Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blind Faith Psychosis

• 20-09-2010 7:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 549 ✭✭✭jobee

Psychosis and Money

What is it then that makes them pray,
    that makes them creep, crawl, all day,
    that makes them read some silly script,
    their pride, confidence, slyly stripped ?

What is it then that transfers their minds,
    to heavens, angels, spiritual kinds,
    to attend Cathedrals in little groups,
    then dress in robes as elitist troops ?

What is it then that makes them build,
    on fertile land where food was tilled,
    huge Mosques; Cathedrals too,
    just to sing, confess anew?

Does it help in anyway,
    to wile away the hours of day,
    dressed in best on their knees,
    praying to anything, making pleas?

Is it selfishness that makes them think,
    we all need them to cower, shrink,
    on our behalf at their request,
    so that our souls be sublimely blessed?

The whiff of selfishness stirs the air,
    I think it’s just themselves they care,
    the work is easy, less to think,
    from competition they wilt, shrink.

This God they advocate with fuss,
    when ask for proof they won’t discuss,
    O proof, O proof; what for you need ?
    the devils home you’ll go with speed.

My lucid mind begins to stir,
    I’m in the hands of a blackmailer,
    I only ask; for what your sales?
    they came back as hard as nails.

So business then shall prevail,
    In Woolworth’s by an honest sale,
    the Church an inquisition I think,
    proof of God surely brinks.
    jobee -05

You may circulate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

There once was a man from Vatican city.
    For the children he had neither love nor pity.
    He went to London with a silly hat, roundly called a silly prat,
    and so I wrote this ditty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

POPE!
    Always believe in your soooul
    you have the power to know!
    Your infallable
    always believe innnn, cause you are
    POPE!
    glad you are bound to the church
    theres something i could have learned
    your infallible
    always believe in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

There was an old man from the vatican
    Of virtue he thought himself a paragon
    He said atheists were nazi's
    I'm just a patsy
    Dribbled and went back to sleep again

Two.

Four.

Six.

Eight.

Time to transubstantiate!

zzzaaap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭FionnMatthew

There was a young lady from Crewe
    Who said, as the Bishop withdrew
    "The Vicar was quicker
    and slicker and thicker
    And nine inches longer than you"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

There was a young Jew named JC
    Who sadly was nailed to a tree
    What he preached was just fine
    But was he divine
    Or a nut with a taste for smilies:D:):rolleyes::(:P:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭alex73

A Rabbi was walking and a arrogant atheist approached him and declared "I am a atheist and free thinker". To which the Rabbi repleyed "Do you think God Cares?"

alex73 wrote: »
    A Rabbi was walking and a arrogant atheist approached him and declared "I am a atheist and free thinker". To which the Rabbi repleyed "Do you think God Cares?"

I don't get it... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Wrong thread I presume...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭alex73

The story of S/H/I/T = ****

Taoism
    **** happens.

Buddhism
    If **** happens, it's not really ****.

Islam
    If **** happens, it's the will of Allah.

Protestantism
    **** happens because you don't work hard enough.

Judaism
    Why does this **** always happen to us?

Hinduism
    This **** happened before.

Catholicism
    **** happens because you're bad.

Hare Krishna
    **** happens rama rama.

T.V. Evangelism
    Send more ****.

Atheism
    It may be ****, but I don't believe it is.

Jehova's Witness
    Knock knock, **** happens.

Hedonism
    There's nothing like a good ****
    happening.

Christian Science
    **** happens in your mind.

Agnosticism
    Maybe **** happens, maybe it
    doesn't.

Rastafarianism
    Let's smoke this ****.

Existentialism
    What is **** anyway?

Stoicism
    This **** doesn't bother me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 549 ✭✭✭jobee

The story of S/H/I/T = ****

Taoism
    **** happens.

Buddhism
    If **** happens, it's not really ****.

Islam
    If **** happens, it's the will of Allah.

Protestantism
    **** happens because you don't work hard enough.

Judaism
    Why does this **** always happen to us?

Hinduism
    This **** happened before.

Catholicism
    **** happens because you're bad.

Hare Krishna
    **** happens rama rama.

T.V. Evangelism
    Send more ****.

Atheism
    It may be ****, but I don't believe it is.

Jehova's Witness
    Knock knock, **** happens.

Hedonism
    There's nothing like a good ****
    happening.

Christian Science
    **** happens in your mind.

Agnosticism
    Maybe **** happens, maybe it
    doesn't.

Rastafarianism
    Let's smoke this ****.

Existentialism
    What is **** anyway?

Stoicism
    This **** doesn't bother me.

It all happens because there is money in it, all we ever had to do was behave ourselves. The vast majority of us were doing it anyway.
    Its all jobs for the boys. This Pope has got away with his filth again.
    He has no intention of handing his filth over.

For christ sake say something.

What use is heaven to modern man
    what use is after life
    dont lets meet, clash again,
    we're nothing but trouble, strife?

Why should God care up there,
    he showed no form down here,
    to settle our own frustrations,
    we run to guns, beer?

Hey goddy boy try again,
    you made a mess with us,
    I packed in praying long ago,
    Was such a stupid fuss.

Just show your face, make a bunce,
    lets see a happening true,
    dont be shy, show your place,
    give us all a clue.
    jobee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Agonist

There once was an pope from Marktl Am Inn
    Who said little boys were occasions of sin
    He condemned "a la carte"
    Was a nazi at heart
    Oh no, I've invoked Godwin

Damn it, it does rhyme

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Whoa, massive thread theme fail there Alex. Limericks and poems man, maybe song lyrics at a push.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ColmDawson

strobe wrote: »
    Whoa, massive thread theme fail there Alex. Limericks and poems man, maybe song lyrics at a push.
    Ignorant atheist. It rhymes beautifully in the original Aramaic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,686 ✭✭✭✭PDN

I'm surprised nobody has quoted this gem from the pen of Christopher Hitchens:

The Bishop of Central Japan
    Used to rodger himself with a fan
    And when taxed with these acts
    He replied “It contracts,
    And expands rather more than a man”

There was an old man from the vatican
    Of virtue he thought himself a paragon
    He said atheists were nazi's
    I'm just a patsy
    Dribbled and went back to sleep again
    Maybe he [OFFENSIVE TEXT DELETED] didn't know the Nazi were very serious Christians.

Read on.

http://www.nobeliefs.com/mementoes.htm

POPE!
    Always believe in your soooul
    you have the power to know!
    Your infallable
    always believe innnn, cause you are
    POPE!
    glad you are bound to the church
    theres something i could have learned
    your infallible
    always believe in
    How about these, they were bound to the church.

scroll down.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Why are atheists obsessed with the church?
    They seem to think God left them in the lurch.
    Belief or not,
    they're a funny lot,
    its like they're on some adventurous search

to find a truth thats under their noses.
    Its been passed down since the time of Moses.
    The bible is packed,
    with historical fact,
    which they choose to ignore to suit their rosy

notion that life is only material, wood, denim.
    Catholics, unfairly, get the worst of their venom.
    Why do they abuse
    believers who choose,
    and accuse them of greed, corruption, bedlam!

Nothing, indeed, could be further from the truth.
    God was here, as Jesus, and in his youth
    he spread the message of love for all.
    He said "start a network, spread the word of God",
    but as thanks his clothes were sold as loot

as he was murdered. But his message prevailed.
    Love, human rights, forgiveness, and mercy entailed
    the bulk of what he had to say.
    Even non-believers cant turn away
    from these modern morals this ancient man regaled.

MRO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Daftendirekt

Belief or not,
    they're a funny lot,

The bible is packed,
    with historical fact,

Why do they abuse
    believers who choose,

MRO

Fail.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,428 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

[...] to find a truth thats under their noses.
    Its been passed down since the time of Moses [...]
    (...sound of somebody scratching their hands down a blackboard...)

Looks like the devil has all the best tunes so far.

Belief or not,
    they're a funny lot,

The bible is packed,
    with historical fact,

Why do they abuse
    believers who choose,

MRO
    Christianity doesn't always make nice caring people.

Both the 1st and 2nd world wars were started by Christian countries.

Nazi Germany was very strong Christian READ ON.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

If God is a real dude
    I have to conclude
    That he has no excuse
    For being a big douche
    If God is a DJ
    He sucks

Fin.

jobee wrote: »
    Christianity doesn't always make nice caring people.

Both the 1st and 2nd world wars were started by Christian countries.

Nazi Germany was very strong Christian READ ON.

An entire country cant be Christian, only the individuals in it can be. And if you call yourself Christian, and then you shoot somebody, well by definition you're not being a Christian!!!

This is what I cant understand about atheism. Fair enough that you dont buy the invisible-man-in-the-sky bit, but surely you hold yourself to the same morals and ethics that Christianity established? You know, dont kill, dont steal etc.? They are afterall, just plain common sense and decency, with a bit of kindness thrown in for good measure. You say Christianity doesnt always make nice caring people, well it may not succeed 100% of the time, but that is what the whole point of Christianity is, to make nice caring people!!!! So those of us who are trying to be nice and caring, stop bashing us! If YOU dont believe, you dont believe, but leave us alone!

PDN wrote: »
    I'm surprised nobody has quoted this gem from the pen of Christopher Hitchens...

Some of us were trying to be original and post our own...er...work. :P

If YOU dont believe, you dont believe, but leave us alone!

You realise you are shouting at atheists to leave you alone in the Atheist and Agnostic forum, right?

I love these people that scream about atheists speaking about them when they read a forum dedicated to religious skeptics, it's like those people who complain about dawkins and hitchens while forcing themselves to read it and be offended. <3 :pac:

You realise you are shouting at atheists to leave you alone in the Atheist and Agnostic forum, right?

I love these people that scream about atheists speaking about them when they read a forum dedicated to religious skeptics, it's like those people who complain about dawkins and hitchens while forcing themselves to read it and be offended. <3 :pac:

Thats another thing that amazes me about atheism; you talk more about religion than most religious people do! Why are you not talking about science, or fair city last night, or the Irish bond auction today? This is the forum for you guys to talk about your views without religious input. But all it ever seems to be is religious / anti-religious talk? WTF like?

Do you think all people do is post in A&A? It's a tiny fraction of peoples lives and usually a small percentage of their overall posting - and being the A&A forum it is generally about lacking a god and responses to theists regarding that, what the forum is for is really for the posters, mods and admins to determine. And why shouldn't folks discuss religion? If it has the pull to theists to keep reading and posting and keeping tabs on what "the atheists" are up to, why is it a different rule for the atheists?

Religion is something that can potentially impact on our daily lives often due to an outdated system a lot of people here are campaigning to change....and this is a discussion forum, discussion is what we do - you'll find on the football forum that Man U fans discuss chelsea and that FF often discuss policies in terms of their opposition - how & why should A&A be any different? :confused:

An entire country cant be Christian, only the individuals in it can be. And if you call yourself Christian, and then you shoot somebody, well by definition you're not being a Christian!!!

This is what I cant understand about atheism. Fair enough that you dont buy the invisible-man-in-the-sky bit, but surely you hold yourself to the same morals and ethics that Christianity established? You know, dont kill, dont steal etc.? They are afterall, just plain common sense and decency, with a bit of kindness thrown in for good measure. You say Christianity doesnt always make nice caring people, well it may not succeed 100% of the time, but that is what the whole point of Christianity is, to make nice caring people!!!! So those of us who are trying to be nice and caring, stop bashing us! If YOU dont believe, you dont believe, but leave us alone

!

The OFFICIAL religion of Germany was and still is Christianity.

Stop messing with facts.

The official religion of the Irish Republic IS Christianity

Thousands of Irish Catholics are in the British and U.S armed forces 'volunteering' to kill anywhere 'warmongering' governments send them to kill

The Pope says nothing.

All religions are false===Stop giving them money.

Do you think all people do is post in A&A? It's a tiny fraction of peoples lives and usually a small percentage of their overall posting - and being the A&A forum it is generally about lacking a god and responses to theists regarding that, what the forum is for is really for the posters, mods and admins to determine. And why shouldn't folks discuss religion? If it has the pull to theists to keep reading and posting and keeping tabs on what "the atheists" are up to, why is it a different rule for the atheists?

Religion is something that can potentially impact on our daily lives often due to an outdated system a lot of people here are campaigning to change....and this is a discussion forum, discussion is what we do - you'll find on the football forum that Man U fans discuss chelsea and that FF often discuss policies in terms of their opposition - how & why should A&A be any different? :confused:

You're not comparing like with like. Man U talking about Chelsea and vise versa have a commonality, soccer. You wont find anyone on the soccer forum discussing Middle-Eastern politics, for example. Its a ME politics free forum. This forum should be about A&A life, sans religion. There's a big difference between discussing A&A related stuff, and outright religion bashing.

It all happens because there is money in it, all we ever had to do was behave ourselves. The vast majority of us were doing it anyway.
    Its all jobs for the boys. This Pope has got away with his filth again.
    He has no intention of handing his filth over.

I dont think theres that much money in Taoism. not since the great Taoist bubble of 500BC. Lao tzu aint no gordon gecko

You're not comparing like with like. Man U talking about Chelsea and vise versa have a commonality, soccer. You wont find anyone on the soccer forum discussing Middle-Eastern politics, for example. Its a ME politics free forum. This forum should be about A&A life, sans religion. There's a big difference between discussing A&A related stuff, and outright religion bashing.

Atheism only exists because of theism - without theism we would all be atheists. Again, I'm not sure why you think you should get to dictate what the forum is about? I think having had my child refused access to schools and been harangued by religious nuts at the door and bothered by a priest in the hospital not to mention been witness to years of scandals dripping out about people that hold themselves up as paragons of virtue and make no apologies for trying to dictate what policies and laws govern the country I live in, I earn the right to call religion whatever I like, tbh.

Edited to add: Mods, sorry for going off topic - if blind faith psychosis and limericks have an on-topic, feel free to delete, it's all rather trite anyway.

The OFFICIAL religion of Germany was and still is Christianity.

Stop messing with facts.

Thousands of Irish Catholics are in the British and U.S armed forces 'volunteering' to kill anywhere 'warmongering' governments send them to kill

The Pope says nothing.

All religions are false===Stop giving them money.

Nowhere, absolutely nowhere, in the bible does it say that Germany or Ireland are officially Christian. Those countries may make that claim, but under whose authority can they do that? If it aint in the Bible, it aint Christian. And if you kill, you arent being Christian. The Pope cant make non-Christians be Christian. People who kill are non-Christian by definition. You're moving the goalposts.

As for giving religions money, I dont. Did you ever?

aw man. we had a fun little thread going, some trol wanders in and its back to the same arguement. isnt there some other thread we can direct this guy to where this has been discussed a million times?

Atheism only exists because of theism - without theism we would all be atheists. Again, I'm not sure why you think you should get to dictate what the forum is about? I think having had my child refused access to schools and been harangued by religious nuts at the door and bothered by a priest in the hospital not to mention been witness to years of scandals dripping out about people that hold themselves up as paragons of virtue and make no apologies for trying to dictate what policies and laws govern the country I live in, I earn the right to call religion whatever I like, tbh.

Nope. Atheism existed first. By default, we're all atheists. You then choose to be a theist. Are you also an abaseballer? Why dont you start a forum about that. Then, why not turn it into a purely baseball-bashing forum? See? I'm not trying to dictate anything, I'm just saying stop religion bashing. Bash the school that turned you away, bash the nut, bash the scandaliser, but stop bashing my entire religion. Its like racism (or whatever the equivalent religious discrimination verb is).You might aswell just change the title of the forum to the religion bashing forum. Be an A-Theist, but dont bash religious people or their religions. There's more to atheism than that - please:o

Ok, I'll feck off now. I still like my poem tho:D

No it isnt
    constitution was amended a good while back

I dont think theres that much money in Taoism. not since the great Taoist bubble of 500BC. Lao tzu aint no gordon gecko

I didn't know the Pope practised taoism.

Nope. Atheism existed first. By default, we're all atheists. You then choose to be a theist.

What? :confused: I've never been anything other than an atheist - are you drunk?

Just for you:

There was a disgruntled christian
    Who considered all atheists faustian
    He said we should stop talking
    His religion stop knocking
    Not realising faith had no last bastion

I like boys butts and i can not lie
    you christian brothers cant deny
    when a girl walks in with an itty bitty waist
    and a round thing in your face
    you just run!

Deep in the the jeans your wearin
    Im hooked and i cant stop starin
    oh, boy, i wanna get with ya
    and download your picture
    the gardai tried to warn me
    but that butt you got makes
    me so horney

bluewolf wrote: »
    No it isnt
    constitution was amended a good while back

That's funny, the blasphemy laws are still in place.

And the soldiers in uniform wear neck crosses, and so do the uniformed padres.

Christianity is a false religion,what happened to 'thou shall not kill'

Stop giving them money until this Pope stops Christians volunteering to kill.

Its up the grass roots to get the religion back on track.

Nowhere, absolutely nowhere, in the bible does it say that Germany or Ireland are officially Christian. Those countries may make that claim, but under whose authority can they do that? If it aint in the Bible, it aint Christian. And if you kill, you arent being Christian. The Pope cant make non-Christians be Christian. People who kill are non-Christian by definition. You're moving the goalposts.

As for giving religions money, I dont. Did you ever?
    The Pope is NOT a Christian, After Blair killed thousands in Iraq then resigned.
    The Pope accepted him into the Catholic Church.

What happened to 'thou shall not kill'.

Stop giving them money,

That's funny, the blasphemy laws are still in place.
    Because the politicians are too cowardly to do anything beyond "ah sure we'll make them impossible to break"

Christianity is a false religion,what happened to 'thou shall not kill'

Stop giving them money until this Pope stops Christians volunteering to kill.

Its up the grass roots to get the religion back on track.
    What :confused:

What? :confused: I've never been anything other than an atheist - are you drunk?

I would read "you then choose" as being in the abstract; "you then chose" would be a direct "you're a theist". I think.

bluewolf wrote: »
    I would read "you then choose" as being in the abstract; "you then chose" would be a direct "you're a theist". I think.

I get you - I thought it said then you chose, lol. Still makes no sense that we would even require a term for lacking belief in a god if nobody ever had belief....grumble, grumble. *puts coffee on*

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,428 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

This is the forum for you guys to talk about your views without religious input.
    Do feel free to input all you like. Unlike other forums, there is no censorship of contrary views here :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

robindch wrote: »
    Do feel free to input all you like. Unlike other forums, there is no censorship of contrary views here :)
    Quite right, Robin!

I'd also like to add for everyone else - unless the next post here has a limerick or a ditty in it I will delete it.
    This humourous interlude thread is being spoiled.

There was a couple of moderators
    Who threatened to ban any deviator
    "Give us your ditty,
    this thread has gone shitty
    get back to the funnies about no creator"

I'll get me coat.

There was a young lady called Lynn
    Who thought fornication a sin
    She had bells and whistles
    And strategically place thistles