Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting the itch again (for a "new" classic)

• 29-09-2010 7:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭

o/

We're at the stage again where we (family of four-kids are young) are looking for a new set of wheels.

I've done the classic thing myself before-but we were by necessity a two car family then. I have company transport now so the mileage would be limited to school runs and weekend duty, roughly 5k a year.

So, I'll be selling the family car soon, and have bought a banger to tool around in in the meantime while I get it ready for sale.

Here's the kicker though, it will be stored on a driveway, so I want something that I don't have to worry about dissolving under me!

30 year rule applies, and insurance isn't an issue.

She wants a mini (love 'em, but too small), I love the honest to godness of a 2cv, but a hard car to live with on the occasional long journey, trip to the uk etc.

I also like the idea of a big burbler, but herself hates the idea of low mpg:(

Budget, I'm thinking around 4k. I'm also swaying in the direction of a Beetle.

Any ideas, folks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

A 123 series Merc, car/estate option, petrol and diesel. It's about the most practical car for everyday use really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

There probably wont be rear seatbelts in your new 30+ year old car,and with kids you should maybe fit some.
    You should look into something bigger than a beetle,as road tax wont be an issue and you will have room for kids. A beetle or 2cv would be a killer on long journeys.
    The 123 mercedes is a good idea alright,once you buy a good one. There is diesel ones out there too,but they are not so common.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

you're from Cork...has to be a Ford (its the law)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

I likes Ford and Mercs ;)

You're right though chaps.

The girls are in boosters atm, so I was looking at either rear belts, or thinking along the lines of some sorta isofix retrofit (think the belts will be easier tbh).

Thanks so far, please keep 'em coming. My first thought was a Scimitar tbh (due the fibreglass body), but I haven't run that by by the War Office yet, and it would want to be a sorted one.

As Corky says,an MK2 Granada or a Cortina wouldnt be a bad choice either? Big comfy and spares arent impossible to find.

And value for money, and a known quantity.

Escort mania is a different matter when it comes to Fords and market values. Nostalgia has it's own price too :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Roundy,

How about this yoke, they're BOXY but they're good.
    http://www.carandclassic.com/car/C182412/

Rear seat belts for the kids too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭DarenO

You haven't mentioned budget yet as I've two under two and a half and I'll be looking for classic transportation at weekends and those days when I fancy a change from the Volvo in a couple of years time. Mercedes in terms of availability, price, parts what about a Rover P5B or an XJ6 for something slightly different on the school run.

It's in the OP daren, around 4 large:)

Thanks midlands and others, I'll check back in tomorrow evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭2cv

I completely disagree! ;) (here's a surprise LOL)

A 2CV is great on long distances... ok it might take you a bit longer to get there, but you'd still beat a Morris Minor (granted, it's about the only thing you'd beat) :D

I've driven all over Europe in a 2CV and it was fun. Kids tend to love it because of its odd shape, and don't forget it's a convertible :)

600cc of raw power.... rather you than me....:D

corktina wrote: »
    600cc of raw power.... rather you than me....:D

xcuse me... 602cc :D

If you were handy with a welder and spanners you could do this...

There's one in Holland as well :-)

2cv wrote: »
    xcuse me... 602cc :D

oops my bad....:D

the 2 extra cc make all the difference though :p

my wife said a couple of extra centimetres would be nice, cubic or otherwise..:(

HAHAHAHAHA

TMI :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

I'm thinking if you could get one on your budget, a nice 107 SLC would be a lovely runabout!

An SL would be a squeeze (budget wise too) but there's loads of room in the back of an SLC.

Here's one for under 4K:

1796101-1.jpg

http://www.pistonheads.com/sales/1796101.htm

Just take the badge off the back and tell your missis it's a 280 and does 25mpg. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Itsfixed

Hi Roundymooney,

your dilemma is one I've pondered too. Here are my suggestions:

Merc W123 estate
    Volvo Amazon - estate if you can find one
    Volvo 144
    Saab 99 or early 900
    BMW 5 series e12
    Citroen CX
    BMW 3 series E21
    Early Golf GTI mk1 (rare, though)
    Renault 16
    Citroen GS or GSA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

DarenO wrote: »
    You haven't mentioned budget yet as I've two under two and a half and I'll be looking for classic transportation at weekends and those days when I fancy a change from the Volvo in a couple of years time. Mercedes in terms of availability, price, parts what about a Rover P5B or an XJ6 for something slightly different on the school run.

I know it's slightly off-topic, but did your cousin ever sell that 960 in the end?

2cv wrote: »
    I completely disagree! ;) (here's a surprise LOL)

A 2CV is great on long distances... ok it might take you a bit longer to get there, but you'd still beat a Morris Minor (granted, it's about the only thing you'd beat) :D

I've driven all over Europe in a 2CV and it was fun. Kids tend to love it because of its odd shape, and don't forget it's a convertible :)

I agree with you! She thinks it looks like a noddy car, the cheek of her ;)

My old science teacher bought one a while back, a mid eighties charleston(?), had a chat with him over a pint about it one night, and he spoke very highly of it. It's his daily driver.
    Dades wrote: »
    I'm thinking if you could get one on your budget, a nice 107 SLC would be a lovely runabout!

http://www.pistonheads.com/sales/1796101.htm

Just take the badge off the back and tell your missis it's a 280 and does 25mpg. ;)

She'd suss it after the first week, but cocooned in leather like that, probably wouldn't care;)

That *is* a beautiful bus in fairness!
    Itsfixed wrote: »
    Hi Roundymooney,

your dilemma is one I've pondered too. Here are my suggestions:

Merc W123 estate
    Volvo Amazon - estate if you can find one
    Volvo 144
    Saab 99 or early 900
    BMW 5 series e12
    Citroen CX
    BMW 3 series E21
    Early Golf GTI mk1 (rare, though)
    Renault 16
    Citroen GS or GSA

Thank you:)

She saw a capri on Eastbenders tonight and tells me she wants one. Likes the headlights apparently...

Twould have to be a 79 or 80 to meet that criteria, though. Corktina, you're not alone in your love for the blue oval:)

On another note, is it me, or have classic prices gone through the floor over here? No surprise in that, but still, a fair drop in values in the last three years from what I can see.

She saw a capri on Eastbenders tonight and tells me she wants one. Likes the headlights apparently...

Twould have to be a 79 or 80 to meet that criteria, though. Corktina, you're not alone in your love for the blue oval:).
    Theres plenty of Crappys around to choose from at least,and parts availibility is good,only balls to my mind is welded on front wings,why oh why did ford do it on a car with wings as big as they are? Is it a structural thing,like the MK1 Fiesta?

On another note, is it me, or have classic prices gone through the floor over here? No surprise in that, but still, a fair drop in values in the last three years from what I can see.
    I agree,things have got a bit more sensible,though there is still dreamers out there!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Porsche 924 tick's all the boxes, imho, and is as cheap as chips to run.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

They're a lot cheaper than I thought, but the room in the back is minimal :(

I'll have a poke around and throw a few options out to the floor, 'bout time I did a bit of legwork on this myself anyway.

Anyone wanna buy a fully loaded C5?, No? Oh well;)

edit to clarify; not an Audi unfortunately ;)

Just to give others an idea of what's out there, all 4k or under, cheap tax, and 4 seats;

Merc 280ce, tax free status a year away though: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1601133

76 Capri: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1589309

79 Scirocco, in fairness to the seller has flagged it as "needing attention":http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1596812

Timewarp 626, or looks like it at least: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1594056

Very nice looking manta, slightly overbudget:http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1594050

Sc mitar (note the missing "i"), but looks fine otherwise: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1533654

The manta's my fav. in that list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

MidlandsM wrote: »
    The manta's my fav. in that list.

Looks stunning - a bargain if it's as good as it looks

The number plates would have to go though :rolleyes: :D

How are they for the tinworm, I wonder. I know the later ones weren't bad at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

Peugeot 504.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Yeah , Manta is the nicest car there. 280CE with soft top looks handmade. Buy a proper one (like mine). No need for a soft top in this country and I'd even avoid a sunroof in one if you want to avoid leaks !! Great car;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭manta mad

How are they for the tinworm, I wonder. I know the later ones weren't bad at all.

that manta is in very good condition & for 4500 ,its a good price considering nothing has to be done with it !!!

and pre 86 for a manta if yer looking for one as the later ones ( exclusives )
    rusted like hell !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

and preferably without a factory fitted steel sunroof .......

a series mantas are a bugger to rust from inside out & unless its had a rebuild or been locked up & minded ,be careful or you,ll get really friendly with a welder ! :rolleyes:

again the b series mantas are mostly the same ,but faired better ( pre 86 )
    battery tray ,wheel archs ,spare wheel well ,a pillars & inner wings are the areas to look at & out for :cool:

Manta A's are a handsome vehicle though.

The reason I sold the TR7 that time, was out of fear of it rusting, as it was stored on a driveway. It had spent most of it's 30 years in a garage in London up to that point.

The person who bought it, like me, kept it outdoors, it's now suffering because of that sadly, even with ziebarting from the factory.

Maybe I'm being overly obsessive about it, I'm sure some of you keep your cars outdoors with no issues.

Thanks again:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Just to give others an idea of what's out there, all 4k or under, cheap tax, and 4 seats;

Merc 280ce, tax free status a year away though: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1601133

76 Capri: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1589309

79 Scirocco, in fairness to the seller has flagged it as "needing attention":http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1596812

Timewarp 626, or looks like it at least: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1594056

Very nice looking manta, slightly overbudget:http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1594050

Sc mitar (note the missing "i"), but looks fine otherwise: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1533654

oh oh buy the manta a

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Manta A's are a handsome vehicle though.

The reason I sold the TR7 that time, was out of fear of it rusting, as it was stored on a driveway. It had spent most of it's 30 years in a garage in London up to that point.

The person who bought it, like me, kept it outdoors, it's now suffering because of that sadly, even with ziebarting from the factory.

Maybe I'm being overly obsessive about it, I'm sure some of you keep your cars outdoors with no issues.

Thanks again:)

i drive my 633 4 days outa 7 wand she loves it , cars only go in my garage to be worked on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,090 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Stay well away from a 2CV! Have you seen the youtube video where a line of old cars is rear-ended by a truck? (just did a quick search and couldn't find it...) The 2CV was the first car the truck hit, and it was quite simply flattened from tail to tip - as in it disappeared!

Not your ornery onager

Here it is, being at the back of the line didn't help, but the car literally disappeared!

Roundy,

I saw the other day a SAAB 99 Turbo, 79', within budget on a uk classic car site - would tick yer box's....

will try find it and link......

edit, found it - http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C186411/

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Way off topic but anyone know what the forward control machine is next to the Saab?
    1615861.jpg

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭PaulK_CCI

Roundy,

I saw the other day a SAAB 99 Turbo, 79', within budget on a uk classic car site - would tick yer box's....

will try find it and link......

edit, found it - http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C186411/

Whenever I need to fall back on any of my classics, I usually pick my 83 900 Turbo for blasting up down the country. A 99 Turbo would almost be similar in that respect as it has the classic status, it's comfortable (some of the best seats even by today's standard), quick (!! that Turbo spinning is pretty addictive), all parts can be still be found and are not overly expensive, they're very reliable, very roomy, plenty of space in the back and a boot so big, you can live in it!! And I guess they could hack it a lot better outdoors, then any british, french, italian or german steel. Of course they have their flaws and they do also rust, but it's all a lot more manageable if a car checks out. That black UK car, if it really is as good as it seems, would be excellent value for money, as they tend to go for a lot more...

I'm lovin that Saab, very tempted meself. Must resist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭Do-more

Roundy,

How about this yoke, they're BOXY but they're good.
    http://www.carandclassic.com/car/C182412/

Rear seat belts for the kids too.

I'd second a Swedish brick, there are loads of even the older model 140 being used as daily runners here in Sweden so I guess it will stand being stored outside.

You mentioned that you would like a big banger engine and their is a large community of Volvo owners who have transplanted small block Ford V8s, you also have a big selection of later Volvo engines which can be transplanted quite easily and if you are worried about fuel economy you have plenty of boot space for an LPG tank or possibilities to transplant a TD engine, Volvo used a VAG TD in some models so you have various possibilities which will mate up to Volvo gearboxes and engine mounts which are freely available. You also have various possibilities to upgrade suspension and brakes from the later models.

invest4deepvalue.com

shawnee wrote: »
    280CE with soft top looks handmade. Buy a proper one (like mine). No need for a soft top in this country and I'd even avoid a sunroof in one if you want to avoid leaks !! Great car;)
    Agree that softtop does look handmade and would avoid like the plague.

Completely disagree about not needing (or worth having) a soft top in this country. Just don't buy a leaky one or insist on having the sun splitting the rocks before dropping the top. :)

Roundy, out of that bunch I like the Sc mitar.

I'm keeping an I on it (sorry).

One of two things need to happen though, I need to sell my own car, or cash in some shares, I blew most of my savings on a major house renovation, so for the moment I'm back to being a pauper again.

I hope to buy in the next month or two though, and it will deffo be a classic, I've won that particular battle:)

I'll keep the thread updated as I go.

edit: the junker bought as a "bridging" car is a Suzuki Baleno saloon, 98, and it's a willing little thing. I only paid a couple of hundred for it!

Just saw this beauty this morning...

Okay a bit left field and 1985 - but one I always loved...

honda-civic-0721450001286289978.jpg

No idea what the back seats are like though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭TigerTim

Just saw this beauty this morning...

Okay a bit left field and 1985 - but one I always loved...

honda-civic-0721450001286289978.jpg

No idea what the back seats are like though!

From what I remember, the rear seat was just like a bench. Smashing car but Sterling + the VRT could make it seriously expensive.

T.

Aye and the yearly tax!

Rolling exemption ftw though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭oldfella

only thing against manta is its aotomatic..that 76 capri looks good on donedeal and has rear seat belts....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭Do-more

No expert, but I believe they had very soft camshafts prone to wear.

invest4deepvalue.com