Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ben Dunne Gyms

• 18-09-2010 9:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭

Hi :-)

Hoping someone can help, have a couple questions.

Does anyone know if you are a member of one Ben Dunne Gym if you can use the others?

I want to join Blanchardstown now and then avail of the Jervis St one when it opens.

Do people reckon Jervis St is going to be crazy busy?

Last question.. the per month cost. Could I join for a month or does it have to be a year, do you sign something where you agree to pay the monthly cost for 12 months or is it just for a month and then membership is finished?

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭atgate

I'm pretty sure (99%) there's no contract. You might have to give 30 days notice or something like that for them to not collect the DD (but you could always stop the DD at your bank end). There is a €30 set-up fee so you'd lose that each time you stopped paying.

100% sure now. Here's the detail:

4. Monthly Membership By Direct Debit

On selecting the Monthly Direct Debit payment option for membership a member will be asked to pay a Initiation Fee of €30 and the first months membership in advance by way of credit or laser card. In addition the Direct Debit mandate must be with a recognised bank to enable us to draw down the monthly membership fee and be filled in where appropriate and signed. This completed mandate must be left with the reception desk.
    If a member takes up the option of a monthly membership then they are entitled to use all the facilities on offer at the location they have signed up to except the access to specialised classes which will require the payment of a fee. Details about these classes will be available at the reception desk.

5. First Time Failure to meet Direct Debit Monthly Fee

In the event of the failure to pay the monthly direct debit membership fee for the first time you will be notified by email or text that your membership has been temporarily stopped until you pay up the monthly membership in addition to an administration charge of €10. The arrears and admin fee must be paid with either a Credit or Laser card.

6. Second Time failure to meet Direct Debit Monthly Fee

In the event that a member fails to pay the monthly direct debit membership fee for a second time then you will be notified by letter or email that to continue membership of any of the Ben Dunne Gyms you will have to select a different membership type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭MaeveD

Hi :-)
    Does anyone know if you are a member of one Ben Dunne Gym if you can use the others?

This sparked my interest too so I just called Northwood.... they said no. But if you have a guest pass and bring your card you can go to any of their gyms.

If anyone is interested in a guest pass pm me, I have 2 valid until the end of Sept, there yours if you can pick them up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭nojunkmaill

For some reason I'm imagining Jervis St will be manic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭The Guvnor

Seems odd to me that your membership does not give you access to any gym in the chain.

I suppose it is easier for them to manage if they know who is where etc.

The Guvnor wrote: »
    Seems odd to me that your membership does not give you access to any gym in the chain.

I suppose it is easier for them to manage if they know who is where etc.

The gyms have different prices - the ones without pools are much cheaper. And they're mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

What I want to know does he use them himself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭tomdublin

No he says he's a living illustration of what happens to people if they don't use his gyms....

Corsendonk wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

Corsendonk wrote: »

I heard he's a member of total fitness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭sticksman

I heard an ad for Ben Dunne gyms earlier on with the man himself stating that the price had dropped to €100 per year in Lucan and €150 a year in the Carlisle and Northwood. Went to the website there to check this out but they didn't seem to be priced in this way. Can anybody enlighten me as to what is going on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

sticksman wrote: »
    I heard an ad for Ben Dunne gyms earlier on with the man himself stating that the price had dropped to €100 per year in Lucan and €150 a year in the Carlisle and Northwood. Went to the website there to check this out but they didn't seem to be priced in this way. Can anybody enlighten me as to what is going on?

I had thought it was down to €125 in Lucan but I may be wrong, will be in there again on Wednesday will check then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭lily lou

Was wondering about this myself, it still says €290 for Northwood on the website, I'm gonna try and ring tomorrow and see what the story is, has anyone else been on to them about this??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Paulywalnuts

It's 290 as far as I can see..but,I want to join & if you do too pm me,need one
    or two more people to save few bob,about 70euro per person,if your interested
    get in touch! Thanks.

-Paul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 speedy2406

Be very careful as to what they are offering.

I joined the Carlisle in Kimmage and paid €290.00 and now they are taking out all the individual television sets and placing big screens over the pool where you can read the subtitles.

What a joke Ben Dunne is!!!

When i enquired at reception were they doing the same as Blanchardstown the receptionist nearly took my head off.

So what you see now is maybe not what you get later.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

speedy2406 wrote: »
    Be very careful as to what they are offering.

I joined the Carlisle in Kimmage and paid €290.00 and now they are taking out all the individual television sets and placing big screens over the pool where you can read the subtitles.

What a joke Ben Dunne is!!!

When i enquired at reception were they doing the same as Blanchardstown the receptionist nearly took my head off.

So what you see now is maybe not what you get later.:mad:

She nearly took your head off........ really though??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,027 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Sorry to bring up an old thread, but what are people's views of northwood Gym,
    Looking for a gym in D9 area and this seems to be the only one around that isn't a rip off (WW).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,027 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭jclally

Jervis St is the worst gym I've ever been in. The ceiling hasn't been finished (exposed pipes everywhere), air conditioning doesn't work, water frequently is out of order and the staff are about as helpful as ryanair stewards. My girlfriend says northwood is far better so don't want to slag the whole chain, but I won't be joining again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Wollwead

Northwood is a great gym. 2 squat racks lots of benches and oly barbells, sh1tloadsa dumbells and you'll never have to wait for a cardio machine no matter when you go and the price is super. It's ideal really i'm a member 3 years now and was a member of carlisle for a year previous to that. Northwood is excellent value, ideal for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Flash86

I've been a member of Northwood for about a year and I've found it very good. The staff are fine, if you can find them. Staff cut backs mean there are fewer people around the place but they've always been helpful when I needed them.
    I don't go at peak times so I can't comment on that but from what I see there is a good selection of Cardio, resistance and free weight equipment there.

jclally wrote: »
    Jervis St is the worst gym I've ever been in. The ceiling hasn't been finished (exposed pipes everywhere), air conditioning doesn't work, water frequently is out of order and the staff are about as helpful as ryanair stewards. My girlfriend says northwood is far better so don't want to slag the whole chain, but I won't be joining again

I joined in January and used it for 3-4 months before Ironside opened. Have to say it was actually pretty decent. Few squat racks, plenty of benches and loads of dumbbells. At that price tbh I couldn't have complained!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

jclally wrote: »

A lot of these complaints are valid. Place can be a sauna and men's showers were off for a week at one stage. Staff seem okay to me tbh.

Northwood is a better gym tbh. Weights have more wear and tear but everyone isn't on top of each other. Also I'm not waiting for a squat rack or smith machine unlike Jervis st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭optimistic_

Lads to be honest, for 195 quid a year, or 20 a month, you get access to:

2 great quality racks, 2 smith machines (not that i use these), four or five flat benches, oly bars all over the place, more dumbbells than i have seen in most other gyms, all the cardio equipment you need

I really can't see what you would be complaining about. Jervis is a top gym in a prime location and a great price.

Granted i wouldn't go near the place in the 5pm to 10pm period, but early morning training there is fantastic. Very few people, most people know each other to see, people are courteous, replace weights.... To be honest, who needs gym staff?

Lads to be honest, for 195 quid a year, or 20 a month, you get access to:

2 great quality racks, 2 smith machines (not that i use these), four or five flat benches, oly bars all over the place, more dumbbells than i have seen in most other gyms, all the cardio equipment you need

I really can't see what you would be complaining about. Jervis is a top gym in a prime location and a great price.

Granted i wouldn't go near the place in the 5pm to 10pm period, but early morning training there is fantastic. Very few people, most people know each other to see, people are courteous, replace weights.... To be honest, who needs gym staff?

Don't get me wrong. Its good value but if you were choosing between Jervis and Northwood, I'd pay the extra €5 a month for Northwood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭*shadow*

Thinking of joining the gym in Jervis for heading to after work. Mostly just joining to use cardio equipment, cross runners ect. What is the place like at rush hour does anyone know? Would you have to wait long to get on equipment? Also I'm assuming they do but better to be sure..is there decent sized lockers and what are the changing rooms like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭optimistic_

Changing rooms are decent, but by god does it be busy in the evenings!
    Have never trained in there at evening time, have been in to collect my bag.

no idea about cardio equipment but you'd be waiting for weights. There is a lot of cardio stuff so probably wouldn't be waiting. I'd imagine it's horrible to workout in though, very stuffy with so many people there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

I never understood why Ben gets so much flak.
    The guy has given more people in the gym catchment areas access to fitness facilities for cheaper than any other provider including the various council gyms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭Dotcomdolly

Zamboni wrote: »
    I never understood why Ben gets so much flak.
    The guy has given more people in the gym catchment areas access to fitness facilities for cheaper than any other provider including the various council gyms.

I agree, I've been in the Carlisle since it opened and I think it's great to see all the oap's down each morning for their daily swim.

Changing rooms are decent, but by god does it be busy in the evenings!
    Have never trained in there at evening time, have been in to collect my bag.

no idea about cardio equipment but you'd be waiting for weights. There is a lot of cardio stuff so probably wouldn't be waiting. I'd imagine it's horrible to workout in though, very stuffy with so many people there.

I've done it in the evenings. Its not too bad if you are training with a partner. If you are training on your own it can be a pain as people keep coming over trying to jump in own your workout.

I much prefer the morning crew that trains there.