Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bit of a odd situation i have...

• 23-09-2010 12:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭

I think one my neighbors might be dead...haven't seen her in two weeks...the mail in the front door has really built up...none of the lights in her house are ever turned on...she normally goes to the shops only a daily basis but not for a while now...her car hasent moved a spot...all in all i have this creepy something bad might have happened...she's 97 and lives alone...should i even bother? shes quite the annoying biddy...

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Or she's on holidays

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Send her an e-mail, see if she's all right.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

she's probably volunteering for the IDF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

Maybe knock on the door in the morning and see if anyone answers, or ask around and see if anyone has seen her about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Goldenegg

Contact the guards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Just knock on the door.......................not her back door:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Seriously tho, id ring the fuzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭derra_121

Break in and Master Bate over her dead corpse :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Do a "show posts" search of her username & see if she's been posting on Boards recently.

If she hasn't, she's probably dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

derra_121 wrote: »

Oscar Wilde is still alive I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

Give her a buzz on her mobile...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

97?! Seriously call the Guards and explain. They'll send someone round knocking.

Otherwise the place might start smelling of rotting flesh..

alwaysadub wrote: »
    97?! Seriously call the Guards and explain. They'll send someone round knocking.

Otherwise the place might start smelling of rotting flesh..

To hell with the fact that she might be dead.. think of the smell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Is/Was she hot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

I'm sure after she reads this thread she'll knock in to let you know all is ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

To hell with the fact that she might be dead.. think of the smell!

Exactly!

No but honest i would ring the Guards OP, something's not right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Erica<3

Yeah ring the guards.

Then come back and let us know. Please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Maybe she stumbled across World of Warcraft?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭hello932

Erica<3 wrote: »
    Yeah ring the guards.

I dont know if i want to get involved to be honest. Its time like these i wish i had my own estate to live in.

What am i going to say to them- hi can you please check if my neighbor is still alive...there going to think im taking the piss ffs.

Im sure someone will visit her house soon i hope. Then ill know i guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

hello932 wrote: »
    I dont know if i want to get involved to be honest. Its time like these i wish i had my own estate to live in.

What am i going to say to them- hi can you please check if my neighbor is still alive...there going to think im taking the piss ffs.

Yeah sounds like you are what 97 year old drives a car?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

grab a scythe and long black hooded cloak..then knock on her door!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Fuppin ring the door for cryin out loud. She's 97? Probably toast she is.
    Bound to happen anyway.

Have ye done it yet?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Exactly!

No but honest i would ring the Guards OP, something's not right.
    Erica<3 wrote: »
    Yeah ring the guards.

Why?

If you have a genuine concern then do it, you don't have to give your name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Is/Was she hot?

I'd say she's real cool now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Same thing happened me about 5 years ago, a little old lady that was always out and about and suddenly no sign. She was 87, eventually decided to check and after no answer, jumped around the back only to see her stone cold across the kitchen floor, the poor aul dear. My advice is if you don't get an answer, don't investigate any further, just call the police and let them sort it. You don't wanna stumble across a dead body, believe me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

I think one my neighbors might be dead...haven't seen her in two weeks...the mail in the front door has really built up...none of the lights in her house are ever turned on...she normally goes to the shops only a daily basis but not for a while now...her car hasent moved a spot...all in all i have this creepy something bad might have happened...she's 97 and lives alone...should i even bother? shes quite the annoying biddy...

Thats really a sad case if this woman has no family left to check up on her and theyre you are afraid of not getting envolved. Just give a knock and see if she is still ticking over, if not give the gaurds a call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

After Hours is getting worse, this is not the time for jokes :rolleyes:

Go round the back and see if the door or a window is open.

If she is dead, check all the drawers and biscuit tins for a will.

Change this and make yourself the executor of all her affairs and estate.

Then carry her over the back wall and spread a rumour around that you and her are dating.

Turn up swing music from the 1920's and play it loud.

Keep passing her corpse past the window so people can see her silhouette.

Download old ladies voices off YouTube and play them loudly from time to time.

Buy denture cleaners from the chemist and lots of granny panties from Pennys for a at least a week.

Then one night, take her out, but make sure she is wearing a long pearl necklace and it's worn on the outside, this is very important.

Be sure it's very dark and busy .. a Friday night around 8pm will be just right..

Laugh and joke with the body as you hold it tight.

Go to Kilester Dart station and buy two tickets to Malahide at around 9pm.

At 9pm the Belfast train leaves Connolly station for Belfast.

It will reach Kilester at 9.11pm but will NOT stop.

Stand up as if you are getting ready to get the Dart that is due at 9.17pm.

At around 9.09pm you will hear the train thundering along as it approaches Kilester, it will be traveling at around 87 miles per hour, stand a few feet from the edge so as not to arouse suspicion.

Kiss the corpse at this point and belly laugh as you look at her.

Now loosen your grip on her arm, the train will not fifty feet now and the noise of it's engines will be drowning out most everything else.

At this point drop your wallet in front of her, bend down to pick it up and as you are just about to lay your fingers on it and the train is almost upon you, give a tug on the pearl necklace and watch her body land right in the path of 340 tons of hurtling Belfast bound steel.

If you do it right, it should look to any witnesses that she stumbled trying to grasp your wallet.

Enjoy your new found wealth.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Oh OutlawPete whatever will we do with you:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

joke joke joke

insert witty remark

ffs

In fairness if your post is serious...

CALL THE GARDAI ... NOW!!! (< Yes, I am shouting it at you!)

She is an old lady and maybe doesn't have anyone else, so put your own feelings aside and do the right thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

mikom wrote: »
    Oscar Wilde is still alive I see.

Was he into that shit?

They'll hardly think you are taking the piss considering the circumstances you've outlined.
    Does she have family that visit her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Handyman1

Goldenegg wrote: »
    Contact the guards!

Not a good idea-there will be nothing left of value for the kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

It just goes to show what kind of world we live in now, when a 97 year old woman, living on her own, has not been seen for weeks and the only person to notice this is asking a internet forum what to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Handyman1

It just goes to show what kind of world we live in now, when a 97 year old woman, living on her own, has not been seen for weeks and the only person to notice this is asking a internet forum what to do.

So true :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

We joke and all, but you might want to knock on the door just in case, and maybe ring the guards if she doesn't answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

** Everyone is in agreement, knock on the door and if no answer, contact the Gardai **

Now back to the jokes.

Maybe she is George Michael's granny and it was his job every morning to wake her up before he go go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

OP this isn't really funny. Call the Guards, they're used to stuff like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Godsentme

Confab wrote: »
    OP this isn't really funny. Call the Guards, they're used to stuff like this.

PM me her address and I'll go round and check her for signs of life....(savings)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭knotknowbody

Call the guards she could have fell and injured herself and be starving to death in agony you need to call them A.S.A.P so they can investigate. F.F.S you should have knocked in or called the guards after 3 or 4 days if you normally see her every day. :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Call Joe Duffy and ask him what would he do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

I hope you've contacted the gardai OP. Seriously, cop on and act like a grown up for five minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

Yeah dude, knock on the door, no response call the gardai,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

most definitely agree call the gardaí...:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭powerstar

Hi Op, call the guards ASAP, and let us know what happened with the poor lady

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

:eek::(:mad::(:eek::mad::(
    You know I always think that old people are just being cranky when they give out about the youth of today but FFS this society really has gone down the f*cking cr*pper if this is what happens when a 97 year old isn't seen for so long her mail is building up. I really really really hope that either a) this is a joke or b) the OP has some kind of mental impairment and that anyone else would have more bloody cop on. So one more time with feeling CALL THE POLICE.

Now back to the jokes, where's Outlaw Pete?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭alexa5x5

Jaysus its $hit like this that really makes ya doubt your faith in your fellow man...Your willing to come on here and post about it, but you wont take 2 fooking minutes to go knock on her door or call the guards?!? How would you feel if she was your granny and she was found a week later, rotting on the ground because some useless kunt wouldn’t just knock on her door to see if she was ok?
    Grow some fooking balls :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Weekend at Bernies, IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

derra_121 wrote: »

Well it'd hardly be a live corpse now would it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

Dead pensioner ... authorities not notified ...
    €€€ Pension book €€€

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Call the Gardai OP.

Recently they had to break into a neighbour of mine after she wasn't seen for a few days. There was a small crowd outside the house (of friends and other elderly neighbours) waiting for the Gardai to confirm she had passed away in her sleep or something. Turns out she fell and was still alive and kicking...just. The neighbour that made that phonecall saved her life!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

SeaFields wrote: »
    Call the Gardai OP.

Recently they had to break into a neighbour of mine after she wasn't seen for a few days. There was a small crowd outside the house (of friends and other elderly neighbours) waiting for the Gardai to confirm she had passed away in her sleep or something. Turns out she fell and was still alive and kicking...just. The neighbour that made that phonecall saved her life!

OP, do this^^^
    Ignore my earlier stealing her pension book suggestion.:)