Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Orientation and Freshers Balls

• 16-09-2010 12:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭

Anyone know whats happening for these? Acts playing etc?

Am hearing about a 3D orientation ball, doesn't sound that interesting really.

It seems DCU always have pretty poor acts at the Balls. Last year apart from the Rag Ball, I don't think there were any renowned acts at any of the other balls.

UCD, can have a concert with the likes of Calvin Harris, Dizzie Rascal etc and all we get is a cheap DJ and a clown dressed up as Michael Jackson.
    And don't give me the UCD is far bigger excuse, or the we want a cheap night.
    DKIT this year have Razorlight and Dave Pierce signed for freshers week, for 10 euro admission to both.

DCU has failed us in terms of acts provided at events.
    Hopefully things will change this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Noodleworm

Well DCU really doesn't have the money of other colleges, I think Id prefer that they spend money on improving facilities rather than getting "big acts".

I think its kinda silly to think a ball can only be good if it has famous acts.
    Lesser known acts can still put on a good show, Just like big acts can still have a bad show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

DCUlad wrote: »
    Anyone know whats happening for these? Acts playing etc?

Am hearing about a 3D orientation ball, doesn't sound that interesting really.

It seems DCU always have pretty poor acts at the Balls. Last year apart from the Rag Ball, I don't think there were any renowned acts at any of the other balls.

UCD, can have a concert with the likes of Calvin Harris, Dizzie Rascal etc and all we get is a cheap DJ and a clown dressed up as Michael Jackson.
    And don't give me the UCD is far bigger excuse, or the we want a cheap night.
    DKIT this year have Razorlight and Dave Pierce signed for freshers week, for 10 euro admission to both.

DCU has failed us in terms of acts provided at events.
    Hopefully things will change this year.

I thought Dizzie Rascal and Calvin Harris played at the Trinity Ball in the past couple of years......pretty sure it wasn't UCD. Anyway Trinity Ball is like 80 euro for a ticket and it can hold way more people than any bash DCU throws so its easier for them to get better acts.

Oh and on the Razorlight thing..... I wouldn't go see them if you gave me ten euro, they are shíte!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Who's Dave Pierce?

I hate all the acts that you've listed so I'd be pretty pissed off if a lot of money was spent booking them. I don't see why having famous acts is necessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭DCUlad

Right, I shall try respond to all 3 here. Sorry if I forget something.

No i believe it was the UCD ball, as this shows. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yv3x1Vh1-JA
    Dave Pierce is a famous DJ, think he does trance or something. I wouldn't particularly like him myself, but he is a big name.

My point is, if the likes of DKIT can land big acts for cheap admission, why can't DCU do the same?
    What extra funds do the DKIT students union have on ours? I'd guess they would have less to spend than ourselves in DCU.

I accept that a big act doesn't gaurantee a good show. But it goes a long way towards pulling in a crowd and generating an atmosphere.

Anyway, my post was raising the question does anyone know whats happening this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

what's the big deal with big acts- if you get a big act your listening to the oneband/dj's songs for the whole night - get an ordinary bad or DJ and everyone will like something

do you want dave pierce to play at DCU or someone similar because their a big act despite you not liking them at all so you can go to your trinner and ucd friends to say "yeah we had dave pierce"

seems like that's the only reason you want a big name tbh - like if you want a big name go to their concert next time their in the O2 or wherever...

I'd rather the money be spent on other things too rather than having a big name for a party for one night like in fairness

and who cares about pulling a big crowd - it's a freshers ball or orientation ball - everyone is gonna go anyways so the atmosphere will be there...

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    what's the big deal with big acts- if you get a big act your listening to the oneband/dj's songs for the whole night - get an ordinary bad or DJ and everyone will like something

do you want dave pierce to play at DCU or someone similar because their a big act despite you not liking them at all so you can go to your trinner and ucd friends to say "yeah we had dave pierce"

seems like that's the only reason you want a big name tbh - like if you want a big name go to their concert next time their in the O2 or wherever...

I'd rather the money be spent on other things too rather than having a big name for a party for one night like in fairness

and who cares about pulling a big crowd - it's a freshers ball or orientation ball - everyone is gonna go anyways so the atmosphere will be there...

I didn't want an argument about previous years but anyway.
    What did you make of the entertainment at last years freshers ball, halloween ball, christmas ball?

All these had very poor DJ's play a poor set. At least if your going to be scabby get a decent club DJ.
    Now the events were still good, but am saying they could have being better.

No i don't want to go and say "we have Dave Pierce" to trinner or UCD heads. But it's nice to have a few acts of reputation.
    They can list the acts they had, what can we say? There was a crap DJ and Alan Keegan did a rap or something?

Your point about spending money on facilities as opposed to entertainment would be valid, if they did such a thing. But they don't.
    What did the SU do last year with these funds?
    I didn't see them getting any facilities improved.

They are letting down DCU, by putting on rubbish acts.
    Even Maynoth could get Jedward on stage for jaysus sake !

Yep, the standard of our ball entertainment really brings down the standard of the University.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Guys what are these balls like? Formal type things or what?

A ball is just a party, no gowns necessary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    Guys what are these balls like? Formal type things or what?

not formal at all, sometimes fancy dress.

Cheers lads.

lol you want Jedward??? I would rather be kicked in the balls by a horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

Go back and add a :pac: to the end of that so we know you're not being serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭ldxo15wus6fpgm

I think it's kinda stupid the way people are trying to derail this thread. The guy is asking why the college can't get a well known act on stage, and you lot are pretty much attacking him over that.
    I'd like to know this too, it sounds very strange. I know DCU is a small university but I also know DKIT is smaller...

I think it's kinda stupid the way people are trying to derail this thread. The guy is asking why the college can't get a well known act on stage, and you lot are pretty much attacking him over that.
    I'd like to know this too, it sounds very strange. I know DCU is a small university but I also know DKIT is smaller...

Could be any number of reasons.

Could be that the organisers suck and/or aren't trying hard enough.

Could be that the organisers know that well known does not equal good.

Could be that they simply don't want to have to charge stupid money like Trinity do just for a glorified piss up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭ldxo15wus6fpgm

OctavarIan wrote: »
    Could be any number of reasons.

Could be that the organisers suck and/or aren't trying hard enough.
    This sounds like the most likely reason IMO.
    Could be that the organisers know that well known does not equal good.
    However it usually means a good performance. Obviously everyone will have a bad show or two but it's common sense that a big-name act will probably put on a better show due to having more experience, and usually there will be better crowd interaction.
    EDIT: Not to mention that many more people would want to see an act they know and have heard before. I know plenty of people who wouldn't bother paying to see an act they've never heard of (excluding nightclub DJs obviously.)
    Could be that they simply don't want to have to charge stupid money like Trinity do just for a glorified piss up.
    I don't see 10 euro as stupid money. Also it's Dave Pearce not Pierce. :p

This sounds like the most likely reason IMO.

Agreed.
    However it usually means a good performance. Obviously everyone will have a bad show or two but it's common sense that a big-name act will probably put on a better show due to having more experience, and usually there will be better crowd interaction.
    EDIT: Not to mention that many more people would want to see an act they know and have heard before. I know plenty of people who wouldn't bother paying to see an act they've never heard of (excluding nightclub DJs obviously.)

Disagree with that. From my own experience I've found that the older and more established an act is, the less energy and crowd interaction there is. Go on stage, play your songs, 'Hello Dublin!', go home. Muse are a perfect example of this, they were far far better live 7-8 years ago than they are now.

I don't see 10 euro as stupid money. Also it's Dave Pearce not Pierce. :p

Yeah that's cheap, didn't know that about DKIT. Razorlight really suck though, and Dave Pearce in all honesty is pretty average. But yeah a tenner is what you should be paying for freshers stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Noodleworm

I still think its fine to just have a DJ play a variety of songs at the balls. There just a party. Not a concert.Most people go to the balls to socialise and meet people, you can't do this if your all watching those "big acts".

When bands come they get a gig to themselves, so only those who want to see them go.

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    Cheers lads.

lol you want Jedward??? I would rather be kicked in the balls by a horse.

Never said I wanted Jedward. Only showing another example of other supposadly smaller colleges that are fit to land bigger acts than us.

Thats my exact point.
    If the likes of DKIT and NUIM can get relatively well know acts, that we can't then it's a poor reflection DCU.

But then again, the reaction of this thread shows the attitude of DCU students.
    They are happy just ta go to some crappy act, drink cans of Dutch Gold and have a cheap night, based on the idea that "i'll be that drunk it won't matter who plays"

Don't get me wrong, I don't have money to throw around and am all for getting well under the influence, but I'd like a quality act aswell.

We are getting the same lines all the time about money, size of college etc.
    But what are the SU doing with the money since they aren't spending it on these balls.
    What do they do? employ 2 full-time receptionists? thats a lot of good to the student body.
    Did they get any facilities upgraded last year? I don't see them.

I don't drink and I still don't care who performs, how dare you label me some kind of drunken layabout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Probably the wrong place to talk about it, the people in this thread would probably prefer if the money went to gamesoc or drama or something like that.

phasers wrote: »
    I don't drink and I still don't care who performs, how dare you label me some kind of drunken layabout

So then what do you propose DCU do for their balls?

You don't want drink promotions, you don't want a big act. What do you want?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Tiroskan

A good time? Cheap in, decent theme, decent music (don't care if it's live or not.) and that gets people involved. S'all I want anyway.

Coke and hookers damn it!

Tiroskan wrote: »
    A good time? Cheap in, decent theme, decent music (don't care if it's live or not.) and that gets people involved. S'all I want anyway.

Well, lets take last years Summer Ball as example and see how your needs are catered for.

1. Cheap In.
    Tickets 10 euro, so yes this was catered for in terms of the "cheap" part.
    However, in terms of the "in" part, the event sold out very fast and hundreds of people couldn't get a ticket that would have loved to have went.

2. Decent Theme
    This event was ment to have a beach theme. So you'd expect sand, water, beach balls etc like any club beach party.
    Instead we got none of this, but a bit of yellow carpet in the hub. Thats great for a beach atmosphere sur !!

3. Decent Music.
    No acts atall playing, just a DJ. Played a wide variety of music but in comparisson to a decent club DJ (Tripod, Diceys, etc) was below par.

Now people did enjoy the event. But it was more because it was the "summer ball" and not the way it was organised.

It's clear that DCU have failed us last year in terms of these events.
    I hope this year will see change.
    However, now a week prior to the Orientation Ball, with no one knowing whats happening for it, I am doubtfull.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

Well, lets take last years Summer Ball as example and see how your needs are catered for.

1. Cheap In.
    Tickets 10 euro, so yes this was catered for in terms of the "cheap" part.
    However, in terms of the "in" part, the event sold out very fast and hundreds of people couldn't get a ticket that would have loved to have went.

2. Decent Theme
    This event was ment to have a beach theme. So you'd expect sand, water, beach balls etc like any club beach party.
    Instead we got none of this, but a bit of yellow carpet in the hub. Thats great for a beach atmosphere sur !!

3. Decent Music.
    No acts atall playing, just a DJ. Played a wide variety of music but in comparisson to a decent club DJ (Tripod, Diceys, etc) was below par.

Now people did enjoy the event. But it was more because it was the "summer ball" and not the way it was organised.

It's clear that DCU have failed us last year in terms of these events.
    I hope this year will see change.
    However, now a week prior to the Orientation Ball, with no one knowing whats happening for it, I am doubtfull.

Or you get a known act like The Vengaboys that year and you have the whole capacity of the Hub trying to cram themselves into the 400 or so capacity of the Venue area floor resulting in chaos and a **** load of people being harshly thrown out for pushing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Garseys

johnn wrote: »
    Or you get a known act like The Vengaboys that year and you have the whole capacity of the Hub trying to cram themselves into the 400 or so capacity of the Venue area floor resulting in chaos and a **** load of people being harshly thrown out for pushing.

iirc is the reason why the SU won't book big acts. (unless they book the Helix)

Garseys wrote: »
    iirc is the reason why the SU won't book big acts. (unless they book the Helix)

Well then book the feckin Helix.

It's on DCU ground and is DCU property so shouldn't be an issue.

Well then book the feckin Helix.

It's on DCU ground and is DCU property so shouldn't be an issue.

Anything ive been at in the Helix has been ****, feels more like being in a big club in town, huge queues for drinks i remember at a Paddy's day thing they had there as in a proper queue with a railing to get to the bar for about 20mins each time. Doesn't quite have the charm of the dcu balls(:eek:)

I prefer getting locked with a few classmates on campus then heading over for a good bit of atmosphere in The Hub, not fussed about the big acts, someone like the Coronas or whatever is fine for a bit of live music, if i want to go see a big international act ill buy a ticket to see them in town.

So then what do you propose DCU do for their balls?

You don't want drink promotions, you don't want a big act. What do you want?
    to have fun with my friends, with some decent music playing. You don't need Dave Pearce, anyone can make up an itunes playlist and click the play button.

Okay I accept the points made by Johnn and Phasers, I suppose we are will have to agree to disagree.

Anyway, leaving all that aside. Does anyone know whats happening at the Orientation or Freshers balls this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

A big act is only going to appeal to a subset of all students. So while you have a lot of super excited people to see [big act] you also have as many who are indifferent and might not enjoy said [big act]'s performance. A DJ (or even as phasers said an ipod playlist) can play music over the course of a night that will appeal to far more people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Lambe703

i;m from Dundalk, going to DCU and DKIT does not have Razorlight, they got their Ex-Drummer doing DJ thats it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Benny Lava

Remember the RAG Ball last year?

A decent performance from The Coronas and a DJ set from Sidney Samson that might as well have been done by Marty Morrisey was the fabulous return we got for our €25 tickets.

Screw the "big names".

Benny Lava wrote: »
    Remember the RAG Ball last year?

A decent performance from The Coronas and a DJ set from Sidney Samson that might as well have been done by Marty Morrisey was the fabulous return we got for our €25 tickets.

Screw the "big names".

wow the rag ball tickets are 25e now? i think they were 10e for a student and 15e for a guest when i was there. And that was with a DJ set from Trevor Nelson who is probably a bigger name than Sidney Samson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

johnn wrote:

Ha, still a sore point for you!!! Brilliant!
    johnn wrote: »
    wow the rag ball tickets are 25e now? i think they were 10e for a student and 15e for a guest when i was there. And that was with a DJ set from Trevor Nelson who is probably a bigger name than Sidney Samson

Absolutely, 25 is quite steep considering the lack of part time jobs for students these days. I paid a 5er I think about 6 years ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭notGill

here lads I would love to point out that Japanese Popstars played twice last year! They are far from the "crap dj's" mentioned earlier in the thread. They aren't a widely known name but they are certainly one of the up and coming acts on a global scale. And they have won numerous awards the past few years for "Best Live Act". Technically they aren't a big name, but personally I think that the SU made a good decision in getting them to play! I had a great night both times they played! :)

notGill wrote: »
    here lads I would love to point out that Japanese Popstars played twice last year! They are far from the "crap dj's" mentioned earlier in the thread. They aren't a widely known name but they are certainly one of the up and coming acts on a global scale. And they have won numerous awards the past few years for "Best Live Act". Technically they aren't a big name, but personally I think that the SU made a good decision in getting them to play! I had a great night both times they played! :)

Yeah i generally don't have too much of a problem with getting in a decent act, but its annoying if its not your kind of artist and it causes the price hike from when i was in 1st/2nd year of 10euro to 25euro now! what im saying is i still have a good time anyway having a few pre-drinks with mates and then onto the banter in the hub regardless of who is playing so its no big deal who other colleges get in.

discus wrote: »
    Ha, still a sore point for you!!! Brilliant!

Absolutely, 25 is quite steep considering the lack of part time jobs for students these days. I paid a 5er I think about 6 years ago!

Girl looks back from about 20 yards in front of me at one of the stair-wells in the venue....."He's pushing!" somehow singling me out & the bouncers take her word and thrun me out at around midnight if even!

Yeah i always thought the RAG ball was the cheaper one, with the Freshers and Summer Balls being more expensive.

How do people go about getting involved in organising acts to partake in the balls?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭OrionsBelt

In the three years that i was at DCU i went to almost ever ball that the SU put on and yes, big names have been sparse, but that didn't stop them from being some pretty good nights. Good music, decent prices (and it has been in my opinion), good themes and good friends to enjoy it with.

as for the themes of orientation and freshers, a 3D ball sounds a bit cool, though no idea what it would actually involve. i assume we all wear 3D glass and some sort of 3D screen or something. i heard a rumour about the freshers ball being School disco theme?

Yup it was €25 and it started at 2 pm while most students had lectures. However, us CS students had the whole day to waste even more money on drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

The act's don't matter, sure last summer ball i didn't even make it. Ended up in god knows how many apartments making new pals.

Rag ball I only went to see Sidney Samson for about 30 minutes, that's all out of like 12 hours of people and i still had great fun.

Like people say about college, the Balls are also what you make them. They're not concerts, no one really goes for the "act". Just a glorified piss up on campus, and that's why I enjoy them.

Just a glorified piss up on campus, and that's why I enjoy them.

I propose the name changing of all events ending with the word "ball" to the phrase "glorified piss up on campus" (except the Halloween one since that's not on campus).

Can't wait for the Freshers Glorified Piss Up On Campus this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭Urizen

Bit of a mouthful though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Sephiroth_vg

Lulz had a blast at the knuts and bolts :P lucky through all of the competitions

I saw a poster saying that "Fourplay DJs" will be playing at the Orientation Ball.

Hahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Benny Lava wrote: »
    I saw a poster saying that "Fourplay DJs" will be playing at the Orientation Ball.

Hahahaha

I saw videos of them in the DJing forum, I don't like the sound if them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Did the intrepid lief_erikson or any of those dance boardsies ever get that daytime rave going!?

That woulda been one for the history books.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Did the intrepid lief_erikson or any of those dance boardsies ever get that daytime rave going!?

That woulda been one for the history books.

Could you refresh my memory on that one?