Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Emden is Afloat

• 22-09-2010 10:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭

Was with E.Tarrants today,
    They showed me the listing of stock being loaded on to Emden (Boat)
    Mine was top of the list ..!! Woohoo..!!

Did a marine check there now and Emden is on its way

>> Live Ships Tracking >>Emden transporting my new Car :D

Looking good for Friday 1st Oct. delivery to me

Cant wait now..

Better get all the MF Cloths and cleaning goodies lined up :P

Happy out, worth the wait no doubt :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

RoverJames wrote: »
    Happy out, worth the wait no doubt :)

Happy??
    Cant bloody sleep now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

cool:eek:

i didnt know they could actually tell which ship it is on!
    currently doing 15.2 knots towards you:D

showphoto.aspx?size=thumb&mmsi=355051000&imo=8602828

which port is it going to, it says sheerness, england on the ais:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

What ye importing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭The Express

What model did you go for? Any factory options?

bladebrew wrote: »
    cool:eek:

which port is it going to, it says sheerness, england on the ais:confused:

Voyage Related Info (Last Received)
    Draught: 7.9 m
    Destination: SHEERNESS ENGLAND
    ETA: 2010-09-23 15:00

Unloading some cargo there and then Heading to Dublin as far as I am aware.
    DonJose wrote: »
    What ye importing?

Octavia vRS 170CR ;)
    What model did you go for? Any factory options?

As above.

Nothing really in the options
    Went for white car with Leather option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

tricolor2.jpg

Don't worry, the Octavia will float fine with its enormous boot :D

Confab wrote: »
    tricolor2.jpg

Don't worry, the Octavia will float fine with it's enormous boot :D

LOL
    The Airbags would help as well :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

vectra wrote: »
    Better get all the MF Cloths and cleaning goodies lined up :P

Don't do too good a job on it. You remember what happened to a friend of yours when he got his VRS and got it shining ;)

I cetainly do but his one was Black and my one is white so will be easy to spot on time ( I hope :eek:) LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭tobsey

I'm pretty sure my car is on the same boat. However like yourself Vectra I ordered in the spring, April in fact. That's 6 months ago. In the meantime the car I was scrapping against it no longer qualifies for scrappage as the NCT is out since April and I can't do another test as the car isn't running. After waiting 6 months for the thing the dealer now wants an extra 2100 off me. Needless to say I'm fuming!

tobsey wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure my car is on the same boat. However like yourself Vectra I ordered in the spring, April in fact. That's 6 months ago. In the meantime the car I was scrapping against it no longer qualifies for scrappage as the NCT is out since April and I can't do another test as the car isn't running. After waiting 6 months for the thing the dealer now wants an extra 2100 off me. Needless to say I'm fuming!

Hold on.. Wasnt there a deal agreed ??
    it is not your fault for waiting..it is Skoda's.
    I would look a bit deeper into it before parting with any cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭txpjl

Ah, God love ya. You can't sleep importing a Scoda. :D

I had to Google it to make sure.

Hold on.. Wasnt there a deal agreed ??
    it is not your fault for waiting..it is Skoda's.
    I would look a bit deeper into it before parting with any cash.

Of course there was, deposit paid and all. I'm looking at getting legal advice if needs be. Not sure where I'll stand though as the VRT is a Government tax so he may be able to add the 1500 on. Where he's getting the other 600 from I don't know. After the shambolic level of service though I'm not even comfortable giving them any more of my money.

txpjl wrote: »

You obviously don't know the model he's ordered.

Sorry??

Never heard of a Scoda myself
    is this what you drive maybe??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

Quick shot of Czech delivery guys at Skoda docks 57e010.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭txpjl

Sorry??

Never heard of a Scoda myself
    is this what you drive maybe??

Ah, that's the faulty ceyboard on my laptop :)

Good luck with the delivery. I drive a Jeep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Ah, God love ya. You can't sleep importing a Scoda
    I drive a Jeep.

Anan1 wrote: »

+1,000,000 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I actually stopped in Tarrants earlier to see had it arrived. He is shifting some amount of cars...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

-Corkie- wrote: »
    I actually stopped in Tarrants earlier to see had it arrived. He is shifting some amount of cars...

Lovey Mocha Superb in there that might be for sale soon.

May or may not stop running of it's own accord on the motorway :eek:

R.O.R wrote: »
    Lovey Mocha Superb in there that might be for sale soon.

May or may not stop running of it's own accord on the motorway :eek:

Jaysus that aint good!!. Must be a new version of adaptive c/c...:pac:

vectra, let me be the first to say best of luck with your new motor and well wear!

Thank you.
    I will indeed enjoy it.
    I am disappointed the Boards meet was not a week later as I could have made it with this
    But there is always the next time which I would guess there will be if this one goes down as well as I expect it to.

Thank you.
    I will indeed enjoy it.
    I am disappointed the Boards meet was not a week later as I could have made it with this
    But there is always the next time which I would guess there will be if this one goes down as well as I expect it to.

I'd go myself if only I could afford the petrol :( bloody rotary engine!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Thank you.
    I will indeed enjoy it.

Hmmm...just gave me an idea...how about Sunday 3rd...in the afternoon...Cork meet! Will be back from hols then! Usual spot...means ya won't get her dirty as it's local to you!

EPM wrote: »
    Hmmm...just gave me an idea...how about Sunday 3rd...in the afternoon...Cork meet! Will be back from hols then! Usual spot...means ya won't get her dirty as it's local to you!

Sounds good. Pending me getting it on the 1st. ;)

EPM wrote: »

I would second that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

So did it land in the UK? Nearly here yet?

draffodx wrote: »
    So did it land in the UK? Nearly here yet?

Landed in the UK last evening.. Still sitting there probably getting unloaded..
    Fingers still crossed for next Friday ownership :cool:

Update.
    Emden is on its way
    Due in Dublin tomorrow night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Seperate

Update.
    Emden is on its way
    Due in Dublin tomorrow night

Woohoo. Should have it Tues/Weds then?

Few pics when it lands to finish off the thread :)

Best of luck with it!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,859 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

This is soooooooooo exciting

Well Tarrants said I should have it Friday, Hopefully it would be sooner..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

The first 2k or so are gonna be a killer....

Break that baby in !

Looking forward to those pics !!

homer90 wrote: »
    The first 2k or so are gonna be a killer....

Break that baby in !

Looking forward to those pics !!

LOL
    Knowing me I will break it in on the way home :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Seperate

LOL
    Knowing me I will break it in on the way home :D

Have you the two buckets at the ready? :P

Seperate wrote: »
    Have you the two buckets at the ready? :P

Sure have
    and a Lambswool mitt to go with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Although I hate the idea of loosing so much money with a new car and would never get one myself due to the value thats to be had with second hand models, there must be no comparable feeling to having a brand spanking new machine on the way.

Best of luck with it vectra, look forward to seeing some pics.

Although I hate the idea of loosing so much money with a new car and would never get one myself due to the value thats to be had with second hand models, there must be no comparable feeling to having a brand spanking new machine on the way.

Best of luck with it vectra, look forward to seeing some pics.

Well,
    I am not going to lose as much as some may think ;)

Yes it is indeed a nice feeling having a new car on the way..
    My last wait felt good..
    This feels 1000 times better :cool:

Well, Boat has set sail for Portugal.. Must have got it unloaeded today.. maybe there is a glimmer oh hope that I would have it midweek :D

Be praying for northerly winds!!!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Be praying for northerly winds!!!;)

Southerly winds ;). Northerlies will only delay the arrival.

True.:) More so they will cause a draught in my back door. One disadvantage of living on the side of a mountain..:)

Yes indeed,
    A good tailwind for that transporter would be grand..:pac:

Bloody hell,,
    This is like the "Neverending story"

Just been informed the car must now go for an NCT before it can be registered.Looks like next week before I get it now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Why does a brand new car need an NCT?

I presume they mean a VRT inspection at the NCT, do they do them on brand new cars as well!?

draffodx wrote: »
    Why does a brand new car need an NCT?

I presume they mean a VRT inspection at the NCT, do they do them on brand new cars as well!?

No idea lad.
    Beating me at this stage :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

What the...?