Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crashed Twice in 2 days:HELP!

• 16-09-2010 5:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,627 ✭✭✭

I drive a 99 punto,aged 20,2yrs ncb.
    2 days ago,someone went into the back of me.Since my car is old,his insurance company told me that it will more than likely be written off.
    A car engineer was meant to be coming over today to assess the condition and value of the car.
    However i crashed into the back of another car today,ill try and have pics up later.It was a 05 fiesta,my car is totalled but im wondering what the outcome will be here.
    For accident number one im not going to be making any claim,just the amount for the car.
    Number 2 was my fault and i was wondering what should i do.the damage isnt too bad on his car,he was a man in his 60's and seemed fine.

What is the best way to go about this,without loosing my ncb?Is it possible to contact my insurance company and still pay to fix his car without loosing my ncb

Its annoying that i have been driving for over 2 years and i havnt crashed once,now in less than 2 days its happened twice.

Secondly.
    What is the situation with the first crash now.Am i more or less going to be told that the car is worthless now so we wont pay anything to you.

[IMG][/img]359fodz.png

[IMG][/img]ri5amq.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

For the second crash,you can still inform your insurance company and explain that you will more than likely settle the claim yourself. If the guy seemed fine he will probably be sound about it if there wasn't much damage. That way you won't lose your ncb.

For the first crash, the insurance company will just pay for the market value of the car which won't be much for a 99punto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Could be worse OP, on my first day on my bike, I crashed twice, in one hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,627 ✭✭✭Fol20

In crash number 2,the damage done to the fiesta isnt too bad,id say he will need a new bumber and panel beating for the booth(hopefully).Im hoping theres not much structural damage but who knows sure..

Im much more woried about himself claiming,theres no getting around that.He seemed like a sound fella,he got out of the car quick enough,said he wont take a load of money off me,however toward the end of the event he said he is having a bit of a pain in his neck.this combined with his age may mean im screwed :(...I wont be able to afford the insurance if im sued id say.It will go right up

the thing with a bike though, is that it will usually only affect you and maybe the other car.The most important thing is the individual that was in the crash(ie not you but the other person).And thats where i think i maybe screwed

pictures updated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,475 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

don't see any pictures?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

It's not just going to be a couple of hundred quid to fix the bumper, so it depends on how much the cost is against how much your insurance would go up.

If there is a claim, at least you will only lose 2 years ncb.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Fol20 wrote: »
    the thing with a bike though, is that it will usually only affect you and maybe the other car.The most important thing is the individual that was in the crash(ie not you but the other person).And thats where i think i maybe screwed

You wouldn't have that outlook if you were lying on the side of the road all broken up.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Bumper is badly damaged. May be more damage underneath it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

In crash number 2,the damage done to the fiesta isnt too bad,id say he will need a new bumber and panel beating for the booth(hopefully).Im hoping theres not much structural damage but who knows sure..

Im much more woried about himself claiming,theres no getting around that.He seemed like a sound fella,he got out of the car quick enough,said he wont take a load of money off me,however toward the end of the event he said he is having a bit of a pain in his neck.this combined with his age may mean im screwed :(...I wont be able to afford the insurance if im sued id say.It will go right up

The tailgate is fecked, there's a few big hollows in it caused when the bumper pushed upwards. I doubt these could be popped back to normal and if I were the owner I wouldn't settle for a bit of filler, I'd be looking to get the car back to the conditiion it was in before the collision. So, imo, you're looking at a replacement tailgate, replacement bumper, possibly new rear badges (if the can't be refitted), respray and matching and also fixing whatever damage is behind the bumper. Insurance route would replace all with new parts, with the private route the owner might settle for 2nd hand parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Not a lot of damage on the Fiesta, it all depends if the driver is a decent
    skin or an utter bollox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

bryaner wrote: »
    Not a lot of damage on the Fiesta, it all depends if the driver is a decent
    skin or an utter bollox.

Read slimjim's post.

Are you implying that the owner would be an "utter bollox" for wanting his car repaired to the state it was in before the crash?

T-Maxx wrote: »
    Read slimjim's post.

Are you implying that the owner would be an "utter bollox" for wanting his car repaired to the state it was in before the crash?

Think he would be an utter bollox for insisting it goes through the insurance company.

KamiKazi wrote: »
    Think he would be an utter bollox for insisting it goes through the insurance company.

Considering the possible costs involved (repairs, car hire/taxis and damage depreciation) I wouldn't blame him, especially when there are so many people currently struggling with routine funds as it is.

slimjimmc wrote: »
    Considering the possible costs involved (repairs, car hire/taxis and damage depreciation) I wouldn't blame him, especially when there are so many people currently struggling with routine funds as it is.

I'd always give the other party the chance to sort it in cash, if they don't mess you about what's the problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Bumper is badly damaged. May be more damage underneath it too.

The way the boot door is deformed I'd brace yourself for a shock on the Fiesta repair. That looks nasty. Bumpers pop back close on their original shape after impact hiding all kinds of damage underneath.

I'd always give the other party the chance to sort it in cash, if they don't mess you about what's the problem?

I agree, it would be nice of him to give that favour but I wouldn't consider him a bollox for going the insurance route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

EPM wrote: »

The way the boot door is deformed I'd brace yourself for a shock on the Fiesta repair. That looks nasty. Bumpers pop back close on their original shape after impact hiding all kinds of damage underneath.

Similar damage to an 06 Punto (my father's) required panel beating to the bootlid, a new locking mechanism, slam panel, wheel arch liners, respray of the bootlid + the new bumper; total about €2800 (main dealer mind).

OP - you may well have to go to insurance for this, so definitely report it ASAP if you haven't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

This post is pretty much on the money. There'll be a new bootlid, painting and fitting of that, new bumper with painting and fitting, and most likely the bumper carrier underneath and any undertrays. There could also be frame damage underneath too. Bumpers really do bounce right back even after serious prangs.

Read slimjim's post.

Decent skin wants car back the way it was, utter bollox wants new motor

and a bit of whiplash..

Reference to slimjim's post irrelevant.

€1500 jobbie.

R.O.R wrote: »
    It's not just going to be a couple of hundred quid to fix the bumper, so it depends on how much the cost is against how much your insurance would go up.

If there is a claim, at least you will only lose 2 years ncb.

My 21st is coming up soon,and for it,i was going to upgrade to a better car.I know that if my insurance goes up i wont be able to get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Decent skin wants car back the way it was, utter bollox wants new motor

and a bit of whiplash..

Reference to slimjim's post irrelevant.

€1500 jobbie.

So looking at a couple of photos you can pin it down to €1500, which is "not a lot of damage". Wow.

The Fiesta driver is entitled to getting his car repaired to the state it was in before being rear-ended. That's what insurance is for. Why would he settle for some weekend shed job instead? Because he's concerned about the other party's NCB? Because he wants to be a "decent skin"?

My reference to slimjim's post was simply to point out that there's more damage to the car than just the bumper, but then again you've got the repair bill done up already so yeah I guess it was irrelevant.:rolleyes:

So looking at a couple of photos you can pin it down to €1500, which is "not a lot of damage". Wow.

The Fiesta driver is entitled to getting his car repaired to the state it was in before being rear-ended. That's what insurance is for. Why would he settle for some weekend shed job instead? Because he's concerned about the other party's NCB? Because he wants to be a "decent skin"?

My reference to slimjim's post was simply to point out that there's more damage to the car than just the bumper, but then again you've got the repair bill done up already so yeah I guess it was irrelevant.:rolleyes:

Roll eyes all you want bud, it's fairly easy to work out.

+ €1500 is not a lot of damage

Roll eyes all you want bud, it's fairly easy to work out.

+ €1500 is not a lot of damage

I was hoping it would be more like 5-700 damages..if its 1500 i might let it go through the insurance company

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

Any pic of damage to Punto? It might help to assess extent of impact on Fiesta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Is he entitled to insist that it goes through insurance company?
    In other words - if the other party (OP in this case) says that he's gonna pay for all the repairs from his own pocket, can the guy still insist to go through insurance.
    Even if the amount he would get from insurance would be exactly the same as the amount OP will's to pay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

CiniO wrote: »
    In other words - if the other party (OP in this case) says that he's gonna pay for all the repairs from his own pocket, can the guy still insist to go through insurance.
    Even if the amount he would get from insurance would be exactly the same as the amount OP will's to pay?

Can't he still go through the inssurance. They pay out and then the OP just pays the insurance company that amount so he doesn't lose his ncb? I think it can work that way too afaik.

I was hoping it would be more like 5-700 damages..if its 1500 i might let it go through the insurance company

Without replacing bumper and boot you might get away with that, but I'd

imagine the other party wont have that.

[IMG][/img]28kr2o.png

Poor FIAT.
    Thay are such a nice cars.

The back of it is in just as bad condition..it was going to be written off anyway before this happened to it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭muboop1

I knocked a merc up the arse with my punto ages ago, and I didnt have half the damage on my car that you did.

You must of hit him prety hard.

I paid out over a grand, and I considered myself to get off lightly... Granted it was a merc, but the damage wasn't near as bad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

There was definitely some speed in that, anyway. You'll be VERY lucky for the Fiesta to be under 1500 quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

CiniO wrote: »

I dont think he can insist that he go thru the insurance company. In the event of a claim, its you who claim off of your insurance, not the third party. The last accident I had I rang my insurance company and told them they were not to pay out a penny unless I okayed it, and they were perfectly fine with that.

In this case tho the OP has to weigh up whether it is cheaper long term to pay up out of his own pocket or to let the insurance company pay out.

Also, the insurance must be notified either way. If the other driver was compaining of a sore neck then there could well be a medical claim coming, and if the OP has not informed his insurance company of the accident then they could well refuse to pay out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Fol,

If I were you, I'd talk to the owner of the Fiesta. Explain to him that you can't afford to get new parts but you can do something just as good.

There's a wealth of breakers yards around the country and I'm sure you could find the parts that the Ford will need to bring it back.

If the Ford owner is game, check out www.partfinder.ie

I don't see why he wouldn't go for this if he's a sound man.

Best of luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Fol,

If I were you, I'd talk to the owner of the Fiesta. Explain to him that you can't afford to get new parts but you can do something just as good.

There's a wealth of breakers yards around the country and I'm sure you could find the parts that the Ford will need to bring it back.

If the Ford owner is game, check out www.partfinder.ie

I don't see why he wouldn't go for this unless, as mentioned, he's an utter bollox :D

Best of luck!

But why should he settle for secondhand parts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Exactly, unless he's related to you, known to you in some way, a fierce soft touch or the value of an actual claim would result in his own being written off, I don't see why? Tis not like it was a small tip? It looks like a fair shunt to me
    Thats what insurance is for lads...

langdang wrote: »
    Exactly, unless he's related to you, known to you in some way, a fierce soft touch or the value of an actual claim would result in his own being written off, I don't see why? Tis not like it was a small tip? It looks like a fair shunt to me
    Thats what insurance is for lads...

It was just a suggestion! No harm in asking...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

It was just a suggestion! No harm in asking...
    Oh I agree, never any harm in asking, but he wouldn't be an "utter bollix" to say no...

langdang wrote: »
    Oh I agree, never any harm in asking, but he wouldn't be an "utter bollix" to say no...

You're right, he wouldn't (post edited). But if he's a sound aul' divil, he might go this route.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Here is a new avatar for your profile...
    Windows_logo.jpg

kbannon wrote: »
    Here is a new avatar for your profile...
    Windows_logo.jpg

ROTFL

Bryanair,your spot on...he rang me today and got a quote for around 1500.

New bumper
    New booth(i mentioned panel beating it and he said if it went through insurance he would be given a new one,so used parts is definitely out)
    fixing damage behind bumper

New bumper
    New booth(i mentioned panel beating it and he said if it went through insurance he would be given a new one,so used parts is definitely out)

Didn't want to be right but thats what I kinda thought it would come to, keep

your distance in future dude and save yourself the Dollars.

Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

New bumper

might it be worth taking that writeoff cheque and the rest of the money out of your pocket to pay for it , doubtful your insurance would go up 1500 euro but still may be worth it in your books, i know anything less than 1500 and id try as hard as possible to pay it out of pocket

Dunno what i will do,my dad keeps saying that if i pay him now,that is accepting liability for the accident while if i gave it to the insurance companies they pay out but never fully accept liability.

What would happen if a yr down the line he comes back and says he has whiplash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭daithi09

Go to your solicitor, he'l give you a form that you can get the man to sign pretty much saying that he's not going to claim for medical.. although not many ppl would sign that because a lot of the time people do actually suffer pain a year later.. In fairness I think it's pretty clear cut your at fault anyway because you crashed into the back of him. Were the gardai on the scene because they will go to court in case of injury also.

yes the gardai were there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭daithi09

The man seems nice, your in the wrong regardless. My advice: Go with the 1500 cash and hope for the best.. Just my opinion tho..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

To the OP; offer him the cash, and you could just explain to him what your options are. Ask him if he's willing to sign away his right to claim from you in future. ie A no-fault-admitted payment or something like that.

To the lads talking about the moral ability of someone to ask for an insurance claim or not, I have to say I will be decent, allow the at-fault driver to offer different ways to make amends but always cover my bases so as not to preclude a claim. With this aim I would always get a Garda report on even the most trivial of incidents.

But personally I vehemently resent the idea that bangernomics can be transferred to a victim from a perpetrator. If someone hits my car, then my car will be repaired to the highest possible standard at his expense if I so wish. Entirely his expense. No matter how much it costs. That is my right as the aggrieved party.
    To completely misquote Jurassic Park; I dont blame people for their mistakes, but I do ask that they pay for them.

My cars seem to be magnets to women once parked.. I had someone hit my last car at work when it was 2 months old. She ran initially, but then owned up to it. Over 3k in damage. All new parts. No respraying or reconditioning possible.