Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seanie Fitz "on €188 a month"

• 23-09-2010 11:48am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭

The attention-grabbing headline of Seanie being "on €188 a month" is a con!

He receives €3,693 AFTER TAX. If he has liabilities & bills to pay from that, it means he's like the rest of us surviving on €50 or so a week DISPOSABLE income.

And most of us don't have our houses and cars in our wife's name!

So he and his FF buddies can f**k off with the twisted sob-stories! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

He was on 70k a week in 2007, you think he would have put some of that aside and not gambled it all.. The man is lucky to have his liberty, so I dont want to hear his sob stories.. He helped ruin the country..

Drumm is the one that really gets my blood boiling though.. For the Government to say that "he's in the US and we can touch him" is just not good enough... The man is living in a 4 million euro house (i.e. I mean he was on 90k a week in 2007) while everybody here is on the breadline (partially due to Anglo).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I don't believe for one second he is on €188 a month.
    A man of his long, vast experience, contacts, ways and means would know exactly how to make it look that way but as for money stashed away somewhere outside the state, I have no hesitation in thinking he is still well off with foreign accounts elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

It's the gall of the little bollicks, another little technicality, he and his well-paid advisors can claim - and a kick in the balls to the ordinary people out there who actually are down to their last penny every day of the week.
    Fitzpatrick thinks it's funny and two fingers to the rest of yis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

Liam Byrne wrote: »

He receives €3,693 AFTER TAX. If he has liabilities & bills to pay from that, it means he's like the rest of us surviving on €50 or so a week DISPOSABLE income.
    My own thoughts exactly upon seeing the headline in this morning’s (yesterday’s?) paper - the guy is still pocketing about €44,000 per annum. Boo hoo. It’s sensationalist nonsense, as is the following...
    ...everybody here is on the breadline...
    gambiaman wrote: »
    ...the ordinary people out there who actually are down to their last penny every day of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

His wife and kids are awfully rich. Somehow.

No wonder he has that big smile on his face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

He signed over all his assets to the missus and then declared himself bankrupt the cute hooir.

Here's hoping Mrs Fitz runs off with Horst the ski instructor and takes Seanie boy to the cleaners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭rightwingdub

He should be taken out and lined up against a wall, then he'd in a wooden box below ground on nothing FOREVER:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

I had to laugh last night on Vincent Browne both he and a woman journalist saying that Fitz is being pilloried even though he has stayed in Ireland and is co-operating with the authorities, and that he was honest with the regulator with most of his filings blah blah....until someone pointed out that several others in the US had done the same as Fitz and got sentences of 26 years in jail..Is that not Ireland and some little s*it does untold damage to our economy and future and created a financial meltdown that is Anglo a bottomless pit that will never be sorted......but sure ah shure poor auld Fitz.

Fitz stays because he knows nothing will ever happen to him and the 188 a month is pure BS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,470 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Mr.Micro wrote: »
    I had to laugh last night on Vincent Browne both he and a woman journalist saying that Fitz is being pilloried even though he has stayed in Ireland and is co-operating with the authorities, and that he was honest with the regulator with most of his filings blah blah....until someone pointed out that several others in the US had done the same as Fitz and got sentences of 26 years in jail..Is that not Ireland and some little s*it does untold damage to our economy and future and created a financial meltdown that is Anglo a bottomless pit that will never be sorted......but sure ah shure poor auld Fitz.

Fitz stays because he knows nothing will ever happen to him and the 188 a month is pure BS.

who got jailed in the US for 26 years for doing the same thing as Sean Fitpatrick? and what was that thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭Byron85

Just to add some more salt to the ever growing wound:

A beaming Mr FitzPatrick (61), who was in court for the two-minute hearing, had no comment to make afterwards.

There were extraordinary scenes following the brief court appearance when the disgraced banker was given a warm welcome in the Barrister's Tea Room in the Four Courts.

A number of lawyers gathered in the law library's restaurant, shook his hand and joined him for mid-morning tea.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/wife-worth-euro3m-as-seanie-laughs-all-the-way-to-court-2349465.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Biggins wrote: »
    I don't believe for one second he is on €188 a month.
    A man of his long, vast experience, contacts, ways and means would know exactly how to make it look that way but as for money stashed away somewhere outside the state, I have no hesitation in thinking he is still well off with foreign accounts elsewhere.

Of course he's not living on €188 a month. In the league table of spin bullsh1t this is top of the premier league.

Regardless of secret foreign accounts or any of that, his wife will still (reportedly) be worth 3 million which can't be touched and also legally owns a half share in several properties which it seems can't be touched either. So even after his assets are sold off, some creditors paid etc, his wife (i.e her and him as a couple really) will still be well off. He's going to get away with this and it seems he has plenty of friends in the law library to help him do so judging by this report in the indo.

A beaming Mr FitzPatrick (61), who was in court for the two-minute hearing, had no comment to make afterwards.

There were extraordinary scenes following the brief court appearance when the disgraced banker was given a warm welcome in the Barrister's Tea Room in the Four Courts.

A number of lawyers gathered in the law library's restaurant, shook his hand and joined him for mid-morning tea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

djpbarry wrote: »
    My own thoughts exactly upon seeing the headline in this morning’s (yesterday’s?) paper - the guy is still pocketing about €44,000 per annum. Boo hoo. It’s sensationalist nonsense, as is the following...

Well, there are record numbers of ordinary people who can't afford to pay their leccy and gas bills - and according to BG and ESB, it's not the usual customer profile either.

Cyrus wrote: »
    who got jailed in the US for 26 years for doing the same thing as Sean Fitpatrick? and what was that thing?

That thing is fraud but not in Ireland as apparently it does not exist for many.

As far as the names of the individuals they elude me at the minute but if you can get recording of the show one of the panelists states 2 names, both of whom I have never heard of.

That thing is fraud but not in Ireland as apparently it does not exist for many.

As far as the names of the individuals they elude me at the minute but if you can get recording of the show one of the panelists states 2 names, both of whom I have never heard of.

my point is that he hasnt been convicted of fraud, or anything else for that matter, so how could he be jailed?

For gross incompetence, above and beyond!
    ..But part of me suspects he knew EXACTLY what he was doing!

Of course he has'nt. The speakers were making a presumption that if he was in the US or another such country he would have been prosecuted and presumably found guilty, they used the examples of 2 such individuals who acted in a similar fashion to Fitzpatrick. Only here in Ireland nothing happened and Fitz is good guy and Anglo is good bank......and the taxpayer does not mind bailing it out.

Well, there are record numbers of ordinary people who can't afford to pay their leccy and gas bills - and according to BG and ESB, it's not the usual customer profile either.

I understand what you're saying. Plenty of people who were flashing the cash in the good old days are struggling now.

But Seanie Fitz will never have to worry about paying his ESB bill, of that you can be certain.

For gross incompetence, above and beyond!
    ..But part of me suspects he knew EXACTLY what he was doing!

course he did, making his 5 million shares worthless was exactly what he wanted
    Of course he has'nt. The speakers were making a presumption that if he was in the US or another such country he would have been prosecuted and presumably found guilty, they used the examples of 2 such individuals who acted in a similar fashion to Fitzpatrick. Only here in Ireland nothing happened and Fitz is good guy and Anglo is good bank......and the taxpayer does not mind bailing it out.

dont think anybody is making him out to be the good guy, and i think everyone minds bailing anglo out, but the fact is all the banks followed poor lending practices that facilitated the property boom, and when that boom ended everything fell apart, and while anglo were the worst offenders the rest of them jumped in with both feet aswell.

people wanting someone to goto jail before that person has been convicted of anything just strikes me as stupid, if he broke a law he will be taken to court, if he hasnt, he wont, there is no point applying your interpretation of fraud or wrong doing and applying that.

I could not care less about the little s*it or whether he goes to jail or not. He is just one of a long list of greedy s*its that Ireland appears to be littered with. So long as the authorities do nothing to these people then we will forever be plagued with corruption that the public at large will pay for.

course he did, making his 5 million shares worthless was exactly what he wanted
    He knew what he was doing when he was moving money around in an endless circle in order to create false numbers on balance sheets.
    The fact that eventually he lost money (or so he might claim!) by his own previous actions does NOT take away from his earlier actions and/or excuse them in any way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

And most of us don't have our houses and cars in our wife's name!

So he and his FF buddies can f**k off with the twisted sob-stories! :mad:

when did he put everything in his wifes name, i thought that spouses were not removed from this that if the husband or wife owes money that their spouse would have to step in and give up the assets to pay the bills

He knew what he was doing when he was moving money around in an endless circle in order to create false numbers on balance sheets.
    The fact that eventually he lost money (so so he might claim!) by his own previous actions does NOT take away from his earlier actions and/or excuse them in any way!

im sure he did, unfortunately it appears the regulator and several others did too

I had to laugh last night on Vincent Browne both he and a woman journalist saying that Fitz is being pilloried even though he has stayed in Ireland and is co-operating with the authorities...
    I’m not sure pilloried is the right word, but, rightly or wrongly, he certainly represents the face of the crash (and those guilty of creating it) to many.
    Is that not Ireland and some little s*it does untold damage to our economy and future and created a financial meltdown that is Anglo...
    All by himself?
    Fitz stays because he knows nothing will ever happen to him...
    What should happen to him?
    I could not care less about the little s*it or whether he goes to jail or not.
    Your referral to him as “little sh*t” says otherwise.
    So long as the authorities do nothing to these people then we will forever be plagued with corruption that the public at large will pay for.
    And it’s not like the Irish public ever condones corruption, shenanigans and cute hoorism, is it?

Well, there are record numbers of ordinary people who can't afford to pay their leccy and gas bills...
    I accept that more people are having trouble paying bills, but let’s not lose our grip on reality altogether. We’ll get through this – it’s not like the masses are starving on the streets.

I’m not sure pilloried is the right word, but, rightly or wrongly, he certainly represents the face of the crash (and those guilty of creating it) to many.
    All by himself

His position of power and unaccountability as the head of Anglo allowed him to do major damage.
    What should happen to him
    ?

Nothing of course but be honoured and feted like all our other great men. Maybe even a whip round or a personal bailout?

Your referral to him as “little sh*t” says otherwise.

Absolute rubbish, don't get ahead of yourself there, there are plenty of little sh*ts in Ireland does that mean they should all go to jail and you drawing such a conclusion is puerile.

And it’s not like the Irish public ever condones corruption, shenanigans and cute hoorism, is it?

That is just it long may it continue its what makes Ireland great and an example to others.

...and while anglo were the worst offenders the rest of them jumped in with both feet aswell.

Indeed they did, and it was actually Bank of Scotland, not Anglo, who really kicked off the madness when they started dishing out 100% mortgages (even 110% in some cases) to every tom dick and harry that wanted one. That caused the other banks to pile in and try to grab more of the action. Anglo just took it further than the rest and left themselves hopelessly exposed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

I can understand the anger of people here regarding Seanie.

Lets try to be analytical about this.
    The man has €50m in assets but he has €150m in liabilities.
    Therefore he's in quite a bit of difficulty financially.

I would imagine that he's also facing possible criminal charges from the Gardai/DPP pending the outcome of their investigation.

I would also guess that he's facing investigation regarding his bankruptcy and to ascertain whether or not he tried to reduce his assets deliberately.

And I'm guessing on this one - but I reckon that there are a lot of investors who have losts hundreds of thousands, if not millions, by the demise of Anglo.
    He could well face several class actions from those investors also.

I reckon Seanie is screwed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

This kind of **** really gets to me. I was in the canteen in work today reading the papers and this was all across the frontpages. Does the media honestly expect us to believe this ****? What are they playing at, I don't know.

It's been said before. Seanie Fitz will get away with this. They all will. Nobody will be held accountable for a failure that we can't even fathom right now. Our country is crippled and they are standing on our backs laughing. There's no change. No opposition. Sometimes I just want to get a weapon, a gun, ****ing anything, and go out there and find these people that did this and let them have it, because it's the only kind of justice we will ever get.

hinault wrote: »
    I reckon Seanie is screwed.

Well he should be screwed*. No doubt about that. But I suppose there's a feeling that this being Ireland he'll probably wriggle away from it reasonably inatact.

Though in fairness while all the Anglo flak is being directed at Seanie the slippery David Drumm ran off to his multi-million mansion in the US so as not to have to face the awkward questions over here. Seanie Fitz has become the poster boy for the banks wrongdoing but he's far from a lone sinner. When will Fingleton be in court I wonder?

*Preferably by a big fat hairy guy called Princess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Indeed they did, and it was actually Bank of Scotland, not Anglo, who really kicked off the madness when they started dishing out 100% mortgages (even 110% in some cases) to every tom dick and harry that wanted one. That caused the other banks to pile in and try to grab more of the action. Anglo just took it further than the rest and left themselves hopelessly exposed.

Anglo didn't do mortgages.

Augmerson wrote: »
    This kind of **** really gets to me. I was in the canteen in work today reading the papers and this was all across the frontpages. Does the media honestly expect us to believe this ****? What are they playing at, I don't know.

It's been said before. Seanie Fitz will get away with this. They all will. Nobody will be held accountable for a failure that we can't even fathom right now. Our country is crippled and they are standing on our backs laughing. There's no change. No opposition. Sometimes I just want to get a weapon, a gun, ****ing anything, and go out there and find these people that did this and let them have it, because it's the only kind of justice we will ever get.

your attitude is typical of a lot of the country, misdirected rage,

there is no point trying to get 'justice' we need to get the country out of this mess, what you are suggesting will do no good at all

His position of power and unaccountability as the head of Anglo allowed him to do major damage.
    Unaccountability? Was he not accountable to the Anglo board? Were they not in turn accountable to the shareholders? As for power, was absolute control of Anglo vested in Fitzpatrick? You don’t think perhaps the CEO (David Drumm), for example, might have had a significant input into the organisation's affairs?
    Nothing of course but be honoured and feted like all our other great men. Maybe even a whip round or a personal bailout?
    Care to try again without the sarcasm? Genuine question – what should happen to Seán Fitzpatrick?
    Absolute rubbish, don't get ahead of yourself there, there are plenty of little sh*ts in Ireland does that mean they should all go to jail and you drawing such a conclusion is puerile.
    At what point did I say you felt he should go to jail? You stated that you “could not care less about the little s*it”. Such a remark, coupled with the general tone of your posts on this thread, suggest to me that you do indeed care about what happens to Seán Fitzpatrick.
    That is just it long may it continue its what makes Ireland great and an example to others.
    My point is that corruption is something that is endemic in Irish society (although, admittedly, there are many countries in the world with far greater problems in that regard) – it’s not like we’re talking about an isolated incident here.

It's been said before. Seanie Fitz will get away with this.
    Get away with what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

there is no point trying to get 'justice' we need to get the country out of this mess, what you are suggesting will do no good at all

If there is no investigation into causes and justice served for anyone breaking the law

then all of this will repeat again on a much larger scale

Get away with what?
    Gross incompetence and/or negligence.
    Possible financial antics which are not in line with banking regulations

To name just two, of which I'm sure there are many more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

simple solution to this transferring of assets ever happening again,
    amend the finance bill to do the following;
    • a spouse can make 1 tax free transfer in their lifetime to their wife/husband to the tune of €500,000.
    • any subsequent transfers to a spouse be subject to 75% capital gains tax.
    problem solved, Seanie and his ilk couldnt wiggle their way out of paying their debts.

we'd have to wait till FF left power for anything like this to occur as since '97 Bertie and co have made it a hobby of changin laws and creating loopholes to benefit their benifactors and to screw the state of tax revenues it should rightfully be earning.

ei.sdraob wrote: »
    If there is no investigation into causes and justice served for anyone breaking the law

the point has been made by myself and others, he is being investigated, as of yet he hasnt been proven guilty of breaking any law,

what law do you think he has broken and how did he break it?

Gross incompetence and/or negligence.

people are guilty of this every day in every job, what do you want to happen to them?

bamboozle wrote: »
    we'd have to wait till FF left power for anything like this to occur as since '97 Bertie and co have made it a hobby of changin laws and creating loopholes to benefit their benifactors and to screw the state of tax revenues it should rightfully be earning.

why in gods name should the state be entitled to a transfer of assets between spouses?

you already have the scandalous situation where a child is charged with CAT on receipt of inheritance from their parents, you want to further tax people for transfer or assets that they have paid for with money that they already paid tax on?

well you will probably get your wish, from the polls labour are looking increasingly likley of being the majority party, as they will shy away from taking the unions on they will tax the 'super rich' (or anyone who earns over the average industrial wage) so much that there will no money left in the economy.

why in gods name should the state be entitled to a transfer of assets between spouses?

you already have the scandalous situation where a child is charged with CAT on receipt of inheritance from their parents, you want to further tax people for transfer or assets that they have paid for with money that they already paid tax on?

well you will probably get your wish, from the polls labour are looking increasingly likley of being the majority party, as they will shy away from taking the unions on they will tax the 'super rich' (or anyone who earns over the average industrial wage) so much that there will no money left in the economy.

per my suggestion, a charge of CGT but with a once off transfer of €500k being tax free. It is clear that transferring assets between spouses has been a clear way of tax avoidance by Seanie, several NAMA property developers not to mention Ivor. hundreds of millions have been transferred property developers/bankers/politicians to wives over the last 2 years in a clear attempt to avoid paying debts & accurate tax assessment. This should not be tolerated.

bamboozle wrote: »
    per my suggestion, a charge of CGT but with a once off transfer of €500k being tax free. It is clear that transferring assets between spouses has been a clear way of tax avoidance by Seanie, several NAMA property developers not to mention Ivor. hundreds of millions have been transferred property developers/bankers/politicians to wives over the last 2 years in a clear attempt to avoid paying debts & accurate tax assessment. This should not be tolerated.

im being pedantic but it would be CAT not CGT

why a ceiling of 500k, whats the relevance of that

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

people are guilty of this every day in every job, what do you want to happen to them?

Sure but it usually doesn't end up costing the country millions of euro's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

And your attitude appears to be to let these guys slide as they did nothing wrong technically or at least according to our very lax corporate governance.

Ken Bates set up a dodgy bank in ireland in the 70s, it folded and no one was punished.
    Patrick Gallagher set up dodgy bank in late 70s/early 80s and it folded leaving people out of pocket, nothing happened to him here due to his close ties with one cj haughey.
    Yet he was jailed in Northern Ireland.

Joe Moore (another friend of ff) in late 70s/early 80s set up a quasi bank within PMPA which went burst and forced the Irish taxpayer to cough up and indeed all insurance pemiums had levy attached for that little bailout.
    That wind up was finally finalised in 2005 22 years after going belly up.

ICI's London office was badly run and AIB forced government to bail it out. No one within AIB was punished and AIB was not sanctioned or forced to give shares to Irish taxpayers.

In the 90s it was found major Irish banks had coluded in tax evasion with non resident accounts.
    No one with the banks were punished or huge fines were not levied.

Do you begin to see a trend yet ?

If people and organisations are not severly punished for this it will continue to happen.
    ei.sdraob wrote: »

Please see above.
    Get away with what?

In other jurisdictions he would be done for insider trading, misleading the stock markets and his shareholders.

Even in Ireland he would have been in breach of normal company law with reference to concelament of directors loans.
    Of course it is argued it is different for a bank. :rolleyes:
    the point has been made by myself and others, he is being investigated, as of yet he hasnt been proven guilty of breaking any law,

what law do you think he has broken and how did he break it?

Ah shure good ould Ireland everything is investigated but funny enough we never seem to have any prosecutions. :rolleyes:
    If bernie maddoff had been based here he would still be playing golf out in the Kclub.

I am not allowed discuss …

jmayo wrote: »
    And your attitude appears to be to let these guys slide as they did nothing wrong technically or at least according to our very lax corporate governance.

Ken Bates set up a dodgy bank in ireland in the 70s, it folded and no one was punished.
    Patrick Gallagher set up dodgy bank in late 70s/early 80s and it folded leaving people out of pocket, nothing happened to him here due to his close ties with one cj haughey.
    Yet he was jailed in Northern Ireland.

Joe Moore (another friend of ff) in late 70s/early 80s set up a quasi bank within PMPA which went burst and forced the Irish taxpayer to cough up and indeed all insurance pemiums had levy attached for that little bailout.
    That wind up was finally finalised in 2005 22 years after going belly up.

ICI's London office was badly run and AIB forced government to bail it out. No one within AIB was punished and AIB was not sanctioned or forced to give shares to Irish taxpayers.

In the 90s it was found major Irish banks had coluded in tax evasion with non resident accounts.
    No one with the banks were punished or huge fines were not levied.

Do you begin to see a trend yet ?

If people and organisations are not severly punished for this it will continue to happen.

Please see above.

In other jurisdictions he would be done for insider trading, misleading the stock markets and his shareholders.

Even in Ireland he would have been in breach of normal company law with reference to concelament of directors loans.
    Of course it is argued it is different for a bank. :rolleyes:

Ah shure good ould Ireland everything is investigated but funny enough we never seem to have any prosecutions. :rolleyes:
    If bernie maddoff had been based here he would still be playing golf out in the Kclub.

well it is the country where our former Taoiseach and Minister for Finance is yet to provide a tax clearance certificate since 2002, despite this being a requirement to sit in Dail Eireann.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

there is no point trying to get 'justice'

Whyever not ?

I’m guessing these “other jurisdictions” would require that an investigation be carried out in order to establish whether or not wrongdoing has taken place? If not, then I don’t think we should be following their example.
    How about we let the Bureau of Fraud Investigation do their job on that front and we’ll see what comes of it.
    Questions about Madoff’s business practices were raised back in the late 90’s, yet he was only sentenced to prison last year (and that was only after he confessed to wrongdoing).

Whyever not ?

you have both missed my point,

again if some has not been prosecuted for doing something illegal, nothing is going to happen to them, either fitzpatrick broke an actual law with a custodial sentence attached or he didnt

if he didnt he wont go to jail, im not sure what other kind of 'justice' people think they are going to get.

also there are far too many people using someone like him as a scapegoat for their own problems, because we all love someone to blame and its easier to sit around a pub drinking blaming someone else for losing your job that doing something about it yourself

Sure but it usually doesn't end up costing the country millions of euro's.

oh really, heard of the civil service?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

if he didnt he wont go to jail, im not sure what other kind of 'justice' people think they are going to get.

The type of justice that says if you owe €100 million which is now on the taxpayers shoulders that you dont continue to live in luxury claiming to be oh so broke. Justice would be Sean Fitzpatrick living in a council flat, buying clothes from Guineys or Pennys and taking public transport.

A man in his position, with his debts, shouldn't be allowed to live off his wife, they are benefits in kind paid for by a wife who was syphoned Fitzpatricks money to protect it from his creditors.

Justice is broke meaning broke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,388 ✭✭✭markpb

again if some has not been prosecuted for doing something illegal, nothing is going to happen to them, either fitzpatrick broke an actual law with a custodial sentence attached or he didnt. if he didnt he wont go to jail, im not sure what other kind of 'justice' people think they are going to get.

That's not entirely true. White collar crime laws are very difficult to prove and very hard use to convict someone with. It takes a lot of time, manpower and money to make that happen and the government have to drive that. They cannot directly impede a criminal investigation but it can underfund the agencies tasked with enforcing them. The ODCE publicly said two years ago that his agency was under-funded and would not be able to enforce the law.
    In April 2005, the New York Times wrote of the "light hand" of corporate regulation that encouraged such people to gravitate to these shores: "Dublin has become known in the insurance industry as something of the Wild West of European finance".

Over the past five years, Paul Appleby and his small number of staff have sought to clean things up. Like a dose of Domestos to corporate germs? Well, given the size of the ODCE, more like a wipe from a cloth slightly dampened by Dettol. Mr Appleby has just 36 employees, including six gardai.

Mr Appleby applied for 20 more staff, including four gardai. This request seems based in logic, requesting people with particular skills for specific jobs that need doing. In the Dail, Bertie Ahern became waspish. "It is not that Mr Appleby's work is not considered important . . . it is a question of prioritising the placement of staff. He has 36, so it seems extraordinary that he could want another 20." The fact that the staff are needed to get the job done seems irrelevant. "One would not receive such an increase in any department," huffed Bertie. "He will have to wait his turn."

The old belief that someone is innocent until proven guilty is patently untrue if the government deliberately stops agencies like the ODCE from taking a case against them.