Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice re loud music from neighbours during the day

• 28-09-2010 6:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭

I would appreciate advice on how to approach some neighbours on my road who are more and more frequently playing very loud (and, not helpfully, very bad!) music during the day whilst sitting on their driveway with the car doors open. The quality and the volume of the tunes is bad enough but it's getting to be a nearly daily thing and even with all the doors and windows closed in my house and the fact that we live a few doors away, we can still hear that bass beat of the Eastern European disco in every room of our house. It also doesn't help that both of us work shifts and really need the peace and quiet during the day when we get home.I'd like to approach them in a friendly and non-confrontational manner and ask them to just keep the volume down but figure I only get one chance to ask properly without sounding like a nag or a really grumpy biddy or before I lose the rag. Anyone got any ideas on a good line that will sound friendly yet get the message across that what they are doing is not exactly neighbourly and to please stop?! It's a conversation I'd prefer to just have once so want to be clear enough without being overly confrontational.Thanks in advance...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

stop playing loud music, you *****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

DrumSteve wrote: »
    stop playing loud music, you *****.

I'm gonna go with DrumSteve on this one. I'd say he has heard the above sentence a lot and it seemed to make an impression on him! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

In work get 20 different people to write in their own words "your music is awful please turn it down!" on some post it notes bits of paper card anything really so long as its all on different things then wait till their out post them all through their letterbox or stick them to their door.

The reason for getting other people to write it is so that the handwriting is all different and it looks like the entire neighborhood wants them to turn it down not just you.

Don’t know if it will work but it might...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Burn their house down.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

I'd Burn them out, and Sell their first born into slavery, But maybe i'm Slightly too Harsh...

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Burn their house down.
    I'd Burn them out, and Sell their first born into slavery, But maybe i'm Slightly too Harsh...

Great Minds dingdong... great minds....

Some day Smith.
    Some day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

lyverbird1 wrote: »
    we can still hear that bass beat of the Eastern European disco in every room of our house. .

Smithers...release the swans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

ring the gardai?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Employ a skanger to hang around their car with a screwdriver

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

CorkMan wrote: »
    ring the gardai?

It's nothing to do with the Gardai. If there is a problem with noise pollution, it is up to the individual to report it to their local council.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

I can't believe "Blast him with piss" hasn't mean mentioned yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭The Agogo

..,Or just drown them out with some Beethoven.

Employ a skanger to hang around their car with a screwdriver

Or employ a few scangers to have a rave in their garden.
    That'll make them buy earphones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Dress like Alan Partridge and get down with the yoof, start shimmying (plenty of nervous hip work) and throwing shapes around him and the car, he'll want to go inside..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

If the noise is affecting your quality of life, you have a right to complain under Section 108 of the Environmental Protection Act 1992 and S.I No. 179 of 1994.

You should approach the person or business causing the noise and explain that it is a nuisance and try to come to a mutually acceptable solution. If this does not work, your local authority has the same power as individuals to bring noise complaints to the District Court.

If you can't reach a mutual agreement after speaking to them, and the Local Authority: Get your Solicitor to form a noise complaint (Exact Format) for the District Court and contact the Court Clerk who can assist you.

The District Court will call both parties together and listens to both sides of the case. If the court finds in your favour, it can order the person or body to limit the noise, reduce the level of noise or stop the noise completely. Any Orders made by the court must be complied with.

ILA wrote: »
    If the noise is affecting your quality of life, you have a right to complain under Section 108 of the Environmental Protection Act 1992 and S.I No. 179 of 1994.

You should approach the person or business causing the noise and explain that it is a nuisance and try to come to a mutually acceptable solution. If this does not work, your local authority has the same power as individuals to bring noise complaints to the District Court.

If you can't reach a mutual agreement after speaking to them, and the Local Authority: Get your Solicitor to form a noise complaint (Exact Format) for the District Court and contact the Court Clerk who can assist you.

The District Court will call both parties together and listens to both sides of the case. If the court finds in your favour, it can order the person or body to limit the noise, reduce the level of noise or stop the noise completely. Any Orders made by the court must be complied with.

I'm assuming the OP wants this sorted before xmas 2011.
    And without incurring any unjust costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

I would appreciate advice on how to approach some neighbours on my road who are more and more frequently playing very loud (and, not helpfully, very bad!) music during the day whilst sitting on their driveway with the car doors open. The quality and the volume of the tunes is bad enough but it's getting to be a nearly daily thing and even with all the doors and windows closed in my house and the fact that we live a few doors away, we can still hear that bass beat of the Eastern European disco in every room of our house. It also doesn't help that both of us work shifts and really need the peace and quiet during the day when we get home.I'd like to approach them in a friendly and non-confrontational manner and ask them to just keep the volume down but figure I only get one chance to ask properly without sounding like a nag or a really grumpy biddy or before I lose the rag. Anyone got any ideas on a good line that will sound friendly yet get the message across that what they are doing is not exactly neighbourly and to please stop?! It's a conversation I'd prefer to just have once so want to be clear enough without being overly confrontational.Thanks in advance...

Just go up to them and say to them to keep the noise down. Tell them that you are not the only one but there are new-born babies in the neighbourhood whose mothers are trying to get them to sleep during the day and that his infernal goddamn din is fücking up the program.
    Failing that, make a 50 quid donation to the local druglord and inform him of the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Pay some Russian Mafia guys to go over and sort them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

Are they renting? Contact their landlord (the neighbour on either side of the house should have their number) and complain. If it happens again complain again. And so on until they get evicted. Done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

This.

Or join/say something to the residents association (if you have one). That's what they're there for, to annoy.

I'm assuming the OP wants this sorted before xmas 2011.
    And without incurring any unjust costs.
    Then the OP must communicate with the other party. Otherwise just phone the Guards like any Joe Soap would and get them to give out the the Poles.

Most foreigners have a strange dislike of any attention from the authorities in this State, apart from the Social Welfare office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

.......getting a headache reading this solid block of text^

Ever heard of the concept of paragraphs?

Select all of the OPs post, press ctrl+c. Open Notepad on your own PC, ctrl+v. Press enter after a few lines and read.

I didn't find it hard to read at all seeing that there was correct punctuation.

chin_grin wrote: »
    Select all of the OPs post, press ctrl+c. Open Notepad on your own PC, ctrl+v. Press enter after a few lines and read.

Nope.

Just use paragraphs. Its not difficult.

I didn't find it hard to read at all seeing that there was correct punctuation.
    Are you ****ing serious? That would require a phenominal amount of effort!

Nope.

Just use paragraphs. Its not difficult.
    Are you ****ing serious? That would require a phenominal amount of effort!

I can do it in less than a second using windows shortcuts.

Now you've both posted meaningless off topic jibes at the FORMAT of the OPs post without actually having anything to add.

Well, do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

I can do it in less than a second using windows shortcuts.

Now you've both posted meaningless off topic jibes at the FORMAT of the OPs post without actually having anything to add.

Well, do you?

Give over. I found myself reading certain sentences 2 or 3 times due to the ill constructed manner of the post. Im not an expert in written english but i know the post needs to be broken up a little bit. Thats called paragraphing.

OP, you're right to be annoyed. Get a hifi, place it against adjoining wall, play loud bass music for an hour or two each day. It might inconvenience you for a while but they will get the point eventually.

If they come knocking on your door looking for the volume to be turned down then you can expect them to be equally considerate when you ask them to keep the noise down a bit.:)

This block of text is miniscule in comparison to many paragraphs in books or newspaper articles. Your attention span must be awfully compromised, god love you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

OP, you're right to be annoyed. Get a hifi, place it against adjoining wall, play loud bass music for an hour or two each day.

The house is a few doors down.
    Doing this will just turn your next door neighbours into enemies, they did nothing wrong

Here is the OP
    I would appreciate advice on how to approach some neighbours on my road ...... and the fact that we live a few doors away,

Give over. I found myself reading certain sentences 2 or 3 times due to the ill constructed manner of the post. Im not an expert in written english but i know the post needs to be broken up a little bit. Thats called paragraphing.

OP, you're right to be annoyed. Get a hifi, place it against adjoining wall, play loud bass music for an hour or two each day. It might inconvenience you for a while but they will get the point eventually.

If they come knocking on your door looking for the volume to be turned down then you can expect them to be equally considerate when you ask them to keep the noise down a bit.:)

And if you had properly read the OP's post instead of skimming it then complaining about the format you would have observed that the OP doesn't live next door to the noise miscreants. That attention span again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

And if you had properly read the OP's post instead of skimming it then complaining about the format you would have observed that the OP doesn't live next door to the noise miscreants. That attention span again.

I'm sure this is what fonecrusher meant:
    I would appreciate advice on how to approach some neighbours on my road who are more and more frequently playing very loud (and, not helpfully, very bad!) music during the day whilst sitting on their driveway with the car doors open. The quality and the volume of the tunes is bad enough but it's getting to be a nearly daily thing and even with all the doors and windows closed in my house and the fact that we live a few doors away, we can still hear that bass beat of the Eastern European disco in every room of our house. It also doesn't help that both of us work shifts and really need the peace and quiet during the day when we get home.

<enter key ftw>

I'd like to approach them in a friendly and non-confrontational manner and ask them to just keep the volume down but figure I only get one chance to ask properly without sounding like a nag or a really grumpy biddy or before I lose the rag. Anyone got any ideas on a good line that will sound friendly yet get the message across that what they are doing is not exactly neighbourly and to please stop?! It's a conversation I'd prefer to just have once so want to be clear enough without being overly confrontational.Thanks in advance...

So what's with all the handbags? :rolleyes: It's offtopic and getting silly.

Speaking of silly...
    cosmic wrote: »
    Are they renting? Contact their landlord (the neighbour on either side of the house should have their number) and complain. If it happens again complain again. And so on until they get evicted. Done!

What a retarded idea. Surely the first port of call is with the people themselves. Do you call Tesco head office when you find you've been overcharged for a product? This kind of shít bothers me, if you have a problem with somebody just up and say it to them. If they ignore you, then go further (wherever that may be). Grow a spine ffs :mad:

:eek:^

:cool:^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

we can still hear that bass beat of the Eastern European disco in every room of our house.

more polak ravers, per chance? bad combination. if they groove, kill em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Cripple them with kindness. Next time they are banging out the tunes call over with a few beers, sit and chill with them for a while and then ask if they can turn the bass down as its making your head vibrate a bit. Tell them you don't mind them listening to the music , just keep it down a bit.

If that fails shoot them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

Sure it's coming up to Halloween, get a few half sticks of dynamite and tape them to their car windows, blast the fook out of 'em, actually, tape them to their ****in' house windows at about 4am and detonate, they can go fúck themselves with a rusty hammer sideways, cúnts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭lyverbird1

Thanks to most people here for their helpful contributions and to fonecrusher for the patronising paragraph remarks.

This was typed with paragraphs (yes, thanks, I am aware of their existence :rolleyes:) but didn't post as such, was done on a work computer that only loads 'with error on page'. May I suggest in future that you stop reading text the moment you feel a headache coming on, thereby negating the necessity to moan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Someone moans about music, someone moans about paragraphs, original moaner moans about moaning.

I propose that I was being helpful and polite - I wish only for the individual I replied to to avoid headaches, hence my wonderfully useful advice! I may have been stating the obvious but most people do need a helping hand from time to time... :P

Quit your moaning.

I propose that I was being helpful and polite - I wish only for the individual I replied to to avoid headaches, hence my wonderfully useful advice! I may have been stating the obvious but most people do need a helping hand from time to time... :P

Heres my helpful advice.

E031.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Moaning is good for the soul, as is polish MTV at full whack all day ;-)

Heres my helpful advice.

E031.jpg

Perhaps I shall use that optio should the flamethrower one fail!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Easy solution, get 2 swans and leave them walk past there house, while there busy chasing them for dinner you go and steal there stereo or whatever they have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

Write them a letter "Turn down your music please" tie it to a brick and throw it through their sitting room window in the middle of the night.

PROBLEM IS SOLVED

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭KingLoser

how has nobody else in the neighbourhood gone batsh*t crazy at them yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭mecanoman

Had something similar a while ago, new neighbour liked nothing better

than fixing he's car with thumping tunes blasting out of he's piece

of crap(don't know if this help with he's mechanical skills).

Walked over and asked him kindly could he turn it down.

Actually worked :)

Hope you can get it resolved. Some people are just big assholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

What a retarded idea. Surely the first port of call is with the people themselves. Do you call Tesco head office when you find you've been overcharged for a product?

Wow, charming.

I only suggested this because the OP specifically said they didn't want to have to have it out with the neighbours.

Get over yourself.