Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

COD 4

• 10-09-2010 10:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭

I picked up COD4 today for 20 sheets. I had it previously but traded it in. I was totally sick of MW2. When i started playing I was just amazed. Its like the antidote to everything thats wrong with MW2....

So I'm just wondering how many of you are still playing COD4? What do you like about it or hate about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭Btwndeyes

Toes wrote: »
    I picked up COD4 today for 20 sheets. I had it previously but traded it in. I was totally sick of MW2. When i started playing I was just amazed. Its like the antidote to everything thats wrong with MW2....

So I'm just wondering how many of you are still playing COD4? What do you like about it or hate about it?

Play it every day bought mw2 played it 4-5 months and actually hated it so much that i uninstalled in the end, always had the few games of cod4 but sine i got back into it i realize what a waste mw2 was, imagine what it could have been. its hte dedicated servers, the fat all the douches are playing mw2 the hackers are gone because mods monitor servers(PC) and tbh i think it looks better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Having a good time playing it again as I wanted a change but it has its flaws just like MW2. Love sniping on it though, find it much easier than MW2 funnily enough

Martyrdom for one is especially annoying as nearly half the players I encounter have it on.
    The other issue I have is there are a huge amount of players playing Dom without knowing what to do, treating it as a TDM and still doing crap. They tend to camp around the 1 flag we have and just line up to get shot over and over without trying to flank and/or cap other flags! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SRFC90

Should go back to our roots and party up on COD4 for the craic tonight or some other time (a random few of us here)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Sooooo much better than MW2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

Dcully wrote: »
    Sooooo much better than MW2.

exactly ! I went back to it a couple of months ago . It really is streets ahead of MW2 . How could activision have gotten it so wrong this time round :confused:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

I don't see how it's better than MW2? If anything I think CoD4 has gone backwards...

After reading this thread I stuck it on for a few games before going to work and it totally sucked. Now I used to love CoD4 and hate MW2. Used to think the maps were way too big. But after playing GW on Cod4 I realised that they did the right thing by making bigger maps.

Everybody was quick scoping or else running around with LMG's just spraying and praying and I mean EVERYONE.

It's like people wanted to vent anger and not ruin their accuracy on MW2 so they jumped onto Cod4 and went bananas with the RPD etc. Likewise with the quickscopezzzzz... I reckon the people have no mates online and couldn't get a quick scope lobby going on MW2 so decided to jump into a game on CoD4 and practice without ruining their stats: Accuracy, K/D , W/L.

Furthermore, no one and I NO ONE gave a toss about the objective (capture flags) they just wanted to get kills in.

TL;DR - CoD4 has gone to shít

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I dip in and out of it, was playing the campaign mode up until I finished it the other night (that IS better that MW2 most people would agree, Ghillies in the Mist is one of the best fps levels ever, not that MW2 doesnt have great single player levels, too) and while its fun to play in multiplayer, its got its flaws too, every other person is using martyrdom, i seem to get killed more by grenades than bullets in that game.

Have to agree again with the above sentiments, I think too many people are viewing COD4 through rose-tinted glasses and being overly harsh on MW2.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

I'm pretty much echoing myself as I've said these things in the past.

I play COD4 here and there. If others were playing regularly I'd certainly be on it more. Love to get a party going.

I find sniping much easier in general in COD4 for whatever reason. I'm average with the 50 Cal on MW2 but very good on COD4 :pac:

Playing SnD in COD4 is so much more fun compared to MW2 as well. Take out one(Martydom) if not two perks and it's perfection. Likewise playing Hardcore mode.

The only map I really dislike is Bog because if you are spawn trapped on the bus side, it can be hell. But the rest are very good to excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

Never really liked cod4 when i played it on the PC, im sure its nice getting grenade spammed instead of being noobtubed to death.

Any time i've ever went back to a game i used to play flat out, i found it fun for a while and then like jev said, the rose tinted glasses come off and you see all the flaws.

when i did play it, probably 8/10 people were running around with snipers. Thats more annoying than noobtubes imo.

Oh, and about people getting sick of mw2... that kind of happens when you play a game 3, 4hrs + a day for the last year. (Unless its counterstrike... in which case your still a noob and cant get enough:D)

Firstly when i speak of COD4 i speak of the pc version with dedicated servers.
    Im not speaking of the console version there is simply no comparison just like there is no compariosn between cod4 for pc and mw2 for pc.
    mw2 is a console game, everything is tailored for console,the hitboxes are larger on mw2 in an attempt to account the inferior controls are,no dedicated servers etc just stinks of console.
    mw2 on pc is one of the lowest played fps games on pc ,again no coincidence.
    Furthermore, no one and I NO ONE gave a toss about the objective (capture flags) they just wanted to get kills in.

Another reason why you cant beat the dedicated servers which are run by clans who want the game played properly.
    Trust me you wont last too long on proper clan servers playing like you mention.
    Have to agree again with the above sentiments, I think too many people are viewing COD4 through rose-tinted glasses and being overly harsh on MW2.

Tell me what mw2 does better than cod4, again im speaking about the pc version here.
    Im not saying cod4 is the greatest fps out there, far from it but it is imo a lot better than mw2.

As for noobtubes and grenade spamming i agree but again i point to dedicated server where clans have their own rules, ofcourse some take these rules to extremes but there are plenty of cod4 servers out there that ban noobtubes and grenades etc, some have mode running that they are simply unavailable to select, same for dodgy perks and the choppers.
    The beauty of pc dedicated servers is you can tailor the game to be played the way you like it, with mw2 this is not possible.

Im not speaking of the console version there is simply no comparison just like there is no compariosn between cod4 for pc and mw2 for pc.
    mw2 is a console game, everything is tailored for console,the hitboxes are larger on mw2 in an attempt to account the inferior controls are,no dedicated servers etc just stinks of console.

Another reason why you cant beat the dedicated servers which are run by clans who want the game played properly.
    Trust me you wont last too long on proper clan servers playing like you

mention.

Tell me what mw2 does better than cod4, again im speaking about the pc version here.

I'm not talking about the PC version so there's no need to get on your high-horse about it. That post, while it may be true, could have done without the slightly snide remarks IMO.

I agree though, dedicated servers would make a huge difference for consoles

Jev/N wrote: »
    I'm not talking about the PC version so there's no need to get on your high-horse about it. That post, while it may be true, could have done without the slightly snide remarks IMO.

I agree though, dedicated servers would make a huge difference for consoles

I mentioned the pc version to avoid confusion and to point out thats what im talking about.
    High horse? lol come off it.
    snide remarks ? seriously wtf are you on about?

I mentioned the pc version to avoid confusion and to point out thats what im talking about.
    High horse? lol come off it.
    snide remarks ? seriously wtf are you on about?

Wait, I misread, I see you've edited the post... 'mention' was down a few lines, thought you were referring to the other poster's style of play specifically :o

Remarks withdrawn!

As for MW2, again down to being on Xbox, there's less lag due to updated matchmaking and Host Migration is a great thing. I know they're not specific to game-play but they make it much smoother. Again, I know PC version of COD4 wouldn't experience these issues. They're particularly bad at the moment due to the small pool of players.

Trust me you wont last too long on proper clan servers playing like you mention.

Im not saying cod4 is the greatest fps out there, far from it but it is imo a lot better than mw2.

As for noobtubes and grenade spamming i agree but again i point to dedicated server where clans have their own rules, ofcourse some take these rules to extremes but there are plenty of cod4 servers out there that ban noobtubes and grenades etc, some have mode running that they are simply unavailable to select, same for dodgy perks and the choppers.
    The beauty of pc dedicated servers is you can tailor the game to be played the way you like it, with mw2 this is not possible.

Most people on here play on consoles, so yeah.....no1 cares about your dedicated PC servers, sorry bout that (We can only dream).

If i still had a proper gaming PC... i'd be playing css/tf2 over cod4 any day tho.

Jev/N wrote: »
    Wait, I misread, I see you've edited the post... 'mention' was down a few lines, thought you were referring to the other poster's style of play specifically :o

Remarks withdrawn!

As for MW2, again down to being on Xbox, there's less lag due to updated matchmaking and Host Migration is a great thing. I know they're not specific to game-play but they make it much smoother. Again, I know PC version of COD4 wouldn't experience these issues. They're particularly bad at the moment due to the small pool of players.

lol no problem,i added in a quote but pasted in mid sentence so had to edit it out :)

Magill wrote: »
    Most people on here play on consoles, so yeah.....no1 cares about your dedicated PC servers, sorry bout that.

Are you sure no1 cares?
    While i agree its mostly console users around here these days i guarantee you there are still pc users here too.
    Remember we were here long before any form of COD was on console :)
    If i still had a proper gaming PC... i'd be playing css/tf2 over cod4 any day.

Im not arguing with you here man and i agree but we are talking about mw2 compared to cod 4 not other games :)

Are you sure no1 cares?
    While i agree its mostly console users around here these days i guarantee you there are still pc users here too.
    Remember we were here long before any form of COD was on console :)

YEAH !!! DONT MENTION DEDI's AGAIN !!!! no1 cares !! IM NOT EVEN JEALOUS !

No but seriously.... it just makes me angry when i die in mw2/w@w a full second after i get behind cover only to watch the killcam and it clearly shows i havent even moved yet !!! Thinking to myself... **** p2p.

I had a few games of COD4 just there and whoever said MW2 is "just one big explosion" its even worse on COD4, frag, frag, frag, frag,frag, rpg, frag, rpg, frag, repeat, was playing on Vacant and I kept count, 10 deaths, 6 from martyrdom grenades, fcuking ridiculous. Running down and corridor all you're doing is avoiding the grenade indicator icon which are all over the place

krudler wrote: »
    I had a few games of COD4 just there and whoever said MW2 is "just one big explosion" its even worse on COD4, frag, frag, frag, frag,frag, rpg, frag, rpg, frag, repeat, was playing on Vacant and I kept count, 10 deaths, 6 from martyrdom grenades, fcuking ridiculous. Running down and corridor all you're doing is avoiding the grenade indicator icon which are all over the place

I had a Martyrdom/Sonic Boom/Noob Tuber earlier on :mad: Jesus Christ it was a pain

Dont forget all the zZ Sn1p3rZzzz Xx trying for Qu1ck Sc0p3Z

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

I liked cod 4 , its a game where individual skill can make a difference more so than mw2 , yeah some of the perks are a pain but find me a game with no flaws.
    Still have cod4 so let me know when ye want to go online :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Just on that, what's the story with everyone gamertags with names like zZ Sn1p3rZzzz?

It makes me automatically hate them :)

Just noticed your sig :D

If that's in relation to the "X's" at the start and end it's because this is my Third account and I didn't want numbers instead of letters as I think they look silly (personal choice people, put the pitch forks away).

First was ELKATSUMOTO, second x ELKATSUMOTO x and now xxELKATSUMOTOxx.

I likes the name ELKATSUMOTO :D

I hate those xxH3adSh0tzzzzxxxx tags as well, they're usually 10th prestige (boosted) and cant play for sh1t.

If that's in relation to the "X's" at the start and end it's because this is my Third account and I didn't want numbers instead of letters as I think they look silly (personal choice people, put the pitch forks away).

First was ELKATSUMOTO, second x ELKATSUMOTO x and now xxELKATSUMOTOxx.

I likes the name ELKATSUMOTO :D

still..... are you a jumping 360 quickscoping failure ???? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

I've never played CoD 4, what's the big deal with Martydom (as opposed to Mw2 where it doesn't seem to be that hated) ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

It was a perk not a deathstreak in COD4.

still..... are you a jumping 360 quickscoping failure ???? :D

I absolutely suck at quick scoping! Honestly, I bring a new meaning to the word "shít".

People who quick scope in SnD should be slapped with a wet fish. Nothing worse than some chump trying to 1080 quick scope for the Game Winning Kill.

Time to put this thread back on its tracks.

CoD4 < MW2

I absolutely suck at quick scoping! Honestly, I bring a new meaning to the word "shít".

People who quick scope in SnD should be slapped with a wet fish. Nothing worse than some chump trying to 1080 quick scope for the Game Winning Kill.

Time to put this thread back on its tracks.

CoD4 < MW2

AMEN ! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

Just put JUGGERNAUT on when you come across those quickscopers. Makes them have to headshot for the kill, because there always going down when they miss. :D

My class is called 'I h8 quickscopers'

Leeg17 wrote: »
    I've never played CoD 4, what's the big deal with Martydom (as opposed to Mw2 where it doesn't seem to be that hated) ?

It wasnt a deathstreak in MW1, you could drop a grenade every time you die, so naturally every other person uses it, i swear you get killed more by that than being shot!

martydom & frags x3 are annoying but its only bad on two maps imo

the ship one and vacant , other than them two I don't really notice it being that bad . It helps alot if you don't run near dead bodies too :pac:

Anyone up for a few games tonight? (Xbox people)

Leave ur GT if you don't have mine already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I played it last week for the first time in ages. First thing I noticed was customising classes was nowhere near as good. Then when I started to play I remembered juggernaut. It takes a ridiculous amount of bullets to kill people with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭MarcusFenix

I just played cod 4 online first time there and it was like going back to playing goldeneye, pure fun! The guns are much more satisfying and i got a 15 kill streak in my second game, level 3!....ME! Love it (maybe cos i suck balls at mw2) so will be on cod4 that much more from now on....mw2 has no substance to it compared with this IMO.

Elkat your dead right about xxxX Sn1perzzzz Xxxx funkers, wreck my head completely, I mean if your gamertag is sniper or some variant then stay faithful to the idea and play properly instead of acting the bollix. Really REALLY annoys me getting quickscoped, don't mind our own private boards games cos everyones at it and its a laugh, just like tac knife games etc. but quickscoping in public is like ****ting in public....unacceptable(outside of bantry)!

Shammy and SRFC90 i was on but if ye are on tonight PM me ill go back on.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

COD4>COD>COD2>COD5>COD6>COD3

Paparazzo wrote: »
    I played it last week for the first time in ages. First thing I noticed was customising classes was nowhere near as good. Then when I started to play I remembered juggernaut. It takes a ridiculous amount of bullets to kill people with it.

If a soldier with Juggernaut is fired upon from a player using Stopping Power, the game calculates it as a perkless fight

I just played cod 4 online first time there and it was like going back to playing goldeneye, pure fun! The guns are much more satisfying and i got a 15 kill streak in my second game, level 3!....ME! Love it (maybe cos i suck balls at mw2) so will be on cod4 that much more from now on....mw2 has no substance to it compared with this IMO.

Elkat your dead right about xxxX Sn1perzzzz Xxxx funkers, wreck my head completely, I mean if your gamertag is sniper or some variant then stay faithful to the idea and play properly instead of acting the bollix. Really REALLY annoys me getting quickscoped, don't mind our own private boards games cos everyones at it and its a laugh, just like tac knife games etc. but quickscoping in public is like ****ting in public....unacceptable(outside of bantry)!

Sorry mate after i was finished with halo wars everyone was on mw2 , i skipped over to the ps3 :o
    We'll have to organise a night for during the week :)

Wait... whats wrong with quickscoping ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

COD games are only get better when a new one comes out

COD4 improved when W@W came out
    W@W improved when MW2 came out

Its to do with the people playing it once the glitchers/boosters/cheaters move on to black ops MW2 will get better online

I'll miss the boosters though. spent 2 hours chasing 2 off them through FFA games until the gave up and went offline:P

Wait... whats wrong with quickscoping ?

Nothing, love a bit of it myself, its just when you're playing SnD for example, and you see the remaining 1 or 2 people alive on your team trying to get quickscopes when it's significantly easier to just kill the other person simply, it's quite annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭JamieDev

Toes wrote: »

Ahh Im lovin CoD4 atm. Very easy to play and a great break from MW2. Its so fun and rarely encounter campers. The only problem is martrydom and juggernaught but i prefer them any day than to Danger Close or Commando, in all fairness.

Had planned on being on last night but was so tired I went to bed! Might be on later but just using it as a break from study so not on for more than 2-3 games at a time

Who's up for some COD4 tonight?

Depends on what time your going on ....let me know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭JamieDev

yea if your on Xbox i'd love to play a bit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭MarcusFenix

I'll be on now for around an hour if theres a few of ye on friend me or i'll do it, either way i'll be on now for a bit.

Sure head on there and the 4 of us can party up n hit up some team tactical!