Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Users Meeting?

• 29-09-2010 1:36am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭

Mods,
    I do not know how to approach this, however, the recent post by yank_in_eire got me wondering. If this is an inappropriate use of the forum - sorry, delete it and please advise how I go about seeing if anyone else is interested.

Have the users of the board ever decided to get together at a Pub and meet up? Could be useful.

There seems to be a lot of people that: would like a bit of company, a bit of help, some advice, some tips, what not.

I'll put a poll to see where you might be able to travel. I will also put Longford Town as a separate choice as it's right in the middle.

As for me, you'll find me anywhere on the road from the Franciscan in Cork, through Nancy Blake's in Limerick, past the Dog and Duck, in and around Longford and Ballymoe!

Is there any interest?

Where's Best For You 39 votes

North
    0% 0 votes
    South
    12% 5 votes
    East
    35% 14 votes
    West
    38% 15 votes
    Longford
    12% 5 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Where's the button for NOWHERE.

This was tried last year and went the way of a lot of idea's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Good idea Fisma but the Irish attitude towards such is too negative. Too many maybes/idks and such. At the end all them then no one shows up. I tried to open up a gunclub in my area, what a joke that was and the answers were just unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Thomasofmel

It's a good idea alright - but as previous posts - will probably never happen here in Ireland. Best places to meet fellow shooters is in gun clubs / ranges and the odd time in the field. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

I think the reason the last one went south was because we were all agreeing to meet up at a range and when the discussion went further on people being able to try out one and others different calibres it was a big no no. It also went from people meeting up to firing at a few clays or targets to nearly all discussion about target shooting.

I dont mind traveling as long as i get enough notice and it is not entirely rifle shooting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

im game .... as long as its a good pub:D

The east always gets the majority:rolleyes: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

C'mon lads. Who would have ever thought it would sooooo difficult to get people out to the pub.

I'm not asking for a shoot, was just thinking about heading to the pub and maybe meeting a few people.

It's more of a networking thing. I have hunting needs that others probably find trivial and could help with. Likewise, when I read the boards, people wanting stuff, I often think about how easy it would be for me to help them.

Fair enough lads, life does happen. Our time is limited, mine especially.

Again, it was just a thought.

Perhaps, when I head out, I'll post and if anyone is in the area, they can show too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

A pub could be the job. Keep it simple

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

ssl wrote: »
    A pub could be the job. Keep it simple

How about midway in portliose it has motorway all the way to it from north to south. Or something like that

Or the Racket Hall in Roscrea, does lodgings and food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

homerhop wrote: »
    Stayed there for a weekend on a stag, great place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

Can I come:cool:

Stayed there for a weekend on a stag, great place

SOLD we will go there then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

count me in...
    But there must be rooms at were we meet cause once I start I dont stop till I drop

Tie yourself to the bar man!

dwighet wrote: »
    count me in...
    But there must be rooms at were we meet cause once I start I dont stop till I drop

bring a sleeping bag and a chastity belt:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

Pick a weekend so now, and see who is available... Stick with Roscrea, it seem central enough
    keep it simple ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    bring a sleeping bag and a chastity belt:p

the back of the jeep will do me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Can I come:cool:
    Why not? You're a contributor on this forum. <mod snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

i'm also game, i think it would be great i need to meet a few other shooters i only know two and one of them has no interest in shooting at all. And if i talk about shooting to my mates or family they look at me like some looney who needs to be locked up:rolleyes:. i'll go anywhere once there is beer and a bed.

Anyone interested - please throw out some dates.

First week of Nov is open for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

homerhop wrote: »

Gone tits up I'm afraid:(:(.Another Celtic Tiger victim.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

If ya could add a poll on dates and pick the one with most preferences. For me middle-end of November be good.

Why not have it as close to Xmas as possible? Boards hunting Xmas party. Start a tradition

Best idea yet;) Would be great and lads woudl have the holidays, anyone that is working these days that is:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

Why not have it as close to Xmas as possible? Boards hunting Xmas party. Start a tradition

Think we tried to set up that last Xmas, but no one was on for meeting up in Offaly!
    Why, i honestly don't know!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭yank_in_eire

I'm up for it and close to Xmas would be good - all you can do is throw the idea out and whoever shows up, grand. You'll never get all the eggs in the same basket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭demonloop

Everyone could wear their usernames as name badges :D

I think I'd have to go back over all my previous posts and stay out of the way of anyone I've annoyed, and who could in all possibility be bigger than me :o

What would be an even better idea would be <mod snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭foxer 204

def would go , can"t wait to tell ye all how much of a good shot i am :D:D:D(after a few pints!!!!!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭kieran1141

seems like a good idea, could put some faces to the names, would be game for that if a date was set, would be a excuse for me to drink as i onely drink 2 or 3 time a year but when i go i go, make sure i sicken myself so much that i dont go again for a few months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Who would moderate?
    Tell us that we were off thread and to get back on topic???

I need a moderator to moderate me!!
    I'm an argumentative cnut! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

Racket Hall was open for business tonight when himself passed it by!

PS. W/e of 6th / 7th November is good for me!

just to throw out a date, what about the 6th November....any time after that is getting too close to Christmas and more and more people will be too busy... and using their spare time to go shooting

I was going to suggest Halloween... then we would look so odd wearing our cammo gear :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Alchemist2

just a suggestion but you could have the meet the end of january as there will be lots to yap about from throughout the season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

When in the name of god did roscrea become central?? Its way down south if you ask me!!, Athlone now thats central!!:D

The votes say the south west corner of the east will suite most lads... Hope there's a pub there : )

why not make a weekend out it in killarney ... plenty of accomadation..pub,clubs and your guarenteed to see some deer ....in the National Park
    If its good enough for HOGs then surely its good enough for a few bored heads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Shoot2kill

so whats the go lads? Is there a plan coming together here? Ive my drinking cap on already:D

Alright lads,
    I just posted a new poll entitled "Pick a Date - User's Meeting."

I say we pick dates and then figure out, based on who's who, where to meet.

I am really hoping that a few of you are partial to Nancy Blakes in Limerick or the Franciscan in Cork City.

However, deep down inside I think that I want to go to the Duck and Dog in Westmeath :-)

Anyone into Munster Rugby? Would be great to catch a match and then head for a pint! I think I'll be a Thomond in Feb.

Slan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

Nancy Blakes - are you joking - standing room only and squashed in like sardines - no tx :D

Duck and dog sounds right

What is the duck and dog like? Sounds like a real hunters pub:D

kay 9 wrote: »
    What is the duck and dog like? Sounds like a real hunters pub:D

Thats what i thought. Please dont let it be there menu:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

I'd deffo be up for a meet up in a decent hostelry !!!!!
    T'would have to have accommodation or some close as I've a feeling there'd be plenty of good drinkers within our motley crew !!!!
    6th of November wouldnt be any good for me though as I'll be at the Ireland v south africa game in Dublin - but hey dont make plans around my rugby !!!!
    Any weekend after that would be ok though !!! I think meeting up for a few beers is a much better idea then a range day !!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

Duck and dog sounds right

Where's the duck and dog?
    There's a pub called THE DOG AND DUCK down my neck of the woods, but never heard of THE DUCK AND DOG!:confused:

When you're on the N55 - I'm usually heading uphill, not far from Glassan, you'll come across the Dog and Duck. Looks interesting. Always traveling and never stopped for a session.
    mar08.jpg

120620100149_scan0001.jpg

Glassan is a nice Village, the Dog & Duck is an ok pub

What's your stomping grounds Tackle?

FISMA wrote: »
    What's your stomping grounds Tackle?

Secret ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

Secret ;)