Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bomb in Derry - No injuries reported

• 04-10-2010 11:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭

Bomb just gone off beside Da Vincis Hotel in Derry. Hearing it from friends on facebook. Explosion could be heard around the city. Hope no one was hurt :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

I only care about stuff that happens in Ireland, thanks for the update though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

seems they blew up ulster bank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭TheReverend

scrapsmac wrote: »
    Bomb just gone off beside Da Vincis Hotel in Derry. Hearing it from friends on facebook. Explosion could be heard around the city. Hope no one was hurt :(

Any news reports, is it confirmed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

the last thing we need:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

I don't care which 'side' it is - whoever did it, whatever their cause - it's idiotic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

If you google 'bomb derry' there is a live Twitter feed at the top of the page with updates.

The feed is saying it was Ulster Bank (which is by the hotel).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

On twitter,it says its Ulster Bank hit

Oh great. Glad there's a legitimate news source behind this like the people on twitter...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

It was a controlled explosion

Don't you mean Londonderry OP?

Reports of a major bomb in Derry, outside Ulster Bank. Guess they weren't joking when they said they'd hit the bankers. ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,694 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Sheeps wrote: »

Where's that? near London?

Oh great. Glad there's a legitimate news source behind this like the people on twitter...

I'm not a huge twitter fan, but you'd think we were living in the days of carrier pigeons based on how slowly the Irish Times updates their website.

Well since Twitter is pretty accurate to the basic happenings,I wouldnt say its 100% but its accurate.

And at the end of the day its quicker and more reliable than the RTE website!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

digme wrote: »
    seems they blew up ulster bank

Ah yes, that famous military installation..the ulster bank. :rolleyes:
    Take on someone that can shoot back ya stupid shower of cowardly w@nkers!

CPL 593H

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Oh wow, look at you trying to be cool. Hear what he said lads? He said he only cares about Ireland. Look at how cool he is, not caring about what happens in Derry. See what he's doing there, is saying "Oh it's only Northern Ireland" as if it has nothing at all to do with our history. That's really smart and clever, and very, very funny. I bet you're super popular and have loads of friends all because of how cool and funny you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'm confused. I thought blowing up banks was the fantasy de jour?
    Archimedes wrote: »
    Oh wow, look at you trying to be cool. Hear what he said lads? He said he only cares about Ireland. Look at how cool he is, not caring about what happens in Derry. See what he's doing there, is saying "Oh it's only Northern Ireland" as if it has nothing at all to do with our history. That's really smart and clever, and very, very funny. I bet you're super popular and have loads of friends all because of how cool and funny you are.

Are you trying to say he's not funny?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Quit trolling.
    twat

No abuse.

twat

Bye! :D

Archimedes wrote: »
    exactly the reaction the poster was looking for lol keep feeding him :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

No its Derry City/City of Derry, Co. Londonderry

lmao

stovelid wrote: »

Could have been a bodged robbery, "you're only supposed to blow the bloody doors off!"

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

lmao
    If you insist. Banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

stovelid wrote: »

Wait. Now I'm totally confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Any reports of any casualties at all? Hopefully there's no one badly hurt.

furiousox wrote: »
    Take on someone that can shoot back ya stupid shower of cowardly w@nkers!
    you don't need a military to take down countries nowadays :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Mankyspuds

After all of the violence that has happened, after all of the men, women and children dying over the years!!!!

SHAME ON YOU!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭kielmanator

lads i cant find a tap on this? Is this BS or is this real?

can someone link me to something?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

furiousox wrote: »
    I wonder is it the same group that liked robbing post-offices down here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

If this is a symbolic RIRA strike at banks to win support = pathetic.

Only a twitter feed now as far as I can tell...

don't worry young fella, kate burley the terorist will be on terorist news shortly with a flash of her tities followed by some sort of gossip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Mankyspuds wrote: »
    After all of the violence that has happened, after all of the men, women and children dying over the years!!!!

SHAME ON YOU!!!!!

http://images.mirror.co.uk/upl/m3/may2008/2/9/33ED5ED5-A9B3-1544-E4B3813109CAF4E6.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Ok, I've been following things as much as poss. ( live in central Europe so not as in tune as normal) and the north seems like it's going to kick off again anytime soon. My own speculation that boredom will cause it, rather than a real belief in ' the cause'

Also , where do people expect to get support from, terrorism now is a huge no no. The yankee dollars won't be there this time.

Maybe I'm just reading too much into things though .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Provisionally

The bomb exploded at the Ulster Bank across from the Da Vinci Hotel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭dobsdave

I'm on the other side of the river(maybe 2miles away), and that was really loud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Mankyspuds

The bomb exploded at the Ulster Bank across from the Da Vinci Hotel.
    <--- inside source have ya buddy? lol

don't worry young fella, kate burley the terorist will be on terorist news shortly with a flash of her tities followed by some sort of gossip.

who the feck is kate burley? and I'm not young I'm twenty fyi!:pac:

I've looked in the usual places, can't find anything either. News organisations usually wait for a police statement or reliable witness before reporting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭high heels

Will the yanks lift there european terror alert now? the strike has been done that they were on about!!

who the feck is kate burley? and I'm not young I'm twenty fyi!:pac:
    :) she's murders people on telly at 5pm

high heels wrote: »
    Will the yanks lift there european terror alert now? the strike has been done that they were on about!!
    not till "they" blow something up

sure look at the Germans they killed in Pakistan today with a "drone attack" on the poor sods. Saying that they were Taliban. The worlds gone mad. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Provisionally

Also the Mandarin Palace has just gone up in flames!

:(

NOOOOOOOOO!

s25705004_33044891_9432_normal.jpg&h=48&w=48&usg=__KYK4X9ADivNCLMrDks264v5U4iA=Tpurnell‎: About to make a bomb salad: spinach and blu cheese dressing #great.
    Twitter - seconds ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Also the Mandarin Palace has just gone up in flames!

:(

NOOOOOOOOO!

FFS Will someone please tell me whats going on before I headbutt me monitor!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭thomasj

:) she's murders people on telly at 5pm

Is she on aljazeera or something like that? I've never heard of her? I know of Kay burley though on sky.