Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Judge tells man to make pilgrimage for abusing garda

• 17-09-2010 5:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I had no idea forcing criminals to pray was a legitimate form of punishment in this country! :eek:
    Is that actually legal?
    Judge wrote:
    “I want you to come back in a month’s time with evidence that you did the four stations of Croagh Patrick, and say a few prayers.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/0917/1224279094345.html

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

What if he was Muslim? :confused:

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭UnionOfV

Obviously he'd be told to go somewhere else :p

Well, if the defendant is Christian, and the judge believes that it will help correct his attitude, I won't be one to complain about it. Seems like a logical punishment :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Galvasean wrote: »
    I had no idea forcing criminals to pray was a legitimate form of punishment in this country! :eek:
    Is that actually legal?

What a great sentence that is.

Perfect opportunity to go and have some reflective thought on what a dick he was.

The real question is whether or not he is allowed to wear shoes on the ascent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭Dougla2

as i posted elsewhere this country is secular (yes it is look it up) this is a ridiculous punishment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

10 hail marys and away with ya ya little shcamp.

proof positive the judges in this country are soft touch dinosaurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

krudler wrote: »
    proof positive the judges in this country are soft touch dinosaurs.

I beg to diiffer. Dinosaurs go heavy on the punishment...

dinobots2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

I love climbing the reek. I get a great laugh when I see the crazies circling around the big piles of rocks. Some "punishment".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭The Mad Hatter

I beg to diiffer. Dinosaurs go heavy on the punishment...

dinobots2.jpg

Rhinocerobot?

its a triceratops .not a rhinocore??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭I-Shot-Jr

Well if I were to receive the same sentence I'd protest the decision on the basis that by nature it impinges upon my stance towards the church.

Could they not have just fined your man for being such an eejit, few bob for the state and all that.

Rhinocerobot?

300px-G1_Slag_fire_breath.JPG

Triceratops%20%28Custom%29.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Butch Cassidy

Exactly.
    Dougla2 wrote: »
    as i posted elsewhere this country is secular (yes it is look it up) this is a ridiculous punishment

I don't disagree with you and I don't doubt you but two questions spring to mind:

1) In what sense are you talking about, "Ireland is a secular country"?
    There's over 3million catholics from the last census. Our TDs say a prayer and bless themselves before each day's business in the Dail. Abortion is illegal primarily because of the religious lobby. Priests have a decision in whether or not a particular person is qualified for a teaching job - they sit on special boards that deal with hiring. Religion is thought in state owned schools - religion being Christianity/catholicism. There are religious symbols and christian oratories in our hospitals.

2) Where do I look it up? Our consitution is replete with mentions of a god. (spelt with a capital g)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Butch Cassidy

I-Shot-Jr wrote: »
    Well if I were to receive the same sentence I'd protest the decision on the basis that by nature it impinges upon my stance towards the church.

Could they not have just fined your man for being such an eejit, few bob for the state and all that.

In certain small potatoes cases like this the judge has discretion. A fine would probably be levied if he protested against the punishment. Do you want to pay a fine or walk up a mountain? Another of the costs of not believing I suppose...

its a triceratops .not a rhinocore??

Sorry, old in-joke.

Yes, J C and wolfsbane (mostly J C) have said that all of those are "created kinds." That's the kind of intellect we're dealing with.

We had a rubber triceratops toy and a rubber rhinoceros toy at the last A&A beers, and they got up to some hanky-panky, which put me in mind of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭alex73

Is that actually legal?

We are a Christian Nation.. So what was wrong with the punishment.

alex73 wrote: »

It's absurd.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Every one? Wow. Who wudda thunk it!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

We're a secular nation with a majority of Catholics. Punishment handed out should have nothing to do with religion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Ciaran500 wrote: »
    We're a secular nation with a majority of cultural/ a la carte / ticked it on the census just cos /Catholics. Punishment handed out should have nothing to do with religion.
    Fixed that for ya.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

why did the judge not go all out and make him walk from donegal to mayo and then climb the reek barefoot. hopefully your man might raise some money for charity. I have climbed it my self four times its not easy. I would have refused to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

Please explain the secular bit.

Too right mate. He should have had holy communion shoved down his throat, then forced to drink blood (of Jesus of course), and then said 100 hail marys in a robotic mumble clutching little balls on a string. That'll learn em!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭UnionOfV

I-Shot-Jr wrote: »

There's a point there, he probably couldn't have fined him much for mere abuse, so making him climb a mountain is probably more punishment than a few bob is ever going to be :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,427 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

Shouldve cruficied him, I suppose.

Something biblical anyway.

Dan133269 wrote: »
    Please explain the secular bit.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Secular_state#Europe

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,876 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i'd fall down and break my leg on croagh patrick, just to get a chance to sue the judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,792 ✭✭✭Mark Hamill

Because if the man was a child, then the christian punishment would be stoning to death:
    18If a man have a stubborn and rebellious son, which will not obey the voice of his father, or the voice of his mother, and that, when they have chastened him, will not hearken unto them:

19Then shall his father and his mother lay hold on him, and bring him out unto the elders of his city, and unto the gate of his place;

20And they shall say unto the elders of his city, This our son is stubborn and rebellious, he will not obey our voice; he is a glutton, and a drunkard.

21And all the men of his city shall stone him with stones, that he die: so shalt thou put evil away from among you; and all Israel shall hear, and fear.

HUMAN SLAVES..... IN A CHRISTIAN NATION...

AAAAAGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

The judge punished yer man if I was in trouble and I got hillwalking and talking as punishment I'd be chuffed. Who cares that in invoked religion it should mean less to the unbeliever than the believer. Do you know what I don't believe in? Prision and criminal records this all goes back to the crap about atheism being a movement or a belief or something. It's why I post so little here the only thing we have in common is a lack of belief. Sure it's sad we hVe to humor our judges but it's no worse than when a cop stops me an I'm all yes guard no guard of course guard till he fuucks off and I can go back to my Mitty like dream of being knighrider

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,876 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

very good spelling for a drunken post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

If he bothered to appeal I'm sure it would be tossed out. If you read the article the punishment is actually quite funny. While drunk, the guy went up to a Mayo guard and started hurling anti-mayo abuse at him. So the judge sent him to climb a big-ass mountain in Mayo. That's pretty funny.

The auld dinosaur should be sent to the pasture though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭recedite

Zillah wrote: »
    The auld dinosaur should be sent to the pasture though.

But his successor would have to be sworn in according to the Irish Constitution, Article34;
    5. 1° Every person appointed a judge under this Constitution shall make and subscribe the following declaration: "In the presence of Almighty God I, , do solemnly and sincerely promise and declare that I will duly and faithfully and to the best of my knowledge and power execute the office of Chief Justice (or as the case may be) without fear or favour, affection or ill-will towards any man, and that I will uphold the Constitution and the laws. May God direct and sustain me."
    4° Any judge who declines or neglects to make such declaration as aforesaid shall be deemed to have vacated his office.

Article 44.1;
    The State acknowledges that the homage of public worship is due to Almighty God. It shall hold His Name in reverence, and shall respect and honour religion.
    I think he was just following his direction from god.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Tigger wrote: »
    I'm all yes guard no guard of course guard till he fuucks off and I can go back tommy Mitty like dream of being knighrider
    Is Tommy Mitty Walter's Irish cousin? :p

It's why I post so little here the only thing we have in common is a lack of belief.

I think that's the message everyone around here tries to get across

So well done!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,427 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

If he bothered to appeal I'm sure it would be tossed out.
    Hope you're not calling the judge a tosser?

recedite wrote: »
    But his successor would have to be sworn in according to the Irish Constitution, Article34;
    5. 1° Every person appointed a judge under this Constitution shall make and subscribe the following declaration: "In the presence of Almighty God I, , do solemnly and sincerely promise and declare that I will duly and faithfully and to the best of my knowledge and power execute the office of Chief Justice (or as the case may be) without fear or favour, affection or ill-will towards any man, and that I will uphold the Constitution and the laws. May God direct and sustain me."
    4° Any judge who declines or neglects to make such declaration as aforesaid shall be deemed to have vacated his office.

Article 44.1;
    The State acknowledges that the homage of public worship is due to Almighty God. It shall hold His Name in reverence, and shall respect and honour religion.
    I think he was just following his direction from god.

Ah, but according to Article 44 of the Constitution "The State guarantees not to endow any religion. "

That's right folks, our Constitution is not even internally consistent.

"The State guarantees not to endow any religion. "
    I think that means "will not publicly fund either of the main denominations".

Dades wrote: »
    Is Tommy Mitty Walter's Irish cousin? :p

To my

Lol

very good spelling for a drunken post.

I-phone autocorrect for all you drunken rambling needs.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

I think we all knew it was slapdash. Good trying to get the cultural catholics of Ireland to vote something religious out of it in the next 50 years, though.
    I-phone autocorrect for all you drunken rambling needs.
    Clearly not all. :p

Article 44.1;

Sorry to quote myself, but I have just realised that this forum is unconstitutional. There is a distinct lack of homage being paid to the Almighty here. As a patriot, I must now, reluctantly, see how I can have the A&A forum shut down.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

Ah, but according to Article 44 of the Constitution "The State guarantees not to endow any religion. "

Au contraire. Ah the smugness of being right on here, I can't even hide it :D

If you actually look at the facts of the case, you will find:

It is NOT a sentence

He does NOT have to do it

He was asked by the judge to do it to show remorse and willing of good behaviour.

It is NOT mandatory.

The judge in particular is known for doing this, not the prayers part, but for suggesting minor criminals do acts in the community to show willing and remorse.

If you actually look at the facts of the case, you will find:

It is NOT a sentence

He does NOT have to do it

He was asked by the judge to do it to show remorse and willing of good behaviour.

It is NOT mandatory.

The judge in particular is known for doing this, not the prayers part, but for suggesting minor criminals do acts in the community to show willing and remorse.

What's that got to do with the constitution?

Smug theists! :pac:

so you admit that you are normally wrong on here
    and your main wrongness is......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

I think that means "will not publicly fund either of the main denominations".

Yet it does, and the courts' response to this in Campaign to Separate Church and State v Minister for Education - Ah sure Jaysus lads we've been doing that since before 1937, can't be anything wrong with it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Is that actually legal?

I kind of like the idea of sending him for a good hard walk, ingenious and costeffective.
    I sincerely dislike him being told to pray... unless of course the judge knew in advance the fellow was religious?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Shenshen wrote: »
    I kind of like the idea of sending him for a good hard walk, ingenious and costeffective.
    I sincerely dislike him being told to pray... unless of course the judge knew in advance the fellow was religious?

in all fairness, the judge didnt say who he has to pray to. i recomend a few bars of sabath bloody sabath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭branie

I think the judge made a mountain out of a molehill :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

then hed have to get the mountain and bring it to muhammed