Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vivendi Cup - Paddy Watch.

• 23-09-2010 1:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭

Padraig dribbling along at -3 after 10.

5 birdies on front 9... the man is on fire!.. ( plus 2 bogeys ).

respectable.

david dixon or "dicko" as his friends call him, leader in clubhouse at -9.

live stream linky

mms://wm.tig.maelstrom.jet-stream.nl/thisisgolf_tv=tig_live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Currently -4 after 13. Disappointedly only -1 for the 4 par 5's. Leader was -5 for these.

Vice Capt McGinley also -4 after 4 birdies to start the back nice.

Gary Murphy shot -3, 2 out of his 3 bogeys were on Par 5's. Is it my imagination or does Gary struggle week in week out on the par 5's. Before anyone says it i know he's also been struggling on the 3 and 4 all year as well :P

Thornton -1 after 9.
    Lawrie finished at +2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,990 ✭✭✭Trampas

Currently -4 after 13. Disappointedly only -1 for the 4 par 5's. Leader was -5 for these.

Vice Capt McGinley also -4 after 4 birdies to start the back nice.

Gary Murphy shot -3, 2 out of his 3 bogeys were on Par 5's. Is it my imagination or does Gary struggle week in week out on the par 5's. Before anyone says it i know he's also been struggling on the 3 and 4 all year as well :P

Thornton -1 after 9.
    Lawrie finished at +2.

Gary does appear to make a mess of par 5's.

Maybe he is trying to get home in 2 instead of trying to leave himself that 100 yard shot in.

Scores should be lower overall since it is a pro am for the 1st 2days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Edfors -9 thru 12 holes.

Gonna be a low cut mark this week. These lads are ripping it up.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Always nervous when I see a par 5 to come when following Murphy because you usually see a dropped shot when you might expect one to be picked up.
    For example, watched him at Killarney.
    In R2, he had made a strong start, couple of birdies in the first few holes, getting a score back into shape. Had a long wait on the par 3 (6th?) and made a bogey. Then a short par 5 next. Bad drive in the right rough with a young tree in front of him. It was a wedge all day out of there to leave another wedge to straightforward pin back left, 10 footer for birdie at worst. But no... Gary had to go with a rescue.. hit the tree and came down only a few yards in front of it. So then maybe a 5 iron needed from the rough to the green (with water beside it) so not an easy shot.. missed the green on the left and left a difficult pitch because he's short-sided himself. The result is a 30+ footer for par and a 6 on the card. That hole averaged about 4.5 with almost twice as many birdies as pars on it so a 6 there was dropping 1.5 shots to the field.

If I was his caddy he would have had a wedge in his hand and I would have walked off with the rest of his clubs so he'd have to use it. I thought his caddy was pretty poor anyway, clubbed him ridiculously on the 10th and there ended any hope.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Edfors -9 thru 12 holes.

Gonna be a low cut mark this week. These lads are ripping it up.
    Card shows 6 birdies and an eagle thru 12 holes and says -8 but up top it says -9... scoring is buggy anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭IITYWYBMAD

Licksy wrote: »
    Card shows 6 birdies and an eagle thru 12 holes and says -8 but up top it says -9... scoring is buggy anyway

Now showing 7 and an eagle thru 13, although they are 5mins behind the coverage on sky? What about John Parry? 10 under after 12???

IITYWYBMAD wrote: »
    What about John Parry? 10 under after 12???

Which includes a bogey :eek:

9 birdies, 1 eagle, 1 par, 1 bogey.

Is he Iceboy in disguise :D

13th is a par 5 as well :pac:

59 anyone????

Bah he parred the par 5 13th :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Bah he parred the par 5 13th :mad:

Hes actually -8, they had the par5 7th down as an eagle when he actually parred it. Unfortunately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Figo69

Nick Dougherty had a bad day 76..:eek::eek::eek:

At least he get to show Di Stewart his Eiffel tower:):):)

They'd wanna call it a day. His golf has gone to pot since they got engaged and she's looking more average by the day. Still would, obviously, but she needs to get the finger out.

dvemail wrote: »
    Hes actually -8, they had the par5 7th down as an eagle when he actually parred it. Unfortunately

Score keeping very poor :mad: it's only across 2 courses as well. Looking forward to the dunhill links so :o

Harrington birdied the last to be -4 with McGinley. Tied 22nd.

They'd wanna call it a day. His golf has gone to pot since they got engaged and she's looking more average by the day. Still would, obviously, but she needs to get the finger out.

:D Poor Di she's still a babe. Dougherty is 130th in race to Dubai. Lucky for him he's exempt next year for winning the BMW last season.

Didn't the same happen Scott and Ivanovic when they got together first.
    Both their form went to pot.

:D Poor Di she's still a babe. Dougherty is 130th in race to Dubai. Lucky for him he's exempt next year for winning the BMW last season.

Didn't the same happen Scott and Ivanovic when they got together first.
    Both their form went to pot.

Poor man's Hazel Irvine.

_823419_irvine150.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭MasterKZG

Does anybody know what driver,3 wood and hybrids Harry was playing? The head covers look different.

Poor man's Hazel Irvine.

_823419_irvine150.jpg

:mad: Hazel is europro tour while Di is challenging in the majors :P

MasterKZG wrote: »
    Does anybody know what driver,3 wood and hybrids Harry was playing? The head covers look different.

http://www.padraigharrington.com/in_the_bag.php

It appears to me he has an odyssey putter but has a wilson grip on it. Maybe that is because he sponsored by Wilson so doesn't want odyssey on the grip but he will probably say the wilson grip is better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

There's a photo on the european tour website from the tournament and it show's him using a TM R9 driver(no doubt there's a wilson head cover on it.) Photo was taken during the pro-am.

Link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

Adiaga 2 wrote: »
    There's a photo on the european tour website from the tournament and it show's him using a TM R9 driver(no doubt there's a wilson head cover on it.) Photo was taken during the pro-am.

Link

That picture is from the 1st round.

Maybe using it as practice for next week because sponsors are not involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

On the slide today, +2 for his round and -2 for the championship, tied 50th currently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

Good man Monty !!!!!!

a 7 on a par 3 for harrington

Aidric wrote: »
    On the slide today, +2 for his round and -2 for the championship, tied 50th currently.

McGinley gone from -6 to -3 as well!

A few seem to be struggling this morning.

Edfors has dropped 5 shots in 8 holes, some way to follow yesterdays -11 :eek:

Dixion Triple bogey on 1st after -9 yesterday :o

Harrington now +5 for the day :eek::eek::eek::eek: weekend off :rolleyes: a double and a triple today if scorecard is right.

Dr.Silly wrote: »
    Good man Monty !!!!!!

a 7 on a par 3 for harrington

par 4 actually.

How many holes will that cost him in matchplay?

par 4 actually.

ah, sorry

that's better then :-)

It will certainly cost him more than 1 hole..
    you think harrington just recovers easily from his triple and quadruple bogies in a round ?!!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭gary29428

I was 100% behind Paddy's inclusion in the RC but to be fair he's hitting it like a hack. With Casey leading in the states I think it's getting to him, I have real fears for his performance next week now. The UK media are going to launch a serious attack on him now as it looks like he will miss the cut. God help us it Casey pulls off a win or takes the Fedex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,571 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

you think harrington just recovers easily from his triple and quadruple bogies in a round ?!!?!

Well he birdied the next hole after his double earlier in the round ;)
    Anyway, thought you weren't posting until after the Ryder Cup.

For any pro i'd say Matchplay yes - strokeplay no

gary29428 wrote: »
    I was 100% behind Paddy's inclusion in the RC but to be fair he's hitting it like a hack. With Casey leading in the states I think it's getting to him, I have real fears for his performance next week now. The UK media are going to launch a serious attack on him now as it looks like he will miss the cut. God help us it Casey pulls off a win or takes the Fedex.

I don't think we need worry about that ;) a nice cheque will do team Casey.

Wouldn't be so sure about that. Man on a mission, point to prove and all that.

Woeful stuff out of Harrington. Missing the cut in a field as weak as this won't do much for confidence.

Wouldn't be so sure about that. Man on a mission, point to prove and all that.
    QUOTE]

He had the same point to prove 2 weeks ago ;) he might hang around longer than Puke Donald alright who i think took his spot not Harrington.

gary29428 wrote: »

Monty deserves all the slack he's about to get

Puke Donald

Typo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭Hacker111

Harrington has been all over the place the past 3 months.. I thought Wild card picks were done on form!!!! What a joke... there were so many other much better players to choose... and as I said before here his Ryder Cup history is sh1te... this week just adds to the strength of don't pick Harri brigade argument (I am a member:D)

I'm seriously contemplating a few quid on the Yanks..... Rory doesn't seem too pushed either ;)

Hacker111 wrote: »

I'm seriously contemplating a few quid on the Yanks..... Rory doesn't seem too pushed either ;)

as I said on another thread, safest bet of the year for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

Calm down lads. Pad is clearly playing badly today to lull the yanks into a false sense of security in the run up to next week. We should be congratulating him for taking one for the team instead of lashing him. Typical Irish. Monty is obviously a shrewder captain than we thought. Let's just hope Pavin doesn't get wind of this..:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

as I said on another thread, safest bet of the year for me.

Has the Ryder Cup kicked off??????????????? You were not going to post till then.

Not great for confidence but thankfully m/play it will be only lost of hole.

As long as he is hitting greens and fairways he should be ok but if not then he will not be putting pressure on his opponents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Squiggle

Monty has made a mistake picking a guy clearly out of form, with a crap Ryder cup record and a crap WGC matchplay record over the last four years. Extraordinary choice imo. I was embarrassed for Monty when he said no American would want to play Harrington. :confused: The net result will be massive pressure on Harrington next week and with a dodgy game at the moment he'll do well to improve his Ryder cup record imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

PH is a golfing embarrassment, it's car-crash TV.

It wasn't broken, yet he decided to fix it.

Harrington needs a birdie in the last 2 to make the cut.
    Very poor position to be in considering he's had 11 birdies over the 2 days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

Gophur wrote: »
    PH is a golfing embarrassment

Cop on, no matter what peoples views on his inclusion in the Ryder Cup this is complete rubbish.

The guy has won 3 majors, countless other events worldwide and is the countries greatest ever golfer.

Get a grip

thegen wrote: »
    Has the Ryder Cup kicked off??????????????? You were not going to post till then.

I lied, get over it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Squiggle

AGC wrote: »
    Cop on, no matter what peoples views on his inclusion in the Ryder Cup this is complete rubbish.

The guy has won 3 majors, countless other events worldwide and is the countries greatest ever golfer.

His record is undeniable and should be applauded and his past successes are what give him stature in the game. I personally don't think stature alone is a basis for getting a wild card pick. Woods stature in the game is second to none yet, other than Ray Floyd, no American golfer has lost more Ryder cup matches.

Harrington -2 now, could be safe to make the cut with par on the last.

That scoreboard is messy.

I was just about to post nice to see Todd Hamilton showing some form and contending at -9 after 18. His score has just been changed to -7.

dvemail wrote: »
    Harrington -2 now, could be safe to make the cut with par on the last.

lol....everyone makes it sound like such a huge achievment in making a cut..

I dont remember saying he deserves a medal for getting to -2, the thread is called "Paddy Watch" i was just stating a fact.

No one thinks it's an achievement at all, in fact the cut could go to -3 yet and knowing harrington lately he'll probably mess up the last anyway.
    You're probably just a bit put out that he got 3 birdies back after his triple :P

Murphy double bogey on his first :mad::(