Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IM 2011 Rollcall

• 22-09-2010 11:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭

Somewhere to keep track of who is doing what in IM distance racing next year:

Name|Race|Goal
    Tunney|IM Frankfurt |Beat PB

Anyone know how to fix this poxy table?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Name|Event |Estimated Time
    Tunny|IM Frankfurt|8.59
    Shotgunmcos|IM Kona|7.48
    Littlebug|IM New Zealand|9.52
    Ronanmac|IM Canada|9.59

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭griffin100

Anyone know how to fix this poxy table?

Dont you work in IT?:D

Haven't decided on nexy years IM asyet, will probably be IMCH or perhaps Challenge Henley, though after doing a UK IM this year I'd like to do a continental one next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

RonanMac, Canada, I'm jealous. I've wanted to do that one for years. I've not entered any IM's next year yet but I may do outlaw in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭kingQuez

Tunny|IM Frankfurt|8.59
    Shotgunmcos|IM Kona|7.48
    Ronanmac|IM Canada|9.59
    kingQuez|IM Austria|Finish (Not ready to admit the splits yet)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Tunney|IM Frankfurt| Beat PB of 9.51.17
    Shotgunmcos|IM Kona|7.48
    Ronanmac|IM Canada|9.59

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

Shotgunmcos|IM Kona|7.48
    Ronanmac|IM Canada|9.59

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

Funny boy Catweazle, funny boy :D
    At least you put me ahead of Ronan. Now who's going to tell him he's going to Canada?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Catweazle|IM Afunnyman|Get around :D
    Ronanmac|IM Canada|9.59

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭tridying

Tridying IM Regensburg 12 hrs

Ronanmac|IM Canada|9.59
    Tridying| IM Regensburg |12 hrs

tunney wrote: »
    Ronanmac|IM Canada|9.59

I am out! Not this year! Maybe not ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Ronanmac|IM Canada|9.59
    Jackyback| IM France|not sure first IM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Aspireto

Position Name Event Estimated Time 1TunneyIM FrankfurtBeat PB of 9.51.172CatweazleIM AfunnymanGet around biggrin.gif3RonanmacIM Canada9.594kingQuezIM AustriaFinish (Not ready to admit the splits yet)5TridyingIM Regensburg 12 hrs 6JackybackIM Francenot sure first IM Position Name Event Estimated Time 1TunneyIM FrankfurtBeat PB of 9.51.172CatweazleIM AfunnymanGet around biggrin.gif3RonanmacIM Canada9.594kingQuezIM AustriaFinish (Not ready to admit the splits yet)5TridyingIM Regensburg 12 hrs 6JackybackIM Francenot sure first IM Aspireto IM Austria 12 hours

Ronanmac|IM Canada|9.59
    kingQuez|IM Austria|16.59
    Aspireto |IM Austria| 12 hours

Looks like the formatting got messed up Asperito, hope you dont mind me tweeking? Catweazle, you're back off the hook.. for the moment :)

I'll revise my own time as things go on.. the ocd part of me didn't like the long line with my entry :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

Ronanmac|IM Canada|9.59
    MrCreoste|IM Galway|7 hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

RonanMac, Canada, I'm jealous. I've wanted to do that one for years. I've not entered any IM's next year yet but I may do outlaw in the UK.

Not half as jealous as I am, hunnymonster! Catweazle was obviously very busy in work yesterday and decided to put his creative mind to creative use!! Not alone will I not be doing IM Canada (or any other IM for that matter), I only did my first ever sprint tri the other day, and have the swimming grace and technique of a cow (and I've seen cows swim...)

My initial reaction to this was "uh, oh, now hunnymonster thinks I'm doing an IM. I better start training so as not to lose face" :D. Then I thought better of the situation!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

This table has now officially been Catweazle-proofed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

Perfect timing...Mrs. I gave me the ahem,coded green light yesterday...

Mrs I: "So, are you planning to do ANOTHER IM next year"?

What I heard though, was:

"Which IM are you signing up for, darling..."

Yes I was living my ambition of Ironman Canada through poor Ronanmacs eyes. Booked out for 2011 already :eek: I suppose all the good ones are.

2012 Catweazle 2012 :P

Apoligies to all boardies unwittingly signed up, to hold the table format I needed info on each of them before I posted and then I forgot to edit out the names :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Notwitch

Both full and 70.3 IM UK are on Eurosport on Sunday morning. Squeezed in between the cycling and the golf! I'm gonna have to clear down the sky + box.

Kona slots in IM UK 2011 have gone up to 50. Might be an interesting choice for the strong runners who have some big hills beside them to get the cycling training in on!:)

Notwitch wrote: »
    Both full and 70.3 IM UK are on Eurosport on Sunday morning. Squeezed in between the cycling and the golf! I'm gonna have to clear down the sky + box.

Kona slots in IM UK 2011 have gone up to 50. Might be an interesting choice for the strong runners who have some big hills beside them to get the cycling training in on!:)

Watched IM UK as nothing on and had to look after herself. Was amazed at the size of some people in it.

It's got hills on the bike and its on terrible surface. A good runner won't be able to run well unless they are a very strong biker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

IM wales is an interesting option?
    http://www.220triathlon.com/news/ironman-wales-launch
    For people into Kona, qualifying in 2011 for 2012 might appeal. A mate who I would consider a decent cyclist did the bike course last weekend and called it several rude names.

Watching IMUK brought back some memories. I even made the TV coverage. As Tunney says lots of hills on the bike with a poor surface. I completely underestimated the hills on the course as I'm not very good at reading course profiles and I paid dearly, I ended up taking an hour longer than expected on the bike. I didn't do anywhere near enough hill training. As I mentioned on my training log none of the pros broke 5hrs which tells a lot. Anyone thinking of IMUK should do plenty of hills. The run wasn' t too bad, just a few hills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 LeonKyr

IM Austria, first time, target less than 12 hrs

LeonKyr |IM Austria| 12 hours

Lets use the table people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Jackyback| IM UK|not sure first IM

Managed to snag an early entry to the UK one, sure it will reduce my carbon footprint and save on travel costs. FYI those who have not pre registered it opens fully at 9am tomorrow and is sure to sell out fast.

It didn't sell out last year and with IM Wales, Challenge Henley and The Outlaw all going up against it I doubt it will (unless they've dropped the price substantailly- just checked, they haven't).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭moby2101

Position* Name* Event Estimated Time*
    1 Tunney IM Frankfurt Beat PB of 9.51.17
    2 kingQuez IM Austria 16.59
    3 Tridying IM Regensburg 12 hrs
    4 Jackyback IM UK not sure first IM
    5 Aspireto I IM Austria 12 hours
    6 MrCreoste IM Galway 7 hours
    7 LeonKyr IM Austria 12 hours
    8 Moby2101 IM France First one!!!

MrCreoste|IM 70.3 Galway|7 hours
    Moby2101|IM France| First one!!

Fixed. Question. Is this thread for HIMs aswell?

MrCreoste|IM 70.3 Galway|7 hours

Nope, notice the absence of the 'H' before IM 2011 Rollcall :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

Removed myself.
    Sorry- I was just acting the maggot :D

MrCreosote wrote: »
    Removed myself.
    Sorry- I was just acting the maggot :D

Oi! don't leave me alone with these people.... they all seem to know what they're doing :(. IM 70.3 still has IM in the title :D

Ok.. lets get this over with, im going to kick off with some numpty questions. Hope people are OK with mixing this in with this thread? I'll split if needed.

For the sub-12 folk, what splits are you aiming for and what's your current ability in swim/bike/run?

Is there an ideal balance to get between swim/bike/run if you're targeting a given time?

In other races (sprint/oly/him) (my) swimming usually isn't paced the same way I do for bike/run, I usually get into a steady speed I know I can maintain over the distance and then speed up the closer to the end of the swim that I get. In an IM can you bugger up the race by swimming too hard, or is any effort that builds up lactic acid (at an amateur level) going to get cleared up during the first while on the bike?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

kingQuez wrote: »
    Ok.. lets get this over with, im going to kick off with some numpty questions. Hope people are OK with mixing this in with this thread? I'll split if needed.

For the sub-12 folk, what splits are you aiming for and what's your current ability in swim/bike/run?

Is there an ideal balance to get between swim/bike/run if you're targeting a given time?

In other races (sprint/oly/him) (my) swimming usually isn't paced the same way I do for bike/run, I usually get into a steady speed I know I can maintain over the distance and then speed up the closer to the end of the swim that I get. In an IM can you bugger up the race by swimming too hard, or is any effort that builds up lactic acid (at an amateur level) going to get cleared up during the first while on the bike?

Hey KQ, I'd put myself in the numpty category for IM and ended up with 12 07 for IM CH 10.

For me, the swim is about getting to the finish with expending as little energy as possible. 1hr 22 - slow, but I could swim forever at that pace.

Much the same for the bike (6.25) leaving me fresh enough for the run (4.06 - with some in the tank at the end:mad:).

The faster boys will have a differing view though!

Mah - I think this thread is long dead with regard to my original intentions

Bike easier than you think you should.

I doubt most age groups can swim hard enough over 3.8km to do damage.
    Izoard wrote: »
    Hey KQ, I'd put myself in the numpty category for IM and ended up with 12 07 for IM CH 10.

For me, the swim is about getting to the finish with expending as little energy as possible. 1hr 22 - slow, but I could swim forever at that pace.

Much the same for the bike (6.25) leaving me fresh enough for the run (4.06 - with some in the tank at the end:mad:).

The faster boys will have a differing view though!

With those splits you're looking at closer to a 12:15 IM. Transitions.

Mah - I think this thread is long dead with regard to my original intentions

Never too late to fix, what were you aiming for? Have to admit I saw/hijacked it as a IM discussion... its not often there's general chat about whos doing IMs and what theyre doing outside of full-on training logs...

Sorry if i put the final nails in the original plan for the thread :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭metal dog

Ok

I think most people favour a pretty steady approach on the swim, you are going to be a bit nervous at the start anyway so no need to get your heart rate up too much. It is also important to work on your sighting and drafting skills, you can save yourself a lot of energy by picking up some nice drafts and not veering off course. Good lcck with the training.

I will be training for 1.15/5.40/4.20. But this is my first IM...

LeonKyr wrote: »
    I will be training for 1.15/5.40/4.20. But this is my first IM...

Slow run, fast bike. Would be better to bike within yourself and run properly

Never too late to fix, what were you aiming for? Have to admit I saw/hijacked it as a IM discussion... its not often there's general chat about whos doing IMs and what theyre doing outside of full-on training logs...

Sorry if i put the final nails in the original plan for the thread :o

all good really

Slow run, fast bike. Would be better to bike within yourself and run properly

I am a slow runner (If I feel good I will speed up) and expect to hold 32 km/h average speed on the bike.

but training will show...

Would be better to bike within yourself and run properly

Looking at previous full-listing results for IMs it seems very few people go under 4hrs on the run; is this largely down to putting too much effort into the bike do you think?

You really need to look at the bike and run splits together and even while its usually enough to tell its not always.

For example my bike in Austria - 4:59 and 3:35. Just looking at the splits - good bike, shocking "run" - you'd say overcooked the bike. But in fact it was undercooked based on wattage (15% less than trained at and easiest bike ever on PE), however dehydration on run got me as didn't drink on run.

In short 9/10 times the combination of bike/run splits can show what happened.

People ride too hard and in all honesty are undertrained how it counts.

With those splits you're looking at closer to a 12:15 IM. Transitions.

Izoard did 12:07 with those splits AFAIK

Hey KingQuez etc..

A mate of mine went 11:55 at IMUK this year. He has done lots of Marathons and HIMs and had a coach guide him. He is also sensible and operated on the caution side of things. He did 1:15/6:40/3:50

His flat Marathon pb is about 3:25 or thereabouts so that was a good Marathon considering and by all accounts IMUK was tough on the day. I know him well and know that it was a good swim for him and he was well within himself for the bike, barely came out of Z1 all day. He ran every step of the Marathon.

Just though I'd lob that in seeing a few 12hour targets :)

Izoard did 12:07 with those splits AFAIK

Which is closer to 12:15 than 11:59 as 12:07 and 12:15 are both not sub12 :)

I'll meet you half way then! 12:07, still a bit of tweaking of the plan that got that will surely secure a sub 12.

Aren't you being a little modest with your own target or is it the IM etiquette to understate until you are in the thick of the programme?

I'll meet you half way then! 12:07, still a bit of tweaking of the plan that got that will surely secure a sub 12.

Aren't you being a little modest with your own target or is it the IM etiquette to understate until you are in the thick of the programme?

What? I want to beat my time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Perkina3

Ironman is 50 miles isn't it??? think it will be 2012 before I do this... only 23 so plenty o time for this! :P

Perkina3 wrote: »
    Ironman is 50 miles isn't it??? think it will be 2012 before I do this... only 23 so plenty o time for this! :P

141.4 miles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Perkina3

Let me at it!!! :) I thought it was just a 50 mile run for some reason!!! :P

2012 it is so! :)