Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are trophy wives essentially prostitutes?

• 13-09-2010 11:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭

My friend's boss is a short overweight 40+ male who happens to be very well off. He owns the company & owns another business as well.

His wife is mean't to be stunning & at least 10 years younger. She's been described as a trophy wife.

Its not a new phenomenon i know. Sure it happens all the time. When an ugly man meets a beautiful gold digger does it go something like this: Im rich, i'l provide you with a nice home & buy you whatever you want in return for sex & the privilege of showing you off at parties & family gatherings, you'll be a walking talking ego boost...Whatd'ya-say???

Is it all a bit sad or do you think meh...sure why not, they're both getting a fair deal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Maybe she likes him for his personality. Or his massive cock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

Men create and innovate while women are there to stand beside them and look pretty.:D

While you may find some women who create and innovate, further study reveals them all to be butch dykes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Its unfair to assume that just because she's attractive and younger that she's a golddigger. Or a prostitute.

Your boss might be the love of her life. Just because he's not good looking doesn't mean he's not worth loving, and just because people are shallow enough to describe her as a trophy, doesn't mean that she's shallow too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Hey, hang on. How do you know he has a massive cock?

Giselle wrote: »
    Its unfair to assume that just because she's attractive and younger that she's a golddigger. Or a prostitute.

Your boss might be the love of her life. Just because he's not good looking doesn't mean he's not worth loving, and just because people are shallow enough to describe her as a trophy, doesn't mean that she's shallow too.

She's a huer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Pookah

Alpha-male gets the pick of the females.

Beta-males complain. (bonobos excepted)

It's the primate way. What's the surprise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

Sounds like a choad if you ask me...

Aidric wrote: »
    Hey, hang on. How do you know he has a massive cock?

Because I let him butt f*ck me for cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

First serious answer of the thread. :P

I don't think so. It's not like she's married to a porn director and acts in porn films. She's hot and young, that's it. It's not as if she'll bounce from rich guy to a richer guy to an even richer guy. If that was the case wouldn't people like Obama and other leaders of countries have supermodel wives that are barely 18?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

some women are attracted to wealth and power.

Thankfully for me not all women are :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

They still have to spend a fair amount of time together, I doubt it is only the looks and cash holding it together. If this is the case, I'd say they are both going into it with open eyes so they both know the odds.

I worked in Spain for a bit made the mistake of calling the owners wife a calculating golddigger in company, turns out she was older than him and they had been together since they were teenagers, she just took good care of herself and he aged badly, won't be making that mistake again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

oooh, she's a gold digga...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Interviewer: What would you be if you weren't a footballer?
    Peter Crouch: A virgin.

That's a funny one... Peter Crouch, a footballer... hilarious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

He's probably rich and successful because he's confident and smart. Women like that.

and his huge wang:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Ah now thats not fair.

Im sure most 6ft 7inch stick insects like him regularly attract women like this: Abbey-Clancy1_0.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I wish I could be a trophy wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Lux23 wrote: »

I wish I had the money for you babe, but I had to trade in the Ferrari for a Porsche - recession and all that....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

To build up that successful business he had that key attribute, confidence.
    And you don't get to be where he is without being smart.

Quit you're judging, he deserves someone special in his life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Keep in mind that rich men tend to hang out in places where the women tend to be more attractive, so their chances of getting a hot wife rise accordingly.

A woman who hangs out with rich men to find a rich husband, but marries a man she loves who happens to be rich, is not a whore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

A woman who hangs out with rich men to find a rich husband, but marries a man she loves who happens to be rich, is not a whore.

A lucky whore maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

People love each other for all kinds of reasons, not always obvious to an outsider (in answer to the example given in the first post.

In answer to the question in the subject line: no. Prostitutes sell sex and ego-grooming for money. Trophy wives share their lives with a man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Lux23 wrote: »

Well Coleen Rooney is one and she looks like a prize pig. So I guess there's hope for all women who would like to be one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Keep in mind that rich men tend to hang out in places where the women tend to be more attractive, so their chances of getting a hot wife rise accordingly.

that's what they say about that coppers place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

She's a huer.

Or a Bulker...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

My friend's boss is a short overweight 40+ male who happens to be very well off. He owns the company & owns another business as well.

His wife is mean't to be stunning & at least 10 years younger. She's been described as a trophy wife.

Its not a new phenomenon i know. Sure it happens all the time. When an ugly man meets a beautiful gold digger does it go something like this: Im rich, i'l provide you with a nice home & buy you whatever you want in return for sex & the privilege of showing you off at parties & family gatherings, you'll be a walking talking ego boost...Whatd'ya-say???

Is it all a bit sad or do you think meh...sure why not, they're both getting a fair deal?
    And if his wife was a munter then it must be true love?
    It may be a cliche but women prefer men who are smart, witty and can make them laugh, looks don't really come into it. Just because the wife is a stunner doesn't preclude the fact that she probably is a lovely person, pretty people can have beautiful personalities too you know.

Case in point, I know a guy who is totally sound but looks like he was dropped on his head during birth. He is confident, well spoken and has a wicked sense of humour. He has been been going out with a girl who is "way out of his league" for 2 years now and she's mad about him. I know another guy, above average looks but a complete prick. he gets the one night stands but no one in their right mind would think of him as a long term prospect because he is such an asshole.

Personally I'd take a plain Jane who had a sense of humour anyday over a dull vacuous dolly girl who's only redeeming quality is as a clothes horse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Pookah wrote: »

We've evolved a little since. Otherwise short, fat blokes would not be getting trophy wives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭sponsoredwalk

How is a bonobo a β-male? I'd have thought they'd have very little to
    complain about seeing as they're so into doing it, basically if the β-males
    started compaining they'd just use sex to alleviate the conflict :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Are trophy wives essentially prostitutes?

They're all durty durty hoors !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

I think some of them are, i just wish i could afford one:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭bdr529

she's only a trophy wife if her head is mounted on a plaque and hung on the wall...

We've evolved a little since. Otherwise short, fat blokes would not be getting trophy wives.
    Short?

Hitler, Napolean, Ghengis Khan....

Fat?

Winston Churchill, Marlon Brando, Ron Jeremy....
    How is a bonobo a β-male? I'd have thought they'd have very little to
    complain about seeing as they're so into doing it, basically if the β-males
    started compaining they'd just use sex to alleviate the conflict :D

Which is why I said they were 'excepted'. The notion doesn't apply to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Short?

Fat?

If we were truely primative their genes wouldnt survive. Its survival of the fittest. Nature selects the fittest, short and fat aint it. But since we live in complex societies where being tall and strong isnt as important, the genes for short and fat can survive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭drunken_munky52

Ah yes, the financially wealthy man who is rich in his wallet but void of any spiritual health; therefore seeks short pleasure bursts by riding the arse of his beautiful younger woman, before he has to start taking viagra, eventually shriveling into a wrinkly yoke, dying and leaving his millions to the gold digger... what a sad life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭DerekDGoldfish

Ah yes, the financially wealthy man who is rich in his wallet but void of any spiritual health; therefore seeks short pleasure bursts by riding the arse of his beautiful younger woman, before he has to start taking viagra, eventually shriveling into a wrinkly yoke, dying and leaving his millions to the gold digger... what a sad life.

Meh, I could live with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

If we were truely primative their genes wouldnt survive. Its survival of the fittest. Nature selects the fittest, short and fat aint it. But since we live in complex societies where being tall and strong isnt as important, the genes for short and fat can survive.

Depending on the circumstances, being short and fat might be a great combo for survival. Shortage in food will leave a large, lean muscular man ****ed. His calorific requirement would be so high, he'd be burning himself away with no stored energy besides his muscles. A short fat man would not only have a lower calorific requirement but also plenty of stored adipose for energy. Same if a flux in weather causes a large decrease in temperature, which has been far more common throughout the history of the planet than an increase.

In the good old days, a decent level of available food and moderate temperatures would have helped everyone but it's a reasonably sound argument to imply that traits we consider to be strengths would actually be weaknesses in times of hardship.

It's a more reasonable argument to imply the the genetics argument when applied to things like "fat" is fairly baseless, as someone with a healthy lifestyle, balanced diet and balanced mentality is unlike to be fat because their genes make them. While some people might be slightly predisposed to storing fat, their bodies cannot generate fat without them eating beyond their calorific requirement.

If certain genes were predestined to die out, they would have done so and we wouldn't have short and fat people, or tall and muscular, or whatever combination was deemed to be the weakest. Things tend to survive or die as species as opposed to individual variants of that species.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

I reckon they get called 'trophy wives' by jealous begrudgers.
    And 'she's meant to be stunning', -you haven't even seen her??
    I'm meant to be f#ckin gorgeous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Depending on the circumstances, being short and fat might be a great combo for survival. Shortage in food will leave a large, lean muscular man ****ed. His calorific requirement would be so high, he'd be burning himself away with no stored energy besides his muscles. A short fat man would not only have a lower calorific requirement but also plenty of stored adipose for energy.
    A short fat man might also be puffed out and close to collapse after walking to the nearest tree.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

You've really got to read some books. Scientific1982 indeed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

Jaysus, I'm in trouble, ugly, poor and stupid! I'm hoping to be a subject in an enormous psychological study of the trophy wife phenomenon in which they give me a load of money to see what effect it has on my ability to attract mates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Johro wrote: »
    A short fat man might also be puffed out and close to collapse after walking to the nearest tree.:D

Unless he has a trophy cave wife and can make her walk to the nearest tree.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Unless he has a trophy cave wife and can make her walk to the nearest tree.:pac:

He could get her to cut down the tree, and hew the planks into a trophy-cave-wife-case. Great success.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 FactSeeker

Spare us the Americanised pop psychology pleeeeeeeeease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Short?

Fat?

Napolean wasnt short, average to tall for the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

I wish I was ugly and rich

Napolean wasnt short, average to tall for the time.

Myth-busted apparently.

In short, he was autopsied in French inches at 5'2'', but this came to about 5'7'' in English inches, hence the long-standing myth.

Everyday's a schoolday in this place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

That's a funny one... Peter Crouch, a footballer... hilarious!

Yup that was the attraction for Abi Clancy , Peters footballing skills and the prostitute he copped for didn't care what he looked like either :pac:

FactSeeker wrote: »
    Spare us the Americanised pop psychology pleeeeeeeeease.

It's more precisely 'evolutionary psychology', with scant americanisation; merely condensed for AH digestion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 FactSeeker

It's more precisely 'evolutionary psychology', with scant americanisation; merely condensed for AH digestion.

Oh look, we got ourselves a reader.

And what is your level of expertise in evolutionary psychology ?

FactSeeker wrote: »
    Oh look, we got ourselves a reader.

And what is your level of expertise in evolutionary psychology ?

Oh look, we got ourselves a sarcastic newcomer/re-reg.

It happens to be a favourite subject of mine. I'd read one or two books a year on it. Just finished one there, 'Demonic Males', last week.