Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To Blind Date, or not to Blind Date, that is the question....

• 10-09-2010 7:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭irishejit

So heres the juice folks,

After being single for a year my mates woman has decided to try and set me up with her neighbour.

A blind date has been set up for tomorrow night. I'm only just after finding out about this. In the words of my mate "she's right up your street, blonde, a few kids but up for the carry on and a bit of a dirty girl..." What a picture he paints :rolleyes:

Now the dilema is that also that same night an old friend of mine is having a leaving do. Whilst I'd feel some guilt for blowing her off (bad turn of phrase i know) my friend is only moving to Dublin from Fermanagh, so it's not as if she's going to the other side of the world.

Also I've never believed in blind dates, the only person they'd work for IMO is Stevie Wonder. I can't do both as the blind date is in Belfast and the leaving do in Fermanagh.

So i'm leaving it up to the infinite wisdom of AH to decide my fate for tomorrow night.....and if you need more info before deciding what way to vote feel free to ask!!!!

What should I do tomorrow night 60 votes

Go on the blind date to belfast
    0%
    Go to my friends leaving do in Fermanagh
    66%
    D-GenerateTerryWibbsdorypunchdrunkbikogerrycollins[Deleted User]FreudianSlippersminidazzlerPingu-DRadharc na Sleibhtesquod[Deleted User]monicafussygobo99TheKellsPirateShampooPaddyBombldxo15wus6fpgm 40 votes
    Do neither and stay at home and have a fap
    20%
    [Deleted User]Gone WestNiall09drunkmonkeydaltonmlazyQuestionsFluorescenceGary4279karlogSaaronstarlitPawpad666 12 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    13%
    Reganio 2af_thefragilepablomakaveliSofiztikatedantidark777PeterIanStakerBASHIRRockinRolla 8 votes

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,574 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

Blind date, more chance of a ride than some leaving do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

dory wrote: »
    Do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

thirded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

What have you got to lose by going on blind date?

See might turn out to be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

"Its blind-a-date"

Will you choose girl number one, mad for the willy.

Fourthed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Wrap it up well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭King Felix

You had me at 'a bit of a dirty girl'.

What's not to like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

You'll have a lorra, lorra fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭irishejit

laugh wrote: »
    Wrap it up well!

Course i would, nothing like a plastic shopping bag and a rubber band to be extra safe!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭Knifey Spoony

Why can't you take her to the going away party? Two birds with one stone.

I didn't read OP but I voted date

now that I have read it, I still vote date

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

irishejit wrote: »
    To Blind Date, or not to Blind Date, that is the question....

.. . . . .. .
    . . .. .
    .. . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Atari Jaguar
    So heres the juice folks,

After being single for a year my mates woman has decided to try and set me up with her neighbour.

A blind date has been set up for tomorrow night. I'm only just after finding out about this. In the words of my mate "she's right up your street, blonde, a few kids but up for the carry on and a bit of a dirty girl..." What a picture he paints :rolleyes:

Now the dilema is that also that same night an old friend of mine is having a leaving do. Whilst I'd feel some guilt for blowing her off (bad turn of phrase i know) my friend is only moving to Dublin from Fermanagh, so it's not as if she's going to the other side of the world.

Also I've never believed in blind dates, the only person they'd work for IMO is Stevie Wonder. I can't do both as the blind date is in Belfast and the leaving do in Fermanagh.

So i'm leaving it up to the infinite wisdom of AH to decide my fate for tomorrow night.....and if you need more info before deciding what way to vote feel free to ask!!!!

Leaving do I assume if a female? Hell, I'd try the leaving do, and slip the friend a length.

Actually, what I'd do is wuss out of the blind date, go to the leaving party, get ****faced, and make a show of myself.

But hey, thats just me.

Why can't you take her to the going away party? Two birds with one stone.

From what I gather its cos her kids are coming back the next morning and she'd have to be home for them early......also if AH decides I've to meet her, it'd be a far handier get away if she turns out to be some sorting raving loon.

I'm picturing one of those "Confessions of a Window Cleaner" style getaways if needs be!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

i'm not going to lie. the fact that you had to even CONSIDER asking about this is a bad sign.

mikom wrote: »
    .. . . . .. .
    . . .. .
    .. . . .
    I really wanted to touch my screen. lol Even though I knew - I just wanted to believe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

I think blind dates are unfair. They can't even see you.

Hyuck hyuck hyuck.

The having kids thing would be a red flag to me, but more power to you OP for being open minded!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

OisinT wrote: »
    The having kids thing would be a red flag to me, but more power to you OP for being this desperate!

FYP

i'm not going to lie. the fact that you had to even CONSIDER asking about this is a bad sign.

Normally I'd be up the motorway like a shot with me tallywacker flapping in the wind like an extra outta Braveheart. Its just the guilt after I'd promised my friend, (she is female too) that I'd go to her do and I know already a few people have dropped out

MrStuffins wrote: »
    FYP
    LITERAL lol

MrStuffins wrote: »
    FYP

Am i that see through :confused: lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Go to the leaving do, you can have a blind date some other night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Blind date ? pics or gtfo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Facebook her first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Normally I'd be up the motorway like a shot with me tallywacker flapping in the wind like an extra outta Braveheart. Its just the guilt after I'd promised my friend, (she is female too) that I'd go to her do and I know already a few people have dropped out

So your friend will realise she's unpopular, you however will be getting the ride.

And the fact that your blind date has kids means she probably doesn't get out much. This means she probably hasn't had sex in a while. The knock on affect of this means you will be guaranteed fantastic sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭littlefriend

Potentially awkward being with your friends neighbour no?
    There are very few women just up for the carry on...so maybe leave her alone and see what happens at the leaving do..you might meet someone there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Why not bring your blind date to the leaving do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

Before you go on the blind date you should double check your friends description of this woman, the blind dating scene has a different language.................

DICTIONARY FOR WOMEN'S PERSONAL ADS
    40-ish = 49
    Adventurous = Slept with everyone
    Athletic = No tits
    Average looking = Ugly
    Beautiful = Pathological liar
    Contagious Smile = Does a lot of pills
    Emotionally secure = On medication
    Feminist = Fat
    Free spirit = Junkie
    Friendship first = Former very *friendly* person
    Fun = Annoying
    New Age = Body hair in the wrong places
    Open-minded = Desperate
    Outgoing = Loud and Embarrassing
    Passionate = Sloppy drunk
    Professional = Bitch
    Voluptuous = Very Fat
    Large frame = Hugely Fat
    Wants Soul mate = Stalker

WOMEN'S ENGLISH:

1. Yes = No
    2. No = Yes
    3. Maybe = No
    4. We need = I want
    5. I am sorry = you'll be sorry
    6. We need to talk = you're in trouble
    7. Sure, go ahead = you better not
    8. Do what you want = you will pay for this later
    9. I am not upset = Of course I am upset, you moron!
    10. You're very attentive tonight = is sex all you ever think about?

MEN'S ENGLISH

1. I am hungry = I am hungry
    2. I am sleepy = I am sleepy
    3. I am tired = I am tired
    4. Nice dress = Nice cleavage!
    5. I love you = Let's have sex now
    6. I am bored = Do you want to have sex?
    7. May I have this dance? = I'd like to have sex with you
    8. Can I call you sometime? = I'd like to have sex with you
    9. Do you want to go to a movie? = I'd like to have sex with you
    10. Can I take you out to dinner? = I'd like to have sex with you
    11. Those shoes don't go with that outfit = I'm gay

Blind date ? pics or gtfo

Sorta defeats the purpose does it not lol I've 2 hours til its time to for the AH poll to decide my fate. If the blind date wins there'll be a full report on Sunday!
    squod wrote: »
    Facebook her first.

tried but no luck
    Why not bring your blind date to the leaving do?

I explained that in an earlier post, too far away for her to come down to the do as her kids are home in the morning afaik

Well thats decided then....57% and the blind date wins....

Wish me luck!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

dory wrote: »

Hell no. More chance of a ride at the going away doing. Lots more women there.

OP its a mistake to chose a loose chance of sex over your friends do when you said you would go. Not worth damaging a friendship over. You can always reschedule the date

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭RockinRolla

Atari Jaguar
    If you go to Belfast you risk the chance of getting raped by a bloke.
    If you go to Fermanagh you risk the chance of getting raped by a bloke.
    If you stay at home you risk the chance of going blind.

Your call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Pawpad666

Update please!
    Did ya get the roide? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Gary4279

OP is clearly still porking her rasher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

In the words of my mate "she's right up your street, blonde, a few kids but up for the carry on and a bit of a dirty girl..." What a picture he paints :rolleyes:

You're only rolling your eyes for the sake of impressing women here.

You know well that's the main selling point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

stovelid wrote: »
    You're only rolling your eyes for the sake of impressing women here.

And I, for one, am impressed ..g'won irishejit :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭PaddyBomb

Did ya get the ride OP?

And when the kids seen you in the morning and asked "What are you doing here?", I hope ya kept it AH style and replied with

"Yore MA!"

Evening all.....

Well finally back down home from Belfast after what can only be described as a memorable evening, but not for the right reasons. I'm that unlucky if i was reincarnated I'd come back as meself...

I was nervous enough on the drive up, with my mate breaking the news that he hadn't been completely honest with me in his description.

Steeled by a few beers, I checked for odours, gave the shoulders an old Del Boy shrug and strode into the house. Thankfully my mate had only been taking the piss up the road and Amy (name changed) was a lovely looking girl.

We had a few drinks in the house with my mate and his girlfriend before heading out on our own into the middle of Belfast. At this point we were getting along like a house on fire. We'd lots in common, none of those awkward silences and I thought to myself, jaysus this blind date carry on actually isn't that bad. Anyway after a few more bars closing time soon approached. There's a few late night clubs open at that time so I asked her did she want to head to one of those. She said that it was a bit late and that with her kids coming back in the morning she'd better get home, but that I was more than welcome to come back for an auld nightcap :D

Back to the house we went and Amy produced a bottle of wine and put on some tunes that could only be described as of the bump and grind variety. Not exactly my cup of tea but I could see were this was going, especially with my mates first description ringing in my ears.

After about a half an hour she excused herself to the bathroom. I jumped up and checked myself in the mirror, all the while singing the "Tonight is your night bro" song from Twins into myself. Next thing I heard a scream and a thud thud thud down the stairs. I opened the door and there was Amy lying in a heap at the bottoms, having tripped in her high heels. I tried to move her but from the yelp I knew she was badly hurt. Well to cut a long story short, I spent the next 4 hours in the casualty department. The poor girl ended up with torn cartilage in her knee and will be out of action for the next 6 weeks!!!!

We've agreed to meet up again once she gets healed so while not the end to the night I had hoped for, round 2 should be a happier affair fingers crossed :) in the meantime its back to the Freemans catalogue and a flustered face!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Janey mac, sounds like it was some night. Its a great 'how did you two meet' story though.

Lux23 wrote: »
    Janey mac, sounds like it was some night. Its a great 'how did you two meet' story though.

It was indeed, even if it doesn't go any further it's definitely a night I'm gonna remember for a very long time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

The old " I fell down the stairs and broke me leg/arm/brainpan excuse.........."
    Lets face it op she was desperate to get rid of ya so she kamikazeed.

You blew out your friends leaving do for a night of nervous laughter with a woman who thinks you are a stalker and you had to go home and fap :Palone over the half notion of a ride in a few months time!!!!!!

Aint like the movies...:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

having tripped in her high heels.
    We've agreed to meet up again once she gets healed

Her or the shoe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Why didn't you come back and burglarise the gaff while she was in casualty?

lol that is some bad luck!