Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which is more dangerous-drink driving or dope driving?

• 14-09-2010 10:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭

Just wondering about this. Of course its a matter of how many joints or how many pints you've had but in general who would be more 'with it' and safer of the two to drive- someone with drink taken or someone stoned?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

If I'm pissed, I always have a joint or two before I drive home. I find it helps my driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭TheRiddler

Shíte threading

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Drink driving or driving under the influence of drugs is only done by fcuking idiots.

If I'm pissed, I always have a joint or two before I drive home. I find it helps my driving.

I don't like your attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

"Dope driving" is how I describe sh1te driving when I'm trying to be down with the kids. Or... would "dope driving" mean really good driving?

I'm not with it any more - I don't even have the energy to Google and post the Abe Simpson quote... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Sure drink driving is a bit of craic

I think the most dangerous thing is a woman behind the wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Which weighs more....a pound of lead or a pound of feathers ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭maameeo

wouldnt do either, how ever much id had. but somehow i think id be more aware with alcohol then dope :/

definitely would not like to test the theory!

If it's George Michael behind the wheel, then dope driving is definitely worse.

Which weighs more....a pound of lead or a pound of feathers ?

Only I may ask the riddles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

TheRiddler wrote: »
    I think the most dangerous thing is a woman behind the wheel.

well riddle me this how is it womens insurance is always cheaper I smell jealousy :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Dope. I've never done it but I'd think drugs are more dangerous while driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭GizAGoOfYerGee

Drivers that consume alcohol drive faster while also being very cocky about their abilities.

Hash smokers drive more slowly, and are more aware of their impairment.

Neither drivers can be trusted, but I would "trust" a hash driver over a drink driver any day.

Only I may ask the riddles.

I've seen you try to ask a riddle. Yet to see you suceed.

BluesBerry wrote: »
    well riddle me this how is it womens insurance is always cheaper I smell jealousy :P

Because women are incapable of working with higher numbers

I've seen you try to ask a riddle. Yet to see you suceed.

One more outburst like that and you will be in big trouble.

What are you going to do - bore me to death?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Gaudizeit

Drivers that consume alcohol drive faster while also being very cocky about their abilities.

Neither drivers can be trusted, but I would "trust" a hash driver over a drink driver any day.

a hash crash would be like the episode of Fr. Ted with the milk float and the cardboard boxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Drink driving imo, alcohol makes you take more risks and messes up your motor functions much more than smoking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I think it's the other way around, actually. I remember someone somewhere did some sort of study on it and drink drivers are more aware of how drunk they are and are safer drivers than those on hash. But that said, they're still both very dangerous as they don't have particularly good response times. I could have picked this up wrong, but I'm fairly sure it was something along those lines.

There's probably a vid on youtube or something that'll show it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

I reckon drink driving's worse since you'd be more likely to overestimate your own abilities (which the majority of drivers do anyway), though I think both are irresponsible.
    Dope. I've never done it but I'd think drugs are more dangerous while driving.
    Depends which drugs, innit? You'd probably drive better on a moderate dose of speed.

Has anyone ever tried any of them?

I've drank drive and although dangerous its extremely fun

I've drove with that legal drug meow meow and had loads of drinks and nearly wrote my car off not realizing till i woke up the next day to see my car parked in the drive way sideways with 2 burst tyres, no wing mirror and scrapes and bumps all down one side.

What are you going to do - bore me to death?

I will find out who you are and hunt you down like a wild animal. I will then find out where you live, tie you up and rape you, twice. Then I will carve a question mark into your forehead with a rusty dagger, yes a dagger, and brainwash you. I will eventually let you go in the nearest wooded area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Roses are black,
    Violets are black,
    Everything is black.

Stevie Wonder, age 7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭RockinRolla

Why drink and drive when you can smoke and fly?!

I will find out who you are and hunt you down like a wild animal. I will then find out where you live, tie you up and rape you, twice. Then I will carve a question mark into your forehead with a rusty dagger, yes a dagger, and brainwash you. I will eventually let you go in the nearest wooded area.

Do your parents know that you're up this late on a school night?

TheZohan wrote: »
    Roses are black,
    Violets are black,
    Everything is black.

Stevie Wonder, age 7

Stevie Wonder is black.

Why drink and drive when you can smoke and fly?!

Not all of us have airplanes!

Do your parents know that you're up this late on a school night?

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Has anyone ever tried any of them?
    I know a few people who'd drive after a smoke, and I've been in their cars plenty of times. I don't agree with it, thought there wasn't any noticeable impairment to their skills.

I've been in a car with a drunk driver just once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

The offical answer is that drink driving is worse. That doesn't make driving while high any less of a stupid idea though.

Skip to 3:30

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Pookah

I definitely think drink driving is a lot more dangerous.

I did it once and never again.

I dope drive occasionally and find it's the only time I obey the rules of the road, whereas normally I can be a bit reckless on my motorbike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Pace2008 wrote: »
    I reckon drink driving's worse since you'd be more likely to overestimate your own abilities (which the majority of drivers do anyway), though I think both are irresponsible.
    Depends which drugs, innit? You'd probably drive better on a moderate dose of speed.
    I just kinda assumed on my own previous experiences with hash that I' be too lazy to do anything anyway whereas no matter how drunk I am I would never get behind the wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭travelguru

none, there both just as bad but you never hear when the stoners cause accidents.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

Dangerous to drink and drive, with your just one hand on the steering wheel. Spliff in mouth, one can proceed down the road with text book safety, both hands in 10 o'clock 2 o'clock position

Never drink & drive.

You might spill some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,731 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

humanji wrote: »
    I think it's the other way around, actually. I remember someone somewhere did some sort of study on it and drink drivers are more aware of how drunk they are and are safer drivers than those on hash

Every department of Transport Test in America disagrees with you, they have found if your concentrating on driving while stoned there is no impairment, your in the zone as they say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

the average type of cannabis resin or low grade weed available in ireland is harmless behind a wheel as long as you are someway used to cannabis, but the very strong weed could be dodgy..

i learned how to drive stoned , i always smoked one or two on a long journey, had no problem driving, it calmed me down and made me think twice about doing stupid things on the road, nice relaxed journeys..

i dont smoke behind the wheel now, i stopped it long time ago as i was too paranoid of the gardai, id be very nervous at checkpoints so stuff that..

im 5 years on the road with no driving offenses, i wouldnt recommend driving with a spliff or having a car full of people smoking with loud music either , it can be bad for the concentration, but id have nothing against an experienced driver having a wee puff before a journey as long as he/she is a calm person..

drink driving is far worse...too much false confidence whereas with the smoke you know your stoned so you can wait few mins then theres no problem driving...

charlemont wrote: »
    i stopped it long time ago as i was too paranoid of the gardai, id be very nervous at checkpoints so stuff that..

It's 4 years off the road if any pot shows up in your system. Your a lot better off being pissed behind the wheel and you'll only do half the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I wouldn't do either but it's pretty obvious that driving drunk would be worse than driving stoned.

strobe wrote: »
    I wouldn't do either but it's pretty obvious that driving drunk would be worse than driving stoned.

But the law looks at it the other way round, it also doesn't take into account when you had a spliff.
    You could have a smoke on Monday and meet a checkpoint the following Friday and end up with a 4 year driving ban. It's a bit OTT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭ddef

They're both f*cking good fun tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭JGEP

It's 4 years off the road if any pot shows up in your system. Your a lot better off being pissed behind the wheel and you'll only do half the time.

Way more likely to kill someone though.

My experience would be similar to Charlemont's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,770 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

i found the problem was the morning after the night before, like Mr. Cowen.
    Directly after 3 or 4 pints my driving was ok , but the next day - heeby jeebies, when technically you were ok , your perceptions seamed way off

no longer drink anymore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

when I was a young buck I drove stoned on hash. Im not very proud of it now. But I was quite safe as my road speed rarely exceeded 20mph.

I also had a few mates around one day. We where all drinking. I had an offroad jeep and a bit of waste land behind the house . We took the jeep out for a burn while pissed. Needless to say it was a write off when we got back.

With drink you lose all coordination and simply cant point the thing in the right direction. Or brake in the correct places. Its a disaster waiting to happen if you drink and drive..

I would not recommend it. Thank god a grew a bit of sense from them times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

you can pretty much do everything stoned, a bit slower but you can go about your business in a normal enough fashion. drunk, jaysus!

i have never driven under the influence of either btw, but i'd rather be driven by a stoned driver than a drunk one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Every department of Transport Test in America disagrees with you, they have found if your concentrating on driving while stoned there is no impairment, your in the zone as they say.
    Having played alot of wipeout in college, I'd have to agree with this.
    The zone doesn't seem to apply to writing up papers at 3 in the morning though.

i have never driven under the influence of either btw, but i'd rather be driven by a stoned driver than a drunk one.

Would you rather be driven down by a stoned driver than a drunk one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,992 ✭✭✭Degag

Not true in my experience. I've often driven after a few pints and always drive slower and more carefully. Same with everyone else that i know who does it. I've never driven drunk though.