Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ricky Hatton drugs shame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭seadnamac

I really couldn't give a f*ck. Words cannot describe how much I hate the Sh*te of the World and their gutter moral hypocrisy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

couldnt give a fuk either.. wonder how many of the NOTW journalists have used coke on their media outings... He's not doing anything different to a lot of "middle class" Irish people at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Arthurdaly

To call the NOTW a rag is a compliment. What a shower!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I don't care that much, but what kind of idiot does something like that in front of a stranger with a camera? I mean really, do people have absolutely no guard up about illegal drugs? It could just as easily be a cop as a journalist.
    Have to say I really do lol when journalists start a high-horse campaign about coke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Looked like a hidden camera in a hotel room.. wouldnt take a lot of ingenuity to bribe one of the cleaning staff to put something in to a hotel room lamp.. Cheap shot at Hatton, who seems like a decent. lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

'shame'

Looked like a hidden camera in a hotel room.. wouldnt take a lot of ingenuity to bribe one of the cleaning staff to put something in to a hotel room lamp.. Cheap shot at Hatton, who seems like a decent. lad.

Yup, just saw the still at the top, didn't realise there was a video. I'll always have a pop at someone stupid enough to get caught using drugs tbh.

The voiceover in the video is hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Looks like he was shopped to the Screws by an Irish boxer, Emma Bowe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Horse_box

Awaits ''Oh I'm so disappointed, he was such a great role model for my son'' bollox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

Looks like he was shopped to the Screws by an Irish boxer, Emma Bowe.

I hope she was paid a lot because that is just low.

Who the fcuk cares about this nonsense? I'd be more surprised if they found me a famous person not on coke. And the hypocrisy of a tabloid journalist moralising about people doing some coke is astounding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I still hold him in the same esteem I always did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭f1dan

Have the NOTW got nothing better to do? Would they not just leave the guy in peace.

A famous person snorting coke?

Hardly a shocker.

I hate that rag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

I also hate that rag but cant understand how an athlete who reaches the top of his sport can turn to drugs like that-it's quite disgusting and shows how weak minded owl ricky is-thats him finished as a boxer as far as im concerned as now he could not be taken serious..

And before all you coke heads get on your high horses, you's are not top class athletes that are admired by many including up and coming kids.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭SIX PACK

couldnt give a fuk either.. wonder how many of the NOTW journalists have used coke on their media outings... He's not doing anything different to a lot of "middle class" Irish people at the moment.

Why are the news of the world getting involved in all these personal choice antics of former sporting stars... Its Ricky Hattons personal business what he wants to do now Innit ! ! !

cowzerp wrote: »
    I also hate that rag but cant understand how an athlete who reaches the top of his sport can turn to drugs like that-it's quite disgusting and shows how weak minded owl ricky is-thats him finished as a boxer as far as im concerned as now he could not be taken serious..

And before all you coke heads get on your high horses, you's are not top class athletes that are admired by many including up and coming kids.

Was he likely to ever be making a comeback? I haven't been taking him too seriously for a while now.

Also "all you coke heads", nice, because no-one could defend him who doesn't take drugs. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭gene_tunney

Anyone else not care?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭djhaxman

Anyone else not care?

Nope, not in the slightest. Some "friend" she is though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

amacachi wrote: »
    Was he likely to ever be making a comeback? I haven't been taking him too seriously for a while now.

There was a lot of talk of it alright, sure just a while ago there was even talk of a rematch with Floyd Mayweather!

On the defending him, defending the indefensible is stupid..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

Cowzerp boardsies are generally pro drugs I wouldn't even waste my breath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,594 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Yeah some friend she is indeed. I went to the press to save him.... :rolleyes:

Anyway it's hypocritical how he's vilified by some for this yet no problem with him getting hammering frequently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Ahh for the love of god. Big whoop. The guy had a decent career, worked hard to accomplish what he did. So if he wants to kick back with a few lines of coke at the weekend now that he's retired that's up to him.

Ohh the shame, the shame. :rolleyes:

• Moderators Posts: 8,832 ✭✭✭x PyRo

A man does a drug, wow. Shock horror.

No big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

whats the big difference between the drugs and the drink and weight changes.
    He was messing himself up anyhow and a return is definitely off the cards.

Some friend she is though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,222 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Sense if ever there was. See, this kind of behaviour is no longer seen as
    bad, disgusting, reckless, irresponsible, clasless. Society has no standards anymore. Having standards is now seen as a bit weird.

It doesn't surprise me with Hatton though. BTW, he looked a "dab hand" at the snorting from the clip. Not the first time I'd say.

What would irritate me is the whistleblower in it all. Irish girl, so called friend, in hotel rooms till all hours, and she rats him out.

Ricky has good Irish ties, many Irish friends, and it was an Irish "friend" who
    has hung him out. She made out that she ratted him out to "help" him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

What has 2 thumbs and doesn't give a crap?

strobe wrote: »
    Ahh for the love of god. Big whoop. The guy had a decent career, worked hard to accomplish what he did. So if he wants to kick back with a few lines of coke at the weekend now that he's retired that's up to him.

Ohh the shame, the shame. :rolleyes:

This is what I am talking about. A complete lack of standards. Cocaine is as far as I know, a filthy class A drug, and being in possession is a crime, quite serious one too.

Lukker- wrote: »
    What has 2 thumbs and doesn't give a crap?

Bob Kelso?

walshb wrote: »
    Sense if ever there was. See, this kind of behaviour is no longer seen as
    bad, disgusting, reckless, irresponsible, clasless. Society has no standards anymore. Having standards is now seen as a bit weird.

yet it would not be front page stuff if he was seen legless after a night on the booze. so leaving aside for a minute the obvious point about the legality of taking cocaine, why is taking it an offence to be demonised over, yet being hammered is something to be saluted for? both are drugs, in my opinion, and as we see by our yearly healthcare bill, alcohol abuse has a far greater negative impact on our society than cocaine.
    if your main objection is that by taking cocaine Hatton is enriching scum then i tend to agree.

I think that's going a bit far to be honest. Boxing is riddled with fellas of questionable character who have dished out plenty of physical abuse outside of the ring. Doesn't the great Floyd Mayweather have several convictions for abuse of different women? I don't think dabbling in some recreational drugs even compares.

yet it would not be front page stuff if he was seen legless after a night on the booze. so leaving aside for a minute the obvious point about the legality of taking cocaine, why is taking it an offence to be demonised over, yet being hammered is something to be saluted for? both are drugs, in my opinion, and as we see by our yearly healthcare bill, alcohol abuse has a far greater negative impact on our society than cocaine.
    if your main objection is that by taking cocaine Hatton is enriching scum then i tend to agree.

I whole heartedly agree.

There was a lot of talk of it alright, sure just a while ago there was even talk of a rematch with Floyd Mayweather!
    Which comes back to what I was saying about not taking him seriously. :pac:
    What would irritate me is the whistleblower in it all. Irish girl, so called friend, in hotel rooms till all hours, and she rats him out.

Ricky has good Irish ties, many Irish friends, and it was an Irish "friend" who
    has hung him out. She made out that she ratted him out to "help" him.
    I'm sure she didn't make any money out of it, she did it out of concern, because this is obviously the best way to help him. LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

efb wrote: »
    Bob Kelso?

Nice to meet you.

That is my main point.

Yes, and coffee and cigs are drugs too, alcohol as well, as you noted. I just don't see much gang warfare and murders and major societal anarchy due to these drugs. Anyway, that is a bit off topic. The guy was in possession of a class A drug. He was caught, and he has let himself down. It doesn't surprise me though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Wild_Dogger

I think Hatton grew up in a pub watching people getting trashed as a normal way of life .
    He probably felt like he was missing out when in preparation for a fight . It explains his 'infamous weight gain between fights .

Now he figures thats he retired and is going for it in a big way .
    It's party time for him whilst he's still relatively young with excess wealth , hes catching up on all he missed over the last years.

We've seen it many times before , he wont be the last boxer to retire and go off the rails for a while .

I think what's more destructive for him , is the fact that he was cheating on his missus , who is classes above the bird in the hotel room .

I think Hatton grew up in a pub watching people getting trashed as a normal way of life .
    He probably felt like he was missing out when in preparation for a fight . It explains his 'infamous weight gain between fights .

Now he figures thats he retired and is going for it in a big way .
    It's party time for him whilst he's still relatively young with excess wealth , hes catching up on all he missed over the last years.

We've seen it many times before , he wont be the last boxer to retire and go off the rails for a while .

I think what's more destructive for him , is the fact that he was cheating on his missus , who is classes above the bird in the hotel room .

Catching up on what exactly? It seems that Ricky has been off the rails for quite sometime now. I like the chap, at least he comes across as likable, and I hope he sorts himself out, because that video really looked bad and sad and pathetic. I can only imagine his family having to see that, and lets hope his young son doesn't.

As regards his missus? Is she really classes above this Emma Bowe? If she is, she has her chance to prove it, but me figures that she, like so many, will stand by her man, after all he is a real real meal ticket

Has it been claimed that he is cheating on his wife with her? All I can see is her being referred to as a friend. I don't think cheating was part of the story. Might want to be careful with libel and all that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,253 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Bit of a shame considering he is only 31 and for a boxer should have more left in his tank to have a few more big fights, after seeing this i don't think he will be wanted to be on ppv so kinda ruins the rest of his boxing career.

I wouldn't be at all suprised if Hatton was still to fill out stadiums; plenty of die hard eejits who'll pay.

Maybe Khan and he will make a fight and make a heap of cash from these eejits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭coronaextra

I really dont agree with this trial by media thing, Its a cheap shot at selling a few news-papers.

Its not like its a big shock story?? Ricky didnt exactly mind himself even when he was still boxing (between fights etc! ).

I have a lot of admiration for him as a boxer, gave it his all inside the ring against the best of the best! and as said before seems like a nice lad outside the ring, hope for his own sake he gets himself sorted.
    cant believe hes still only 31years old :eek: always thought he was much older!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,140 ✭✭✭ebbsy

I wouldn't be at all suprised if Hatton was still to fill out stadiums; plenty of die hard eejits who'll pay.

Maybe Khan and he will make a fight and make a heap of cash from these eejits.

Surely you mean a heap of HASH ?

Max Clifford certainly gets around does'nt he ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

What I loved was Frank Warren trying to make out this was some sort of John Higgins-esque scandal and that Hatton's boxing and promoting licenses should be revoked.

Warren lost alot of respect in my mind for that - Hatton should face whatever punishment is due to him, but trying to dress up attempting to get a leg over your competitor in a negligee of looking out for the integrity of the sport is as cynical as they come.

Syferus wrote: »
    What I loved was Frank Warren trying to make out this was some sort of John Higgins-esque scandal and that Hatton's boxing and promoting licenses should be revoked.

Warren lost alot of respect in my mind for that - Hatton should face whatever punishment is due to him, but trying to dress up attempting to get a leg over your competitor in a negligee of looking out for the integrity of the sport is as cynical as they come.

I think using the word cynical in this instance is being kind to Warren. Warren by doing this shows he has a mean streak and is a bitter individual. He's clearly still sore about Hatton parting company with him and will use any opportunity to put the boot in. In fact he has history of doing this with fighters who leave his stable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Wild_Dogger

seadnamac wrote: »
    Has it been claimed that he is cheating on his wife with her? All I can see is her being referred to as a friend. I don't think cheating was part of the story. Might want to be careful with libel and all that...

well there was a small effort (prob conditional) that Emma Bowe would have some degree of protection to her reputation , hence the "only trying to help him" excuse .

But one might assume that he in her hotel room at 2.45 am drinking champers and tooting white half naked is surely proof enough .
    Not even his missus would believe otherwise.

WalshB - I mean he would have missed out on the mischeif most kids get up to during their teenage years and into there 20's .
    I guess he led a disiplined life as a top professional athlete , being tested regularly etc .
    I'm not a fan of the sniff at all , but its everywhere over the last 10+ years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,862 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

well there was a small effort (prob conditional) that Emma Bowe would have some degree of protection to her reputation , hence the "only trying to help him" excuse .

But one might assume that he in her hotel room at 2.45 am drinking champers and tooting white half naked is surely proof enough .
    Not even his missus would believe otherwise.

WalshB - I mean he would have missed out on the mischeif most kids get up to during their teenage years and into there 20's .
    I guess he led a disiplined life as a top professional athlete , being tested regularly etc .
    I'm not a fan of the sniff at all , but its everywhere over the last 10+ years
    In other words we don't know if he cheated on his missus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Rob113

No one condones taking drugs, people shouldn't do it but a lot of people do. He wasn't doing it in public, he wasn't causing trouble. He wasn't selling it. He was doing something in the privacy of his hotel room. That's his choice.

I'm more disgusted with the so called friend who set him up. WTF was she playing at? That's just low. All that in his best interests crap is bullsh1t. It's not as if he was lying in a pool of his own sick injecting heroine or anything.

Rob113 wrote: »
    No one condones taking drugs, people shouldn't do it but a lot of people do. He wasn't doing it in public, he wasn't causing trouble. He wasn't selling it. He was doing something in the privacy of his hotel room. That's his choice.

I'm more disgusted with the so called friend who set him up. WTF was she playing at? That's just low. All that in his best interests crap is bullsh1t. It's not as if he was lying in a pool of his own sick injecting heroine or anything.
    Do you really need someone to answer that? Note how she's being referred to as a "friend" and helped them get the evidence, think about it. I'd rather not say any more, the Brits' libel laws are a little too easy to ruin someone with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,862 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Do you really need someone to answer that? Note how she's being referred to as a "friend" and helped them get the evidence, think about it. I'd rather not say any more, the Brits' libel laws are a little too easy to ruin someone with.
    say it?

say it?

Wow. Looks like the Screws may have rumbled a bit of a tryst and to cover herself a bit she agreed to give them a better story once she was left out of it as much as possible. This is just a hunch and in no way a statement of fact. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭colly10

Wow. Looks like the Screws may have rumbled a bit of a tryst and to cover herself a bit she agreed to give them a better story once she was left out of it as much as possible. This is just a hunch and in no way a statement of fact. :pac:

Probably spot on, no way would a friend/lover sell him out for no good reason so this must have been hers, as said it's hard to believe he wasn't cheating if he was half dressed in the room at nearly 3 after a night on the beer