank the management for bringing us into the 20th century and for the great memories they have given us.[/QUOTE]
    +1 to that.
    I'd say the thrashing Tipp got down in Cork this year was probally playing on his mind,added to the abuse he got from some of Tipps more feral supporters.:(

Pressure is a terrible cross to bear.

Imagine how happy ye lads would be if he managed a team to 7 all Irelands in 10 years like our lad did? Just puts Brian's achievements into perspective

Anyway enjoy your retirement Liam.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭dartsfan

Two questions:

1. What had Leahy to say about the team before the All-Ireland?

2. What is Sheedy's profession?

You're just discriminating against people that play with no boots :p
    No, Just people that talk s**t!

zinx wrote: »
    +1 to that.
    I'd say the thrashing Tipp got down in Cork this year was probally playing on his mind,added to the abuse he got from some of Tipps more feral supporters.:(

Imagine how happy ye lads would be if he managed a team to 7 all Irelands in 10 years like our lad did? Just puts Brian's achievements into perspective

Hey don't be ambushing this thread with your KK bull. Tipp lost to cork fair and square and twas all on the day. Liam got stick form a very very small minority so don't be talking sh*it that we wanted his head. i certainly thought he could do no wrong.

In what way is this thread about Cody?? Sheedy is a different man with a different job. How the f*ck could an all ireland winning manager be under any pressure other then that his family put on him to leave tipp hurling? you are a spoofer

Enjoy your little hollow victory and remember although Liam ain't here, THE CUP IS!!!!!!!

Up the Premier!!!!

dartsfan wrote: »
    Two questions:

1. What had Leahy to say about the team before the All-Ireland?
    leahy said Sheedy would regret pushing Cody and it would come baack to haunt him and before that stated that he and Babs and dropped two main men that Tipp were starting.

dartsfan wrote: »
    2. What is Sheedy's profession?

He works in the bank, for which i dont know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

he works for Bank Of Ireland recently got a big promotion think that has a lot to do with his decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭dartsfan

leahy said Sheedy would regret pushing Cody and it would come baack to haunt him and before that stated that he and Babs and dropped two main men that Tipp were starting.

Don't see too much wrong with that

Hey don't be ambushing this thread with your KK bull. Tipp lost to cork fair and square and twas all on the day. Liam got stick form a very very small minority so don't be talking sh*it that we wanted his head. i certainly thought he could do no wrong.

In what way is this thread about Cody?? Sheedy is a different man with a different job. How the f*ck could an all ireland winning manager be under any pressure other then that his family put on him to leave tipp hurling? you are a spoofer

Enjoy your little hollow victory and remember although Liam ain't here, THE CUP IS!!!!!!!

Up the Premier!!!!

This is a definite setback to the premier county.After waiting so long to get their hands on the cup,their messiah does a runner and leaves them in the lurch.:(
    Shades of Roy Keane circa 2002.

Liam,enjoy your retirement and congrats on winning the 2010 All Ireland*

*--Achieved through back door and against a weakened KK team.:D

"A mighty man was Liam,
    who finally delivered on his dream,
    Now he's jumped ship,
    couldn't handle the apes from Tipp,
    what now for his team?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

This is a definite setback to the premier county.After waiting so long to get their hands on the cup,their messiah does a runner and leaves them in the lurch.:(

"A mighty man was Liam,
    Now he's jumped ship,
    what now for his team?"

What in gods name are you talking about? Where's the similarities at all?

Actually I just read the rest of your post and the crap limerick and realised this is a pure wind up.

+1 to that.

what an absolute rubbish post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

"A mighty man was Liam,
    Now he's jumped ship,
    what now for his team?"
    with all due respect, that post is quality drivel! One has to be gracious in victory and magnanimous in defeat. You were beaten by the better team and whether they came through the front, back or side door is totally irrelevant. Comparing Sheedy to Keane is as ludicrious as it is laughable. You shouldn't lower yourself to that kind of post, you have a better contribution to make than that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

"A mighty man was Liam,
    Now he's jumped ship,
    what now for his team?"

Dont be so bitter just because ye got hammered by 1/3 of an U-21 team.

I am shocked by this news. In fairness to Sheedy he did unbelieveable work for us. Completely turned the premier around. Hopefully Tommy Dunne or whoever gets the job will be able to fill in his shoes.

grenache wrote: »
    with all due respect, that post is quality drivel! One has to be gracious in victory and magnanimous in defeat. You were beaten by the better team and whether they came through the front, back or side door is totally irrelevant. Comparing Sheedy to Keane is as ludicrious as it is laughable. You shouldn't lower yourself to that kind of post, you have a better contribution to make than that.

I've lost count of how many times I've congratulated Tipp in winning so I would consider myself gracious,FYI.

Both are high profile sportsmen and let down their teams.Keane couldn't handle the pressure and neither could Sheedy(He's quoted today saying that 16 hour days were too much for him) so they bolted.
    How is the comparison laughable?

And don't be such a condescending busybody,with all due respect.

It seriously goes to show that Cody is made of the right stuff,you would have to agree?

I've lost count of how many times I've congratulated Tipp in winning so I would consider myself gracious,FYI.

Both are high profile sportsmen and let down their teams.Keane couldn't handle the pressure and neither could Sheedy(He's quoted today saying that 16 hour days were too much for him) so they bolted.

It seriously goes to show that Cody is made of the right stuff,you would have to agree?

Maybe if the bank gave Sheedy summer holidays like Cody gets in his little school....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Just cos he resigned doesn't mean he is letting down the team. After coming in to fix the mess of Babs, turning the team around, and leaving with what he wanted, I think he should be allowed resign. He has family he needs to look after, that includes financially. Doubt he'd have enough holiday time from work to parade the trophey around.

Laughable comparison, and no, ya wouldn't have to agree when one gets the busiest time of the year free with paid holidays.

"A mighty man was Liam,
    Now he's jumped ship,
    what now for his team?"

Ha ha ha ha god your a very sad bitter individual. No substance whatsoever to some of your drivel. absolute hilarious. Did you ever do a 16 hour day incidentally?

and that back door argument, whats that about?? Considering we beat 4 of the strongest teams in leinster it shows how farcial hurling in the province is.

front door, sidedoor, skylight it doesnt matter a bit, the fact is on Sept 5th 2010, Tipperary became the all ireland senior hurling champions. you need to comes with that and as for considering yourself gracious you have too high an opinion of yourself.

Gerard.C wrote: »
    Maybe if the bank gave Sheedy summer holidays like Cody gets in his little school....

Firstly, his "little school" is one of the largest primary schools in Kilkenny and he also happens to be the principal. And as a result it's not a 9-3 job, and he would also have the shortest summer holidays compared to the other staff.
    Overall Sheedy might work more hours in the year than Cody but they wouldn't be too far apart, certainly not as much as some people have been suggesting. Furthermore you'd have to say fair play to Cody that he has been manager of KK for 12 seasons. You need alot of motivation and determination to be a manager of a team that everyone expects to be no. 1 every year.

I don't think Sheedy and Keane can be compared. Keane was a professional sportsman but Sheedy is involved in an amateur sport. Putting bread on the table has to come first before the GAA.
    It's unfortunate that Sheedy resigned as I can imagine there would have been some great battles for the next few years between Tipp and KK if he continued on.

Ha ha ha ha god your a very sad bitter individual. No substance whatsoever to some of your drivel. absolute hilarious. Did you ever do a 16 hour day incidentally?

and that back door argument, whats that about?? Considering we beat 4 of the strongest teams in leinster it shows how farcial hurling in the province is.

front door, sidedoor, skylight it doesnt matter a bit, the fact is on Sept 5th 2010, Tipperary became the all ireland senior hurling champions. you need to comes with that and as for considering yourself gracious you have too high an opinion of yourself.

He might have spent 16 hours coming up with his little song, that'd be the height of it i'd say!

Firstly, his "little school" is one of the largest primary schools in Kilkenny and he also happens to be the principal. And as a result it's not a 9-3 job, and he would also have the shortest summer holidays compared to the other staff.
    Overall Sheedy might work more hours in the year than Cody but they wouldn't be too far apart, certainly not as much as some people have been suggesting. Furthermore you'd have to say fair play to Cody that he has been manager of KK for 12 seasons. You need alot of motivation and determination to be a manager of a team that everyone expects to be no. 1 every year.

Why would you have to say fair play to Cody in a thread about Sheedy resigning?

Gerard.C wrote: »
    Why would you have to say fair play to Cody in a thread about Sheedy resigning?

And why were you talking about "Cody and his little school" in a thread about Liam Sheedy retiring :rolleyes: