Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Noel Grealish withdraws support for Government with immediate effect

• 24-09-2010 10:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭

From RTÉ News:
    Noel Grealish withdraws support for Govt
    Friday, 24 September 2010 11:08

Independent West Galway TD Noel Grealish has said he is withdrawing his support for the Government with immediate effect.

Mr Grealish added he would not vote to support the Government until such time as planned health budget cuts in the west are clarified.

He said he was writing to Taoiseach Brian Cowen and Health Minister Harney to inform them of his decision this morning.

The former Progressive Democrats TD made the announcement in an interview on local radio.

He said he had come to his decision following a briefing yesterday by the Health Service Executive on Budget cuts.

He was now waiting to hear from Mr Cowen and Ms Harney.

Story from RTÉ News:
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0924/politics.html

"Mr Grealish added he would not vote to support the Government until such time as planned health budget cuts in the west are clarified."

So he'll vote against the Taoiseach if there was a motion of confidence? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭rightwingdub

Another gombeen parish pump politician puts his own selfish interests ahead of the gneral good in trying to repair the public finances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

Perhaps it should be pointed out to Mr Grealish that the time for withdrawing his support has long passed. The Western health board might not be in so much trouble if he had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Imagine if we had a system where instead of supporting or opposing a government each sitting member voted on each matter based on their own or their constituents' wishes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Meh. He got himself some headlines this morning.

A phonecall from Cowen and a reassurance of something sweet will get him back onside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭tomasocarthaigh

Its better be late than never though. Healthcare is the LAST thing for cuts... like education.

Unfortunatly its always the first in line.

Slash the bloody army, withraw from UN ops, slash the arts (and Im a writer and manage to get by by WORKING) cut back on diplomacy, slash TD's pay, leave the essentials be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Congrats, Noel, you got some attention. Whooseagoodboy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Another gombeen parish pump politician puts his own selfish interests ahead of the gneral good in trying to repair the public finances.

Cuts in health services are not in the public interest.
    Any cuts in that area should be in admin, and staff salaries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Cuts in health services are not in the public interest.
    Any cuts in that area should be in admin, and staff salaries.

The cuts should be in the stupidly high numbe of TDs and senators thre are, that should free up a bit of dosh for the health service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Speaking from the West, and not a Grealish/PD/FF supporter. I hope he does get something juicy for us.

That said, whether he does or doesn't I won't give him a vote. He's supported the Government far too long.

Damage done Noel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

johngalway wrote: »
    Speaking from the West, and not a Grealish/PD/FF supporter. I hope he does get something juicy for us.

Is this a joke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,980 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

That said, whether he does or doesn't I won't give him a vote. He's supported the Government far too long.

Damage done Noel.
    By "us" I take it you don't mean the Irish people?

I'm sick and tired of your parochial view and the parochial views of people like you. These kind of views are what has us where we are!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,802 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Noel trying to save his seat early it seems. So is that three TDs who have "withdrawn" their support for the goverment ? I'll believe it when I see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭paconnors

He's jumping from a sinking ship hopeing to save his bacon in case there is a general election

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,802 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

paconnors wrote: »
    He's jumping from a sinking ship hopeing to save his bacon in case there is a general election
    sure he'll claim at the next GE that "I stood up against the government" and blah fecking blah. Talking out of both sides of his mouth to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Something juicy for the west means something denied to people somewhere else.

And thats the same for parish-pump politicians in any area of the country. Our politicians should be doing whats good for the people of the country as a whole and allocating resources based on need but thats never going to happen as long as we have the voting system that is currently in place. Its time for a radical overhaul but thats never going to happen, it'd be like turkeys voting for christmas.

Damage done Noel.

Its people like yourself who elect the same tulips after each election simply because they did something locally, you should be voting for a party based on national issues not your local parish pump politician.

You obviously have a very parochial, parish pump view yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

Its people like yourself who elect the same tulips after each election simply because they did something locally, you should be voting for a party based on national issues not your local parish pump politician.

Most people do, it's the system thats at fault.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I suspect he's withdrawing his support more out of self interest for re-election than just also national affairs!

Its a good time to jump ship before further cracks might appear soon.
    Put up a show at the "parish pump" that he still doing a local job while supposedly separated from the cowardly shower that won't even hold 3 over-due by-elections - and glossing over the fact that he has supported this miserable shower already far too long than he should have.

The only people he will fool are the dumb voting sheep of his constituency.
    Sadly, he will probably get re-elected by such tactics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I wonder if Michael Lowry will do the same and get some gurantees for Tipp North

No better man to try it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

so true :D

I was going to post similar, thanks RWD, I don´t know that we´ve agreed on much in the past.;)

Most people do, it's the system thats at fault.

Yep we need a list system in this country but the existing system doesn't excuse the parish pump mentaility that exists amongst most Irish voters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Don't ya just love Grealish and his type in a democracy? We have 3 constituencies where they have no TD because Biffo and Co deem it so by not allowing by-elections to take place, yet here we have Grealish this week, maybe Lowrey next week or Healy-Rea when the country is broke, horse trading to gain advantage whilst other constituencies get nothing or are not even allowed into the barter by virtue of non representation.

Is this a joke?

No.
    murphaph wrote: »
    By "us" I take it you don't mean the Irish people?

I'm sick and tired of your parochial view and the parochial views of people like you. These kind of views are what has us where we are!!

Good for you Murphaph. What qualifies you to make such a judgment? Where are you in the country?
    Something juicy for the west means something denied to people somewhere else.

It does indeed, completely agree with that. When push comes to shove I'd rather we get our share in the West, than not. I make no apologies for that :)

Two things. You haven't the first notion of my voting history and I base my vote on both national and local issues.

It's quite easy to make such a statement from Dublin. how many hospitals have you there? How long would it take you to get to a hospital, or am ambulance to bring you there?

UCHG is 50 miles from where I'm typing this, over a piss poor national primary grade road.

I've had the pleasure of being brought there by ambo as well.

Pop away at me all ye like folks, when it comes right down to it if ye're services were threatened or substandard locally ye'd feel exactly the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Just something that links in well to this thread. Mary Harney's response to Noel quoted from the rte.ie website
    Speaking at the opening of a €100m expansion at Blackrock Clinic in Dublin, Mary Harney said 'we don't have additional money to put into west of Ireland' adding that 'everyone has to live within their budgets'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

SeaFields wrote: »
    Just something that links in well to this thread. Mary Harney's response to Noel quoted from the rte.ie website
    Speaking at the opening of a €100m expansion at Blackrock Clinic in Dublin, Mary Harney said 'we don't have additional money to put into west of Ireland' adding that 'everyone has to live within their budgets'.

Well crikey she does not look like she is living on a budget.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

Yep we need a list system in this country but the existing system doesn't excuse the parish pump mentaility that exists amongst most Irish voters.

Why not? If you're being offered something to benefit your locality, most likely you'll take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,980 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Good for you Murphaph. What qualifies you to make such a judgment? Where are you in the country?
    I'm Irish. If you can't see that your choice to live in one of the remotest parts of Ireland means that things like hospitals will be farther away than they are to people who live in say, GALWAY CITY then I don't know what to say.

People who live in GALWAY CITY have hospitals within reach. You don't because you live in Conemara where the population density cannot sustain such things. Nothing to do with Dublin so no idea why you brought that up with various posters!

murphaph wrote: »
    I'm Irish. If you can't see that your choice to live in one of the remotest parts of Ireland means that things like hospitals will be farther away than they are to people who live in say, GALWAY CITY then I don't know what to say.

People who live in GALWAY CITY have hospitals within reach. You don't because you live in Conemara where the population density cannot sustain such things. Nothing to do with Dublin so no idea why you brought that up with various posters!

I never asked your nationality.

By the way, Noel Grealishs constituency is Galway West, which incorporates GALWAY CITY. Just in case you get too far ahead of yourself there :)

Two things. You haven't the first notion of my voting history and I base my vote on both national and local issues.

It's quite easy to make such a statement from Dublin. how many hospitals have you there? How long would it take you to get to a hospital, or am ambulance to bring you there?

UCHG is 50 miles from where I'm typing this, over a piss poor national primary grade road.

I've had the pleasure of being brought there by ambo as well.

Pop away at me all ye like folks, when it comes right down to it if ye're services were threatened or substandard locally ye'd feel exactly the same.

Its your decision to live in the arse end of Connemara, nobody forced you to live out there, you should move somewhere that is closer to Galway city. The reason why there isn't a hospital in Clifden is because it wouldn't be financially viable, government should be in the business of maximising financial efficiency not promoting unviable projects in the arseend of nowhere.

Its called capitalism by the way If I lived in a rural constituency I'd still vote for the party not the parish pump local politician. Economic literacy is something I value when it comes to making up my mind to vote, I don't vote for someone simplu because they may have got a grant for a sports club but yet are economically clueless.

Its your decision to live in deepest Connemara get used to it.

Its your decision to live in the arse end of Connemara, nobody forced you to live out there, you should move somewhere that is closer to Galway city. The reason why there isn't a hospital in Clifden is because it wouldn't be financially viable, government should be in the business of maximising financial efficiency not promoting unviable projects in the arseend of nowhere.

Its called capitalism by the way If I lived in a rural constituency I'd still vote for the party not the parish pump local politician. Economic literacy is something I value when it comes to making up my mind to vote, I don't vote for someone simplu because they may have got a grant for a sports club but yet are economically clueless.

Its your decision to live in deepest Connemara get used to it.

Where did I say there should be a hospital in Clifden? (There is by the way, though in name only).

If Grealish were to have gotten anything it would go to Galway City anyway (to which I have no objection), such as bringing the so called centre of excellence in that city up to a standard that's fit for purpose, so your points about Connemara are a bit redundant and progressively strange.

I wasn't the one who mentioned parishes, seems a few on here have them on the brain :confused: TD's run in constituencies, for those who don't understand that.

Where did I say there should be a hospital in Clifden? (There is by the way, though in name only).

If Grealish were to have gotten anything it would go to Galway City anyway (to which I have no objection), such as bringing the so called centre of excellence in that city up to a standard that's fit for purpose, so your points about Connemara are a bit redundant and progressively strange.

I wasn't the one who mentioned parishes, seems a few on here have them on the brain :confused: TD's run in constituencies, for those who don't understand that.

I knoe TDS run in constituencies but you know fully well by what I mean what I said "parochial, parish pump politics" that is all focused on mundane local issues, why do you think I favour a list system instead of the existing electoral system, it should be left up to councillors to focus on local mundane issues while TDS should be getting on with the more serious business of national issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

This is true. I was speaking to a dublin FG TD recently (who would be a front runner in the cabinet), and couldn't believe the narrow parish mentality. But i suppose it's all local.

liammur wrote: »
    This is true. I was speaking to a dublin FG TD recently (who would be a front runner in the cabinet), and couldn't believe the narrow parish mentality. But i suppose it's all local.

People in Dublin vote for their local parish pump politician as well, maybe not as great an extent as in rural constituencies but sadly such mentalities do prevail in Dublin:mad:

I knoe TDS run in constituencies but you know fully well by what I mean what I said "parochial, parish pump politics" that is all focused on mundane local issues, why do you think I favour a list system instead of the existing electoral system, it should be left up to councillors to focus on local mundane issues while TDS should be getting on with the more serious business of national issues.

I don't disagree with you in regards to TD's actually doing their job, making law and such instead of filling potholes.

As for "mundane local issues", having a substandard national primary route through half the county and a "centre of excellence" - which serves a far greater area than Galway County, are not mundane to the people who use them. Same as having junkies on the Liffey board walk, substandard flood defenses in a lot of towns and cities in the country, and real life gangland shoot'em up's in Limerick (thankfully which seem to be under a greater level of control now) aren't mundane to those people.

People in Dublin vote for their local parish pump politician as well, maybe not as great an extent as in rural constituencies but sadly such mentalities do prevail in Dublin:mad:

I would say probably every bit as much. The calibre of our politicians is truly shocking. The system badly needs to be revamped.

I don't disagree with you in regards to TD's actually doing their job, making law and such instead of filling potholes.

As for "mundane local issues", having a substandard national primary route through half the county and a "centre of excellence" - which serves a far greater area than Galway County, are not mundane to the people who use them. Same as having junkies on the Liffey board walk, substandard flood defenses in a lot of towns and cities in the country, and real life gangland shoot'em up's in Limerick (thankfully which seem to be under a greater level of control now) aren't mundane to those people.

Surely it should be up to local councillors regarding roads not TDS, same with junkies on the Liffey boardwalk, in any normal society thats what is supposed is happen, councillors are supposed to have autonomy in those areas.

I would say probably every bit as much. The calibre of our politicians is truly shocking. The system badly needs to be revamped.

Yes and who's responsible for electing such idiots thats right the Irish people.

You could do a case study on the following:
    Willie O dea was my (limerick's). minister. He did nothing for the city (less than 1,000 jobs into LK city & co. in 13 years, despite several thousand IDA job losses), but he fixed toilet seats, leaking shed roofs etc practically every day. He failed the region as a national politician, but is a great local politician. This is the problem with our system. He gets voted in on local issues. Then the likes of M Martin & M Harney who were minsiters for trade & enterprise should have brought jobs into limerick, so they failed too,as they concentrated on their own areas. End result now is that the city is on the verge of collapse.

Surely it should be up to local councillors regarding roads not TDS, same with junkies on the Liffey boardwalk, in any normal society thats what is supposed is happen, councillors are supposed to have autonomy in those areas.

"Supposed to". As with a lot of things in this great little country of ours, things don't always work as they're "supposed to".

You could do a case study on the following:
    Willie O dea was my (limerick's). minister. He did nothing for the city (less than 1,000 jobs into LK city & co. in 13 years, despite several thousand IDA job losses), but he fixed toilet seats, leaking shed roofs etc practically every day. He failed the region as a national politician, but is a great local politician. This is the problem with our system. He gets voted in on local issues. Then the likes of M Martin & M Harney who were minsiters for trade & enterprise should have brought jobs into limerick, so they failed too,as they concentrated on their own areas. End result now is that the city is on the verge of collapse.

O'Dea got over 19,000 1st preference votes in the last general election, they love him in the Sindo and in fairness to him I've read a few of his articles on the economy and he actually sounds a bit more clued on economics than most Irish politicians, I'll give him some credit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

From reading the Limerick forum, there is a thread discussing will Limerick elect an independent TD, to maybe replicate what Michael Lowry does for Tipp North up the road.

Maybe we will see a lot more independents in the next election

And I do think we'll hear Michael Lowry making an announcement in the next few weeks, it'll go pretty much the same as this thread

O'Dea got over 19,000 1st preference votes in the last general election, they love him in the Sindo and in fairness to him I've read a few of his articles on the economy and he actually sounds a bit more clued on economics than most Irish politicians, I'll give him some credit.

That may be true, but it highlights the problem with our system at the moment. If an area doesn't have a minister, they can forget any hope of development or investment. Ministers aren't looking at the country as a whole.

From reading the Limerick forum, there is a thread discussing will Limerick elect an independent TD, to maybe replicate what Michael Lowry does for Tipp North up the road.

Maybe we will see a lot more independents in the next election

And I do think we'll hear Michael Lowry making an announcement in the next few weeks, it'll go pretty much the same as this thread

Lowry should be in jail along with a few others.

What is the government's majority at the moment?

Lowry should be in jail along with a few others.

What is the government's majority at the moment?

Can't give you an exact number but it's healthy enough even if the independents walked in the morning.

Three outstanding by elections and a few rebel FF TD's would all have to go against the Govt if I remember right.

Can't give you an exact number but it's healthy enough even if the independents walked in the morning.

Three outstanding by elections and a few rebel FF TD's would all have to go against the Govt if I remember right.

Its 83-79 now that Grealish has threatened to walk, bloody independents holding the country to ransom so they can have their own glorified pet projects. We could get rid of the independents in one foul swoop by bringing in a law whereby a political party has to get 3% of the vote in order to get electoral representation in the Dail.

Was listening to the radio a couple of days ago, fairly sure they quoted different figures :confused: Anyway, turkeys & Christmas.

FF are probably looking to get out in early 2011 just before the s**t hits the fan.

By and large I would agree, but didn't the late tony gregory do a lot of good work for dublin as an independent, probably achieved more than he ever could have had as a member of any party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Noel, where's the Claregalway by-pass you promised?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Its called capitalism by the way If I lived in a rural constituency I'd still vote for the party not the parish pump local politician.

Whatever about the pros and (many) cons of parish pump stuff, this "party" bull**** is worse, and is what has us in this mess.

It would certainly be a "foul swoop" to do so (as distinct from the "fell swoop" that you probably intended, but that's an ironically apt error) because at least independents vote with their conscience or based on their election promises.