Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wonder Woman - reboot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Hopefully it'll be better than the dire Knight Rider meets Transformers meets soft porn car crash.

Mind you, I'm not exactly hopeful.

If they got off their asses and rooted out the decent old shows - Midnight Caller, The Greatest American Hero, etc - and stopped showing reality rubbish and endless repeats, maybe telly would be worth watching again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

The Greatest American Hero was cheesy and camp as hell, i'm not sure if a reboot would take off (no pun intended).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Johnmb

The Greatest American Hero was cheesy and camp as hell, i'm not sure if a reboot would take off (no pun intended).
    It would work if it was done along the same mix of humour as something like Chuck. The problem is that they'd be more likely to either turn it into a completely camp show, or a completely straight show, neither of which would really work for the premise imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭roboshatner

I heard that David E.Kelley is writing it.

Can I just say that she looks so hot its not even funny.

http://www.tanitphoenix.co.za/modelling.php?ct=3

Judge for yourself....... :)

A cross between Maggie Q and Summer Glau...i'm in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭jacool

I'm joining the, as of now, orderly queue. Hurry up lads!

wow buddy easy there this really hot girl looks nothing like maggie and summer glau.

I even go as far as to say that if you posted that comment about summer glau in a Firefly Fan thread they would tear you apart ha ha
    A cross between Maggie Q and Summer Glau...i'm in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

tanit-phoenix-13564.jpg

i had to look her up but yes please

Super hot she is wow.

Seen the Lost Boys 3 there and shes in her bra and panties in it.

Oh yes Wonder Women use your invisible whip in order to get me to tell the truth.

I can see it now

Her Running

Cue the Theme Tune

Who needs Baywatch

Looks like Ign did a babe of the day on her emmmm

http://ie.stars.ign.com/articles/113/1133982p1.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭Antomus Prime

Oh yes Wonder Women use your invisible whip in order to get me to tell the truth.

Her whip was golden, it was her Jet that was invisible............ Couldn't imagine getting spanked by that would be too pleasant................ lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

I just came in here because I sensed someone mentioned Summer Glau.

On a related note: I would.

OisinT wrote: »
    I just came in here because I sensed someone mentioned Summer Glau.

On a related note: I would.

You're not on your own there Ois.....

http://www.deadline.com/2011/01/tv-wonder-woman-not-going-at-this-time/

No Tanit Pheonix then...... :(

The TV reboot of Wonder Woman is being postponed. David E. Kelley's high-profile take on the female superhero has been shelved after not landing a deal at a broadcast network because of what sources called unfortunate timing. The project hails from DC sibling Warner Bros. TV where Kelley is based with an overall deal. The Practice creator Kelley had been looking to do a contemporary take on the World War II-era Amazon, and at the end of September, he met with the DC team, who also had been looking for ways to launch a new Wonder Woman TV franchise. Soon after the meeting, Kelley started working on a pilot script, which, like his other recent projects, was written on spec. The script was reportedly taken out to the broadcast networks on Wednesday night. Fox and ABC passed, while WBTV's sister network the CW could not afford it. While the project was never considered a fit for Fox and was taken to the network mostly out of curtesy, the ABC pass was more politically motivated. With its empowered female lead, Wonder Woman seems well suited for for the network, but word is a potential DC-Marvel clash got in the way. ABC parent Disney acquired Marvel last year for $4 billion, and ABC and Marvel have been busy developing Marvel properties, including a Hulk series with Guillermo del Toro and David Eick and an adaptation of a Marvel female superhero, Jessica Jones, with Twilight writer Melissa Rosenberg. This left CBS and NBC in play. I hear the CBS executive team was split, while the fluid situation at NBC where new programming chief Bob Greenblatt is yet to take the reins, made it impossible to get the type of license fee that the studio was seeking in order to do the show Kelley had envisioned. So a decision was made not to go with the show at this time. The script may be taken out again in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90,227 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Will she be a lawyer with special powers considering Kelley is involved :p

I remember seeing ages ago on another board someone suggesting Firefly alums Nathan Fillion and Morena Baccarin as Steve Trevor and Diana Prince if they were on board I'd watch

Ara jaysus!...McG to direct the pilot??....he ruined Terminator and Charlie's Angels, ffs!

http://www.deadline.com/2011/01/mcg-to-direct-nbcs-wonder-woman-pilot/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

Ara jaysus!...McG to direct the pilot??....he ruined Terminator and Charlie's Angels, ffs!

He's done some good pilots before so I wouldn't be too bothered tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,617 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I don't think the direction ruined those movies, dude. The script and story did that allllllll by themselves.

He has produced shows like Supernatural, Nikita, Human Target, and Chuck, so I wouldn't be too worried about his involvement. I'd be more concerned with who the showrunner and writers (other than Kelley) are, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭DeWitt

Adrianne Palicki fo Wonder Woman!!

adrianne_palicki.jpg

Details on the pilot so expect spoilers: http://www.thefutoncritic.com/news/2011/02/01/nbcs-wonder-woman-pilot-10-questions-answered-712002/9118/

^ just read the synopsis...jesus, this sounds TERRIBLE!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭J-blk

Details on the pilot so expect spoilers: http://www.thefutoncritic.com/news/2011/02/01/nbcs-wonder-woman-pilot-10-questions-answered-712002/9118/

^ just read the synopsis...jesus, this sounds TERRIBLE!!!!!!

Yikes, that sounds brutal. I didn't have high hopes to begin with but that synopsis makes it sound woefully sh*te (and completely unrelated to anything we know about Wonder Woman from the comic books really). Don't think I'll even be able to get through one episode of this...

Christ that sounds bad. Futurama were bang on with their "Single Female Lawyer" parody of Kelley's work. That script sounds like if they took Ally McBeal, Ugly Betty and Birds of Prey and stuck them in a TV show blender.
    Diana is mortal and can't fly? Jebus.

http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/ustv/news/a303554/wonder-woman-to-have-three-identities.html

NBC has revealed that its new Wonder Woman series will add a third identity to the superhero's life.
    According to TV Guide, the series will give Wonder Woman three separate identities. The first will be that of Wonder Woman herself, while the second will be Diana Prince, Wonder Woman's civilian alter ego from the comic books. Meanwhile, the third identity will be that of Diana Themyscira, the CEO of Themyscira Industries.
    In addition, Wonder Woman will have a separate love interest for each identity: Henry Demeter, Diana Themyscira's confidante, Ed Indelicato, a man with ties to the police and Steve Trevor, Wonder Woman's boyfriend in the comics.
    Producers recently began the search for the series's lead, calling for a "muscular actress in her late 20s to 30s with flowing black hair and blue eyes who is able to kick butt".
    The Wonder Woman series has been developed by David E. Kelley, the writer behind Ally McBeal and Boston Legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,137 ✭✭✭✭Stark

What happened to that Joss Whedon Wonder Woman film?

After reading the above article, I can honestly say any hopes I have had for this show have gone completely out the window!!!!!!

http://insidetv.ew.com/2011/02/16/wonder-woman-revealed/

NBC has found its Wonder Woman. Friday Night Lights star Adrianne Palicki has landed the coveted lead role in the broadcaster’s reboot of the classic 1970s series.

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    http://insidetv.ew.com/2011/02/16/wonder-woman-revealed/

NBC has found its Wonder Woman. Friday Night Lights star Adrianne Palicki has landed the coveted lead role in the broadcaster’s reboot of the classic 1970s series.

I'm OK with this, she's beautiful, tall! (like 5` 10"), strong, sassy....has the acting chops, she could pull this off.

DeWitt wrote: »
    Adrianne Palicki fo Wonder Woman!!

adrianne_palicki.jpg

Wooo!! Super delighted for Adrianne. A lot of great casting lately. First Henry Cavill as Supes and now Palicki as Wonder Woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭TonyD79

DeWitt wrote: »
    Wooo!! Super delighted for Adrianne. A lot of great casting lately. First Henry Cavill as Supes and now Palicki as Wonder Woman.

She was in Smallville as well but think she might struggle when compared to Linda Carter. Can see this going the way of the Bionic Woman remake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭Lirange

TonyD79 wrote: »
    Can see this going the way of the Bionic Woman remake

Michelle Ryan wasn't dressed in tights! :pac:

At any rate there's still good eye candy as a consolation even if the short lived flameout predictions turn out to be accurate. Poor execution may hurt it but low expectations won't. Wonder Woman will get more of an initial following than BW did due to the comicon crowd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Johnmb

Lirange wrote: »
    Wonder Woman will get more of an initial following than BW did due to the comicon crowd.
    Yeah, but the Comicon crowd don't seem to be included in the all-important Nielsen crowd so they won't be counted for ratings, if they were there'd be a lot more sci-fi doing well on TV.

TonyD79 wrote: »
    She was in Smallville as well but think she might struggle when compared to Linda Carter. Can see this going the way of the Bionic Woman remake

She was Supernatural also

I think Adrianne will have a bigger following/fanbase (FNL fans) so the show might do better than Michelle Ryan's Bionic Woman and the pilot is going to be directed by Jeffrey Reiner (the main director on Friday Night Lights for the first three seasons before going on to direct the pilots for Caprica, Trauma and The Event)

Now who to play Steve Trevor? Steven Strait comes to my mind ;)

What?....are they taking the p*ss with this casting?

Liz Hurley has confirmed that she has joined the cast of NBC's Wonder Woman pilot.

The project, written by David E. Kelley, will star Friday Night Lights actress Adrianne Palicki as the costumed hero.

In a post on Twitter, Hurley wrote: "Thrilled to be doing the NBC pilot Wonder Woman."

She also confirmed that she will be playing the lead character's nemesis, adding: "I'll be playing the evil villain. Can't wait."

Hurley's past acting credits include film roles in 1997's Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery and 2000's Bedazzled. Her last television appearance was in 1996 television film Samson and Delilah.

Caprica director Jeffrey Reiner is expected to helm the Wonder Woman pilot, which is under consideration for NBC's 2011-12 television season.

^ farcical casting.

She was very good as the Devil so it's going to be interesting.

Hmmm they're in the process of getting her a working visa. I'm intrigued by this castins, and I'll admit 'Bedazzled' is a guilty pleasure of mine.

Pedro Pascal, who has been recurring on CBS' The Good Wife, is the latest actor to join David E. Kelley's Wonder Woman reboot for NBC. The project stars Adrianne Palicki as comic book heroine Wonder Woman/Diana Themyscira/Diana Price who is a successful corporate executive working to balance all of the elements in her complicated life. Pascal will play a liaison to the police department who is devoted and loyal to Diana. Pascal is the third actor cast in Wonder Woman in the past 24 hours, following deals for Tracie Thoms as a regular and Elizabeth Hurley as guest star.

Source: Deadline (can it Darko!)

Source
    Pedro Pascal had been cast in David E. Kelley's Wonder Woman pilot. He'll play Ed Indelicato, a police officer who befriends Wonder Woman.
    New York-based Pascal has had recurring roles in The Good Wife and FX's Lights Out.
    Adrianne Palicki (Friday Night Lights) will star as Wonder Woman/Diana Themyscira, while Tracie Thoms (Cold Case) will play Etta, Diana's personal assistant.
    If British model-turned-actress Elizabeth Hurley can work out visa issues, she'll play villainess Veronica Cale, which is planned as a recurring character.

Elizabeth-Hurley-and-Pedro-Pascal.jpg

^ we're the only ones doing the work here Liz!...just wanna say i personally appreciate all your effort and news hounding :-)

Is he the love interest, or are they still casting that?

Cary Elwes has joined the cast. So excited by this casting choose. Big Westley fan here.

http://www.deadline.com/2011/03/cary-elwes-joins-nbcs-wonder-woman/
    EXCLUSIVE: Cary Elwes is set to co-star opposite Adrienne Palicki in David E. Kelley's Wonder Woman reboot for NBC. The project stars Palicki as comic book heroine Wonder Woman/Diana Themyscira/Diana Prince, who is a successful corporate executive working to balance all the elements of her complicated life. Elwes will play Henry Detmer, the acting CEO of Themyscira Industries, who is deeply devoted to Diana. He runs the day-to-day operations of the company and acts like an uncle to Diana, though he could be a possible love interest down the line.

http://screenrant.com/jim-caviezel-person-interest-cary-elwes-wonder-woman-sandy-104608/

Wonder Woman’s return to the small screen has been picking up steam lately as well, between the casting of Palicki as the titular heroine, Elizabeth Hurley as the villainous Veronica Cale, Tracie Thoms as Diana’s perky assistant Etta, and now Gary Elwes as the acting CEO of Themyscira Industries, Henry Detmer.

What the hell did they do to Adrianne's face? I mean for feck sake she looks bloated/constipated. I'd prefer to see it in action before I comment on the costume, this promo shot is way too polished/cartoony for my liking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Reheated sh*te is still sh*te....oh, hang on, Bewbs....

Lol, did you read the comments under the pic. It's basically, "boobies....boobies...awesome boobies....fake boobies".

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

I think the photo makes her looks like a man, wearing one of those cheap novelty Halloween costumes you can get from the internet. Good advertisement though for why comics just can't be taken seriously, especially when it comes to female characterisation.

After seeing that image I think I'm actually looking forward to the Charlie's Angels reboot more.

I dont like the new costume at all, yeah it's sexy and all but it look like a cheap halloween costume!!! Get rid of the leggings and just leave it with red boots like her original costume..................... If it's not broke, don't fix it!!!!