Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rural ireland

• 25-09-2010 8:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭

It must be so horrible to live there if you dont have a car, if you had a flight from dublin airport early monday morning how would you ever get there with all the cuts to rural transport?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Get someone else to drive you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

I have a cat...it would be horrible if i didnt have a cat because id have all this cat food and nothing to do with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Monsieur Folie

It's especially horrible for us outgoing teenagers. Relying on parents for transport is both a pain for us and for them.

I mean, if the town was just a tiny bit closer I could walk, but it's not, and there's virtually no public transport within walking distance. Pain in the backside..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

You can fly to Dublin from one of the many regional airports.

There are also trains & buses too.

Though, I suspect that you know that already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I remember a neighbour of mine cycled to Dublin years ago to get the boat. He had hang sandwiches and a bottle of Guinness in the suitcase for the trip..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

-Corkie- wrote: »
    I remember a neighbour of mine cycled to Dublin years ago to get the boat. He had hang sandwiches and a bottle of Guinness in the suitcase for the trip..
    That never actually happened. Did it?

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    That never actually happened. Did it?

It did actually his name was Mike the bird..;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Culchies always go on and on about how much of a ****hole Dublin is, but the end of the day you couldn't pay me to live the in the country.

My local bus comes every 8-16 minutes depending on time of day, how often does yours come you silly boggers. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Rural is such a depressing word

Oh great. Another one of these threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Denzil2222 wrote: »
    It must be so horrible to live there if you dont have a car, if you had a flight from dublin airport early monday morning how would you ever get there with all the cuts to rural transport?

Why would you go to Dublin Airport ?

RMD wrote: »
    My local bus comes every 8-16 minutes depending on time of day, how often does yours come you silly boggers. :pac:

Less frequently than that, admittedly, but there's no skangers getting off it when it does arrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Less frequently than that, admittedly, but there's no skangers getting off it when it does arrive.

I dont need a bus because I drive a car..;) I agree with Liam though on the bus thing only thing he forgot to say most of them have needles and other concocksions hanging out of them..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

You can get international flights from:

Shannon
    Knock
    Waterford
    Cork

I'm unsure about Farronfore, Sligo and Donegal, they are national but I don't know if they are international

Fecking boards and its Dublin focus, most of Ireland has no need to go to Dublin Airport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Culchies always go on and on about how much of a ****hole Dublin is, but the end of the day you couldn't pay me to live the in the country.
    +1. Well I'd live in a countryside area but one that's close to a city, e.g. Swords kinda vicinity if I lived in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭DoneDL

It leaves town at 11 am and gets back at 7 pm.

You live in Limerick, you deal with skobes

You can get international from Farronfore. Why would you go to Dublin with there `Bleeding`M50 and all there road rage etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Denzil2222

Why would you go to Dublin Airport ?
    Thats a bit of a silly question liam, how many flights are left in shannon now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

Getting pretty sick of these threads, it's not some kind of middle age wasteland down here, you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Denzil2222

Alot of people here have said lots of other airports have international flights but what if your nearest airport is 100 km away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Well I've gotten on so far without public transport so it's really not a big deal is it - I get a taxi home any night from the town 5-6 euro so nothing really more than you pay and I get into town for free too so..

ohh and the other thing - I can drive a car and in I can go 10 miles in 10-15 minutes no bother so nowhere is far away is it now....

how many buses does it take you to get from somewhere on the southside of dublin to get to the airport on a busy day with your public transport

in the same length of time I probably get to the airport from my house in cavan and I'd be able to bring my bags and all in the boot of the car and wouldn't have to carry the bags half a mile down the road to the bus stop either.... and I can choose when to leave...

I'd never ever consider choosing to live in the city over the countryside - ye really have no idea how much better life is in the country

Alot of people here have said lots of other airports have international flights but what if your nearest airport is 100 km away?

100kph in a car is 1 hour away.... not too far is it - sur unless you lived outside the airport it's gonna take you 20-30 minutes at least to get from the city centre to an airport anyways...

You live in Limerick, you deal with skobes

I would love to be in a position of acknowledging your amazing all-knowing powers, however the above is so completely incorrect that I have to change that to acknowledging you talking through your arse instead.

-Corkie- wrote: »
    most of them have needles and other concocksions hanging out of them..

Other wha' ????? :eek: Sounds painful!

I would love to be in a position of acknowledging your amazing all-knowing powers, however the above is so completely incorrect that I have to change that to acknowledging you talking through your arse instead.

Ah Liam, lighten up, this is After Hours

You responded to a post about boggers by commenting on excellent bus service and the lack of skangers.

Well I'm not far from Limerick and they were always called skobes.

I don't know you, I don't know your bus route, I'm happy it's a good bus service but seriously relax, this isn't politics forum

Talking through my arse? Maybe but not once in my one line post did I attack you. So attack the post and not the poster :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

rural Ireland is great, I absolutely love it

it's the inbetween places like Cork who think they're something special that are headwreckers

Absurdum wrote: »
    rural Ireland is great, I absolutely love it

it's the inbetween places like Cork who think they're something special that are headwreckers

AH AH AAAHH....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

ITT: Dubliners justifying (or attempting to), their high living costs, congested living conditions, and proximity to rats, both two legged and four.

Many people, (Dubs too!) accept that life doesn't stop at the Red Cow.

I don't know you, I don't know your bus route, I'm happy it's a good bus service but seriously relax, this isn't politics forum

There is no bus route! :D It was promised 15 years ago and never materialised!
    Talking through my arse? Maybe but not once in my one line post did I attack you. So attack the post and not the poster :)

I thought I did!! Sorry if it came across otherwise!

Cool Liam, glad that is sorted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

I don't know how people down there are going to cure young men who fiddle with animals, especially now seen as all the imported Eastern European women are leaving. Sad really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

I don't know how people down there are going to cure young men who fiddle with animals, especially now seen as all the imported Eastern European women are leaving. Sad really.
    I hear Jackeens are very fond of pigeons :eek:

I hear jackeens are fond of abusing animals, including putting fireworks in a poor dogs mouth. :mad:

I knew a culchie that put the subject up a dogs bottom...:eek:

The thing is, we have good looking women (for the most part) and brothels full of exotic gems, therefore, there is no need to fondle pigeons.

I think that the sexually abused animals would be scared for life. At least that poor terrier was put out of its misery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

i moved to the country when i was 8, away from a small size town, (amazing how much diffrence a 3 mile stretch took on my social life :( ) I hated where i lived until i was 17 and got a car, then it was bearable.

The thing is, we have good looking Pigeons (for the most part) and cages full of exotic gems, therefore, there is no need to fondle women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Getting to Dublin isn't the problem from Rural Ireland (tm), we've a bus that services Dublin every hour, on the hour from Cavan, from 7am to 8pm.

However, getting from one part of Rural Ireland (tm) to another part is the problem. If you want to travel to Cootehill from Cavan, you have one bus you can get in the morning, and one back in the evening. Its 20km away.

Oh, and john, kph is kilometers per hour. A measurement of speed, not of distance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

It must be so horrible to live there

You should have left it at that OP, no need to qualify your statement

I see the farmer has learned his editing skills. Did they start an ECDL course in the Parish hall?

Look out theres a Jackeen on your tail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

No, silly!

They walk like 'em.

Anyway, the battlelines have well n' truly been drawn by now...

OMG HOW WILL THE RURAL PEOPLE CATCH THEIR FLIGHTS!!!!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

whereas you lot make a living out of feeding millions of animals ****e in ****e conditions before killing them to flog off as food :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

whereas you lot make a living out of feeding millions of animals ****e in ****e conditions before killing them to flog off as food :rolleyes:

Have you ever been to a farm or are you just getting this idea from PETA videos?

Anyway, the battlelines have well n' truly been drawn by now...

DUBLIN = SPARTA

......and riding them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

johnn wrote: »
    ......and riding them

....up the arse