Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Edinburgh -v- Leinster: Friday 24th Sept KO: 7.05pm, Live RTE 2

• 23-09-2010 11:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

Teams Announced

EDINBURGH:

15: Chris Paterson
    14: Mark Robertson
    13: Ben Cairns
    12: Alex Grove
    11: Tim Visser
    10: David Blair
    9: Mike Blair

1: Allan Jacobsen
    2: Ross Ford
    3: Geoff Cross
    4: Esteban Lozada
    5: Scott MacLeod
    6: Scott Newlands
    7: Ross Rennie
    8: Roddy Grant CAPTAIN

REPLACEMENTS:

16: Andrew Kelly
    17: Kyle Traynor
    18: Jack Gilding
    19: Craig Hamilton
    20: Alan MacDonald or David Denton
    21: Greig Laidlaw
    22: Tom Brown
    23: John Houston

LEINSTER:

15: Rob Kearney
    14: Shane Horgan
    13: Brian O’Driscoll
    12: Gordon D’Arcy
    11: Luke Fitzgerald
    10: Jonathan Sexton
    9: Eoin Reddan

1: Heinke van der Merwe
    2: Richardt Strauss
    3: Mike Ross
    4: Ed O’Donoghue
    5: Devin Toner
    6: Dominic Ryan
    7: Shane Jennings CAPTAIN
    8: Stephen Keogh

REPLACEMENTS:

16: Jason Harris-Wright
    17: Cian Healy
    18: Simon Shawe
    19: Mariano Galarza
    20: Jamie Heaslip
    21: Isaac Boss
    22: Isa Nacewa
    23: Eoin O’Malley

REFEREE: Tim Hayes (WRU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Iain Heard, Bob Nevans (both SRU), TMO: Ian Ramage (SRU)

I would have preferred to put Nacewa on the right wing, but all in all I am pleased with the selection. Looking forward to this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,951 ✭✭✭✭phog

Leinster have had their problems with beating Edinburgh but I think this is certainly a 4 pointer at least for Leinster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭stejkenny

Come on Jason Harris Wright!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

phog wrote: »
    Leinster have had their problems with beating Edinburgh but I think this is certainly a 4 pointer at least for Leinster.

Agreed. This is one they should win.

If they don't win this one then it's time to start getting worried.

Jacobsen v. Ross is the one I'll be watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Leinster really need to get their act together though. Particularly second half performances. It should be a win for them but I am not quite as sure about them as I used to be. Hopefully they are just getting warmed up.

Is Nathan Hines injured?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

this is a 50 50 match, edenbrugh away, leinster have the firepower on the bench to win it in the last 20

would of preferred boss starting, redden was useless last week,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Hippo

Is Nathan Hines injured?

Don't think so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭valleyoftheunos

I wouldn't see this as a certainty at all, Edinburgh have some real quality in that side, Ford can do some serious damage in the scrum and around the field, Mike Blair is good and Patterson is a points machine.

Leinster need to produce a high quality and high intensity performance for 80 minutes. While it has not been a good start to the season so far I'm not freaking out just yet but a good performance is whats needed before the match against Munster, that is something I am worried about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

There's some impact on the bench there in Heaslip and Isa, hopefully they get it together in advance of the 'The Drive for Five' next week and the HEC games

Been a pretty shabby few games so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

I wouldn't see this as a certainty at all, Edinburgh have some real quality in that side, Ford can do some serious damage in the scrum and around the field, Mike Blair is good and Patterson is a points machine.

Leinster need to produce a high quality and high intensity performance for 80 minutes. While it has not been a good start to the season so far I'm not freaking out just yet but a good performance is whats needed before the match against Munster, that is something I am worried about.

Paterson missed a real sitter at Ravenhill last Friday night and was substituted soon afterwards but as you say is normally a points machine. Edinburgh under some pressure after worst run of successive defeats in ML (including tail end of last season) so they will be hard to beat on home soil as they will be up for this. As you rightly say an 80 minute performance required from Leinster.

Watched Edinburgh v Munster a few weeks back and the Edinburgh scrum was embarrassing; Even Tony Buckley was giving them a lesson; I also watched the Ulster game last week and the only danger is Visser

Unless Ulster are head and shoulders above everyone else id say this should be easy enough for Leinster in my view

leinster have played poorly this year,
    1st thing first, performance, leinster play well and lose it not all bad, but if leinster play poorly, then i would fear for them in there game in europe

murrayfield hasnt been a good hunting ground for irish team over the years, i think last year the most away wins in the league was 3 away wins, so home advantage counts for something.

with regards to the scrum, buckley scrummaging has greatly improved, even the hairspays didnt do a number with their front row.

my last point is leinster line out, i can see no one on the team who can dominate the line out, to take control of calls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

stejkenny wrote: »
    Watched Edinburgh v Munster a few weeks back and the Edinburgh scrum was embarrassing; Even Tony Buckley was giving them a lesson; I also watched the Ulster game last week and the only danger is Visser

Unless Ulster are head and shoulders above everyone else id say this should be easy enough for Leinster in my view

Hopefully if we get on top in the scrum it will be reffed appropriately. The way the ref bottled it regarding the scrums in the Cardiff game was pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Keep the ball away from Visser and ye should win by 10-15 points IMO, even if ye play shíte. :D

outwest wrote: »
    leinster have played poorly this year,
    1st thing first, performance, leinster play well and lose it not all bad, but if leinster play poorly, then i would fear for them in there game in europe

murrayfield hasnt been a good hunting ground for irish team over the years, i think last year the most away wins in the league was 3 away wins, so home advantage counts for something.

with regards to the scrum, buckley scrummaging has greatly improved, even the hairspays didnt do a number with their front row.

my last point is leinster line out, i can see no one on the team who can dominate the line out, to take control of calls.

Agreed on the line out; its absolute muck

Hopefully Strauss/Wright can throw their darts like the Power Taylor!!!

Agreed on the line out; its absolute muck

Hopefully Strauss/Wright can throw their darts like the Power Taylor!!!

It was muck against Treviso with Fogarty throwing. Other than that it's been fine imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Edinburgh are pretty average this season. I think they having a delayed reaction to losing Andy Robinson to the national team and have gone back to the unstrustured side to side rugby that preceeded his tenure.

If Leinster keep their heads they should win this game, if they don't I'd be slightly worried for their prospects for the season. I do expect them to win though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

danthefan wrote: »
    It was muck against Treviso with Fogarty throwing. Other than that it's been fine imo.

In this day and age a hooker who cant hit his man is not worth his pay.. both fogartys couldnt hit a wall from 6 inchs.. look at the munster lineout it nearly always goes to the front when fogarty is throwing because he cant hit the second man...

danthefan wrote: »
    Hopefully if we get on top in the scrum it will be reffed appropriately. The way the ref bottled it regarding the scrums in the Cardiff game was pathetic.

Only if ye get on top :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

The back five of the Leinster pack look a bit light weight, other than that, it's a very strong selection with a very useful bench.

If this is an indication of Harris-Wright's form in training, or Fogarties lack of, it would be massive if he could get on and make an impression, such as Dominic Ryan, who has really established himself amongst the backrow options, when we all expected it to be Ruddock to break through there, this will be Ryans 6th first team appearance, whilst still only on an academy contract, not even promoted to first squad this season, and the new coach certainly sees a lot in him, and he's stepping up, and getting in ahead of good players.

Not a big fan of Keogh at 8. Really, he should only be a backup squad player in my opinion. Maybe there's a Leinster imposed suspension for O'Briens carelessness against Treviso, which he got away with scott free, but I would have prefered O'Brien at 8 if it wasn't for that.

Boss has been the sucess story of signings this season so far for Leinster, so it's almost disapointing to see Reddan starting, such is the depth to our 9 jersey right now.

Boss has added a creative edge to the Leinster attack around the fringes, that I think he brings a whole new facet to our game, which really facilitates us to playing to our strengths. Yes, his pass from the base of the scrum or ruck isn't spectacular, and yes he can be prone to the odd bad decision, but it's his flair with ball in hand that makes him so worthwhile. He's a quick, snipey, intelligent player who can be a thorn in the side of any back row player, which allows more room for manouvre out wide which I think we've seen already from Boss, the Cardiff game being the highlight, as his flair and involvement was key in every Leinster try.

Big chances for Horgan, Ross & Toner. Edinburgh look decent and to make a prediction tough. I want to say that we'll run away with it and it'll kick start our season, because I think we need that, and I think Schmidt knows it, throwing in the big guns, but I think Leinster will win and do just enough to call it a good night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭lologram

http://www.leinsterrugby.ie/5083.php

Sexton out, Madigan in. So much for naming a full strength team. Just the Munster match to go before Leinster have to take on the side who are sitting atop the Top 14. That's going to go well... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

lologram wrote: »

Sexton out, Madigan in. So much for naming a full strength team. Just the Munster match to go before Leinster have to take on the side who are sitting atop the Top 14. That's going to go well... :rolleyes:

**** - i'm not convinced Madigan is an out half - hopefully with BOD back , it will steady him - me, I'd love to see BOD at out half

Good grief id rather see Ross at outhalf then Madigan; hes absolute muck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Hippo

Desperate news about Sexton. Not looking forward to the next few weeks now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

thebaz wrote: »
    **** - i'm not convinced Madigan is an out half - hopefully with BOD back , it will steady him - me, I'd love to see BOD at out half

Really?

I thought Madigan equipped himself very well againt Cardiff, especially considering he was put into the starting line-up at the last minute. Granted he wasn't great against Treviso, but then no-one was really. He's by no means amazing, yet, but definitely a better option at out-half than most. And in a pretty much full-strength back-line, Madigan would have plenty of help.

In saying that I'd probably go for Nacewa starting at 10. I hate when he plays there but he has more experience than Madigan, and there are no real options other than these two. There's no way I'd play O'Driscoll at 10.

Losing Sexton again is a real blow, hopefully he'll back back to full fitness soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

I don't know if you are trolling or just clueless. If you are seriously suggesting playing a prop at outhalf then its one or the other.

Madigan is a 21 yr old academy player being asked to step up and play 1st team magners league - he has acquitted himself pretty well in my opinion, one good game, one poor game (in a very poorly performing team). There is no way to tell from these two games whether he is "absolute muck", I'v seen both O Gara and Sexton play some pretty horrific games in the past.

That said - I think Nacewa would be a better option at outhalf in terms of winning the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Beanmachine

Ridiculous quote, Madigan is 21, has hardly been eased into the first team has he? Was thrown right into the Cardiff game minutes before kick-off when he was expecting to be on the bench. Last weekend played in the pissing rain against a very robust and physical Italian side, not exactly ideal circumstances to play in. Give the lad a chance

It seems to be taking longer than expected for him to get fit or is it a new injury?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Daragh86

Anybody know if this match is being shown on BBC ALBA or something similar? I don't have RTE, but have freeview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Just got this video clip from Rugby Dump of Edinburgh's Tim Visser scoring an outstanding try in the match against Ulster last weekend.

Remember his 5 minute hat-trick last March when he came off the bench against Ospreys. He's one to watch tonight. I'm hope Leinster win but I'm going with PP on Edinburgh to win by more than 1 @ 13/10.

Sexton out eh? Madigan gets his third consecutive start then.

That's a big blow to Leinster.

hopefully sexton is just a slight knock, this games got 10 times harder for leinster to win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

So with Sexton out, no McFadden and Nacewa only on the bench who will be taking the kicks? An inexperienced Madigan or and out of practice Kearney? This isn't going to go well is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

I don't think its been announced that Madigan is starting, only that he's replaced Sexton in the match-day 23. I think they'll start with Nacewa at 10 and Madigan on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

WeeBushy wrote: »
    Really?

I thought Madigan equipped himself very well againt Cardiff, especially considering he was put into the starting line-up at the last minute. .

he is a skillfull player , but from the little I have seen he is not a natural 10 - i think hed be better of as a centre / full back

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

RTE have Nacewa starting.
    I think the way Leinster phrased that would indicate it too.
    Not again :mad:

Oh I assumed Madigan was a straight swap for Sexton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Macsimus

Balls, poor johnny couldn't have worse luck with injuries if Quinlan was his physio.

padser wrote: »
    I don't know if you are trolling or just clueless. If you are seriously suggesting playing a prop at outhalf then its one or the other.

Madigan is a 21 yr old academy player being asked to step up and play 1st team magners league - he has acquitted himself pretty well in my opinion, one good game, one poor game (in a very poorly performing team). There is no way to tell from these two games whether he is "absolute muck", I'v seen both O Gara and Sexton play some pretty horrific games in the past.

That said - I think Nacewa would be a better option at outhalf in terms of winning the game.

Beanmachine and padser; take a chill pill im neither trolling or clueless; i just dont rate Madigan; thats my opinion and im not the only one; i really dont care what age he is; if he cant hack it he shouldnt be near the pitch; Just my opinion.

PS Hope Mike Ross keeps showing the good form he has shown so far; if so Ireland will definetly have all Leinster front row

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Tough enough game for Leinster but remember that Edinburgh lost 3 from 3 this season and 7 in a row in the ML. They're there for the taking.
    Beanmachine and padser; take a chill pill im neither trolling or clueless; i just dont rate Madigan; thats my opinion and im not the only one; i really dont care what age he is; if he cant hack it he shouldnt be near the pitch; Just my opinion.

PS Hope Mike Ross keeps showing the good form he has shown so far; if so Ireland will definetly have all Leinster front row

I think Madigan will need a run of games to get up to speed. Then it'll be time to judge him. I disagree with the people who said he's only 21. Thats old enough and not like hes 18.

Mike Ross will not be starting for Ireland. I hope hes in the squad but I reckon John Hayes will be there. Also Hagan in Connacht is having a good season I hear.

Age isn't so much the issue with Madigan, it's experience. He's had only a handful of starts in the ML.

id still have buckly ahead of ross, what hooker will ireland play from leinster,

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

profitius wrote: »
    Mike Ross will not be starting for Ireland. I hope hes in the squad but I reckon John Hayes will be there. Also Hagan in Connacht is having a good season I hear.

Ross is twice the player Hayes is at this stage unfortunately. I don't see any way Kidney could justify picking him really. Impressed with Hagan though.
    stejkenny wrote:
    Ireland will definetly have all Leinster front row

Is Cronin injured?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

With Sexton out I've gone from being quietly confident of a 5-10 point win, to being somewhat worried about not coming back with anything.
    It's going to be tight, Edinburgh often offer us trouble hence goal kicking will play a big role as to who come out on top. With Sexton we could be confident of high percentage of kicks going over, I wouldn't be as confident in Madigan or Nacewa.
    Having said that I hope Nacewa gets the nod at 10. Note that Leinster only say Madigan has replaced Sexton on the 23 man squad, no indication that he'll start.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

With Sexton out I've gone from being quietly confident of a 5-10 point win, to being somewhat worried about not coming back with anything.
    It's going to be tight, Edinburgh often offer us trouble hence goal kicking will play a big role as to who come out on top. With Sexton we could be confident of high percentage of kicks going over, I wouldn't be as confident in Madigan or Nacewa.
    Having said that I hope Nacewa gets the nod at 10. Note that Leinster only say Madigan has replaced Sexton on the 23 man squad, no indication that he'll start.

McFadden isn't even on the bench unfortunately. Nacewa did surprisingly well with his last game kicking though. Would definitely be concerned if Madigan starts.

Thankfully I did my predictions after Sexton was confirmed out!

Personally I hope it's a straight swop with Madigan in for Sexton. I'm backing the lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Don't see why everyone is so opposed to seeing Madigan start. It can only benefit Leinster in the long-term to develop him. Especially at this "less-important" stage of the season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

C'MON LEINSTER!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

3-3 after 5 mins.

Would appreciate regular updates please lads...this RTE player is ruining my life, can't get the game online. :(